albion20
Aug 25 2007, 17:18
The pars get there season on track at last or do they ? First half pretty even with not a lot of football being played by either team, Binos probably had the more chances with the pars having the slightly more possession. Second half the pars must have got a rollicking they came out with a point to prove and scored early on in the half no more than they deserved, the binos kept plugging away with little effect but got a penalty with about 12 mins left which Aitken duly scored didn't see what happened as someone stood up in front of me for the tackle leading up to the penalty and the resultant sending off. So with the pars down too 10 men maybe the binos will go for it not on your nelly we play for a draw and get what we deserve nothing as the pars score the winner with a couple of minutes left. All in all the pars deserved there win, for the binos my man of the match was big andy Graham, On the first half showing thought dunfermline were there for the taking but wee gave them to much respect, second half resonably impressed pass the ball about well with plenty of movement of the ball etc. Good luck midweek in europe
Granty1994
Aug 25 2007, 17:24
QUOTE(albion20 @ Aug 25 2007, 18:18)

The pars get there season on track at last or do they ? First half pretty even with not a lot of football being played by either team, Binos probably had the more chances with the pars having the slightly more possession. Second half the pars must have got a rollicking they came out with a point to prove and scored early on in the half no more than they deserved, the binos kept plugging away with little effect but got a penalty with about 12 mins left which Aitken duly scored didn't see what happened as someone stood up in front of me for the tackle leading up to the penalty and the resultant sending off. So with the pars down too 10 men maybe the binos will go for it not on your nelly we play for a draw and get what we deserve nothing as the pars score the winner with a couple of minutes left. All in all the pars deserved there win, for the binos my man of the match was big andy Graham, On the first half showing thought dunfermline were there for the taking but wee gave them to much respect, second half resonably impressed pass the ball about well with plenty of movement of the ball etc. Good luck midweek in europe
cant disagree wiith any of that
i never saw the penalty either although somone said a red was harsh........
the officials were pish
Stoo61
Aug 25 2007, 17:32
Pretty accurate description. Alot better but we weren't put under as much pressure as against Morton for instance. Maybe a penalty but never a sending off, muppets!
AlbionMan
Aug 25 2007, 18:30
Did my eyes deceive me or did AM offer the ref a handshake at full time and get brushed away?
Stoo61
Aug 25 2007, 18:34
Probably trying to slip him a twenty....
Zahana-Oni
Aug 25 2007, 18:37
Dunfermline fans - how many Albion fans were there today do you think? And are ur bridies always that good?
RedWeb
Aug 25 2007, 18:37
QUOTE(Stoo61 @ Aug 25 2007, 19:34)

Probably trying to slip him a twenty....

Maybe he was asking for a refund
Stoo61
Aug 25 2007, 18:41
Hmmmm no sure...couldnt have been anymore that 200?
Aye always!
andybino
Aug 25 2007, 18:52
Really frustrated about today as i thought we deserved a point...
Was a stone wall penalty, Stevie Bell was about to shoot as he was yanked back...last men = red card as well. About the only decision the ref got right the whole game.
He was completely card happy...first Dunfy goal wasnt a free kick, then we were arguing and it was taken and they scored.
Second goal was a bit of magic, but was disappointing our defense went to sleep right at the death.
Cant believe some of the bookings we got today, for absolutely nothing....one of the worst refereeing performances iv seen...second half especially!
Powerhouse
Aug 25 2007, 19:25
QUOTE(Stoo61 @ Aug 25 2007, 19:41)

Hmmmm no sure...couldnt have been anymore that 200?
Aye always!
Probably about 300...just their lot are used to counting two heads to every body out that way.......
The Chef
Aug 25 2007, 19:34
QUOTE(AlbionMan @ Aug 25 2007, 19:30)

Did my eyes deceive me or did AM offer the ref a handshake at full time and get brushed away?
Spot on. Couldn't believe it when I seen it TBH. The officials were terrible during the game and I thought that was very poor at the end.
As for the game, thought we deserved to win in the end. We had 16 shots on goal to Stirling's 3 (dafc.net stats) which sums it up really. It's just unfortunate that we were missing McIntyre and McManus as I think they would have thrived in that game. Stirling played well in the 1st half IMO but tired towards the end of the game and we should have taken more of our chances.
Programme Contributor
Aug 25 2007, 19:39
QUOTE(Zahana-Oni @ Aug 25 2007, 19:37)

Dunfermline fans - how many Albion fans were there today do you think? And are ur bridies always that good?
Stephens Bridies are great and there is a shop in Alloa that sells them. Damm you're making me hungry
RedWeb
Aug 25 2007, 19:51
QUOTE(The Chef @ Aug 25 2007, 20:34)

We had 16 shots on goal to Stirling's 3 (dafc.net stats) which sums it up really.
No...thats sums up how pish dafc.net's stats are
From my notes I'd say the Pars had about a dozen goal attempts of which only about 7 or 8 were actually on target. We had about 8 or 9 goal attempts of which only 2 were on target.
Pretty fair summary at the top. I was pleased that the Pars improved by so much in the second half after one of the most tedious first halves I've seen in ages. We actually looked fairly dangerous in the second half once we got started, and that's the first time I've said that this season. It was a deserved win, and very nice to get the winner while a man short.
As for the referee and linesmen, I didn't think they were as bad as made out above. Both linesmen called everything absolutely correctly and had excellent games, and it's not their fault that some folk don't seem to understand the offside law, in relation to those ones where the man is in an offside position when it's played but comes back to receive t ball not in an offside position. Both actually seemed happy to help make decisions when they could clearly see it as well, unlike the shitebag at Livingston last week. The referee - seemed a wee bit fussy at times, but I thought he called most of it right. The penalty and sending off was definitely the correct decision, as it was a foul just as he was about to shoot. I don't see how anyone who saw it can argue that one. Most of the Binos players that got booked deserved it I thought as well, although 2 were a bit harsh, and would have annoyed me if they were against my team. He did give a number of fouls, both ways, that I had no idea what they were for, but he called all the big ones right.
Ron_Burgundy
Aug 25 2007, 19:57
I suppose Crawford running past the man before he got to the ball was offside under some new rule then? He gave offside against Hamilton who was at the other side of the pitch
The Chef
Aug 25 2007, 19:58
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Aug 25 2007, 20:51)

No...thats sums up how pish dafc.net's stats are
From my notes I'd say the Pars had about a dozen goal attempts of which only about 7 or 8 were actually on target. We had about 8 or 9 goal attempts of which only 2 were on target.
It was all I had to go on when I got home after the game as I was interested to see just how many chances we had put off target! TBH, I don't think we only had 3 more shots at goal during the game than Stirling did.
Anyway, we'll just have to agree to disagree.
RedWeb
Aug 25 2007, 20:00
QUOTE(The Chef @ Aug 25 2007, 20:58)

Anyway, we'll just have to agree to disagree.

No we can agree...16 attempts to 3 is just pure fiction
MIFTHEBINO
Aug 25 2007, 20:52
I actually thought we just shaded the first half and we certainly had more chances on goal. In the second half, the Pars up'd their game and in the end they deserved the points. It was a hard one to take as I thought we could of held on, but you kept on going forward despite being a man less and got the winner. This game was a bonus for us as anything would have been a bonus, but next week is a MASSIVE game for us now. Anyway, all the best in Europe in mid week, it would be great if you guys went through.
Scofield
Aug 25 2007, 20:56
If Stirling had a half decent player who could ping a couple of decent passes and had a decent striker they'd be a very good side.
Just like to mention Crawford. Fantastic performance from him.
StewartyMac
Aug 25 2007, 21:07
Dunfermline fully deserved the three points today on account of the fact they were the betterl side. Simple as.
Aye, the ref was pish, but he was pish for both teams.
All that said, the best player on the park today was Albion defender, Andy Graham. Fantastic.
I expected no points today, it's other games we have to do the business in. And we will.
AlbionMan
Aug 25 2007, 21:20
QUOTE(Scofield @ Aug 25 2007, 21:56)

If Stirling had a half decent player who could ping a couple of decent passes and had a decent striker they'd be a very good side.
Just like to mention Crawford. Fantastic performance from him.
Thought he had a good second half but his first half was so ordinary he could have been hooked at half time.
Disappointing performance from Albion today. Dunfermline dominated throughout but didn't create many chances in the first half. That changed in the second and in the end they deserved the win. We looked short on ideas and finishing - these will be our big problems this season. Dunfermline were nothing special and if we'd played like we did v St Johnstone I think we'd have won the game.
Referee wasn't too bad in the first half, but he totally lost the plot in the second, giving bookings out willy-nilly and making some terrible decisions (for both teams).
Scofield
Aug 25 2007, 21:54
QUOTE(Zahana-Oni @ Aug 25 2007, 19:37)

Picture of the support
here.
StewartyMac
Aug 25 2007, 21:59
I'd just like to add my thanks to Dunfermline for a fantastic fitba day out. The stand behind the goal offered an excellent view, and I sweet talked the lassie at the pie counter ino giving me a steak bridie for the price of a pie.
Seriously though, it was a tremendous away venue. Well done the Pars.
andybino
Aug 25 2007, 22:36
Nice Ground....poor for atmosphere though
StewartyMac
Aug 25 2007, 22:38
QUOTE(andybino @ Aug 25 2007, 23:36)

Nice Ground....poor for atmosphere though
Fans make an atmosphere, not a ground.
Stoo61
Aug 25 2007, 22:46
Should definitely have put the Albion fans in the North stand, where the old cage used to be, would have made a bit more atmosphere.
However, East End struggles with atmosphere at the best of times.
StirlingScott
Aug 25 2007, 23:10
Match photos from this match are now online at
www.stirlingalbionfc.co.uk
StewartyMac
Aug 25 2007, 23:40
Ach, pretty poor Albion support, at least 100 down from the Perth trip
Fallen Angel
Aug 26 2007, 00:12
QUOTE(StirlingScott @ Aug 26 2007, 00:10)

Match photos from this match are now online at
www.stirlingalbionfc.co.ukPics are cool mate
The S Morrison shirt pull pictures says it all

But the sending off was harsh
The Winning header was a cracker that deservedly wonthe game for us
TBH i'd have thought you would have brought more fans to EEP.
StewartyMac
Aug 26 2007, 01:05
QUOTE(Fallen Angel @ Aug 26 2007, 01:12)

TBH i'd have thought you would have brought more fans to EEP.
And me.
A shocking support really, now I've seen the photos.
ClydeSI
Aug 26 2007, 01:25
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2007, 22:07)

All that said, the best player on the park today was Albion defender, Andy Graham. Fantastic.
Did you not have a goalie with the same name some years ago? I think i worked with his wife.
Anyhow, it's nice too see the fall guy finally beating a team, albeit the first division whipping boys
StewartyMac
Aug 26 2007, 08:06
QUOTE(ClydeSI @ Aug 26 2007, 02:25)

Did you not have a goalie with the same name some years ago?
Certainly did. And he was a 'character', something which was quite common for lower league goalies in the 80s.
SteamingparBoz
Aug 26 2007, 08:56
Thought overall we deserved the 3 points after our sizzling second half performence. Stirling were hard to break down and the first half they probably shaded it but even when we went down to ten men we looked the more dangerous team.
Crawford and Hamilton played great up front together for a change, I've never seen them play well together before but yesterday they were magic. Hamilton deserved a goal and held everything up when asked to, and won everything in the air. Crawfords movement was simply brilliant, dragging defenders all over the shop.
Everyone played well I thought, except perhaps Wilson who should have been sent off but he's always been a hot head. Harper and Morrison finally looked like they had a cutting edge to their final play and Glass and Young looked sharp in the middle.
All in all, a good warm up for going to Sweden where I think if we play for 90 minutes like we did in the second half, we might just pull this off.
Come on ye Pars
parsboi
Aug 26 2007, 10:03
QUOTE(SteamingparBoz @ Aug 26 2007, 09:56)

Thought overall we deserved the 3 points after our sizzling second half performence. Stirling were hard to break down and the first half they probably shaded it but even when we went down to ten men we looked the more dangerous team.
Crawford and Hamilton played great up front together for a change, I've never seen them play well together before but yesterday they were magic. Hamilton deserved a goal and held everything up when asked to, and won everything in the air. Crawfords movement was simply brilliant, dragging defenders all over the shop.
Everyone played well I thought, except perhaps Wilson who should have been sent off but he's always been a hot head. Harper and Morrison finally looked like they had a cutting edge to their final play and Glass and Young looked sharp in the middle.
All in all, a good warm up for going to Sweden where I think if we play for 90 minutes like we did in the second half, we might just pull this off.
Come on ye Pars

Aye, come on ye Euro Pars!
Got the tickets Boz, although they're in Swedish so we'll just have to follow the crowd. You owe me
210 kroner.
Or £15 will do....
SteamingparBoz
Aug 26 2007, 12:42
Cheers ma man! I hardly think we will miss the stadium, being based 800 yards from it although I have done worse before
Dundee Par
Aug 26 2007, 15:24
Typical. 1st home game I've missed in years and we win our 1st game of the season.
Hopefully this can kick start our season and give us a confidence booster for Thursday. Most folk that I've spoken to about the game have said we deserved the win particularly on the 2nd half performance.
SteamingparBoz
Aug 26 2007, 16:35
QUOTE(Dundee Par @ Aug 26 2007, 16:24)

Typical. 1st home game I've missed in years and we win our 1st game of the season.
Hopefully this can kick start our season and give us a confidence booster for Thursday. Most folk that I've spoken to about the game have said we deserved the win particularly on the 2nd half performance.
Don't come back
parsboi
Aug 26 2007, 22:09
QUOTE(SteamingparBoz @ Aug 26 2007, 13:42)

Cheers ma man! I hardly think we will miss the stadium, being based 800 yards from it although I have done worse before

Just don't upset Eva with your wild party antics, I don't fancy spending a night sleeping rough in Gothenburg
Dundee Par
Aug 26 2007, 22:11
QUOTE(SteamingparBoz @ Aug 26 2007, 17:35)

Don't come back

I'm going to Sweden.
parsboi
Aug 26 2007, 22:29
QUOTE(Dundee Par @ Aug 26 2007, 23:11)

I'm going to Sweden.

Ach all superstition is oot the air with the mighty pars. We'll be fine. We will beat this bunch. I think.
SteamingparBoz
Aug 27 2007, 08:26
QUOTE(parsboi @ Aug 26 2007, 23:29)

Ach all superstition is oot the air with the mighty pars. We'll be fine. We will beat this bunch. I think.

Not if you're going ya fud........
...........please don't sell my ticket!
Fallen Angel
Aug 27 2007, 08:34
Nice way to take a thread about us v Stirling Albion well off topic guys
Tomsk The Beano
Aug 27 2007, 08:41
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Aug 26 2007, 02:05)

And me.
A shocking support really, now I've seen the photos.

Quite a good support considering it was our 6th game in 21 days and with an overpriced Cup game to come in midweek.
Within the average working persons month we will have to play 7 games and not many people can afford to go to every game, especially with an expensive away game at the end of the month just mere days before an even more expensive Cup tie so I'd say it was a good away support considering it was our 6th away game in 21 days.
...and remember not all Beanos fans were in that section.
albion20
Aug 27 2007, 20:07
What was the official away support behind the goals, it can be deceiving it,s quite a big stand. I thought about 220.
QUOTE(albion20 @ Aug 27 2007, 21:07)

What was the official away support behind the goals, it can be deceiving it,s quite a big stand. I thought about 220.
Apparently someone counted the Albion fans from one of the crowd photos (not me!) - 310.
albion20
Aug 27 2007, 20:23
QUOTE(Gnasher's accountant @ Aug 27 2007, 21:16)

Apparently someone counted the Albion fans from one of the crowd photos (not me!) - 310.
Not as bad as some people were making out then. How sad is that counting from a photo, don't think i would admit to that.
Larbert_Par
Aug 28 2007, 12:17
I didn't think the Albion's support was that bad, I thought around 250-300.
Onto the game, and I thought first half we were woeful; you could see how low in confidence we were. We created very little, while Stirling had a few opportunities (especially Lilley's) which were good chances.
Second half though, I felt we dominated the game and while we weren't at our best, still played some good football in spells. Even when we went down to 10 men and lost the goal, we kept going forward and in the end scored a deserved winner; both of our goals were the results of good pieces of play.
Now, onto the officiating, which was diabolical. The North Stand side linesman took the biscuit- does he even know the rules? Someone should tell him that when the ball goes over the line, the other team get a throw in. Not only did he miss the one with Harper, he also missed one when Hogarth carried the ball out for what should have been a corner.
He gave a ridiculous number of offsides which simply weren't, while the referee was insistent on giving soft (at the very best) free-kicks to both sides. And the amount of Binos players booked in what was never a dirty game was ridiculous.
I didn't get a good view on the penalty/red card, so can't comment on that, but hopefully this win will boost confidence, not only for Thursday, but for the rest of the league campaign.
'Mon the Pars.
DA Baracus
Aug 28 2007, 13:24
East End is actually quite decent for atmosphere. It's just a shame that hardly anyone sings.
P.S. We'll need to watch out for Mackie in the room at the B n B as apparently he is prone to pishing in sinks!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.