The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Swampy
QUOTE(Charles Darwin Esq @ Sep 15 2007, 17:26) *
4-0: I'll take that. And so will Pearse Flynn biggrin.gif

insert vague legal threat/misuse of the word "cliche" here
btb
QUOTE(The Naitch @ Sep 15 2007, 10:47) *
Difficult to see how this game will pan out after the international break.

Reckon we'll squeeze out 1-0 winners though.

All your internationalists must've been knackered! laugh.gif
snorkie
QUOTE(snorkie @ Sep 13 2007, 23:13) *
Livi to win this one by 2 goals. wink.gif Save yerself from the embarresment of being the 1st team to lose to Livi this season laugh.gif

Dont say i did'nt warn ye wink.gif

Never 4 goals between the 2 teams.Morton were unlucky in front of goals missed a few good chances laugh.gif Livi took theirs.If the big fellae that came on in the 2nd half had started from the beggining it might have only been 2 goals in it rolleyes.gif
Cmon the Livi
hendy08
QUOTE(snorkie @ Sep 15 2007, 17:57) *

Never 4 goals between the 2 teams.Morton were unlucky in front of goals missed a few good chances laugh.gif Livi took theirs.If the big fellae that came on in the 2nd half had started from the beggining it might have only been 2 goals in it rolleyes.gif
Cmon the Livi

Well summed up!
Stevie Aitken's Love Child

Cmon the Livi

Minus the smilies there i would say that summed up the game in a nutshell. Didn't think there was a whole lot between the teams, although i would say Livi deserved to win, just not by 4 goals. Snodgrass tormented us yet again, we just don't know how to deal with him, and the back 3 in the first half was at 6s and 7s and didn't seem to know who to pick up, perfectly displayed by the 2nd and 3rd goals.

2nd half we changed formation to the way we should have started the game and it almost immediately paid dividends when Templeman (cannie believe he didn't start) hit the post, and a few decent chances followed but when we hadn't scored within 10 minutes of the restart i knew it was game over. Naive tackle to win the pen, snodgrass again winning it, and our heads dropped and discipline went. The lack of passion in our side was a real let down, and Livi took advantage big time and could in all fairness have scored a few more. They have improved big style from the Challenge Cup game, and look set for a top half finish on that showing.

All in all a shocking day at the office for us, and if we dont wake up and realise we need to scrap for every ball then we're in for a tough season.
MCL
I suppose we shouldn't be surprised since Morton played their reserve team tongue.gif

Morton actually started both halves quite well and pushed Livi back but we were lethal in front of goal, combined with Mario having his usual two or three great saves. Morton also hit the post early in the second half which might have made a difference had it gone in.

Mark Proctor & Jim McInally post match audio
Swampy
I don't care if we play like Brazil 1970, shipping four goals is unacceptable.

Still, it could be a hell of a lot worse. Roll on Tuesday!
GreenOak_Ton
I'm shellshocked.Livi go one up but after that it looks like only matter time before Morton equalised,then bang,bang we're dead and buried.Two goals in 30 seconds,unbelievable defending but two great crosses from the left right on top of keeper(yeah come to think of it..where was our keeper).i dont agree with lack of passion from Morton as i thought they showed a lot of passion,especially McAllister, in second half but never got a break in front of goal.
Ive been bad mouthing Livi since the cup game but they look an awful lot sharper now and some good slick passing moves so maybe i should change my mind about seeing them as relegation candidates.
Last wee rant.......Livi keeper is one of biggest fuds ive ever seen.He was telling the ballboys to take their time when his team are 4-0 up.So not only was he cheating the losing team but also his own supporters who were enjoying every single attack Livi were making.Every team tries to waste time but when 4-0 up...unbelievable!!!
Well played Livi.Some decent football played on the ground.
AyrshireTon
We've lost every game we've played at Livi I think. unsure.gif
Satans_Husband
Good audio clips there. Bummer today but I'm still very confident we'll finish above Livingston this season who still don't look that great. Call me insane, call me Shirley, call me anything you want and feel free to quote me again come the end of the season but I don't actually feel that bad after today. These things happen and at least I got a great day out in Livingston. blink.gif
MTJ
QUOTE(GreenOak_Ton @ Sep 15 2007, 18:46) *
Livi keeper is one of biggest fuds ive ever seen.He was telling the ballboys to take their time when his team are 4-0 up

Like it or not it happens everywhere when the home team is winning.

When I was a ballboy at Thistle we were told by club 'officials' (I use that term loosely since they weren't directors or anything of the kind) to take our time getting the ball when we were winning near the end of the game.
vikingTON
QUOTE(Swampy @ Sep 15 2007, 17:21) *
Anyone back from the game yet?

Were Morton as pish as they sounded online?

Probably worse. dry.gif
Absolutely f*cking dreadful defensive performance - no surprises there.
Looked threatening in attack, but we've went, what, 7 hours now without a league goal?
2nd division defence for what could be a 2nd division team again.
Livi still don't look particularly good - they didn't look better than QOS and are poorer than Hamilton and Dundee.
GreenOak_Ton
QUOTE(MTJ @ Sep 15 2007, 19:02) *
Like it or not it happens everywhere when the home team is winning.

When I was a ballboy at Thistle we were told by club 'officials' (I use that term loosely since they weren't directors or anything of the kind) to take our time getting the ball when we were winning near the end of the game.

Yeah i know but this was worst ever.No fans allowed behind the goal and when ball is stuck up in row 8 one of our players had to clamber over all the seats to get the ball back.this was at 3-0.
DomDom
Not bad in the 2nd.

Infact, some players looked decent throughout IMO. Keenan had a good 1st, but gave the ball away far too much in the 2nd. McAllister looked decent through the game as did Gardyne. Jay Shields made some great challenges. Templeman was a right handful when he came on and was VERY unlucky not to get a goal. Russell was a pain in the ass too and forced a cracking save from the keeper.

However, 4-0 ?!?! They deserved it. The defence was shocking. The keeper couldn't communicate with them and that's what cost us. All credit for that first goal though. Can't wait to see if we get a replay, as it was a screamer.
LLD
Great all round performance for us against a poor Morton team.

Before the game I didn't think we were anything like as bad as the league table suggested and I think that was proven.

Hopefully it's the result that will kick start our season.
strathbrock
QUOTE(GreenOak_Ton @ Sep 15 2007, 19:25) *
Yeah i know but this was worst ever.No fans allowed behind the goal and when ball is stuck up in row 8 one of our players had to clamber over all the seats to get the ball back.this was at 3-0.

Get over yourself! Yer player who scrambled over the seats had no need to. The ball boy was on his way. And there is not a goalie in the country who doesn't waste time when the team is winning.

As far as I'm concerned the better team won today - end of!

One comment I will make though is regarding the fragile nature of the Morton players. The slightest touch from a Livi player resulted in the Morton player hitting the deck. Even big Greacen seemed unable to stay on his feet when in a tussle with the much smaller Steven Craig. I'd get those players of yours doing double sessions in the gym.... Or maybe not I'm thnking! whistling.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE(strathbrock @ Sep 15 2007, 19:40) *
Get over yourself! Yer player who scrambled over the seats had no need to. The ball boy was on his way. And there is not a goalie in the country who doesn't waste time when the team is winning.

As far as I'm concerned the better team won today - end of!

One comment I will make though is regarding the fragile nature of the Morton players. The slightest touch from a Livi player resulted in the Morton player hitting the deck. Even big Greacen seemed unable to stay on his feet when in a tussle with the much smaller Steven Craig. I'd get those players of yours doing double sessions in the gym.... Or maybe not I'm thnking! whistling.gif

Greacen's just a clumsy moron.
We're a light-weight team with a pea-brained manager.
LIVI_MALKY
Cracking performance from the lads!! Theres been a complete turnaround interms of taking the ball forward as in the seasons first 3 game we never looked like scoring now weve scored 6 in two games and it could have been more! Pesir can take some of the credit for this.

4-0 is a bit harsh on morton but couldnt realy care as weve finaly picked up our first league win.
DomDom
Get over yourself! Yer player who scrambled over the seats had no need to. The ball boy was on his way.

There WAS a need to because time was against us. Nothing to do will ball boys or anything. He was just speeding up proceedings as you'd do if you were, you know, three goals down.
Ispolis
QUOTE(MCL @ Sep 15 2007, 18:30) *

Was that Jim McI or Berti Vogts ?

If he thinks our effort was good enough today he can feck right off now.

Well done today Livingston you were by far the better team. You manager was right not to get carried away but at least you appear to be heading in the right direction.

Any Morton fan who sees a positive from today is having a laugh.
vikingTON
QUOTE(Ispolis @ Sep 15 2007, 19:46) *
Was that Jim McI or Berti Vogts ?

If he thinks our effort was good enough today he can feck right off now.

Well done today Livingston you were by far the better team. You manager was right not to get carried away but at least you appear to be heading in the right direction.

I didn't hear it due to a speaker deficiency.
Basic jist of his excuses anyone? unsure.gif
LLD
QUOTE(vikingTON @ Sep 15 2007, 19:41) *
Greacen's just a clumsy moron.
We're a light-weight team with a pea-brained manager.

You're better than Stirling IMHO.

At the end of the day it's down to expectation level. Morton purport to be a big club but you have done nothing but scrabble about the lower divisions for a big chunk of the last decade.

It should be about staying in the league for you this year with anything else a bonus.
vikingTON
QUOTE(LLD @ Sep 15 2007, 19:49) *
You're better than Stirling IMHO.

At the end of the day it's down to expectation level. Morton purport to be a big club but you have done nothing but scrabble about the lower divisions for a big chunk of the last decade.

It should be about staying in the league for you this year with anything else a bonus.

Which is why a solid defence and a half-decent manager wouldn't go amiss.
Stirling have picked up more points than us in our recent meetings.
Dunning1874
To be honest, I thought both teams were absolutely terrible, just that we were 10 times worse than Livi.
Today confirmed what many have suspected for some time: Ryan Harding is not a footballer.
The 2nd and 3rd goals were an absolute disgrace from the whole defence.
For the 2nd, 2 men unmarked at the back post. 30 seconds later, they let the exact same fcuking happen again.
Why did we not sign a centre back in summer? There's no way Greacen or Harding are good enough for this league, they're 2nd Division players.
Jamie Stevenson didn't bother his arse today, he just wasn't interested at all.
Kevin Finlayson needs to learn to cross a ball, he's been playing as a winger for his whole career, he should have developed the skill by now.
3 defeats in a row; I've been patient and supported McInally, but today was a complete and utter disgrace. Time's running out Jim.
DomDom
QUOTE(Ispolis @ Sep 15 2007, 19:46) *

I take no positives from the result. I think the effort from single players was good. Jay Shields and Jim McAllister were the two examples I can think of. Two from eleven. Not good. I'll take those positives though that we have guys who will dig in, win balls, take on players and pass the ball well.
IainMorton
Livi went through our defence like diarrhea (is that the correct spelling?!) through a sieve!
Satans_Husband
QUOTE(LLD @ Sep 15 2007, 19:49) *

Whereas you'll be pushing for the title? Comfortable mid table? Fighting relegation?
Dunning1874
Having just listened to McInally's interview, I'm fcuking raging.
"Can't fault the boys for effort today"
Did he not say that after Stirling, Hamilton and QOTS too?
Same old shite.
And in the context of today, that's a lie.
I'd say that you couldn't fault McAlister, Keenan and Templeman for effort.
The rest were a disgrace, particularly Stevenson, who never looked interested at all.
And Peter Weatherson should remember who's paying the money to the club who pays his wages before he shouts 'fcuk up' at some fans again.
DomDom
They deserved it after QOTS to be fair. The rest ... no.

The effort of Shields should be commended as well Dunning.
LLD
QUOTE(Satans_Husband @ Sep 15 2007, 20:02) *
Whereas you'll be pushing for the title? Comfortable mid table? Fighting relegation?

I'll be happy with an improvement on last year to be honest.

It's not about us, though. We're not the ones who came up after years in the Second Division with the kind of massive expectations a lot of Marton fans seem to have of their team.

After getting the couple of wins that all promoted teams tend to get, you've started to find out how difficult a league this is.
DomDom
QUOTE(LLD @ Sep 15 2007, 20:13) *

It's not about us, though. We're not the ones who came up after years in the Second Division with the kind of massive expectations a lot of Marton fans seem to have of their team.

After getting the couple of wins that all promoted teams tend to get, you've started to find out how difficult a league this is.

We have expectations because we know how good some of our players are. We know that the defenders can be better with some experience in there. We know that we can score goals when we play the right football.

These things haven't been happening. Not because we can't do it. But because we WON'T do it. When we played the ball on the deck, that's when we played our best football and today only cemented that fact. However, what did we do most of the time ?

Punt.

Punt.

Punt.
MacLeantonboy
I was at the game today, i was not pleased at what i saw on the pitch for several reasons:
One being the defence was at fault for the 2nd and 3rd goal as there were two men in livi unmarked at the back post both of which could easily have put the ball away and scored. Fair enough wth the first goal nothing could be done about that as it as just a great strike from outside the box.
After seeing this i was surprised at what i saw as these two goals went in about 1 min apart but they should have learned from the first goal to mark but obviously not.
i was a little more optimistic in the second half as templeman came on and hit the bar ad we also had 4 chances to grab some goals but they were all saved.
After livi won their penalty i left the ground as it was just too bad to watch.

I got told that harding told some fans to "f**k off", is this true?
DomDom
It was Weatherson.

Harding had all right to, as he was about to give Morton a real chance ( and he did ) to score. That can't do any good in that situation. When he f*cks up, yeah, shout at him.
MacLeantonboy
another thing if i was manager of morton i would personally have started templeman as the defence were playin all these long balls up to the midgets upfront who are never going to win headers but when templeman came on he won every header up there so mcinally theres a hint for next week;)

vikingTON
QUOTE(Dunning1874 @ Sep 15 2007, 20:11) *
Having just listened to McInally's interview, I'm fcuking raging.
"Can't fault the boys for effort today"
Did he not say that after Stirling, Hamilton and QOTS too?
Same old shite.
And in the context of today, that's a lie.
I'd say that you couldn't fault McAlister, Keenan and Templeman for effort.
The rest were a disgrace, particularly Stevenson, who never looked interested at all.
And Peter Weatherson should remember who's paying the money to the club who pays his wages before he shouts 'fcuk up' at some fans again.

FFS, he didn't actually say that did he?
mad.gif mad.gif
Time to go Jim.
Don't let the door hit your ar'se on the way out.
Trevor the tractor
Bloody hell ! The champions beaten by Livvy. Where did it all go wrong ?

Will the MASSIVE crowds start to dwindle away now that reality has set in. (As predicted by TTT)
Denji
TIME TO GO JIM!!!
SramTon
the expectation was there in may. it had gone before the season started.

the greacen/harding partnership allied to no natural fullbacks was a big weakness in div 2.

in may i really couldn't have comprehended that we would only buy one defender (and a right-back at that).

our 1st choice central defence has two livi rejects (greacen and harding) as a main pairing. which club called it right?

at least we'll have scott mclaughlin back soon. erm...
MacLeantonboy
TIME TO GO JIM, TIME TO GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Victorinox
The manager can suck a fart out my arse.Today was woeful and i cant see an end to it for aslong as he's at the helm. smile.gif
GreenOak_Ton
QUOTE(SramTon @ Sep 15 2007, 23:38) *
the expectation was there in may. it had gone before the season started.

the greacen/harding partnership allied to no natural fullbacks was a big weakness in div 2.

in may i really couldn't have comprehended that we would only buy one defender (and a right-back at that).

our 1st choice central defence has two livi rejects (greacen and harding) as a main pairing. which club called it right?

at least we'll have scott mclaughlin back soon. erm...

Spot on.We had every right to believe back in may we would do ok in this league as we expected a few decent signings to bolster the team.By august though most Morton fans realised that every single point would be hard fought for just to avoid relegation and so its seemingly coming to be.So come on lets get behind them and i for one will be happy with 8th spot in league come end of season.Anything else will be a bonus.
Charles Darwin Esq
QUOTE(Swampy @ Sep 15 2007, 17:36) *
insert vague legal threat/misuse of the word "cliche" here

Yikes! You took that bait faster than Dorrans' 2nd goal. Impressive....
Swampy
QUOTE(Charles Darwin Esq @ Sep 16 2007, 09:06) *
Yikes! You took that bait faster than Dorrans' 2nd goal. Impressive....

I took the bait faster than I took Dorrans' 2nd goal? huh.gif
Steak & Barley
No real surprise in the result as I've been expecting this to happen for sometime. I'm only surprised it's taken 6 games for our defence to get properly exposed.

Weatherson is not a full back, Greacen has a big heart but is 2nd div quality at best and Harding is simply a fraud and should not be allowed anywhere near a football pitch at any level.

The rot was clear when the chairman declared he would 'stick by the boys who won us promotion' rather than tell no-hopers that their time was up. Add to that a manager with the tactical nouse of a lemming and you have a recipe for a very tough season.

Snodgrass made an arse out of our defence last season so he must have been looking forward to the opportunity to remind us yesterday. Happy days.

ps to any Ton fan who wishes to trot out the best defensive record in the country stats from last season, wake up ffs.

TranentBRFC
QUOTE(Trevor the tractor @ Sep 15 2007, 23:20) *
Will the MASSIVE crowds start to dwindle away now that reality has set in. (As predicted by TTT)

I can't understand these comments. We all moan about the spineless scum that leave our towns week in week out to follow the ugly sisters, then fans of "smaller" teams come out with cr@p like this.

I'm pleased to hear that Jay is playing well. Has Noubissie had games for Livi, if so what has he been like?
snorkie
Yikes ohmy.gif is that the honeymoon period over already for the Morton.To be fair Moton played some decent football yesterday maybe if you had taken some of your chances the doom and gloom might not have been so bad today.
Why did Templeman not start yesterday?If yer manager had done any research he would have noticed Livi struggle to defend against tall strikers thus why Morton were better in the 2nd half.

snorkie
QUOTE(TranentBRFC @ Sep 16 2007, 10:45) *
I can't understand these comments. We all moan about the spineless scum that leave our towns week in week out to follow the ugly sisters, then fans of "smaller" teams come out with cr@p like this.

I'm pleased to hear that Jay is playing well. Has Noubissie had games for Livi, if so what has he been like?

Take it you have a interest in the Hibbies.Nobpussy has the ability to be a good player,just got the feeling he cant be arsed showing it at Livi mad.gif
asdfhjkl
I have no great expectations for Morton. I didn't expect us to do well in this league or to be winning week in week out, but what I DO expect is for us to at least score. We've now not scored in about 7 hours of league football which simply isn't good enough.
SramTon
QUOTE(snorkie @ Sep 16 2007, 11:35) *
Yikes ohmy.gif is that the honeymoon period over already for the Morton.To be fair Moton played some decent football yesterday maybe if you had taken some of your chances the doom and gloom might not have been so bad today.
Why did Templeman not start yesterday?If yer manager had done any research he would have noticed Livi struggle to defend against tall strikers thus why Morton were better in the 2nd half.

i think you've answered your own question.

unfortunately our problems will really start when the opposition start researching our weaknesses.
RosscoTon

Cmon the Livi

A question a lot of Morton fans are asking also.

QUOTE(LLD @ Sep 15 2007, 20:13) *

Fucking shut up!

Myself and most other Morton fans expectation was to stay in the league. I predicted 7th or 8th placed myself which would suit me right down to the ground.

Unless you can prove me wrong then f**k up!