BerwickMad
Aug 18 2007, 17:19
Great win for the Berwick today. Airdrie had plenty of the ball, but never created a clear cut chance. Bolo was quality and Gary O' had a great game.
Police were on overdrive, but the section b were nowhere to be seen. We were singing all game to prove we have the best home supporters in the SFL, once again!
I would have taken 4 points from 3 games. Class!!!
berwick-the-unbeatable
Aug 18 2007, 17:21
Aye great game, up to 4th we go

I thought McLiesh was class too, and scored a sexual goal.. never thought ild say that, and despite us not starting Gary Wood or Danny Swanson, we were the better team!
Stewie Griffin
Aug 18 2007, 17:24
Thought that was a solid performance today against a pretty good Airdrie team, who will be up there at the end of the season.
McLeish took his goal well and Gemmill had a superb run and sharp reactions for his. A bit backs to the wall at times but the defending was fairly sound and Gary O'Connor had an excellent game. Airdrie should have had a penalty in first half when 1 down but ref decided right on edge of the box, just one of many appalling decisions made by a terrible Mr Charleston.
Lennox did well at right back though he gave Waddell their number 11 a lot of room at times to get crosses in and I was glad to see the back of Waddell in 2nd half. Airdrie looked suspect through the middle at the back and Gemmill and Diack worked the centre halves superbly.
Another enjoyable game - it really is a pleasure to be watching the standard in this division compared to some of the dross we saw last year.
Black&Gold
Aug 18 2007, 17:24
Indeed, let me echo that sentiment BM. I Can't beleive they were in the first division last season, with us in the third, we pissed all over them today.
That is probably the best performance Berwick have put in against Airdrionians in decades.
' Section B w**k w**k w**k, Section B w**k w**k w**k '
dreamteamer
Aug 18 2007, 17:26
Comfortable win for the dreamteam today,a solid performance especially in the first half when we had the 3points in the bag by half time,i thought Gemmill and Little had particularly good games. Their no. 14 (dont know his name) was quite skillful on the ball....
ColinM
Aug 18 2007, 17:26
QUOTE(Black&Gold @ Aug 18 2007, 18:24)

Indeed, let me echo that sentiment BM. I Can't beleive they were in the first division last season, with us in the third, we pissed all over them today.
That is probably the best performance Berwick have put in against Airdrionians in decades.
' Section B w**k w**k w**k, Section B w**k w**k w**k '
Airdrie United are a totally different team from Airdrieonians
ColinM
Aug 18 2007, 17:29
QUOTE(Stewie Griffin @ Aug 18 2007, 18:24)

Thought that was a solid performance today against a pretty good Airdrie team, who will be up there at the end of the season.
McLeish took his goal well and Gemmill had a superb run and sharp reactions for his. A bit backs to the wall at times but the defending was fairly sound and Gary O'Connor had an excellent game. Airdrie should have had a penalty in first half when 1 down but ref decided right on edge of the box, just one of many appalling decisions made by a terrible Mr Charleston.
Lennox did well at right back though he gave Waddell their number 11 a lot of room at times to get crosses in and I was glad to see the back of Waddell in 2nd half. Airdrie looked suspect through the middle at the back and Gemmill and Diack worked the centre halves superbly.
Another enjoyable game - it really is a pleasure to be watching the standard in this division compared to some of the dross we saw last year.
Good to see a half decent report on the game without having to resort to name calling like previous threads. Well done guys I must admit the score was a bit of a shock as I thought we were begining to play some good football.
BerwickMad
Aug 18 2007, 17:34
McLeish scored a great goal. Pleased to see him putting in a good performance after signing again. Lennox also looked a different player to what we have seen so far. Good performance all round though. Gemmill is looking dangerous and could have scored another couple today.
Centre Stand Hero
Aug 18 2007, 17:35
QUOTE(ColinM @ Aug 18 2007, 18:26)

Really how interesting. Anyway what a great performance from all the Berwick players today and two great goals! Everyone closed down brilliantly and Gemmill and Diack ran their socks off up front with Gary O solid at the back again. Airdrie
Utd could have played two games and not scored fuckin brilliant!
Black&Gold
Aug 18 2007, 17:39

Really?
Same strips, same stadium, same fans, same town and same section b.
Big Change
ColinM
Aug 18 2007, 17:42
QUOTE(Black&Gold @ Aug 18 2007, 18:39)

Really?
Same strips, same stadium, same fans, same town and same section b.
Big Change

Why can't you just comment on the game ?
Casper Rose
Aug 18 2007, 17:44
QUOTE(BerwickMad @ Aug 18 2007, 18:19)

Great win for the Berwick today. Airdrie had plenty of the ball, but never created a clear cut chance. Bolo was quality and Gary O' had a great game.
Police were on overdrive, but the section b were nowhere to be seen. We were singing all game to prove we have the best home supporters in the SFL, once again!
I would have taken 4 points from 3 games. Class!!!
The big number 5 for Berwick somehow broke up every Airdrie attack, a good performance from Berwick and showed us a lesson that you need to be physical in this division rather than play the tippy-tappy pish. Loved some of the chants from the Berwick fans also

P.S the guy who does the interviews on the borders radio brown-noses John Coughlin
Black&Gold
Aug 18 2007, 17:52
QUOTE(ColinM @ Aug 18 2007, 18:42)

Why can't you just comment on the game ?
Ok, sorry boss.
I thought that Berwick were really on top today, at least in the first half. I wasn't sure about the first XI when I came in, but it turned out to be the right move.
Bolo (Number 5) was mom for Berwick, none of the Airdrie strikers had a sniff really. If we continue in that fashion, we will do fine.
Having seen Raith and Airdrie in the last 2 weeks, the rovers are streets ahead I'm afraid.
ColinM
Aug 18 2007, 17:54
QUOTE(Black&Gold @ Aug 18 2007, 18:52)

Ok, sorry boss.
I thought that Berwick were really on top today, at least in the first half. I wasn't sure about the first XI when I came in, but it turned out to be the right move.
Bolo (Number 5) was mom for Berwick, none of the Airdrie strikers had a sniff really. If we continue in that fashion, we will do fine.
Having seen Raith and Airdrie in the last 2 weeks, the rovers are streets ahead I'm afraid.
There we go, now that was'nt hard was it.
airdrie didn't play terribly badly today and it was a case of berwick taking their chances. The thing that bothered me was we weren't being humped by a superior team. We were humped and we had the chances to score at least 2. Just shows you can't turn a corner overnight.
Centre Stand Hero
Aug 18 2007, 17:55
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ Aug 18 2007, 18:44)

P.S the guy who does the interviews on the borders radio brown-noses John Coughlin

And so he bloody well should!

By the way what about the ref today he really, really wanted Airdrie to score didn't he and he just loved booking Berwick players.
QUOTE(Centre Stand Hero @ Aug 18 2007, 18:55)

And so he bloody well should!

By the way what about the ref today he really, really wanted Airdrie to score didn't he and he just loved booking Berwick players.

ref was just as bad for both sides
berwick-the-unbeatable
Aug 18 2007, 18:02
Well so far from what I have seen, Bolo is the best centre back in the division, and has been a fucking great replacement for McNicoll.
We all had all the possession but didnt ever look like scoring. We passed the ball whereas berwick seemed content lumping generally anywhere and everywhere but they got the result so i guess that is what you need in this league. I was not impressed with berwick whatsoever but our defence was a shambles so i cant really complain. Also had a wee chuckle on the way home with the borders radio station interviews.
NORTHUMBRIAN
Aug 18 2007, 18:05
I thought we rode our luck today, and a combination of that good fortune, poor Airdrie finishing and a textbook performance by Gary O' Connor got us the points, and what a result!! On top of that, Scott Gemmill is becoming a very exciting player to watch, & his speed gave the Airdrie defence a torrid time when we were on the break.
The referee was a pernickety bugger, blowing for 'fouls' at any opportunity, but I think it worked in Berwick's favour as it constantly interrupted Airdrie's flowing play.
I thought that any points picked up off the likes of Raith and Airdrie this season should be treat as a bonus, but we've shown over the last 2 weeks that we'll be no pushovers, and what we perhaps lack in quality, we more than make up for in sheer determination and effort.
I was a bit concerned at the lack of marking at times however, & the Airdrie number 11 must have had some dodgy aftershave on, as no-one seemed to go within 10 yards of him, giving him ample time to deliver his crosses from the left wing unopposed. That said, it's difficult to be too critical after such a cracking result, get in there!
berwick-the-unbeatable
Aug 18 2007, 18:07
Fair enough in the second he hoofed it a bit, but in the first we outclassed you with passing football.
I also felt we sung well, especially for the home team, although that might be cause all of you only sang through the whole course of the game about 5 times!
Edit: Your numbers 3 and 11 were shite, and number 4 was a cheeky little c**t!
Centre Stand Hero
Aug 18 2007, 18:09
Evil Jim Fenner
Aug 18 2007, 18:23
QUOTE(berwick-the-unbeatable @ Aug 18 2007, 19:07)

I also felt we sung well, especially for the home team, although that might be cause all of you only sang through the whole course of the game about 5 times!
no arguments on the result, but a big difference in the police/steward reaction from our end and yours....thats from someone who was in the away end then experienced the spliffing good hospitality from your boys at half time.
berwick-the-unbeatable
Aug 18 2007, 18:28
So I take it you had b*****d stewards, and thats why you were sitting.
Mr Cadbury's Parrot
Aug 18 2007, 18:28
I was planning on mortgaging my house on an Airdrie win at 11/10 this morning, but slept in, boy am I glad I slept in
Ach, not a bad wee match. Gary O' had another good game, he seems to do well against Monklands sides, Gemmil is a better looking as a footballer than he would be as a male model, we had a nice wee sing song and roll on Ayr
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Aug 18 2007, 18:29
a momentus result for berwick, more annoyed of the fact that its there first win of the new season but there u have it, credit to the berwick keeper, made some good second half saves to keep berwick on top, can't believe this was the same starting XI that horsed alloa last week, thought the wee berwick number 2 looked like he'd been on the sauce last night and when mcdougall came on (no. 14) he wis tying himself in knots, Lovering wis Pish, Noble had absolutely no service but had a good shot well saved with about 10 mins left and russel held the ball up well but no1 looking for it, fair enough we were beaten but 36 games into it we'll see where berwick end up.
mid-table
Yay.
That is all.
berwick-the-unbeatable
We've got great cover for keeper too! Flockhart, is immense, O'Connor is immense. But i don't think Flockhart will break in the team for at least another season yet!
Evil Jim Fenner
Aug 18 2007, 18:32
QUOTE(berwick-the-unbeatable @ Aug 18 2007, 19:28)

So I take it you had b*****d stewards, and thats why you were sitting.
Aye. Bunch of c**ts.
BerwickMad
Aug 18 2007, 18:33
QUOTE(Doink @ Aug 18 2007, 19:30)

Whats so funny about that? Cant remember the last time we shipped 7!! Tit!
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Aug 18 2007, 18:34
QUOTE(Evil Jim Fenner @ Aug 18 2007, 19:32)

Aye. Bunch of c**ts.
aye unreal....a was sittin in the front row in the away end.....shouted at some player or other some obsenity and the steward came up n said "stop swearing please"!! its the yella jacket that dis it!!
thediamonddude
Aug 18 2007, 18:37
Am I the only one who thought we were the better team in the second half by a fair margin then? Very disappointed with the result considering the chances we passed up/had saved by the goalkeeper.
First half performance wasn't good enough, we didn't use the midfield the way we have been over the last 2 games and that essentially meant we didn't create enough. Couple of decent chances with the most notable being a Russell flick turned round the post. Berwick's first goal was a cracker but the second was a really bad mistake from Marc Smyth and could have been very easily avoided.
Second half was much better from us, we had the majority of position and created plenty of chances but it just seemed like one of those days where we could have played all night and not found the net. We just didn't get the break of the ball at all.
The referee was atrocious, probably had bad decisions on both sides but there was no flow to the game at all due to the daft fouls he was stopping the game for. Was also very disappointed to see Berwick trying to run down the clock by wasting time as early as the first half. I understand teams trying to hold on to a lead but some of the stuff was pathetic.
Well done to Berwick for working hard in the first, getting in front and then defending very strongly in the second. I'm sure you lot will have a pretty decent season with more fighting performances like this one but to say you 'pissed all over us' is just a teeny bit deluded!
Some good positives for us today but we need to start consistently getting points on the board this season or we ain't gonna be up challenging with the promotion sides.
Gartleahill
Had a go at me too for mouthing off at my own team as they headed up the tunnel.
He thought he was hard bassa.I
BerwickMad
QUOTE(++Ammo - Airdrie++ @ Aug 18 2007, 19:34)

aye unreal....a was sittin in the front row in the away end.....shouted at some player or other some obsenity and the steward came up n said "stop swearing please"!! its the yella jacket that dis it!!
Aye, well our cheif more than likely sorted that. He tries to get stewards to take picture of us at away games incase we misbehave.
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Aug 18 2007, 18:38
QUOTE(Gartleahill @ Aug 18 2007, 19:37)

Had a go at me too for mouthing off at my own team as they headed up the tunnel.
He thought he was hard bassa.I
were u the big guy wi the specs???
BerwickMad
Aug 18 2007, 18:40
I feel sorry for team negative today. Their wives must be getting heat the night.
Stewie Griffin
Aug 18 2007, 18:41
QUOTE(NORTHUMBRIAN @ Aug 18 2007, 19:05)

I thought that any points picked up off the likes of Raith and Airdrie this season should be treat as a bonus, but we've shown over the last 2 weeks that we'll be no pushovers, and what we perhaps lack in quality, we more than make up for in sheer determination and effort.
I was a bit concerned at the lack of marking at times however, & the Airdrie number 11 must have had some dodgy aftershave on, as no-one seemed to go within 10 yards of him, giving him ample time to deliver his crosses from the left wing unopposed. That said, it's difficult to be too critical after such a cracking result, get in there!
Couldn't agree more. Raith, Airdrie, Ross and possibly Ayr or Brechin (though neither had the best of starts) will probably pull away so any points of them is a huge bonus - I would haev setteld for 2 points from last two games so today was a great result.
The workrate from the whole team at the moment is superb. Bolo was exceptional today - he lacks McNicholl's creative abilities but does his job well and with Gemmill chasing down his clearances the opposition can't afford to leave him unmarked. The passing is getting better too and we seem to be spreading the ball a bit better. The defence held together well as Airdrie were quite slick at times going forward - I wouldn't be surprised to see that big number 9 get a few goals by the end of the season.
A superb performance building on last weeks. I grow ever more optimistic about our chances this season.
RoversInTheArea
Aug 18 2007, 18:42
Well in Berwick
GIFRUY Clydebank!
Black&Gold
Aug 18 2007, 18:44
QUOTE(BerwickMad @ Aug 18 2007, 19:40)

I feel sorry for team negative today. Their wives must be getting heat the night.
' We are team positive, we are not from Duns!
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Aug 18 2007, 19:05
QUOTE(RoversInTheArea @ Aug 18 2007, 19:42)

Well in Berwick
GIFRUY Clydebank!

division 3 forum please, and take the celtic rag off from under your rovers rag please tim
Gartleahill
Aug 18 2007, 19:05
Aye. The aforementioned steward patrolling his beat
View My Video
Evil Jim Fenner
Aug 18 2007, 19:10
QUOTE(Gartleahill @ Aug 18 2007, 20:05)

Aye. The aforementioned steward patrolling his beat
View My Video"]click[/url]
Honestly....few mates of mine were on their last warning for saying f**k or bugger....yet wandering round to the home end at half time...boys are sitting spliffing up with no hassle at all.
Not that I'm complaining as they were most accommodating.
Mr Cadbury's Parrot
Aug 18 2007, 19:17
QUOTE(RoversInTheArea @ Aug 15 2007, 14:27)

We were all fucking over you lot last night, you lot are bullshit, yer stadium isnt to braw either and with the population being 25,000 or over, your attendances aint exactly superb!
QUOTE(RoversInTheArea @ Aug 18 2007, 19:42)

Well in Berwick
GIFRUY Clydebank!

Ah, the Albion fans like us again. I was worried for a few days that we'd lost their friendship
Stewie Griffin
Aug 18 2007, 20:28
boardroomshuffler
Aug 18 2007, 20:53
Murder on the Duns floor
khalidonianb
Aug 18 2007, 21:13

We are Airdrie or Airdrieonians, its all one.
mid-table
Aug 18 2007, 21:34
QUOTE(khalidonianb @ Aug 18 2007, 22:13)

We are Airdrie or Airdrieonians, its all one.
Rubbish. I will never call you Airdrieonians, they left the league in 2002.
Clydebank were renamed Airdrie United in the same year, and that is the club that Berwick beat today.
Mr Cadbury's Parrot
Aug 18 2007, 21:42
QUOTE(khalidonianb @ Aug 18 2007, 22:13)

its all one.
It's all "two - nil"
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.