The Minertaur
Sep 22 2007, 16:13
First game I miss in ages and look whats happens!
How was the game? Starting to feel a bit worried when you look at the league table and we seem to be slowly slipping away from the others above us.
We need to get a result next week against Airdrie. Its at home so I am confident we can at least take a point.
number one wasp
Sep 22 2007, 16:16
was a good game cowdens 2 goals were a bit sloppy the 1st 1 came back off the post and was slotted home and the 2nd one was just poor all round by alloa we looked far better team and just hopefully we keep this up raymond jellemma should never have been booked he clearly won the ball
Tonsilitis
Sep 22 2007, 16:52
How did Coakley play? He's not thought to be up to much at Cappielow so if you guys like him you will probably get to keep him come the window.
stockcar willie
Sep 22 2007, 16:58
don't seem to be going for us at the minute.have to start getting results soon.
number one wasp
Sep 22 2007, 17:15
QUOTE(Tonsilitis @ Sep 22 2007, 17:52)

How did Coakley play? He's not thought to be up to much at Cappielow so if you guys like him you will probably get to keep him come the window.
coakley looked pretty decent showed a few nice touches got subbed off after about 65 minutes
centralparker
Sep 22 2007, 17:16
QUOTE(number one wasp @ Sep 22 2007, 17:16)

cowdens 2 goals were a bit sloppy
What? The second Cowden goal was a 35-yard screamer, as good a strike as you're likely to see all season. Worth the admission price alone.
number one wasp
Sep 22 2007, 17:37
QUOTE(centralparker @ Sep 22 2007, 18:16)

What? The second Cowden goal was a 35-yard screamer, as good a strike as you're likely to see all season. Worth the admission price alone.
keeper still shouldve got a hand to it at least with the height it was and i forgot to as what the hell is with copying the celtic huddle another comedy moment was one of the cowden fans why the hell did he hold the ball so long with 5 minutes to go when his team was 3-2 down
angry chair
Sep 22 2007, 17:50
A good entertaining game between two positive sides, I thought Alloa did well today with a makeshift forward line. Didn't have a great view of the Jellema incident, but it was a heart-in-the-mouth moment. Thought Agnew, Brown Ferguson and Dougie Wilson were excellent today, and the trialist who came on second half also did well.
I agree Cowden's second goal was a great strike, but thought our second was a peach as well from a really good move.
Cowden will be gutted at the result, but I think they're a decent side who will win games with similar performances. As for Alloa, hopefully we've well & truly put the Airdrie farce behind us and can prove we're a much improved side from last season.
bob the tank
Sep 22 2007, 18:31
centralparker
Sep 22 2007, 18:41
QUOTE(number one wasp @ Sep 22 2007, 18:37)

what the hell is with copying the celtic huddle
Yes, that does look incredibly naff.
number one wasp
Sep 22 2007, 19:17
QUOTE(centralparker @ Sep 22 2007, 19:41)

Yes, that does look incredibly naff.
naff is a understatement looked fuckin stupid from where i was
Father Barrys Sign (Top Half)
Sep 22 2007, 19:21
Very vital and well deserved victory for Alloa. Thought the first half was pretty even, bit annoyed Alloa conceded so soon after opening the scoring though. In the second half we looked fairly comfortable after going in front through an excellent finish by Dougie Wilson, and indeed it took a wonder goal from Cowdenbeath to get them level. Got our noses back in front from a headed goal from Fraser Forrest though and dealt well with any Cowden attacks.
Big bonus that we look threatening from set pieces and we have midfielders capable of taking players on. The team is far from the finished article but signs are encouraging that we can achieve at least a mid table finish this season if we continue to progress.
BlooCoo
Sep 22 2007, 23:51
Was right in line with the incident with the keeper/Scott Dalziel and the keeper should have walked for the last man lunge as Scott played the ball past him then was taken out. Quite simply the ref bottled it - wasn't a penalty but was definitely a sending off.
Other than that, Alloa deserved their win. Our midfield failed to compete and allowed them to run the show in the second half.
Good to see Pat Clark back, hopefully his fitness will improve over the next few weeks and we can start to benefit from it.
number one wasp
Sep 23 2007, 12:29
QUOTE(BlooCoo @ Sep 23 2007, 00:51)

Was right in line with the incident with the keeper/Scott Dalziel and the keeper should have walked for the last man lunge as Scott played the ball past him then was taken out. Quite simply the ref bottled it - wasn't a penalty but was definitely a sending off.
was never a red card the keeper clearly played the ball you could see it move back from where the run was made
vince sinclair
Sep 23 2007, 12:45
We are under performing at the minute, but at least our injury list is now clearing up. When Pat Clarke gets match fit, hopefully he’ll make a difference.
Yesterday we didn’t deserve to take all 3 points; perhaps even 1 would have been an injustice. Why we never went for shots on goal beggars belief, looked what happened with our equaliser. There was a strong wind on the pitch, but we never took advantage of this.
We’ve dropped some silly points so far; we need to start getting a few wins starting with a tricky game next week against Airdrie.
PS IMO the Alloa keeper won the ball, Dalziel sh@t it, if he had a bit more belief he could have won the ball and possibly scored.
Cowden Cowboy
Sep 23 2007, 13:03
Disappointing yesterday - we faded as the game went on although Alloa looked more comfortable on what seemed to be a very big pitch compared to Central Park. Our away record is poor so far. Need to see Gilfillan in midfieldd as we need a tackler in there. Dalziel was brought down by the keeper and booking was correct decision. It was right in front of me - Dalziel nicked it past him and keeper raised his leg to trip him. However, well outside box ball went wide on the left past the keeper and not a clear goalscoring oppportunity - ref spot on with yellow card/free kick decision. Brian Welsh is right to ask how they got their winner - no way he should have scored with a header like that - defence were slack there.
A good game yesterday and an excellent 3 points for us . Cowden are a tough team to beat and have plenty height throughout their team and I was surprised we got 2 goals from set pieces given their height advantage .
A screamer of a 2nd goal from Cowden . Perhaps the boy should have been closed down but still a wonder strike for me .
Alloa are finding their feet and improving with every match. A difference with a settled keeper between the sticks has made all the difference also .
number one wasp
Sep 23 2007, 15:38
QUOTE(Oweny @ Sep 23 2007, 16:34)

A good game yesterday and an excellent 3 points for us . Cowden are a tough team to beat and have plenty height throughout their team and I was surprised we got 2 goals from set pieces given their height advantage .
A screamer of a 2nd goal from Cowden . Perhaps the boy should have been closed down but still a wonder strike for me .
Alloa are finding their feet and improving with every match. A difference with a settled keeper between the sticks has made all the difference also .
hope AM tries to make jellema a permanant fixture in our squad after the loan spell
Waspie
Sep 23 2007, 15:51
QUOTE(number one wasp @ Sep 23 2007, 16:38)

hope AM tries to make jellema a permanant fixture in our squad after the loan spell
Its not a loan deal number one wasp, Jellema signed a 1 year contract with Alloa and is our player. He's still training full-time with Accies though and if he was to have a really good season with us and was offered the chance to be number 1 at NDP next season it wouldnt be a surprise if he moved back in the summer. He's an Alloa player at the moment though and has been doing well so far. Good to have a safer pair of hands...crazy the number of points we dropped last season due to terrible goalkeeping errors.
Good result yesterday and we seem to be improving as all the new players settle in. What makes the last 2 wins more satisfying is they were achieved without a number of lads who are out injured and our squad certainly looks to be stronger than last season. Need to keep it going now and get some real momentum.
TerraceWasp
Sep 23 2007, 19:42
QUOTE(Father Barrys Sign (Top Half) @ Sep 22 2007, 20:21)

through an excellent finish by Dougie Wilson
this quote will be getting brought up in future matches mate!!! ;)
centralparker
Sep 23 2007, 21:07
Must say I was impressed with the artificial pitch. Light years ahead of the carpets of old.
QUOTE(centralparker @ Sep 23 2007, 22:07)

Must say I was impressed with the artificial pitch. Light years ahead of the carpets of old.
played on the stuff in a 5 aside tournment in zante (which we won to get it right up the english). was good stuff, wasnt afraid to dive around in it anyways. must say that the rec looks good now though. how much does it hold now since the redevelopement?
number one wasp
Sep 23 2007, 22:09
QUOTE(mikey @ Sep 23 2007, 22:48)

played on the stuff in a 5 aside tournment in zante (which we won to get it right up the english). was good stuff, wasnt afraid to dive around in it anyways. must say that the rec looks good now though. how much does it hold now since the redevelopement?
still holds the same over 3,000
CooCoothenoo
Sep 24 2007, 00:44
No complaints about the result but the Alloa keeper should have walked for his challenge on Dalziel. I was about 20 yards from it and he clearly took him down. Underhill shat it plain and simple.
Apart from that it was a very disjointed performance from Cowden. Alloa passed the ball well, especially in the second half.
i thought the surface was pish. no bearing on result to be fair. I hate the artificial surface and always will. Not blaming alloa or any other teams who have it. It makes financial sense. Im sure cowden will go down this route when we get a new stadium.
Saturday was dissapointing - really thought when we went 2-2 we would go on to win. Welshy through everything at them e.g all strikers got a run out. defensively we were shocking and it aint often cowden can say that. Our crossing and shooting were poor also ( outwith scullion) We need another win very soon. We do play "nice" football sometimes but with no real killer end product this is the big problem.
mone the cowden
QUOTE(number one wasp @ Sep 22 2007, 18:37)

keeper still shouldve got a hand to it at least with the height it was and i forgot to as what the hell is with copying the celtic huddle another comedy moment was one of the cowden fans why the hell did he hold the ball so long with 5 minutes to go when his team was 3-2 down
Sounds about as funny as your punctuation mate
Decent performance from Alloa on Saturday, we possibly didn't play as well as we did against Queens Park the week before but that may be down to Cowden performing better than Queens managed. Lots of positives for us to take from the game:
- the two wide players - Wilson and Agnew - both played very well with Wilson's directness causing Cowden problems every time he got on the ball whilst some of Agnew's passing in behind the defence was excellent and if he continues to shoot from everywhere he'll surely get a goal soon;
- Brown Ferguson and Steven McKeown are beginning to look like a good partnership in midfield with McKeown sitting and Bomber looking to get forward to support the attack whenever possible;
- our delivery from set pieces was excellent for much of the game and even with a much smaller team than Cowden we were causing them problems from corners and free-kicks; and
- it was good to see our centre halves getting on the scoresheet when we're having to do without our two first choice strikers.
I thought that the referee probably called the non-sending off of Jelema about right, he had forced the Cowden player to go so far wide that we would have managed to get players back.
Cowden's second was a fantastic strike that completely caught Jelema out, if he had been expecting a shot from there I'm sure his starting position would have been different but fair player to the Cowden player (Scullion?) for spotting that there was a big gap and taking the chance very well.
I was as puzzled as Number One Wasp by the Cowden fan holding on to the ball when his team were a goal down and chasing an equaliser. It's when you're winning that you're meant to waste time.
On to the Ross County game next, which will be very tough indeed. Thankfully we have had a good record against them in recent years and hopefully that will continue with a nice wee away win on Saturday, althogh if both Graeme Brown and Andy Ferguson are out I think we'll struggle.
Magic Hat
Sep 24 2007, 12:10
QUOTE(Dink @ Sep 24 2007, 12:18)

I was as puzzled as Number One Wasp by the Cowden fan holding on to the ball when his team were a goal down and chasing an equaliser. It's when you're winning that you're meant to waste time.
That was indeed a strange moment maybe he was a Raith Rovers fan sent by Gordon Brown in an attempt to sabotage the Blue Brazil's Season.
Thought Alloa played well again on Saturday and a win was probably about correct although think Cowdenbeath are a decent side and certainly not the worst team we have played this season.
The second goal for Cowdenbeath was a cracker and since the James McFadden goal for Scotland in Paris it appears a number of Scots players are trying these long range efforts.
The biggest positive in recent games has been the speed and directness of the likes of Agnew, Wilson and Kelly which is something we were missing last Season, well done to Alan Maitland for that.
Hard game away to Ross County on Saturday but hopefully we can take something.
number one wasp
Sep 24 2007, 12:32
QUOTE(CooCoothenoo @ Sep 24 2007, 01:44)

No complaints about the result but the Alloa keeper should have walked for his challenge on Dalziel. I was about 20 yards from it and he clearly took him down. Underhill shat it plain and simple.
Apart from that it was a very disjointed performance from Cowden. Alloa passed the ball well, especially in the second half.
doesnt matter that he took him down he won the ball
number one wasp
Sep 24 2007, 12:34
QUOTE(Naka @ Sep 24 2007, 11:24)

Sounds about as funny as your punctuation mate

and this thread concerns you how
wasp4ever
Sep 24 2007, 14:44
Probably doesn't concern him, it just makes your posts incredibly difficult to read. Might be worth taking a minute to put capitals in, commas and full stops. Honestly it will make things easier for any of us who may want to read your posts.
cowdenbeath
Sep 24 2007, 14:59
QUOTE(Dink @ Sep 24 2007, 12:18)

[*]our delivery from set pieces was excellent for much of the game and even with a much smaller team than Cowden we were causing them problems from corners and free-kicks; and
[*]it was good to see our centre halves getting on the scoresheet when we're having to do without our two first choice strikers.
[/list]
I thought that the referee probably called the non-sending off of Jelema about right, he had forced the Cowden player to go so far wide that we would have managed to get players back.
Cowden's second was a fantastic strike that completely caught Jelema out, if he had been expecting a shot from there I'm sure his starting position would have been different but fair player to the Cowden player (Scullion?) for spotting that there was a big gap and taking the chance very well.
I would agree with all of the above.
For the height of our defence, which has been our strong point this season we let in some bad goals.
The Jellema incident I saw as Dink says Dalziel was drifting away from the goal and there were defenders well back so imo a booking was right.
It was silly of the Cowden fan holding onto the ball i'm sure the Alloa players were pleased by the time wasted.
Alloa didn't look too a bad side to be honest esspecially with their two main frontmen missing. Jellema is also quite a good keeper but not as much fun to watch as Creer
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.