Full Version: Livi 4 Clyde 2
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
LiviClyde
To think I got out of my sick-bed to watch this!

Embarrassing!

Fair does to Livi, their forwards were far too fast for our ponderous, off form defence, and when is Hendry going to realise we're going nowhere playing McGowan alone up front. The poor boy tries but he's out of his depth!
cupcake
A what should have been entertaining match completely ruined by the worst refereeing i've seen in a very long time.
Sao Paulo
Credit to Livingston & Mark Proctor, they obviously done their homework.

Livingston blew us open on the counter several times and were clinical in their finishing, our lack of pace at the back helping them on the way. Pesir & Craig always looked threatening. Clyde's arse fell out of it's trousers. SDA - you were right wink.gif .

All in all quite poor, I wouldn't blame the players, rather Hendry's poorly chosen tactics.
LiviClyde
QUOTE(cupcake @ Sep 29 2007, 17:36) *
A what should have been entertaining match completely ruined by the worst refereeing i've seen in a very long time.

Aye, but I'm a Clyde supporter and I'm not allowed to complain about referees on P&B!
Sao Paulo
Just to add, I thought the referee was terrible too.
Toma_BullyWee
The ref was a fucking idiot. Although i cant say i agree with what LiviClyde said about McGowan. Did he not score our first? ( this is a legit question by the way! ) I mean, if he's been playing the last two games up front and scored in both, it's not really a bad sign is it?

We should start with big "Shaun McKenna" up front next week. When he came on he looked pretty decent. Obvious threat in the air, had a little bit of that Christian Smith dodgy running with the ball feel about him. But we simply cant let a guy who is 6 foot 7 sit on the bench when he could be standing in the box waiting for a cross.

Referee had a fucking howler. Dont think the first penalty was a penalty, too far away to judge the second. As for ours... Haha.

Also a bit miffed at Christians sending off... He seemed to win the ball. Granted he went in at 100mph, but i've seen him get away with a LOT of tackles that were worse than that.

Mushroom
QUOTE(cupcake @ Sep 29 2007, 17:36) *

Agreed.

MacLennan should never have been sent off, 1st Livi penalty was not a penalty, Craig should have been at least booked for persistent fouling and bawbaggery, Imrie should have been booked for diving on the edge of the box.

Unsure about your sending off, was looking at the ball at the time. I wasn't sure exactly what happened I think our penalty was good.

Smith's red was probably deserved, and no complaints with your 2nd penalty (which was ironically saved)

On the game, we were pretty poor before MacLennan walked and were an utter joke afterwards. First I've seen of Bestvina, and was not at all impressed the entire defence was an utter joke though, we should put M.McGowan in where Bestvina is and start praying (even the atheists) that Craigy will make a quick recovery.

Playing a 19 year old left winger who looked out of his depth even before he started playing as a lone striker is not the way to score goals. Imrie did really well to make sure there was no way McGowan could miss.

There were positives, for my money Imrie did really well, with the aforementioned goal and tucked the penalty away nicely. Aside from the wee bit of simulation I also mentioned, he did really well.

The new striker looked surprisingly skilful for someone who's 6ft7 and was quite unlucky not to score, must start ahead of Div next week.

and as for David Hutton. He is the new messiah cool.gif . if it wasn't for him it WOULD have been 7 or 8.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(Toma_BullyWee @ Sep 29 2007, 18:11) *
The ref was a fucking idiot. Although i cant say i agree with what LiviClyde said about McGowan. Did he not score our first? ( this is a legit question by the way! ) I mean, if he's been playing the last two games up front and scored in both, it's not really a bad sign is it?

We should start with big "Shaun McKenna" up front next week. When he came on he looked pretty decent. Obvious threat in the air, had a little bit of that Christian Smith dodgy running with the ball feel about him. But we simply cant let a guy who is 6 foot 7 sit on the bench when he could be standing in the box waiting for a cross.

Referee had a fucking howler. Dont think the first penalty was a penalty, too far away to judge the second. As for ours... Haha.

Also a bit miffed at Christians sending off... He seemed to win the ball. Granted he went in at 100mph, but i've seen him get away with a LOT of tackles that were worse than that.

I agree wae that mate. Theres no way we will go down this year. Just hope colin hendry learns the best way for Clyde to play and stop changin tactics.

I was ready to go to this game the day aswell but my pin number on my new card is still no activated!!

just as well i never went
Fast_Action
QUOTE(LiviClyde @ Sep 29 2007, 17:15) *
To think I got out of my sick-bed to watch this!

Embarrassing!

Fair does to Livi, their forwards were far too fast for our ponderous, off form defence, and when is Hendry going to realise we're going nowhere playing McGowan alone up front. The poor boy tries but he's out of his depth!

I am glad that you got out of your sick bed to see that. Because you are the man that I look to for positive thinking and inspiration. From where I am sitting, we conceded two penalties, had two players sent off, shipped four goals - credit to Livi for giving us a sporting chance by missing a penalty, and can now look forward to a relegation dogfight against Stirling next Saturday.

Not taking anything away from Livi who looked a very decent side and were certainly very clinical. But two things bother me; that we can play as well as we did last week and as poorly as we did today. We started brightly, but the wheels came crashing off big time. And secondly, our discipline, or lack of it will be costing us big time. And very soon. sad.gif
strathbrock
The score flattered Clyde. They got their just desserts in the end though in spite of a disgraceful display of diving which totally fooled an incompetent referee and an equally incompetent linesman. The big number 5 should have been off long before the incident that got Snodgrass unjustly sent off. I'd be embarrassed if I was a Clyde fan at the amount of downright cheating that went on.

Pleased at the Livi performance. That's us unbeaten in 4 games and scored 12 goals. Can't be bad. We need to keep it up though because in spite of everything we are still only 3 points off the bottom. What a league!
Fast_Action
Stone me! I have never read anything like this in a BBC match report before.

Clicky
Mushroom
QUOTE(strathbrock @ Sep 29 2007, 18:21) *
The score flattered Clyde. They got their just desserts in the end though in spite of a disgraceful display of diving which totally fooled an incompetent referee and an equally incompetent linesman. The big number 5 should have been off long before the incident that got Snodgrass unjustly sent off. I'd be embarrassed if I was a Clyde fan at the amount of downright cheating that went on.

Pleased at the Livi performance. That's us unbeaten in 4 games and scored 12 goals. Can't be bad. We need to keep it up though because in spite of everything we are still only 3 points off the bottom. What a league!

and to think we're the ones usually accused of talking out of our arses!

We were unhappy with the way we played and yes, a few incidents which we are disappointed in the conduct of our own players, but your lot were equally disgraceful, if not more so.

Craig was so unproffesional and it was unreal, constantly fouling people and giving them a bit of verbal too.

That report hasn't been done very well, Valentim and McKenna were both on the park, indeed Valentim actually got booked!
LiviClyde
QUOTE(Fast_Action @ Sep 29 2007, 18:17) *
I am glad that you got out of your sick bed to see that. Because you are the man that I look to for positive thinking and inspiration. From where I am sitting, we conceded two penalties, had two players sent off, shipped four goals - credit to Livi for giving us a sporting chance by missing a penalty, and can now look forward to a relegation dogfight against Stirling next Saturday.

Not taking anything away from Livi who looked a very decent side and were certainly very clinical. But two things bother me; that we can play as well as we did last week and as poorly as we did today. We started brightly, but the wheels came crashing off big time. And secondly, our discipline, or lack of it will be costing us big time. And very soon. sad.gif

The only positives today were that our defence was positively rank! Stone me, F-A, they looked liked they'd never met before today's game! Can we organise some sprinting training for Kirkup and get Higgy to give up his escort side-line?

I do have to reluctantly say that Livi on today's showing are one of the best teams we've played so far and could do well this season.

Oh, and how old is Jose now?
Sao Paulo
I would start big Evan (Evangelino Nizzola Valentim) up front next week. Showed good ability to hold the ball up and flashes of sublime dribbling skill. Unlucky with his header, keeper made a smart save.

*NB - We would have been well advised to have sat a wee bit deeper in today, and be a bit more 'cautious' maybe is the right word.

Really can't be bothered writing a report or the like, truly scunnering performance and result today.
Fast_Action

Many of us are embarrassed. Indeed so.

But self-righteousness can often be just as ugly.
SpursLivi
You're keeper took a bit of stick from us Livi fans, but to be fair - he had a stormer. In the second half he kept out about 3 obvious goal-bound opportunities.

Thought we played really well again and Craig and Pesir were excellent up front. Referee was so card happy it was unreal, from what I saw he just seemed to adhere to the loudest shout from either team.

Clyde did look very poor, looked like they did not know how to deal with the Livingston breaks and counter attacks. Dougie Imrie never done any favours for himself either - acting like a complete fud.
Anyhow, i'm sure it was just a bad day in the office for Clyde - or I hope so anyway!

Hopefully we can continue the wee good run in form and leap up the table even more!
Sao Paulo
I'd be embarrassed if I was a Clyde fan at the amount of downright cheating that went on.

Downright cheating dry.gif I'll grant you Imrie tried it on a few times, and there were a few mistimed tackles on our side, but nothing which your lot didn't match or better. Don't turn this into a slagging match please, you lot won fair and square - the end.
Fast_Action
QUOTE(LiviClyde @ Sep 29 2007, 18:26) *
The only positives today were that our defence was positively rank! Stone me, F-A, they looked liked they'd never met before today's game! Can we organise some sprinting training for Kirkup and get Higgy to give up his escort side-line?

I do have to reluctantly say that Livi on today's showing are one of the best teams we've played so far and could do well this season.

Oh, and how old is Jose now?

And just as we thouhgt it was safe to come out of the shower?

With this season's squad and circumstances, I am not looking for consistency. The only consistency we have is that we cannot score. But I did not expect that from the defence. That is the worst defending that I have seen since our last trip to Firhill, and I am just about ready to accept that there was an excuse for that.

So you need to try a wee bit harder than that Livi. I am still looking to you for words of wisdom and consolation.
strathbrock
QUOTE(Fast_Action @ Sep 29 2007, 18:26) *
Many of us are embarrassed. Indeed so.

But self-righteousness can often be just as ugly.

You call it self-righteousness I call it spitting mad. There really is no justification for the actions of the number 5 to get a fellow player sent off. But he wasn't the only Clyde player "at it".

Steven Craig plays the man's game which football used to be and he gets penalised by referees more often than most forwards I see. What he doesn't do though is cheat.
Mushroom
QUOTE(strathbrock @ Sep 29 2007, 18:37) *
You call it self-righteousness I call it spitting mad. There really is no justification for the actions of the number 5 to get a fellow player sent off. But he wasn't the only Clyde player "at it".

Steven Craig plays the man's game which football used to be and he gets penalised by referees more often than most forwards I see. What he doesn't do though is cheat.

Talk about irony
scottp96
Davie hutton surely he has to be the best SCOTISH goalkeeper in the country at the moment
Sao Paulo
QUOTE(scottp96 @ Sep 29 2007, 18:59) *
Davie hutton surely he has to be the best SCOTISH goalkeeper in the country at the moment

He's certainly making a name for himself.
StevenC
Your 'keeper had a belter today. Should have been an embarrassing score line as we were better than clyde...by MILES.
Forza Livi
Thought your keeper played a blinder in the second half and chants of dodgy keeper etc only made the bugger better. Certainly made the score a bit easier on the eyes for you lot.
Third game on the trot we have played well and looks like Proctors tactics and style of play are starting to pay dividends.

Next week St Johnstone. Im sure if we beat them we get to keep them
monthebullywee

don't know what game you were watching snodgrass was rightly sent off hes a dirty cheating f**k yea id admit a few dives but the amount if dirty tackles you team were putting in was shocking livi number 2 shouldve been off in the first half hour your number 3 should go cry to his mum if he doesn't like a good tackle your number 5 shouldve been booked for two footed tackle steven craig is a cheat maclennans sending off was wrong as he got the ball christian smith first booking was for a header second for a good tackle which livi number 8 hit out didnt even get spoke toand we should have had 3 penalties today we got 1. ref was utter shit they get worse every week
MCL
What a game !! Three penalties, one of them saved, three sendings-off and six goals, and add in a referee that can get both sets of fans angry at the same time !!

Livi deserved winners and I think we would have won if both teams had managed to keep eleven on the park.

Mark Proctor and Colin Hendry post match audio

Forza Livi
QUOTE(monthebullywee @ Sep 29 2007, 19:29) *
don't know what game you were watching snodgrass was rightly sent off hes a dirty cheating f**k yea id admit a few dives but the amount if dirty tackles you team were putting in was shocking livi number 2 shouldve been off in the first half hour your number 3 should go cry to his mum if he doesn't like a good tackle your number 5 shouldve been booked for two footed tackle steven craig is a cheat maclennans sending off was wrong as he got the ball christian smith first booking was for a header second for a good tackle which livi number 8 hit out didnt even get spoke toand we should have had 3 penalties today we got 1. ref was utter shit they get worse every week

I reckon Braveheart takes your team to the Commie Pool for training. geez your number 5 forever had his face in the dirt more times than I can remember. Then theres the guy that throws himself in the penalty box doing the caterpillar.
It was inevitable that your team would get a penalty
Hen Broon
The stats of todays game make it sound like a really dirty game . It wasnt ,it was completely spoiled by the worst referee to have taken control of a football match. There were no bad tackles (no physios were on the park) Happy with the result ,but the standard of refs in this league is appalling.
SpursLivi
QUOTE(monthebullywee @ Sep 29 2007, 19:29) *

blink.gif I tried to read what you said, but it was just far too hard!
Sao Paulo
QUOTE(Hen Broon @ Sep 29 2007, 19:50) *
The stats of todays game make it sound like a really dirty game . It wasnt ,it was completely spoiled by the worst referee to have taken control of a football match. There were no bad tackles (no physios were on the park) Happy with the result ,but the standard of refs in this league is appalling.

Exactly, well said that man.
Fast_Action
What happened with Snodgrass? I managed to miss that.
Mon The Clyde
Clyde were very poor today and deserved all we got. Higgins and Kirkup were both very poor. Tumilty is a w**k.
Fast_Action
I take it that LiviClyde has retired?
Charles Darwin Esq
QUOTE(Fast_Action @ Sep 29 2007, 20:03) *
What happened with Snodgrass? I managed to miss that.

He got sent off, with some assistance from one of your lads and a clown of a referee.
Fast_Action
QUOTE(Charles Darwin Esq @ Sep 29 2007, 20:30) *
He got sent off, with some assistance from one of your lads and a clown of a referee.

I know he got sent off, but what actually happened?
Charles Darwin Esq
QUOTE(Fast_Action @ Sep 29 2007, 20:32) *
I know he got sent off, but what actually happened?

A bit of handbags then the Clyde lad dropped to the floor holding his face. Suffice to say Snoddy never touched him, or if he did it was with breath alone. Awful light these lads in Cumbernauld... wink.gif
Mon The Clyde
Also, why does Hutton play for Clyde? Livi would have won by 6 or 7 today with Hutton on top form. Not just today either, every week he is excellent.
Fast_Action
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Sep 29 2007, 20:50) *
Also, why does Hutton play for Clyde? Livi would have won by 6 or 7 today with Hutton on top form. Not just today either, every week he is excellent.

I hope that you are not complaining? He saved us from a cricket score too at Firhill.
Mon The Clyde
QUOTE(Mon The Clyde @ Sep 29 2007, 20:50) *

QUOTE(Fast_Action @ Sep 29 2007, 20:53) *
I hope that you are not complaining? He saved us from a cricket score too at Firhill.

That's the last thing I would do!

I left early that day, and on the subway back into town the lad I was talking too also mentioned that without Hutton we would have lost by a lot more than we did.
LiviClyde
QUOTE(Fast_Action @ Sep 29 2007, 20:27) *
I take it that LiviClyde has retired?

No, I'm still gainfully employed................

Oh, I see what you mean! rolleyes.gif

Nah, just been having a wee virus driven nap! wink.gif

During my drowsing I remembered about Smith's first booking - the worst of many ridiculous decisions by the official today.
Smith jumps legitimately for the header with his eye on the ball, heads the ball and the Livi man makes a back for him, bringing him down and the ref gives Livi the foul and books Smith - you really couldn't make it up!

I had hoped to wake from my slumber and this afternoon had all been a semi-delirious nightmare brought on by my virus, but it appears to have been for real! wink.gif

Sorry F_A, no encouragement and positivity from me tonight. I just hope it was a collective bad day at the office and last week wasn't a false dawn!
Fast_Action
QUOTE(LiviClyde @ Sep 29 2007, 21:17) *
No, I'm still gainfully employed................

Oh, I see what you mean! rolleyes.gif

Nah, just been having a wee virus driven nap! wink.gif

During my drowsing I remembered about Smith's first booking - the worst of many ridiculous decisions by the official today.
Smith jumps legitimately for the header with his eye on the ball, heads the ball and the Livi man makes a back for him, bringing him down and the ref gives Livi the foul and books Smith - you really couldn't make it up!

I had hoped to wake from my slumber and this afternoon had all been a semi-delirious nightmare brought on by my virus, but it appears to have been for real! wink.gif

Sorry F_A, no encouragement and positivity from me tonight. I just hope it was a collective bad day at the office and last week wasn't a false dawn!

What was the penalty all about? Did they not confer on who should have taken it?

Oh, and Livi. Do you have SatNav? I am looking for a recommendation - for next seaosn.
LiviClyde
QUOTE(Fast_Action @ Sep 29 2007, 21:20) *
What was the penalty all about? Did they not confer on who should have taken it?

Oh, and Livi. Do you have SatNav? I am looking for a recommendation - for next seaosn.

I don't think that the SatNav companies map down to the level of the outposts we'll be travelling to next season, so save your money!

I got the impression that Smith had been nominated to take the penalty but Dougie was having none of it! Probably wanted to make a point after missing his last one!
Fast_Action
QUOTE(LiviClyde @ Sep 29 2007, 21:29) *
I got the impression that Smith had been nominated to take the penalty but Dougie was having none of it! Probably wanted to make a point after missing his last one!

It was a tad embarrassing, but then again, so was the whole game.

Any glimmer of encouragement? I am totally hacked off tonight. sad.gif
LiviClyde
QUOTE(Fast_Action @ Sep 29 2007, 21:45) *
It was a tad embarrassing, but then again, so was the whole game.

Any glimmer of encouragement? I am totally hacked off tonight. sad.gif

OK, if you insist!

We know our defence is better than that, Craig will be back sometime, big Evangelino looks like he might have something to offer if we get him fit,( If nothing else he'll give CK a new hero and help him forget Bouadji), we still have Gary Arbuckle waiting in the wings to give us his mid-season goalfest...............

Shall I go on?
Mr Roberts
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Clyde are shit.

enjoy the seaside next season.
Fast_Action
QUOTE(LiviClyde @ Sep 29 2007, 21:52) *
</B>

OK, if you insist!

We know our defence is better than that, Craig will be back sometime, big Evangelino looks like he might have something to offer if we get him fit,( If nothing else he'll give CK a new hero and help him forget Bouadji), we still have Gary Arbuckle waiting in the wings to give us his mid-season goalfest...............

Shall I go on?

Yes, go on.
cfcuk
QUOTE(strathbrock @ Sep 29 2007, 18:37) *

my god a time traveller from the 1950,s laugh.gif
Livi
Clyde were shite so was tumiltiy. Mon the lions
third lanark
QUOTE(Mr Roberts @ Sep 29 2007, 21:57) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Clyde are shit.

enjoy the seaside next season.

I find it astonishing given that we lost today that you have the nerve to post this. Remember there is a long way to go and not a huge point difference either between the bottom few clubs mad.gif
Mr Roberts
on the contarary, there seems to e a large gulf in quality between Clyde, Stirling and the rest of the Division.