Full Version: New Games Thread
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
A wee thread to let people know what you have picked up, what price you paid and where from.

Bought the following today.

NHL 2008 - £49.99 gamestation
Madden 2008 - £49.99 gamestation

I would usually not goto these rip off merchants, but i had £67 store credit with them, traded in forza 2 and flatout racing, so it only cost £11 in total.

I pre-ordered FIFA08 from Blockbuster, ill be trading in Bioshock and £9.99 for it.

I will pick up Halo 3 tomorrow, Stranglehold and £9 to get that one.

West side.
Gaz
Goody!

Yesterday I purchased:

Blue Dragon for £18, from a guy on Hotukdeals;
Fight Night Round 3, Lost Planet and Table Tennis for £35 in total, from another guy on Hotukdeals.
garymcc1874
Got Halo3 today - pre-ordered it from GAME website. £39.99 but had about £15 worth of reward points or whatever to use.

Pre ordered PES2008 from some site MarreZ gave me (still ain't had confirmation of my order though unsure.gif) for £31 using some code.

QUOTE(garymcc1874 @ Sep 25 2007, 15:41) *
Got Halo3 today - pre-ordered it from GAME website. £39.99 but had about £15 worth of reward points or whatever to use.

Pre ordered PES2008 from some site MarreZ gave me (still ain't had confirmation of my order though unsure.gif) for £31 using some code.

Thats cos you suck laugh.gif
Ric
I recently bought a lesser known title: "yer maw"

It wasn't very entertaining and indeed is probably suited to older people.
XaaronPrimus
Might I suggest Format as well? Just in case it isn't obvious from title/price.
themuzzle
saints row - got it cheap off a mate and have to admit its a pretty decent game.
A_dee4life
Got Fifa 08 from my Uncle in Hong Kong!

Only Joking wink.gif
Gaz
QUOTE(themuzzle @ Sep 25 2007, 20:02) *
saints row - got it cheap off a mate and have to admit its a pretty decent game.

Saints Row is an excellent game, I got it a few months ago for £22.
QUOTE(Gaz @ Sep 25 2007, 20:11) *
Saints Row is an excellent game, I got it a few months ago for £22.

Aye, shame about the laggy framerate, another game i really liked but then for some reason never got back into after going away from it for a week or two.
I forgot ive also got Sega Rally (360) coming this weekend as well. Got it for £29.99 at blahDVD.
Picked up Halo 3 - £8.99 + Stranglehold (which cost me £18.99)

£27 today cool.gif
Kylesons
QUOTE(MarreZ @ Sep 26 2007, 12:08) *
Picked up Halo 3 - £8.99 + Stranglehold (which cost me £18.99)

£27 today cool.gif

How did you get it for that price ?
QUOTE(Kylesons @ Sep 26 2007, 12:18) *
How did you get it for that price ?

You can trade in any top 20 game at blockbuster and get a new game for £9.99

Since halo was £34.99 and the trade in value of strangehold, £26 - it was only £8.99
themuzzle
do you get much trade in for old xbox games these days?
QUOTE(themuzzle @ Sep 26 2007, 13:32) *
do you get much trade in for old xbox games these days?

Pennies.
Wilson2606
QUOTE(MarreZ @ Sep 26 2007, 12:21) *
You can trade in any top 20 game at blockbuster and get a new game for £9.99

Since halo was £34.99 and the trade in value of strangehold, £26 - it was only £8.99

Mark, do you know if Blockbuster give the best prices for trade ins outwith the £9.99 deal?
themuzzle
got a shot of PGR for 360. any good?
gc_smfc
got Halo 3 yesterday for £32 in virgin
rw89
Bought Condemned and Halo 3 for the 360. Enjoying both. Despite looking forward to Halo 3 i got condemned off my mate and the story line is intresting. Surely there will be a plot twist at the end though... unsure.gif
QUOTE(Wilson2606 @ Sep 27 2007, 16:59) *
Mark, do you know if Blockbuster give the best prices for trade ins outwith the £9.99 deal?

They tend to yeh, but if you goto Blockbuster, get a print out, gamestation will match it.

Blockbuster discount new games, gamestation dont, most new games are £39.99 or £34.99 if they are a big release. Im trading in Moto GP07, Medal of Honour Airborne and Bioshock tomorrow, picking up fifa08, Skate and Sega Rally 3 - total cost - £29.97
The Naitch
Got my hands on FIFA 08 this morning....so far, so good.
QUOTE(The Naitch @ Sep 28 2007, 12:15) *
Got my hands on FIFA 08 this morning....so far, so good.

What version?
FilthyMack
Lucky I didn't have a game I fancied trading in today. Went into Gamestation, Fifa on 360 £49.99. f**k that.
Went into Game, they didn't even get their delivery of Fifa for the 360 or Wii. blink.gif
Went into HMV, £38.
The Naitch
QUOTE(MarreZ @ Sep 28 2007, 12:55) *
What version?

PS2
Spider From Mars
QUOTE(gc_smfc @ Sep 27 2007, 17:54) *
got Halo 3 yesterday for £32 in virgin

How did you manage that? Virgin were selilng it for £37.... which I paid even though I knew it was a total rip-off and it'll be £25 in no time at all.
my-name-is-neil
just bought fifa 08 and got a free football thumbup2.gif
SteelEdge
Ooooooh where'd you buy it and how much?
Kylesons
Just got Fifa 08 and Juiced 2. Got Juiced 2 half price smile.gif
Dundee Par
I've ordered Final Fantasy 12 from Play.com. Only 12 quid. biggrin.gif Have to wait a couple of weeks though cos it's on Platinum and hasn't been released yet.
MattBairn
Got Bioshock and Quake Wars via Steam.
smile.gif
Ratatooiee, Project Gotham 4, Crash of the Titans, NBA Live 2008 all for the 360.

Resident Evil, Mercury Meltdown, Tamagotchi, My Sims, Trauma Centre, Mario Party 8, Paper Mario, Madden 08, Zelda, Wario Ware, Fifa 08for the Wii.
MattBairn
QUOTE(MarreZ @ Oct 8 2007, 09:08) *
Ratatooiee, Project Gotham 4, Crash of the Titans, NBA Live 2008 all for the 360.

Resident Evil, Mercury Meltdown, Tamagotchi, My Sims, Trauma Centre, Mario Party 8, Paper Mario, Madden 08, Zelda, Wario Ware, Fifa 08for the Wii.

You really are a whore! wink.gif

Actually that reminds me, I still have RE 4 to get into on Wii.
Swampy
I'd ordered the Orange Box ages ago and, of course, Portal came out today.

Portal's around 2-3 hours long but by far the most fun I've had gaming since the first few days of TF2, indeed it's probably even better, and has one of the top five endings in any game that I've played. Nah, f**k it, top three.

If you don't like Portal, seriously, you're fucked.

In fact even controller users can play it, it's out on the 360.

Don't scoff and say you're not paying that price for 3 hours of gameplay; there's replay value (which I haven't done yet, obviously) in challenge modes and unlockable achievements.

Even if there wasn't, you'd be a total golfer if you didn't buy it.

I cannot begin to tell you how amazing Portal is - even if not so much the game itself, its potential for fan-made levels and (better) Valve expansions. Buy buy buy buy buy buy buy buy buy buy buy buy buy.
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 10 2007, 22:54) *
Portal's around 2-3 hours long

That equates to around 20 hours for me. wink.gif

Gonna get the orange thingy for the 360 when it comes out. Seems a pretty good deal.
Gaz
While not a "new" game as such, I have finally started on Twilight Princess for the GC. What a game!
Swampy
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Oct 10 2007, 22:57) *
That equates to around 20 hours for me. wink.gif

Gonna get the orange thingy for the 360 when it comes out. Seems a pretty good deal.

It is a pretty good deal. TF2 is fuckin' awesome but I've pontificated on that elsewhere.

I've still not entirely finished HL2 Ep 1 - saved near the end then haven't had time to go back - so I've not played HL2 Ep 2 yet, which also is in the Box.
StewartyMac
Excuse my ignorance in such matters, but are Half Life 2, Half Life 2:Episode1, and Half Life 2:Episode2 three totally separate full length games?
XaaronPrimus
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Oct 10 2007, 23:30) *
Excuse my ignorance in such matters, but are Half Life 2, Half Life 2:Episode1, and Half Life 2:Episode2 three totally separate full length games?

I know they are not full length, but not sure if you need HL2 in order to play them, though i would imagine you would.

So I reckon No, but then I haven't even completed HL2 yet :S
Swampy
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Oct 10 2007, 23:30) *

HL 2 is full length, I'm just over 6.5 hours into HL2 Ep 1 and pretty much done, HL2 Ep 2 is pretty much the same length, as far as I know.

Each is stand-alone, you don't need any one to run the other. It makes eminently more sense to play them in order, of course.
I got the Orange box for 360 last night, ive only stuck on HL2 so far, i got 5 achievement points for throwing a can at one of the guards laugh.gif

I also got Juiced 2 for 360, Medal of Honour Airborne, World Series of Poker 2008 and a few others. I got tamagotchi, Mercury Meltdown and FIFA08 for the wii.
djchapsticks
Warioware, Mario Party 8, Super Paper Mario, Resident Evil 4, Wii Sports, Trauma Center: SO, Zelda: Twilight Princess, Mario Strikers Charged, Mercury Meltdown Revolution, Madden 08, Tiger 08, Bruswick Pro Bowling, Big Brain Academy, Need For Speed Carbon and Dave Mirra BMX for the Wii.

wink.gif
Swampy
QUOTE(MarreZ @ Oct 11 2007, 08:38) *
I got the Orange box for 360 last night, ive only stuck on HL2 so far, i got 5 achievement points for throwing a can at one of the guards laugh.gif

I also got Juiced 2 for 360, Medal of Honour Airborne, World Series of Poker 2008 and a few others. I got tamagotchi, Mercury Meltdown and FIFA08 for the wii.

Stop posting, go and play Portal instead. cool.gif
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 11 2007, 14:07) *
Stop posting, go and play Portal instead. cool.gif

Ill give it a shot when i get home, what is it anyway?

I also got Halo 3 legendary edition with the helmet, which now takes pride of place on my desk at work smile.gif

Swampy
This is Portal:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wb7aDZeO_MQ
Swampy
Additionally Portal is living proof in every respect except length that Valve make the finest computer games on the market today.

Sometimes if I'm having trouble sustaining an erection I try to imagine what it would be like if Warren Spector joined up with Valve to make a full-length Deus Ex 3.
Gaz
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 11 2007, 15:07) *
Sometimes if I'm having trouble sustaining an erection I try to imagine what it would be like if Warren Spector joined up with Valve to make a full-length Deus Ex 3.

*Moist*
Gaz
QUOTE(MarreZ @ Oct 11 2007, 14:54) *
Ill give it a shot when i get home, what is it anyway?

I also got Halo 3 legendary edition with the helmet, which now takes pride of place on my desk at work smile.gif

Were you playing Qix when you took that photo?
MattBairn
Just ordered the Orange pack through Steam.

Really looking forward to Portal.

Ive got a shed load of games that I havent got into yet so I need to do some serious gaming next time home biggrin.gif
Swampy
Portal's regular game mode will take you an evening or less. Do it in one sitting if you have the time, and don't read any spoilers beforehand.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.