Full Version: Elgin 6 (six) Shire 0
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
cityfan
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Fantastic

6 going on 20.

Thought this shire lot had sorted themselves out laugh.gif

I doubt theres a better player in this division than Zander Sutherland, what a player.
fatwull
Your still pish, but no as pish as forfar!!
shire_mad
Hugely dissapointing result today. Interesting to know what happened for the penalty and sending off. From that point it as always going to be tough to get anything. As I have said the team selection for the Morton game could come back to haunt us.

Overall I'm still delighted with our position in the league. Big game home game next week against Arbroath. Should hopefully be more competitive than today.

Small consulation that Stenny had a bad day as well wink.gif

Jim Pansy
Is it not technically 7 (seven) that the BBC vidiprinter starts entering the score in words just to make sure it wasn't a typo?
TWS
QUOTE(cityfan @ Sep 22 2007, 17:31) *
I doubt theres a better player in this division than Zander Sutherland, what a player.

Good to see Zanders doing well smile.gif
Bad Uncle
Good to see the Shire are back to their brilliant best!

laugh.gif laugh.gif cool.gif ohmy.gif

Hill for Scotland!
cityfan
QUOTE(shire_mad @ Sep 22 2007, 17:51) *
Interesting to know what happened for the penalty and sending off.

Zander had skinned the guy with ease and was 1 on 1 with the keeper and he hacked him down from behind. Clear penalty and had he not been booked already, could have very easyilly been a straight red.
cityfan
QUOTE(TWS @ Sep 22 2007, 18:07) *
Good to see Zanders doing well smile.gif

Very suprised Caley dont have any use for him at the moment. Great pace, full of tricks and goes past players with ease. Pretty obvious that the 3rd division is way below his level.
andyouare
QUOTE(Bad Uncle @ Sep 22 2007, 18:16) *

Hill for Scotland!

wheesht you!

well done! shire had a bad day, 4 hr drive up to elgin and lost 6-0. And this is gonna be made out a big deal, just cause we won (X) amount of games in a row (and before anyone quotes me on that, yes I do know how many). I still have my high hopes for Shire and I've seen the games they've been playing so far (up to last week) and they are better than this, they just need to get get their heads held back up again and play football.

Moan the shire biggrin.gif
ictforeurope
did ant get a game elgin fans? or is williamson still not playing him due to lack of games?duh play him then he,ll have match practice
kilgour11
what went wrong?

seriously
FilthyMack
QUOTE(Jim Pansy @ Sep 22 2007, 17:51) *
Is it not technically 7 (seven) that the BBC vidiprinter starts entering the score in words just to make sure it wasn't a typo?

I don't know, but it must be the first opportunity an Elgin fan's had the chance to type it since the invention of the internet.
Jimmy Shaker
This is a black, black day for football. The SFA should look at this result and just stop football immediately.
Juninho
This is a black, black day for football. The SFA should look at this result and just stop football immediately.

Just think what you would do if Elgin sneaked into the playoffs. wink.gif

I hope they do get involved in the playoffs or extended cup runs purely from a Ross County perspective and the experience our players are gaining.
Sam68+1
Bloody hell, come on Shire you are letting me down, still Stenny lost 4-1 at home. laugh.gif
Joe M
Was that Shires usual team? Even with ten men they looked poor.

I cannae wait to get to work on Monday and drink ma tea from ma Elgin City Mug. Can you drink with a huge grin?
HOMBRE
You lot really are shit !!

But we are worse !! cool.gif
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE(Joe M @ Sep 22 2007, 21:41) *
Elgin City Mug

Was this brought out by the club as a replacement for the league trophy you had removed from your grubby paws? laugh.gif
montrose 5 forfar 1
Your still shite mate
Gull
Are you sure our team wasn`t kidnapped and replaced by amateur lookalikes that never met each other? In the last 5 years this would have been regarded as just another bad result, this season I can only describe this as disgraceful. Yes, I thought it was a penalty and yes, I thought our man had to go off but it seemed like (with a couple of exceptions) our team then decided to feel sorry for themselves and just chuck it. I could have accepted just getting beaten (Elgin`s number 10 was superb today - although we didn`t seem to have the intelligence to try and stop him) but for the first time in years I was actually embarrassed at the final result. I will take a bit of time to try and work out exactly what went so wrong today, but in this season with much improved resources there really is no excuse for this kind of shambles. I have to say that the fans were very angry with the players and the manager didn`t escape criticism either - things we`ve not done for a long time at this club. Our strange away hoodoo at Elgin continues - if you boys are ever going through a bad patch again just give our team a call!
DavieD
What does mad bill carry in the Tesco bag?

Gull
QUOTE(DavieD @ Sep 22 2007, 23:14) *
What does mad bill carry in the Tesco bag?
Don`t ask questions like that, the answer might be too scary!
Love_Machine
Well, we weren't exactly expecting that one when we woke up this morning.

5.30am - Start drinking on the train to Stirling.
6.25am - Train to Aberdeen.
8.35am - Head to pubs in Aberdeen for more beer.
9.25am - Miss the train to Elgin.
11am - Stagecoach bus to Elgin, cause we ain't giving Scotrail any more of our money that day.
2pm - Finally land in Elgin, 3 hours later and sobered up.
4.45pm - Stop drinking for the rest of the day, because that was shite.

Well done to Elgin though, took their chance and rightfully deserved the win. As Gull said, we weren't happy and we all hope the team picked up on it. That No.10 had a blinder for you guys, don't see why he wasn't picked up at all for the 90 minutes. Can't complain with the riding we took from Elgin though, i think it's exactly what is needed to fix this shambles which is going on at Firs Park right now.

The red card - can't have any complaints, but why he didn't go easier for a bit is well beyond us.

Charleston - w**ker. And not for the red card, but for yet another shit display of bad calls which again cost us chances to at least make a game of it.

And can i just say, 10/10 for the pies, lovely. biggrin.gif

[Edit] - And well seeing the F*kirk fans have took a trip down here because they scraped a win today.

And one last thing. You guys always that quiet when your winning? Quite scary IMO.
cityfan
Just seen the stats for todays game.

Elgin
Total shots - 23
On Target - 18
Off Target - 5

Shire
Total shots - 4
On Target - 1
Off Target - 3

Jesus.
cityfan
QUOTE(Jimmy Shaker @ Sep 22 2007, 22:00) *
Was this brought out by the club as a replacement for the league trophy you had removed from your grubby paws? laugh.gif

How does it feel to be below Fort William? That really is bad.

Bottom of the Highland League laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
stuartjb
QUOTE(cityfan @ Sep 22 2007, 17:31) *
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Fantastic

6 going on 20.

Thought this shire lot had sorted themselves out laugh.gif

apparently not.
stuartjb
QUOTE(Bad Uncle @ Sep 22 2007, 18:16) *

Hill for Scotland!

yeah - cause you're team is wiping the floor with everybody ................... not.
Neilly
Betting scandal.

The Shire players aren't the heroes the fans like to think.

biggrin.gif
Bad Uncle
QUOTE(stuartjb @ Sep 23 2007, 01:28) *
apparently not.

QUOTE(stuartjb @ Sep 23 2007, 01:30) *
yeah - cause you're team is wiping the floor with everybody ................... not.

What's it like living in our shadow monkey muff?
Jimmy Shaker
QUOTE(cityfan @ Sep 23 2007, 00:58) *
How does it feel to be below Fort William? That really is bad.

Bottom of the Highland League laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

If we aren't top it doesn't matter where we are. wink.gif
philosopher
QUOTE(Jimmy Shaker @ Sep 23 2007, 13:13) *
If we aren't top it doesn't matter where we are. wink.gif

So when was the last time it mattered where you were?

Maybe you should change your name to AaaaaLossiemouth FC and then you'd at least be top of the league prior to the first game and you could have a brief spell of it mattering where you are.

Now, second bottom - that's something to be proud of! rolleyes.gif
stuartjb
QUOTE(Bad Uncle @ Sep 23 2007, 12:56) *
What's it like living in our shadow monkey muff?

whether the shire play well or badly , whether they win or lose, i will always go and see them, and be happy that i support the shire.

when falkirk hit the skids , you can sit there at new brockvile among your fellow "supporters" as they turn on yogi at the drop of a hat calling him the most horrible things they can think up.

i don't feel "in your shadow" - falkirk are irrelevant to me.............so i'm afraid i can't answer your question spunk breath.
dubs
QUOTE(shire_mad @ Sep 22 2007, 17:51) *
Small consulation that Stenny had a bad day as well wink.gif

You need help mate.
ICTChris
Good to hear that Zander is doing well.

I see Shalliker scored a htat-trick, I'm sure he scored a couple against Caley one preseason for Lossiemouth, he looked a good player. I thought he was in the RAF though which meant he couldn't play for large chunks of the season, although I am probably wrong.
RiG
QUOTE(cityfan @ Sep 22 2007, 18:29) *
Very suprised Caley dont have any use for him at the moment. Great pace, full of tricks and goes past players with ease. Pretty obvious that the 3rd division is way below his level.

Brewster doesn't like players with flair and skill. See Juanjo for example.
ICTChris
QUOTE(RiG @ Sep 23 2007, 18:52) *
Brewster doesn't like players with flair and skill. See Juanjo for example.

Zander will be back, hopefully his stint at first team football will toughen him up and get him knuckling down.

Why is it you toughen up but knuckle down? unsure.gif
Bushel o' Bricks
I've been watching Shire's form closely this season and was pleased to see them win six successive games. With Savage and Simpson in particular looking the part and with plenty of goals being scored, things were looking good. After this result, however, I have to ask what's gone wrong.

Some of you have mentioned a hoodoo against Elgin, but personally I don't think this is the case. I remember during the 2003/04 season, Shire's two wins were both against Elgin. The following season they won 3-1 at Borough Briggs for their first away win in over a year. At the start of last season, they beat them 2-1 at Firs Park. All of these games were during the £10-a-week days, so how can you say there is some sort of hoodoo?

Of course, the crippling £10-a-week pay structure has now been scrapped. Les Thomson spoke of Spencer Fearn's £40,000 investment in that it would allow for "vastly improved wages for the first-team squad". They've been able to attract some better players while sticking with some of the players from last season, and their results so far this season have proved beyond reasonable doubt that they can now compete in the division. They seem to be playing aesthetically-pleasing football and many punters on here, having seen them, have said they should easily make the play-offs, or words to that effect. So how can there possibly be such a dramatic turnaround to lose 6-0 to a side who were bottom of the league?

QUOTE(Love_Machine @ Sep 23 2007, 00:02) *
Can't complain with the riding we took from Elgin though, i think it's exactly what is needed to fix this shambles which is going on at Firs Park right now.

Shambles? Up until this point, there seemed to be nothing but positive news coming from Firs Park. With Spencer's investment, shireTV, the Norwegian fans initiative, new players, improved wages and, above all, winning several games, I would've thought the signs were all good. What do you mean by a shambles at Firs Park?
Neilly
Simple.

They are a one man team.

There one man is injured.

They get humped.

Shocker.
shire_mad
QUOTE(Bushel o' Bricks @ Sep 23 2007, 19:42) *
I've been watching Shire's form closely this season and was pleased to see them win six successive games. With Savage and Simpson in particular looking the part and with plenty of goals being scored, things were looking good. After this result, however, I have to ask what's gone wrong.

Some of you have mentioned a hoodoo against Elgin, but personally I don't think this is the case. I remember during the 2003/04 season, Shire's two wins were both against Elgin. The following season they won 3-1 at Borough Briggs for their first away win in over a year. At the start of last season, they beat them 2-1 at Firs Park. All of these games were during the £10-a-week days, so how can you say there is some sort of hoodoo?

Of course, the crippling £10-a-week pay structure has now been scrapped. Les Thomson spoke of Spencer Fearn's £40,000 investment in that it would allow for "vastly improved wages for the first-team squad". They've been able to attract some better players while sticking with some of the players from last season, and their results so far this season have proved beyond reasonable doubt that they can now compete in the division. They seem to be playing aesthetically-pleasing football and many punters on here, having seen them, have said they should easily make the play-offs, or words to that effect. So how can there possibly be such a dramatic turnaround to lose 6-0 to a side who were bottom of the league?
Shambles? Up until this point, there seemed to be nothing but positive news coming from Firs Park. With Spencer's investment, shireTV, the Norwegian fans initiative, new players, improved wages and, above all, winning several games, I would've thought the signs were all good. What do you mean by a shambles at Firs Park?

I think shambles is a bit of an exageration. If you would have offered me this position at the start of the season I would have taken it. The past two weeks have been a huge disapointment. To go 2-0 up and get beat was shocking but then to get beat 6-0 as an embarrassing result.

There are a few reasons in my opinion as to why it has gone wrong of late:

1. The Brand injury has had a huge impact. With both him and McKenzie out there is a complete lack of support for Savage. Not forgetting Oates and McBride are also out injured at present.

2. Simpson has looked terrible in the last couple of games. He needs to get much more involved in the game

3. Playing a full strength squad against Morton was a huge mistake. Savage should have been given a break or at least a partner in that match considering the importance of the Elgin game.

4. Continuing to play 4-5-1 when the players available would be better suited to 4-4-2

5. Two red cards make it difficult for any team to get a result.

All that might seem quite negative but I strongly believe we can turn it around. Hopefully McKenzie will be available on Saturday which should provide us with better balance. Ure on the left, Kelly and Donaldson in the middle ould be my pick with Savage being partnered up front. Wylde needs to get them going quickly thats for sure.

Gull
The fans reaction to the result alone shows how expectations and what is deemed normal has changed - unlike the last 5 seasons I think only 2 supporters clapped as the teams went off at full time (and got a row for it!), the rest refused to dignify the proceedings with any show that could be misinterpreted as in any way accepting what had happened.

Call it a hoodoo or not, 2 wins in 7 years at Borough Briggs can`t be considered a good record!

Every team has problems, some you get told about publicaly, some you don`t but for us things will not be in any way `normal` at the Shire untill:
a) We get to the end of this season and finish in 9th place or higher
cool.gif at our November AGM the shareholders agree to Spencer Fearn`s plan to buy out Alan Mackin & chums in exchange for control of Firs Park.
Love_Machine
Since i've calmed down about now, i've looked back.

Shambles was a harsh word, but between myself, Geebo and Huskie, it was our word of the day. Whilst i understand what post looks like now, i actually meant the performance on the pitch, i understand my last post was misleading.

We have a lot more to be positive about, with Spencer, Shire TV, better players. But when you see your team literally collapse like that, against any team (Again, full credit to Elgin), you can't help but vent your anger somehow.

I'm feeling a bit more positive now, but i'll have to wait untill Saturday to see what the reaction of that game will be like.

As for our position in the league so far this season, we can't really complain, can we? biggrin.gif But i only really studied the league for the first time this season today on Teletext (Yeah, no wireless at work) and this looks like one of the most competitive leagues i've seen in a while. Except EF.
stuartjb
QUOTE(Neilly @ Sep 23 2007, 19:57) *
Simple.

They are a one man team.

They get humped.

Shocker.

funny you should say that - i remember all 11 shire players pissing all over stenny at ochilview in the 3 (three) 0 (zero) game.not a bad achievement for a "one man" team.not least sean simpsons tremendous individual performance.

good to see the stenny fans still don't feel the need to make catty comments about the shire at the first oppurtunity they get.yes - i can see you are definatley not obsessed with us.

you do however continue to talk utter s***e.
Neilly
Ohh who's a Moaning Michael.

Andy Brand was playing against us that's why you won.

And you know it.
stuartjb
QUOTE(Neilly @ Sep 24 2007, 06:45) *
Ohh who's a Moaning Michael.

Andy Brand was playing against us that's why you won.

And you know it.

you are absolutley right - plus savage + simpson + ure + shaggy + hill + king + well basically the whole shire team,who were better footballers than anybody campbell (nae) money could put on the park. rolleyes.gif
dubs
QUOTE(stuartjb @ Sep 24 2007, 09:16) *
you are absolutley right - plus savage + simpson + ure + shaggy + hill + king + well basically the whole shire team,who were better footballers than anybody campbell (nae) money could put on the park. rolleyes.gif

I was wondering how long it would be before Shire fans admitted their recent success was purely down to money. Nice slip up, cretin.
Joe M
I think that having five starting players missing, down to 10 men and having to travel to Elgin all add to a difficult away match. Also remember we have four loan players from County and Caley, plus our pitch was very wet and heavy, footballers struggle on our pitch.

But hey, "I will take 3pts and 6-0"

Oh let me say that again "I will take 3pts and 6-0"
Sam68+1
QUOTE(Neilly @ Sep 23 2007, 19:57) *
Simple.

They are a one man team.

They get humped.

Shocker.

Seem like that still leaves them with one more player than Stenny. laugh.gif
Neilly
QUOTE(Sam68+1 @ Sep 24 2007, 19:09) *
Seem like that still leaves them with one more player than Stenny. laugh.gif

ROFLCOPTER1111!!!!!!!!!

You really are side hilarious.

Are you and stuartjb brothers?
shire_mad
QUOTE(dubya @ Sep 24 2007, 13:22) *
I was wondering how long it would be before Shire fans admitted their recent success was purely down to money. Nice slip up, cretin.

I was wondering how long it would take for you to have another go at this. As I said in a past post which you chose to ignore any argument about money is pointless unless there are accurate figures for how much each team is spending relative to each other. For all I know Stenny are spending twice as much money as the Shire.

Not to mention that fact (again) that money on it's own does not gurantee success and you don't need to look to far from home to see that.

Maybe you should spend more time attempting to form a plausible argument rather than resorting to petty name calling or death threats.

stuartjb
QUOTE(shire_mad @ Sep 24 2007, 20:45) *
I was wondering how long it would take for you to have another go at this. As I said in a past post which you chose to ignore any argument about money is pointless unless there are accurate figures for how much each team is spending relative to each other. For all I know Stenny are spending twice as much money as the Shire.

Not to mention that fact (again) that money on it's own does not gurantee success and you don't need to look to far from home to see that.

Maybe you should spend more time attempting to form a plausible argument rather than resorting to petty name calling or death threats.

nice one mate - the nae money bit was more of a reference to how stenny seemed to have an endless supply at one point - and then seem to have thrown it away without really achieving anything.i don't think the shire have gone over the score money wise.basically we can now compete - nothing more.

i'm not related to the sam guy dubya - he just thinks you are a fud as well.nothing strange in that. rolleyes.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.