Full Version: St Johnstone 4-1 Hamilton
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
SaintSam
QUOTE(ACADEMICALEEDS @ Sep 29 2007, 20:04) *
saintsam you need to get out more. You are getting too excited in front of your computer. Your team won today. Thats twice since the start of August in the League. Get yourself out and try and calm yourself down. Its only a game. You will be back to normal next week

Typical response from a sad loser, so pathetically bitter about his teams hammering at the hands of a team whom on season so far form had no right to even win the match. Did I annoy you so much that you registered just to slag me off? That says more about you, than it does me! laugh.gif
BluebirdTon
QUOTE(AcciesBhoy @ Sep 29 2007, 19:20) *
What p1sh you talking? Accies caved in after 63 minutes when you lot got a 2nd. Yer third had a great deal of fortune to it too, whilst your 4th was a well worked goal. Such and easy and comprehensive victory?

take your head out the clouds pal for just a second....

Good win for the saints but dont exaggerate...

Can i just ask what the f*ck is going on in your signature ?
CheStadium
QUOTE(saint_markperth @ Sep 29 2007, 19:36) *
3 hamilton neds decided to come in the saints end, They started pushing saints fans and one of them knocked over my 6 year old son, Dirty scummy b*****ds

I was in the Saints end with some friends. We were sitting about 10 yards away from the incident and I was told they were well known local neds.
Why does EVERYTHING have to get so tribal on this forum.
MTJ
QUOTE(SaintSam @ Sep 29 2007, 20:08) *
Typical response from a sad loser, so pathetically bitter about his teams hammering at the hands of a team whom on season so far form had no right to even win the match. Did I annoy you so much that you registered just to slag me off? That says more about you, than it does me! laugh.gif

Aye but you're always gracious in victory as well? rolleyes.gif
ACADEMICALEEDS
Saintysam you must have been saving up your 11 posts for your best win of the season. Or was your 4-1 against Brechin your best win. Remember you need to save your posts for your big semi final loss against morton.
SaintSam
QUOTE(CheStadium @ Sep 29 2007, 20:16) *
I was in the Saints end with some friends. We were sitting about 10 yards away from the incident and I was told they were well known local neds.

You friends with Saints fans? Must've been tough for you. We had a well known St.Mirren fan in with us, started his betrayal to the Buddies early doors this season! laugh.gif

QUOTE(MTJ @ Sep 29 2007, 20:17) *
Aye but you're always gracious in victory as well? rolleyes.gif

I was actually just calling him a sad loser, nothing to do with his reaction to todays game, although he is a sore loser. I change my reaction to a defeat/victory to fit the circumstances surrounding it. This one deserves some gloating.
vikingTON
QUOTE(ACADEMICALEEDS @ Sep 29 2007, 20:19) *
Saintysam you must have been saving up your 11 posts for your best win of the season. Or was your 4-1 against Brechin your best win. Remember you need to save your posts for your big semi final loss against morton.

Learn your history.
Morton
Challenge Cup 2005: Lost semi final
" " 2006: Lost semi final
They say it comes in threes... sad.gif
ACADEMICALEEDS
QUOTE(vikingTON @ Sep 29 2007, 20:24) *
Learn your history.
Morton
Challenge Cup 2005: Lost semi final
" " 2006: Lost semi final
They say it comes in threes... sad.gif

You forgot lost in final 1992 at love street rolleyes.gif
Fast_Action
QUOTE(SaintSam @ Sep 29 2007, 20:08) *

Why are you not out there among the bright lights of Perth Sam, and falling in love? Rather than flirting with a fall next Saturday?
vikingTON
QUOTE(ACADEMICALEEDS @ Sep 29 2007, 20:32) *
You forgot lost in final 1992 at love street rolleyes.gif

I'm aware of that. dry.gif
CheStadium
QUOTE(SaintSam @ Sep 29 2007, 20:20) *
You friends with Saints fans? Must've been tough for you. We had a well known St.Mirren fan in with us, started his betrayal to the Buddies early doors this season! laugh.gif

They sit with us at NDP. Thems the rules.
And yes, it was tough. It often is when I visit McDairmid.

If I ever defect, I would choose AC Milan and Brazil.
ACADEMICALEEDS
QUOTE(vikingTON @ Sep 29 2007, 20:33) *
I'm aware of that. dry.gif

Anyway all the best this year I hope you win it
vikingTON
QUOTE(ACADEMICALEEDS @ Sep 29 2007, 20:36) *
Anyway all the best this year I hope you win it

As do i: hope being the key word though. wink.gif
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
Today proved to me how without Elebert the centre of the Accies defence is creaky and cumbersome against pace.Swailes again conceded a goal through being caught out.
Also without Neil,Accies were overrun in midfield second half.
I think that if Wake hadn't missed the sitter at 2-1,the game would have been different as the confidence would have drained from the Saints while Accies would have been reinvigorated.
Can't argue too much with Reid but I have been saying since last season,Offiong would be twice the player with a good strike partner.Instead he knocks his pan in and has no energy left in the tank after 60 minutes usually.
Don't know about Gilhaney being in Irvine's pocket as he had 4 great runs,one of which should have led to the goal of the season.
Most Accies fans are philosophical as we always lose at Perth anyway.Losing 4 goals in one half is my worry.
Conversely,it makes me think mAccies will win next week.
Fast_Action
QUOTE(Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Sep 29 2007, 21:01) *
Today proved to me how without Elebert the centre of the Accies defence is creaky and cumbersome against pace.Swailes again conceded a goal through being caught out.
Also without Neil,Accies were overrun in midfield second half.
I think that if Wake hadn't missed the sitter at 2-1,the game would have been different as the confidence would have drained from the Saints while Accies would have been reinvigorated.
Can't argue too much with Reid but I have been saying since last season,Offiong would be twice the player with a good strike partner.Instead he knocks his pan in and has no energy left in the tank after 60 minutes usually.
Don't know about Gilhaney being in Irvine's pocket as he had 4 great runs,one of which should have led to the goal of the season.
Most Accies fans are philosophical as we always lose at Perth anyway.Losing 4 goals in one half is my worry.
Conversely,it makes me think mAccies will win next week.

Elebert I rate as least as highly as Offiong, as far as talent is concerned. That he was out today tells me something.

Was Marko playing for Accies?
BarringtonWomble
Yeah a game of two forty-fives, but on the whole hamilton would need to improve to win this league and lets not get carried away, so would we! Overall im chuffed with the result that will finally ground Hamilton. The first half was pretty poor but hamilton were definetly better. We were and have been at times this season, horrendous at the back and had hamilton got a second early goal it could have been a different story! Anderson was at fault for the goal and although he had a great game, needs to cut out his errors. I could see why hamilton are top as they have some neat midfielders who play good football. But bar some nice play in the first half after the interval there was only one team, as the scoreline suggests!

Irvine was MoM easily as he drove the team forward right from the start. Thought the whole team played well and that jacko was a constant problem and with him and Deuchar we have a good partnership! I also think with a few games Mclaren could finally start to becoe a player for saints.

As for Offiong, Il accept he may have had an off day, but he was horse. However our defence gave him to much respect early on with silly fouls from anderson and mcmanus. We need to improve composure and tighten up at the back. That said the second half was a good display and hopefully with hardie, ruti and james back we can mount a challenge.

Both of Jackos goals were well taken, but The Docs was the jamiest goal ever, I do love when you get goals like that!!! Do none of the hamilton fans get annoyed at how slow halliwell takes kicks? He takes ages no matter if his team are infront or behind, no matter what stage of the game. Was like this with saints as well.

MON THE SAINTS!

SavotheGreat
QUOTE(saint_markperth @ Sep 29 2007, 19:36) *
3 hamilton neds decided to come in the saints end, They started pushing saints fans and one of them knocked over my 6 year old son, Dirty scummy b*****ds

Disgraceful.

QUOTE(Matty_True_Dee @ Sep 29 2007, 19:52) *
2 points, mainly directed at Savo.

To say Hamilton have failed at their first real test is arrogant and simply untrue.

Secondly, how can a side concede one goal in their opening 6 matches and be called a one man team with the "one man" being a striker?

Cracking result for the Saintees but in this league a succession of small wins means far more than one big win.

Of course its was their first real test. If its any consolation for them, not only did they screw it all up, but they did a wonderful job of it. Talk about going out in style. Now, this is not my usual bad winner diatribe, i'm not really a bad winner. I just believe that Hamilton are punching well and truly above their weight and have now been found out after this merciless display of superiority from a St Johnstone reserve side.

QUOTE(CheStadium @ Sep 29 2007, 20:00) *
A sweeping statement that does you no credit at all, sir.

Sure it does. Its like poetic justice. Reminisce over just how terrible a support you have. You'd rather a side which has spent their way to success attain promotion over a plucky, unassuming, financially challenged, divinely superior side from Perth?

Today was like poetic justice. You laugh in the face of others misery. You should be ASHAMED to be an Accie, particularly in consideration of the violent outburst being revealed by fellow Saintee Mark from Perth.

I can only assume you'll concoct some tribal chant to revel over the ned culture infiltrating its way into your support.
saint_markperth
QUOTE(CheStadium @ Sep 29 2007, 20:16) *

Well the fact that they ran down the exit wearing a hamilton top knocking my son over then kicked open the outside doors!! Which im glad to see will be caught on CCTV
SavotheGreat
QUOTE(saint_markperth @ Sep 29 2007, 21:49) *
Well the fact that they ran down the exit wearing a hamilton top knocking my son over then kicked open the outside doors!! Which im glad to see will be caught on CCTV

Yep, its clear to see that Hamilton have a ned culture rivaled only by that of Dunede FC.

vikingTON
QUOTE(SavotheGreat @ Sep 29 2007, 21:55) *
Yep, its clear to see that Hamilton have a ned culture rivaled only by that of Dunede FC.

Dundee FC's ned culture is vastly superior to any other ned culture.
Showers of unwashed illiterate slackjawed yokels.
Syphilis is the only solution.
pond-hopper
ok so we lost today and if it hadnt happened this week but next then.... yep everyone
would have stated the accies bottle had crashed then! simple fact is certain st j
fans need to take a simple look at the league table cause it doesnt lie!
nobody can get 3 points every game!
what would u honnestly prefer? to be in our place or your own?
WE have done far better than you so far this season and will be quite happy
to go each quarter like we have the first.....which so far has been better than anyone
else and hopefully after the dee game will keep us in pole position. consistencey
wins championships.....NOT freak results! every1 gets them and we got ours today!

DONT JUMP THE GUN............lets see if you can string together the results! dry.gif

themuzzle
couple of your p***k players (no.3 and no.5 i think) were getting wide with the ball boy at our bit. spoke to him after game and he says he's gonna throw darts at them next time. he's good at darts by the way. c**ts wont be getting wide then.

as for the 3 amigos who acted the hard man in our end, lucky to get out as safe as they did to be fair

as for the game, i rather enjoyed it in the end. got too easy though
Reynard
QUOTE(themuzzle @ Sep 30 2007, 00:02) *
couple of your p***k players (no.3 and no.5 i think) were getting wide with the ball boy at our bit. spoke to him after game and he says he's gonna throw darts at them next time. he's good at darts by the way. c**ts wont be getting wide then.

That ball boy sounds dead tough.

Is he pure mental?
Matty_True_Dee
QUOTE(Reynard @ Sep 30 2007, 00:34) *
That ball boy sounds dead tough.

Is he pure mental?

Sounds like someone I sure won't be getting "wide" with.

Mental Oriental.
codfish
Quite a strange game today - Accies started like they meant business, while St Johnstone looked like they were still going through a warm-up for the first 10 minutes. Lots of individual errors in the first half from both sides though, and when you throw the worst referee in Scotland into the mix, it made for a horrific first 45 minutes - Hamilton probably deserved the lead simply because they started playing from the first whistle.

At half time I assume Coyle booted quite a few backsides, as suddenly the supply to Gilhaney was cut off (he was getting acres of space in the first half), and Offiong disappeared from the game. As well as that, the home side actually started playing some football, with Rocco Quinn instrumental in most of their good play. The penalty was a stone-waller (well tucked away by Sheerin), and Jackson's first was a good finish to round off a pretty good passing move. Not really sure how many deflections the ball took before Deuchar tapped the third in, and Jackson rounded off a fine performance with a cool lob over Halliwell to make it 4.

TBH I was really disappointed with Hamilton - after their result on Tuesday (which was what made the decision to go up to Perth easier), I had expected a lot better. I presume McCarthy can play a lot better than he did today, given that I'd have hooked him at half time. Quite surprised that Offiong was withdrawn on the hour mark, as his pace was causing the St Johnstone defence problems.

The two highlights of the match though had to be involving "Shouty Man" in the home end. First, his shout of "wake up, McManus" got a response of "shut up ya p***k" from the Saintees centre half, then in the second half he had Bryn Halliwell offering him a meeting in the car park post-match.Wish I could shout that loud! laugh.gif
Jydo
QUOTE(BluebirdTon @ Sep 29 2007, 20:11) *
Can i just ask what the f*ck is going on in your signature ?

yes, you may ask? whats wrong?
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
Interesting how the programme and team sheet did not mention that Referee Eddie Smith is a Hamilton resident.
Copper Eddie- who went to Holy Cross,Hamilton- is a fan of the plastic paddies rather than his home town team.
Looked bad enough for both teams.His younger brother is, however, one of those guys who would support Accies against Celtic.Not many in my school were like that unfortunately.
West Of Scotland curse.
Todd_is_God
QUOTE(Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Sep 30 2007, 04:21) *
Interesting how the programme and team sheet did not mention that Referee Eddie Smith is a Hamilton resident.

The tend not to do this anymore. Used to always tell you where the referee was from IIRC
academical
Interesting reads from barringtonwomble and codfish. Clearly not our day, although I'm curious to get to the bottom of this "St Johnstone are our bogey team" line - atm, I lean more towards the Radford analysis that, tactically, Coyle has the measure of our man.

Disappointed that some Accies fans are still responding to Savo - come on, guys, he's a blatant wind-up merchant, so why rise to his bait? Time for a collective ignore.

As for SaintSam, my immediate reaction was that her gloating was OTT, but on reading the thread this morning I'm inclined to let her have her day in the sun. After all, this will probably be the highlight of St Johnstone's season. Okay, it was a bad day for us, or at least a bad 45 minutes, but all saintees achieved was a bit of catch-up that still leaves them 8 points adrift of us - and one or two are celebrating like they've won the league?! Time for a sense of proportion from both sides.

We were bound to get beaten sooner or later. It's disappointing that it's by such a margin, but if that shows Billy Reid that Elebert shouldn't be dropped then that's a positive. At this stage, I don't know if he was injured or it was tactical, but as FastAction has observed, the lad is now one of our key players. (We must have missed Elebert and Neil, but St Johnstone wee missing more players, so I'm not using that as an excuse, before anyone pounces.)

Finally, Acciesbhoy, the pic in your avatar shows the most homoerotic-looking Accies celebration I've seen - it's an embarrassment. Heat of the moment stuff for the players, I'm sure, but you choose to immortalise it in your sig?!
billyg
QUOTE(stepek 4 tellys @ Sep 29 2007, 18:02) *
Ah sam, you've been awful quite lately but 4 posts out the ten so far show you are a fairweather poster. Must be a bit damp underfoot where you're sitting!

Nauseating , isn't it ? St Mirren fans were subjected to the same nonsense 2 seasons ago after we lost at home to Ross County and St Johnsrtone narrowed the gap to 8 points , suddenly they were the greatest team in the world and " had us in their sights". Bide your time , St Johnstone's inconsistency away from home will prove their undoing AGAIN this season ! wink.gif
SaintSam
Hamilton fans who were still in the stadium cheered, en mass, when the news filtered through that Gretna had scored to win the title in Dingwall. Yesterday went some way to easing the pain of that. wink.gif
Reynard
QUOTE(SaintSam @ Sep 30 2007, 10:23) *
Yesterday went some way to easing the pain of that. wink.gif

It didn`t really dry.gif
vikingTON
Hamilton fans who were still in the stadium cheered, en mass, when the news filtered through that Gretna had scored to win the title in Dingwall. Yesterday went some way to easing the pain of that. wink.gif

Aw, does another team dislike the Perth tinks?
SaintSam
QUOTE(codfish @ Sep 30 2007, 01:22) *
The two highlights of the match though had to be involving "Shouty Man" in the home end. First, his shout of "wake up, McManus" got a response of "shut up ya p***k" from the Saintees centre half, then in the second half he had Bryn Halliwell offering him a meeting in the car park post-match.Wish I could shout that loud! laugh.gif

He's called Foghorn. Cut down to Foggy by Radford.
Shotts56

I was still in the stadium, I didn't cheer. No one around me did. Everyone I knew would have rather you went up that Gretna. Makes a good story though.

As for yesterday, as we suspected, any sort of injuries left us way short of what was required. Take David Elebert out of that defence and all of a sudden we were far from solid. Take Alex Neil out of the middle of the park and we had no shape at all. St Johnstone hammered us, and at one stage I thought it was going to be five or six. It would have been fully justified, based on the probably the most one-sided second half I have ever seen.

Cant believe that was only St Johnstone's second win of the season. What have you been doing all season ? You're certainly much much better than that.
Radford
QUOTE(Shotts56 @ Sep 30 2007, 10:35) *
What have you been doing all season ?

Everything has come together since Deuchar arrived and as things stand, I fear we'll be pretty screwed again when he leaves in December, especially with another good signing Rocco Quinn likely to leave in January.

As we showed yesterday we can pass the ball about well and the second goal was a great move but the key thing is we have variation and can go long to Deuchar if needed, as the final goal proved. A long ball forward, flick on by the big man and the wee man gets in behind. Halliwell made Jackson's choice simply though by coming so far off his line.

Our record over 90 minutes in all competitions this season isn't too bad, we've played twelve games now and only lost one, the big worry was which side of the fine line were we going to fall on when we were getting all the draws, were we riding our luck and gonna start losing games or were we just missing a little something and were gonna start turning them into wins. Luckily it looks like the latter option and that little something was Kenny Deuchar. Andy Jackson has always looked a good prospect but I don't think anyone expected him to be capable of coming into the first team and scoring five goals in five starts, a lot of that has been down to Deuchar, who has proved he can score goals at a lower level and is now hopefully showing he's capable of doing so in this league.

Yesterday will mean nothing if we don't win next week though, as something has to give in the Accies vs Dundee game. I'd expect Accies to win that on what I've seen from both teams but would love a draw.
SaintSam
QUOTE(Shotts56 @ Sep 30 2007, 10:35) *
As for yesterday, as we suspected, any sort of injuries left us way short of what was required. Take David Elebert out of that defence and all of a sudden we were far from solid. Take Alex Neil out of the middle of the park and we had no shape at all. St Johnstone hammered us, and at one stage I thought it was going to be five or six. It would have been fully justified, based on the probably the most one-sided second half I have ever seen.

Cant believe that was only St Johnstone's second win of the season. What have you been doing all season ? You're certainly much much better than that.

Saints have had to contend with injuries to the very core of our team all season, in every match. It's only now, eight games in, that we're starting to look settled and that is still without the likes of Milne, James and Hardie. Take the likes of Neil, McLaughlin, Gilhaney and Offiong out of Accies and where would they be? In a pretty similar position to ourselves, I'd imagine. We've also had to contend with players like Rutkiewicz, Stanic, MacDonald and Weatherston ducking in and out with minor injuries. It has meant we've had to really dig into our squad and also change formations for different games.

I feel we have decent depth to our squad, but there's only so far even that can go when experiencing injuries as frequent as this. I think yesterday marked a turning point though in that Quinn looked like an able replacement for Hardie in terms of sheer skill if not heart and that's a huge relief as Hardie can now be afforded the time to recover from his injury, where as last season he played with it for a while. Irvine looks solid in at right back and the two centre halves are leaps and bounds from what we had to endure last season - Airdrie 4-3 win at home springs to mind, chucking away a 3 goal lead.

Jackson and Deuchar up front appear to be the solution to all of our problems with a staggering return from both in their games so far. Livingston had the measure of Saints last season but I think the dynamic of our team has changed massively. Instead of Scotland, we now have Kenny Deuchar who is near on impossible to defend against in the air, and the lightning quick Jackson running in behind. These players have shown that they're a handful to deal with, whereas Scotland was our main threat up front last season, and if he could be marked effectively, we'd struggle. Livi will be facing a completely different side but because of just how well they played us last season, I'm not going to predict the outcome on Saturday. I always predicted wins last season, and we always dropped points.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE(Radford @ Sep 30 2007, 10:45) *
Everything has come together since Deuchar arrived and as things stand,

Now there's a line I didn't ever expect to hear someone in the first division ever say.! ohmy.gif
vikingTON
FFS every side has injuries to contend with.
Mebbe Morton should be winning the league considering we've had up to 7 first team regulars out for all of our games so far. rolleyes.gif
SaintSam
QUOTE(Skyline Drifter @ Sep 30 2007, 11:17) *
Now there's a line I didn't ever expect to hear someone in the first division ever say.! ohmy.gif

There's a line I didn't ever expect to hear Radford say. He was virtually suicidal when the signing was announced as Kenny Deuchar and not some proven world beater to replace Scotland. tongue.gif
Radford
QUOTE(SaintSam @ Sep 30 2007, 11:19) *
There's a line I didn't ever expect to hear Radford say. He was virtually suicidal when the signing was announced as Kenny Deuchar and not some proven world beater to replace Scotland. tongue.gif

It was nothing to do with Jason.

I didn't rate Kenny Deuchar one little bit but he's been superb.
academical
Hamilton fans who were still in the stadium cheered, en mass, when the news filtered through that Gretna had scored to win the title in Dingwall.

That's just nonsense. Akin to us accusing all St Johnstone fans of gloating in this thread, when it's really just you.

My friends and I stood around debating whether to wait for the helicopter to arrive to witness your title win, then decided it would take too long, so left. I was just outside the ground when the news came through that Gretna had scored - I did hear some cheers, but most Accies fans probably didn't give a toss either way. Those who cheered would have doing the typical football fans' contrarian thing of winding up the opposition.
Peter Henry Davidson
I fear what will happen when Deucher and Quinn leave its going to be a long season.

We have to follow this up with a win next week though I'm not overly confident.

I know your top of the league so this might be a silly question, but are Hamilton happy with the tactics Reid uses? I wouldn't want to watch my team play 4-5-1 week in week out.

Also who was your right-back?
academical
QUOTE(Peter Henry Davidson @ Sep 30 2007, 11:39) *
I know your top of the league so this might be a silly question, but are Hamilton happy with the tactics Reid uses? I wouldn't want to watch my team play 4-5-1 week in week out.

Also who was your right-back?

Our usual right-back is Tom Parratt - I think it was him yesterday - who is very effective getting forward, but perhaps the weakest link in our first-choice back four.

Yes, I'm happy with Billy Reid's tactics. I'm also happy with his formations (not the same thing), which are more flexible than you suggest. When Gilhaney pushes forward with Offiong, it's 4-4-2; with Winters (or McCarthy) and Gilhaney getting forward, it can be 4-3-3; with Neil and McArthur sitting, allowing the rest of the midfield forward, it can be 4-2-3-1 or even 4-2-4.

I suspect we spent too long yesterday on the defensive after we scored (i.e., most of the game) and that can't have looked pretty, nor was it remotely effective. I wasn't happy with yesterday's result, but I doubt there'll be many like that this season.
SaintSam
QUOTE(academical @ Sep 30 2007, 11:39) *
That's just nonsense. Akin to us accusing all St Johnstone fans of gloating in this thread, when it's really just you.

Every Saints fan that's had to endure the nonsense spouted about our team so far this season will be smug about that victory yesterday. I'm very smug, gloating is necessary. That doesn't mean though that I think our season has turned around and we will suddenly start challenging for the league, and beat you to it because we are so much better than you. I don't. I think our start will hamper the rest of our season, but I now appreciate that it was beyond the reasonable control of Owen Coyle, who had to face an extensive injury list for most of the games to date. No team would cope with missing that many players in games. I'm glad we won yesterday, and I've enjoyed gloating endlessly about it, but as Radford says, it will mean nothing unless we can reproduce it next week. I'm not going to predict the outcome of the game, as we've been pretty unpredictable all season.
vikingTON
QUOTE(SaintSam @ Sep 30 2007, 11:50) *
Every Saints fan that's had to endure the nonsense spouted about our team so far this season will be smug about that victory yesterday. I'm very smug, gloating is necessary. That doesn't mean though that I think our season has turned around and we will suddenly start challenging for the league, and beat you to it because we are so much better than you. I don't. I think our start will hamper the rest of our season, but I now appreciate that it was beyond the reasonable control of Owen Coyle, who had to face an extensive injury list for most of the games to date. No team would cope with missing that many players in games. I'm glad we won yesterday, and I've enjoyed gloating endlessly about it, but as Radford says, it will mean nothing unless we can reproduce it next week. I'm not going to predict the outcome of the game, as we've been pretty unpredictable all season.

No shit Sherlock.
academical
QUOTE(SaintSam @ Sep 30 2007, 11:15) *
Take the likes of Neil, McLaughlin, Gilhaney and Offiong out of Accies and where would they be? In a pretty similar position to ourselves, I'd imagine.

That's exactly wherre we were for most of last season, when Accies fans who insisted we were much better when we could field our best XI were ridiculed. We were told we were in our rightful place, and shouldn't expect to compete with the likes of the mighty St Johnstone. Now the boot's on the other foot, but I don't see any Accies fans claiming St Johnstone are rubbish (even before yesterday).

The thing is, some of our youngsters got a full season last year, and are now ready to compete with the best in this division - the likes of Elebert, Easton and McArthur. So we don't lack depth as we did last year.

On Tuesday we had four first team regulars missing - McLaughlin, Easton, Neil and Taylor - and still cuffed Kilmarnock. Yesterday we had two missing - Elebert and Neil - had a miserbale second half, and got cuffed ourselves. I don't think yesterday was about squad depth. St Johnstone, as we did last year, will have to learn to compete with half a team missing. On yesterday's evidence, they already have.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE(academical @ Sep 30 2007, 11:53) *
On Tuesday we had four first team regulars missing - McLaughlin, Easton, Neil and Taylor - and still cuffed Kilmarnock. Yesterday we had two missing - Elebert and Neil - had a miserbale second half, and got cuffed ourselves. I don't think yesterday was about squad depth. St Johnstone, as we did last year, will have to learn to compete with half a team missing. On yesterday's evidence, they already have.

As was proven yesterday, you only have to take Offiong out of the Hamilton squad for it to crumble. He was subbed after 61 minutes then we proceeded to score three goals. I can hear you say: "But Savo, he's not a defender", well, yes, that is correct, but attack is the best form of defence, as we again proved yesterday after the loss of both James and Ruti, our regular defensive partnership.

Reid subbed the Offiong and you fell apart. I mean you were already crumbling, he only helped it along. But amazingly, despite this clear evidence, you are still not convinced that you are a one man team.

Furthermore, i'm amazed that, despite being outside the football stadium, you were fully aware of the activity taking place within the stadium. Your fans cheered the Gretna victory and the capitalist mogul and laughed in the face of the plucky, financially challenged contender. DISGRACEFUL.
cdisaaccie
Ach well, had to lose at some point, no surprise to me that it came at McDiarmid, that'll be 2 points from 12 at the 4 games I've now seen Accies in Perth, and both losses were hammerings; the record previous is awful as well.

Not that those statistics are an excuse for our 2nd half performance; the better side won on the day and the loss to our side of Alex Neil and David Elebert was crucial as far as I'm concerned.
Without Elebert, our defence is more exposed to play both at pace and on the floor, Marko had his worst game for absolute ages and it was no surprise to me that Swailes struggled, in the air he's fine, but run at him and his 37 year old body simply cannot compete.
St.Johnstone did well all game to make sure that Parratt and Easton didn't have much chance to go forward and after H/T, our midfield was completely overrun, unable to either keep the ball or get us out of our half for longer than a couple of minutes.
So the inevitable happened.

Just means that BR will have to lift the team in training during the week, and get them right up for the game against Dundee, where we must not lose to keep the young player's confidence up.
Elebert must come back in, and hopefully Neil's injury isn't too bad as we need him to help the young guys through when the game is tough.
H_B
QUOTE(academical @ Sep 30 2007, 11:39) *
Those who cheered would have doing the typical football fans' contrarian thing of winding up the opposition.

Exactly. You would be a disgrace of a football fan if you ignored the opportunity to noise up the St Johnstone fans in such a situation. It would have been magic comedy laugh.gif Apart from your own team winning, seeing opposition fans taken from ecstasy to despair in 90 seconds would be an amazing experience!!

Every Saints fan that's had to endure the nonsense spouted about our team so far this season will be smug about that victory yesterday. I'm very smug, gloating is necessary.

Absolutely. The Hamilton fans were super smug after their start to the season, and after yesterday's walloping, it was your duty to gloat.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.