Jimmy MCcabe
Sep 22 2007, 17:35
Few would have bet on 4-1 being the final score at half time, as the first half was in all honesty dire with few chances of note. Going a goal down seemed to spur Stranraer into action and Tade was different class, he is something different at this level, it does not always work for him but he's good to watch. Some nice football by Stranraer in the second half and they got their reward with some good goals and Stenhousemuir were well beaten long before the final whistle.4-1 may have flattered us over the 90 but IMO were worthy winners.
Clayhole Blue
Sep 22 2007, 18:15
Agree! Superb second half display after a fairly dreadful first half by all. Stenny had most of what was going in the first half, and Michael Mullen hit the crossbar with a header.
But after Dempsey scored from the spot for Stenny it was suddenly all one-way traffic in the other direction. Great goals from Gibson and Tade. What a blunder by Willie Lyle for Mullen's goal, and what a blunder by the ref in not giving us a pen when Hillcoat dowaned White. Still he got his reward from the resulting corner.
Six points from two away wins - cannae complain!
tuckersloan
Sep 22 2007, 18:43
Good result for Stranraer. The standard in the 3rd ain't great by all accounts so hopefully we can go back up. I have been critical of Britton in the past (am still not totally convinced) but credit where it is due. He has managed to pick us up from a couple of bad results early doors and thinks seem to be going ok the now! Long may it continue!
Blue Moon
Sep 22 2007, 19:04
Noticed during the warm up that there seems to be a real good team spirit among the lads now and commented that it boded well for today and hopefully this will remain.
An excellent performance today. As per last week we passed the oppositon off the park and the excellent plastic pitch at Ochilview certainly suited our style of play today.
Thought we bossed the whole game today with the exception of the last 20 minutes of the first half.
Stenny penalty was definately a penalty in my view. Big Paddy put his arms around the forward and had it been it the other end i'd have been demanding it for sure.
Great response from the blues. Gregory drawing a foul out of ex-Blue Willie Lyle allowing Andy Gibson to curl a magnificent free kick into the top corner.
Gregory Tade got the second goal with a fine diving header from a corner. An excellent dive Gregory and a well timed retort to the Stenny fans who were calling you a diving cheatin (swear word here) after you had clearly been fouled a few minutes earlier.
Defensive chaos again allowed Michael Mullen to nod the ball away from the confused Hillcoat and Smith and tap into an empty net assisted by keeper Scott Black.
After much pressure from corners and dead balls Alex White then got in on the scoring act. We could have had more today against what is in my opinion the worst team iv seen this season. A long season ahead for Stenny methinks.
On a day with pass marks for all, the MoM for me was Stevie Bonar. Immense in the tackle, great distribution and totally controlled the middle of the park.
Sam68+1
Sep 22 2007, 20:38
Where are all the Stenny fans tonight.
montrose 5 forfar 1
Sep 22 2007, 21:42
QUOTE(Sam68+1 @ Sep 22 2007, 21:38)

Proboly out having a good time unlike us
Jamie Boy
Sep 23 2007, 00:13
Hillcoat had an absolute nightmare of a game!
Worst i have everrrrrrr seen a golie play in ma life.. by far!
Neilly
Sep 23 2007, 03:41
Die Falkirk.
As for the game Stranraer are utter shit but we are bottom of the barrel stuff for sure.
Moonglum25
Sep 23 2007, 09:08
QUOTE(Jimmy MCcabe @ Sep 22 2007, 18:35)

Tade was different class, he is something different at this level
Aye a dirty, cheating, diving git trying to get reactions from his fellow players. Lyle did not touch him in the first half but he reacted as if he has been cut in half but seconds layer ws running about like a gazelle. He then proceeded to try and wind Lyle up by mouthing and proding at him trying to get a reaction. Disappointing as he looks like he has got some talent and he should let that speak for him.
Hillcoat put in a world class performance......... as someone trying to impersonate a goalkeeper. He has been bad so far this season and is as p*** as his column in the Sunday Mail. He should be using it every week to apologise for his displays. Willie McCulloch was costing us a goal a game the last few games last season but he was never as bad as this individual.
Our midfield could not tackle a pie. They are the most inept outfit I have see. There is no creation in their game. All we do is punt the ball up the park and then defend badly.
Playing at home playing 4-5-1. Scored two goals in four home games so far and both of these have been penalties. Going to be a great season this year again. The sad thing is I have not seen a good team so far.
As least Stranraer created some chances and took them. Great free kick by Gibson.
Jimmy MCcabe
Sep 23 2007, 09:26
It's all about opinions and while Gregory may lay it on with a trowel when he has been fouled the simple fact is that he is fouled a lot,we don't get many black French players in the colours of Stranraer FC and I think he's magic even when he does something wrong he is on his bike tackling back to rectify his mistake at 21 he will only get better and I hope he is with us for a while to come. As for Messr Lyle he contributed as much to Stranraer victory yesterday as he did in a season last year when at Stair Park if he was shot for being a defender they would be shooting an innocent man.
Neilly
Sep 23 2007, 09:26
QUOTE(Sam68+1 @ Sep 22 2007, 20:38)

Listen to the sad act in the house at half nine.
Stop racially abusing Latapy please.
Francesc Fabregas
Sep 23 2007, 12:09
Horrid, horrid game of football. I missed the last goal because I was getting picked up to go to Glasgow at 5pm, but what a horrorshow.
Stranraer dominated the first ten minutes of play and Hillcoat produced a superb save from Tade, diving down at his feet when he was one on one on goal. We began to dominate as the half progressed, but never looked like scoring, bar the corner/freekick (I can't really remember) that the players thought crossed the line.
The second half was diabolical - after going one up (the penalty was an obvious penalty, the guy had two arms around Dempster), I couldn't believe we were losing 2-1 four minutes later. Gibson's freekick was a beast and a superb goal, but Tade's header was a fucking shambles from our point of view. How the f**k can a defence allow someone to get a diving header three feet from the ground following a corner?! I've never seen anything like it in my life!
The less said about the third goal the better. A total comedy classic. Lyle was piss poor yesterday and had been culpable for us concedeing a few atrocious goals so far.
Surely Craig Menzies has to be given a chance in midfield? Lindsay looked totally clueless and Flynn not much better. I have no idea why Campbell Money persists with those guys when everytime he comes onto the pitch, Zee makes a big difference. The whole midfield is a fucking joke quite frankly and needs sorted ASAP.
The only positive from the game was John Dempster's performance - he was superb up top himself, challenged for every ball and had the big Grant Mitchell looking fella on toast. There was just no support for him and no one linking up with him and so a lot of his knockdowns went to waste.
Money needs to get this sorted - that's us conceded 11 goals in our last three home games - totally unacceptable. Stranraer looked a decent enough team who'll be there or thereabouts at the end of the season, but to be beaten in that manner was utterly appalling.
vince sinclair
Sep 23 2007, 12:33
IMO Stenny have not recovered from Cowden winning the Championship.
When we won 2-1 with 4 games left, it went down hill from here.
Is the Akapussy still going?
Neilly
Sep 23 2007, 12:35
AKAPUSSY!
LOLLLLLLLLL
ROFLCOPTER
etc.
Sam68+1
Sep 23 2007, 17:21
QUOTE(Neilly @ Sep 23 2007, 10:26)

Listen to the sad act in the house at half nine.
Stop racially abusing Latapy please.
To right I should have been at the rave in Gilmours.
Dont you just love poor losers.
Neilly
Sep 23 2007, 17:28
Poor losers what are you talking about you clown.
Away to your KKK meeting ya balloon.
QUOTE(Sam68+1 @ Sep 22 2007, 21:38)

I genuinely have aspirations that you will die in some form of freak accident in the near future, what a fanny you truly are.
shire_mad
Sep 23 2007, 19:10
QUOTE(dubya @ Sep 23 2007, 18:31)

I genuinely have aspirations that you will die in some form of freak accident in the near future, what a fanny you truly are.
Totaly uncalled for. Football is all about banter and this week Falkirk are up. You should either ignore it or take it in good jest and when in the near future Falkirk screw up get your revenge. To hope someone will die is taking it to far.
beaver1
Sep 23 2007, 19:20
Don't have anything much to add that hasn't been said already. It was pretty even until we went one up and then we fell to bits. We don't have any alternatives to what is on the park, so a long hard season awaits.
stuartjb
Sep 23 2007, 22:58
QUOTE(dubya @ Sep 23 2007, 18:31)

once again - the stenny fan shows his true mentality - for inspiration for this reply see the elgin - shire thread.
stenny are rank - surely money must get sacked soon. If it were cowden he would have been away weeks ago.
p.s dubya bit harsh neeb. im sure when you come on here you are always half cut.
Nice to see a drip-drop of Cowden fans coming down to get the boot in after they lost yet again, so transparent it's untrue. Deal wi your own problems (inbreeding/neds throwing large rocks at travelling fans/big headed midgets who headbutt you for going to a Shire Cowden game)
BLADES MAN
Sep 24 2007, 12:44
QUOTE(Moonglum25 @ Sep 23 2007, 10:08)

Aye a dirty, cheating, diving git trying to get reactions from his fellow players. Lyle did not touch him in the first half but he reacted as if he has been cut in half but seconds layer ws running about like a gazelle. He then proceeded to try and wind Lyle up by mouthing and proding at him trying to get a reaction. Disappointing as he looks like he has got some talent and he should let that speak for him.
Hillcoat put in a world class performance......... as someone trying to impersonate a goalkeeper. He has been bad so far this season and is as p*** as his column in the Sunday Mail. He should be using it every week to apologise for his displays. Willie McCulloch was costing us a goal a game the last few games last season but he was never as bad as this individual.
Our midfield could not tackle a pie. They are the most inept outfit I have see. There is no creation in their game. All we do is punt the ball up the park and then defend badly.
Playing at home playing 4-5-1. Scored two goals in four home games so far and both of these have been penalties. Going to be a great season this year again. The sad thing is I have not seen a good team so far.
As least Stranraer created some chances and took them. Great free kick by Gibson.
So you didnae go to the Montrose game then ?
How can you say that you have not seen a good side, after getting humped 3-0, 4-0 and 4-1 in your last three home games ? If those three teams weren't good, how bad are Stenny ?
QUOTE(BLADES MAN @ Sep 24 2007, 13:44)

So you didnae go to the Montrose game then ?
How can you say that you have not seen a good side, after getting humped 3-0, 4-0 and 4-1 in your last three home games ? If those three teams weren't good, how bad are Stenny ?
He's talking mince, of course we've seen good teams. The Shire and yourselves totally outplayed us and used our pitch to good effect.
To answer your other question though, we are still really really chronic.
Sam68+1
Sep 24 2007, 19:04
QUOTE(shire_mad @ Sep 23 2007, 20:10)

Totaly uncalled for. Football is all about banter and this week Falkirk are up. You should either ignore it or take it in good jest and when in the near future Falkirk screw up get your revenge. To hope someone will die is taking it to far.
That would be the class thing to do but its Stenny fans we are talking about here.
Sam68+1
Sep 24 2007, 19:06
QUOTE(dubya @ Sep 24 2007, 13:20)

Sue me.
Your giro isn't worth the bother.
ta elite
Sep 25 2007, 16:29
QUOTE(dubya @ Sep 24 2007, 13:27)

big headed midgets who headbutt you for going to a Shire Cowden game)
he might be a midget but he still crashed the pus on you
fuc kin central scotland tink
vince sinclair
Sep 26 2007, 11:36
QUOTE(dubya @ Sep 24 2007, 13:27)

Nice to see a drip-drop of Cowden fans coming down to get the boot in after they lost yet again, so transparent it's untrue. Deal wi your own problems (inbreeding/neds throwing large rocks at travelling fans/big headed midgets who headbutt you for going to a Shire Cowden game)
I'm sure this was explained to you ages ago, the so called inbreeding neds who were throwing large rocks were little tossers who were outside the ground and had NOTHING to do with the club or our supporters. And the guy at the Shire is a Pars fan.
ta elite
Sep 26 2007, 11:40
dont think so vince
he exactly meets the profile of your average cowden fan
btw what height are you 4ft 11
Neilly
Sep 26 2007, 12:28
In all fairness all the genuine Cowden fans I've met have been top notch. Before the game in Wee Jimmie's that time the neds went mental all the lads we met made us very welcome vince sinclair, NELLY etc.
I wasn't there that night at the Shire but whoever stuck the head on one of ours fans was clearly a coward.
ta elite
Sep 26 2007, 18:04
the coward was dubya who ran away from a cowden dwarf
QUOTE(stuartjb @ Sep 23 2007, 23:58)

once again - the stenny fan shows his true mentality - for inspiration for this reply see the elgin - shire thread.
You Sir are beginning to bore me.
QUOTE(ta elite @ Sep 25 2007, 17:29)

he might be a midget but he still crashed the pus on you
fuc kin central scotland tink
I was there that night and no he didnt. Plus he had about 20 of his cousins with him against 2 young lads. Very brave I must say.
Blueminer
Sep 28 2007, 15:41
QUOTE(Waldo @ Sep 28 2007, 09:23)

I was there that night and no he didnt. Plus he had about 20 of his cousins with him against 2 young lads. Very brave I must say.
Pars fans are scum. Hope Stenny get them in the cup, maybe you will spot the trouble maker
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.