Full Version: Dumbarton 1 - 1 East Fife
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
GoTeamGaz
Better than expected, fantastic clearance off the line towards the end of the game from Haswell. Gerry still needs to go.

650 attendance L O L Z
Boghead Ben
Certainly a much better performance today. We raised our game and based on the 2nd half we should have won.

Fife are a big, strong side and have a cracking midfield and dominated the game first half. McManus' goal was top drawer.

We have to take something from the game ; Campbell had his best game for Dumbarton and Geggan was good too. Much better, but still short of what we need.
Howlin' Wilf
Agree with your synopsis Ben. One piece of good news is that we have signed former QP keeper Crawford who played as a trialist pre-season. Only reason he didn't play today was lack of clearance from Luton/Tranmere.
Tam EF
Not long back,and have to say based on your 2nd half peformance you deserved to win.We looked very comfortable prior to going 1 nil up and then we decide to stop playing and sit too deep.

We have arguably the best squad of players in the league,but IMO we have a manager out of his depth. The next 2 home games are crucial to us and could determine Baikie`s future.

Still top,but still p!ssed off!
C'Way The Mo
Tazz1903 ---- how was the pitch?
montrose 5 forfar 1
QUOTE(C'Way The Mo @ Sep 23 2007, 00:57) *
Tazz1903 ---- how was the pitch?

laugh.gif laugh.gif
bobbykdy
QUOTE(GoTeamGaz @ Sep 22 2007, 17:22) *
Better than expected, fantastic clearance off the line towards the end of the game from Haswell. Gerry still needs to go.

650 attendance L O L Z

According to TWO newspapers today I have seen the attendance was only 192.

Is this true or is there a hey diddle diddle going on? unsure.gif
edinlichtie

Blew my coupon for £250 mad.gif
the_russian
QUOTE(edinlichtie @ Sep 23 2007, 11:05) *

Blew my coupon for £250 mad.gif

Neilly
QUOTE(bobbykdy @ Sep 23 2007, 09:19) *

Go away you ruddy flange.
The Moonster
Was really bad first half. Much better second half. Our squad is far too thin, Gerry really doesnt have any options to change the game. His time may be up.

There was more than 650 there yesterday nevermind 192.
Dumbarton-Mad
Never happy to not win at home but i didn't expect us to take anything yesterday. Good to see we've signed Crawford, he should be better than Grindlay IMO. Next week will be hard though Montrose looked good and that plastic pitch certainly won't help us.

Gerry still must go though.
Trawler Rum & Weetabix
QUOTE(Boghead Ben @ Sep 22 2007, 17:59) *
Certainly a much better performance today. We raised our game and based on the 2nd half we should have won.

Fife are a big, strong side and have a cracking midfield and dominated the game first half. McManus' goal was top drawer.

We have to take something from the game ; Campbell had his best game for Dumbarton and Geggan was good too. Much better, but still short of what we need.

My most obvious interpretation of the reaction following yesterday's result is just how far we have slumped under McCabe when a home draw versus a team whom we should be rivalling to escape this Division is hailed as some sort of success. The reason why of course being that everyone expected Sons to lose, and probably badly too.

Interesting to note too that last week's winners here, Stenny, were turned over at home yesterday by Montrose. What does that say about McCabe and Co ?

Two wins versus Montrose and Forfar would give us a pisspoor 14 points from a possible 27 in the opening quarter. I don't expect two wins, in which case I would expect a P45 or two to be forthcoming.
Boghead Ben
QUOTE(bobbykdy @ Sep 23 2007, 10:19) *

The newspapers picked the 192 figure from teletext. Total rubbish of course.

692 is the correct figure. 150 of that from East Fife.

Given that the previous week's attendance was 907, and that the East Fife support was treble that of the Stenny troops, the 692 is rubbish. A lot of people who came the week before simply opted out yesterday. Shame and a real disappointment.
F_T_Y
Aye it said on the bbc site the attendance was 192.Glad to hear it was more.
Dumbarton-Mad
QUOTE(Trawler Rum & Weetabix @ Sep 23 2007, 12:18) *
My most obvious interpretation of the reaction following yesterday's result is just how far we have slumped under McCabe when a home draw versus a team whom we should be rivalling to escape this Division is hailed as some sort of success. The reason why of course being that everyone expected Sons to lose, and probably badly too.

Interesting to note too that last week's winners here, Stenny, were turned over at home yesterday by Montrose. What does that say about McCabe and Co ?

Two wins versus Montrose and Forfar would give us a pisspoor 14 points from a possible 27 in the opening quarter. I don't expect two wins, in which case I would expect a P45 or two to be forthcoming.

We can defo beat Forfar they are a very poor side, Montrose i'm not as confident about. Gerry has to go.
kiwififer
We looked very comfortable first half, scored then switched off. Second half, we were a team with one eye on the Rangers game, and totally disinterested. Dumbarton came at us, and fair play to them, they deserved the draw. Either side could have won it with late chances. The worrying thing for me is that we don't appear to have a lot of pace at the back, and if Rangers play Nacho or someone nippy, they will play balls over the top and potentially score a barrowload. The midfield looked very good.

One niggle, was the late challenge in the first half that your player was yellowed. Not only was it late, it looked cycnical and it would have been a straight red on another day. Wasn't a dirty game either.

Sort your pies out, they are mingin mad.gif
ShakehandsTom - DFC
On the game:-

East Fife were really good first half, and in the midfield took us to bits in spells. We took a while to get going, and carved out only a few real chances.

McPhee, again, was wasted as rightwing-forward. I can't understand why we play someone who has scored all of his goals in his career as a forward, on the right wing! blink.gif

The East Fife goal was a very well worked piece of play and a deserved goal imo. We were cut open at alarming ease for it too. sad.gif

Second half, we got better and got into the game much more. We created more and got a deserved point. smile.gif / dry.gif

That said though, East Fife could and certainly should have won it at the end with McManus' chance from 2 yards being excellently blocked... dry.gif / smile.gif

Mind you, looking at our bench and even the starting 11, it is obvious that our squad is threadbare and there isn't really anything coming off the bench to worry opponents, and that, is a worry.

Still, there was improvements from previous games and that's a positive. There will need to be much more improvement from yesterday though, if we are to get anything from an 'on-fire' Montrose team.
Shit_Squeak
who r we going to get if McCabe leaves?? b honest we r not going to get any1 special so i hink we shud jus stick wae him till the season is done.

but we shud sack the board ohmy.gif

The Moonster
QUOTE(Shit_Squeak @ Sep 23 2007, 20:51) *
who r we going to get if McCabe leaves?? b honest we r not going to get any1 special so i hink we shud jus stick wae him till the season is done.

I sort of agree, but there must be someone out there. Def sack the board.

Oh and leave Niall alone ya bully! laugh.gif laugh.gif
Bring Back Paddy Flannery
sack the board, we could have won, east fife could have won, fair result imo. thanks very much for the burst lip during the goal celebrations.
montrose 5 forfar 1
Told you they wernt world beeters. Dont Think EF hav had a game where they hav actully won comforbaley apart from forfar but c'mon that aint to hard dry.gif
King Kebab
QUOTE(montrose 5 forfar 1 @ Sep 23 2007, 23:15) *
Told you they wernt world beeters. Dont Think EF hav had a game where they hav actully won comforbaley apart from forfar but c'mon that aint to hard dry.gif

e' ea ' e e a ta F ' o
kiwififer
10.15? You've started early mate.
Mon_The_Fife
Really disappointed to only get a draw.

Like other people have said we were comfortable in the first half and dominated with the Dumbarton defence looking really shakey. McManus's goal was a good finish and we should have went on to create more chances but instead sat back on a 1-0 lead.

2nd half we were really poor and invited pressure from Dumbarton and they eventually scored when our attempted clearance bounced off Smarty I think and came back into the box, McDonald cleared off the line but it was a free header into the net from 2 yards.

Dumbarton missed a good chance before Smarty somehow hit a players erse from 3 yards out in the last minute.

Another poor performance and I will be glad when this Rangers game is over so the players can get back to concentrating on the league.
sons for spl
QUOTE(Shit_Squeak @ Sep 23 2007, 20:51) *

Me!
Shit_Squeak
Niall Henderson is a legend.
Come on Poooooofyyyyyy!!!!!!!

Defene looked a bit better yesterday wif canningvaro bak in it, hopefully he stays put at CB

i hink Mcphee looks gd for the right wing if hammy doesny make it bak for next week nd then put coyne bak upfront fae mcfarlane.
Bobby cam looked nae bad on sat but i hink he still has to improve and start lookin a threat.

MON THE SONSSSS!!!!!!!!
nd ALDO for manager!!!!
GoTeamGaz
I can't believe there were only 450 or so Sons fans there!

McCabbe has to go, even if it's not somebody "better" (I assume you mean with a bigger "reputation" & "experience") there MUST be someone, I don't have a lot (any) knowledge of the juniors but there must be someone there who would hopefully see us as a step up & a chance to prove himself, someone with tactical knowledge & a bit of man management skills would be fine.

the murmurs coming from the back of the stand after 'who needs maccabio, we want mourinio' were brilliant laugh.gif rolleyes.gif
submarine
QUOTE(GoTeamGaz @ Sep 25 2007, 08:10) *
I can't believe there were only 450 or so Sons fans there!

McCabbe has to go, even if it's not somebody "better" (I assume you mean with a bigger "reputation" & "experience") there MUST be someone, I don't have a lot (any) knowledge of the juniors but there must be someone there who would hopefully see us as a step up & a chance to prove himself, someone with tactical knowledge & a bit of man management skills would be fine.

the murmurs coming from the back of the stand after 'who needs maccabio, we want mourinio' were brilliant laugh.gif rolleyes.gif

I'm sure the gate was higher than this, is this a tax thing?! Chant above was fantastic and we played much better than against Elgin (last game I made it to). Second half of the season could be a worry, as the injuries and suspensions begin to take their toll. Too late to sack Gerry now, we can probably get rid at the end of the season for free if things don't improve, and with the depth of our squad it probably won't.
QUOTE(submarine @ Sep 25 2007, 09:29) *
I'm sure the gate was higher than this, is this a tax thing?!

well there were over 100 east fife fans on top of that
submarine
QUOTE(Bring Back Paddy Flannery @ Sep 25 2007, 10:13) *
well there were over 100 east fife fans on top of that

The stand still looked fuller than that though, I am quite prepared to be wrong on this!
yea it always looks much more full than is announced over the tannoy. it's either a case of tax dodging or our beer goggles decieving us.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.