Diamonds are Forever
Aug 18 2007, 22:15
There are going to be more games like that for us this season, if teams score first against us we are f**ked because all they do is sit in and defend and we can't break them down. Second half we had all the possesion and Berwick hardly got out their own half, but even then we didn't really create any real chances - had a few close things, but not chances as such. Their first goal was a good finish, but second one was a gift. Berwick's number 2 was breathing out his arse after about 50 minutes, which maybe explains why he was so bad. The keeper and centre halves were good, the rest of their team were pretty useless tbh. All credit to Berwick, they did what they had to do to win.
As for us, same old, same old really. Pass, pass and pass again, but as soon as we get into the final third the final ball is awful.
Also, enjoyed my first visit to Berwick, everyone seemed extremely hospitable and friendly (apart from the stewarts who were very petty, but then I suppose they have been told to act like that). Seems a very nice club with nice people.
WoolerWeeGer
Aug 18 2007, 22:37
QUOTE(Black&Gold @ Aug 18 2007, 18:39)

Really?
Same strips, same stadium, same fans, same town and same section b.
Big Change

Same nickname too The Diamonds!
g-force1967
Aug 18 2007, 22:49
A fantastic result today. I think the team is beginning to take shape. Bolo was simply outstanding today. I wasn't sure about him but today he convinced me that he is more than up to the job. Stuart Fraser had his best ever game today. McCleish took his goal very well. Gemmill is a fantastic signing. He has got great pace and was a constant threat today. As a team that was the gutsiest display I have seen in a long time. Gary O'Connor was brilliant in the second half, absolutely brilliant. The difference in fitness levels showed in the second half but the tactics, the commitment, the effort, the teamwork were all there today.I cannot praise the team and the management enough.
Airdrie just couldn't score today. They lacked a final ball and a good finish. They should be there abouts come next May though.
The referee was very inconsistent today. I only saw one incident that deserved a booking, the rest were just pathetic. That could easily have boiled over.
We're 4th in the league and still in both cups. This is more than I ever expected.
Bobby Hogg Hogg Hogg
Aug 18 2007, 23:22
Its is amazing how some of the locals seen the match especially some voices amongest "The Trust". Here is how some of them described todays game.
"Daylight robbery to win 2-0"
"Held on for grim death death in the second half"
"McLeish was shit apart from the goal"
Today was a great game to watch with Berwick more than matching a full time team in Airdire and their Chairman and Manager both conceded defeat to Rangers as the better side over 90 mins. As our chief scout and his report indicated a weakness down the Airdire right hand side with Waddell suspect which was an important part of our game plan I am surprised to read that fans were happy to see him replaced in the second half.
This was a great result by a Berwick side and from 1-11 they deserve a huge amount of credit. A big well done to Cleishy and the boys.
IMO Airdire were a better side than Raith and will be in the mix at the end of the season.
Ron Burgundy
Aug 19 2007, 01:21
bollocks.
OldWasp
Aug 19 2007, 01:43
Good to hear Bolo is doing well - he never really got a chance at playing centre half last season - played every other position (apart from keeper) - especially emergency striker. He was one of the players I was surprised to see leaving last season. Not the most skilful or most decisive centre half but always has a good attitude and gives 100%.
BerwickMad
Aug 19 2007, 02:11
QUOTE(Stewie Griffin @ Aug 18 2007, 21:28)

NUMBER 11, NUMBER FUCKIN 11!!!
fatboy_kp
Aug 19 2007, 07:56
Poor performance from us missed the 1st goal but 2nd goal was a poor one coming from smyth's bad touch. Made a couple of decent chances 2nd hal but the big keeper saved well. Wasn't impressed with berwick at all getting the early goal suited them but dont fancy there chances much when they have to come out and attack teams and cant time waste from 30mins in. As for the stewards, arseholes!! Being asked to sit on they bits of plastic covered in bird shit, surely there's a law against that?!!
nick cash
Aug 19 2007, 08:42
you should sue berwick for a new pair of trousers, h&s issues there i think
Interloper
Aug 19 2007, 09:07
QUOTE(Diamonds are Forever @ Aug 18 2007, 23:15)

. Second half we had all the possesion and Berwick hardly got out their own half, All credit to Berwick, they did what they had to do to win.
How can you say that

your keeper made the save of the season in the second half, how he kept it out I'll never know
marty_j
Aug 19 2007, 09:56
Great performance from Berwick today especially in the first half. I thought Airdrie looked extremely dangerous after the break and O'Connor saved us on more than one occasion.
Very impressed with Airdrie no 7, his movement off the ball to create space was excellent.
As for Berwick, Gemill's pace is going to create problems for a number of teams this season. Still think we look shakey at the back and will be good to get Jordan Smith back into the fold.
The ResArves won at Kelsae too so a good weekend all round.
BerwickMad
Aug 19 2007, 09:57
Other than the goals, the next best chance fell to Gemmill one on one with the keeper.
marty_j
Aug 19 2007, 09:59
QUOTE(BerwickMad @ Aug 19 2007, 10:57)

Other than the goals, the next best chance fell to Gemmill one on one with the keeper.
Correct and an
oustanding save from an otherwise suspect goalkeeper too
diamonds2002
Aug 19 2007, 10:52
There is no way in gods green earth that we are going to win this league. Play-offs are our best hope of getting back up.
It comes as no surprise to me that you guys consider Raith to be streets ahead of us (Ross County will be as well). We will struggle agianst a number of teams in this league because we want to play too prettily. What we need is a couple of cloggers and a centre forward that can win the ball in the air.
Editted to Add - I blame the grass park - everyone should be made to play on plastic
poofighters
Aug 19 2007, 11:19
QUOTE(Bobby Hogg Hogg Hogg @ Aug 19 2007, 00:22)

Its is amazing how some of the locals seen the match especially some voices amongest "The Trust". Here is how some of them described todays game.
Today was a great game to watch with Berwick more than matching a full time team.
This was a great result by a Berwick side and from 1-11 they deserve a huge amount of credit. A big well done to Cleishy and the boys.
IMO Airdire were a better side than Raith and will be in the mix at the end of the season.
I take it you sit on one of the big wooden seats up the stairs with that snipe at the trust? Is it a crime to voice opinion at a football match and even if people did, how do you know they were Trust members? Do you have spies watching out in the Ducket. Your no better than the people who are alledgedly barracking the team.
I thought Berwick was in Northumberland not some Communist Eastern Bloc state. The fans pay hard earned cash over the turnstile, without that this club would not survive. They are entitled to their opinion, that is football, if you cannot stand the heat get out of the kitchen.
Firstly, I am like a lot of supporters who are over the moon with the start to the season, four points from three games is just the start we needed and in the next round of both cup competitions. We needed a solid start and the side have achieved that but many hard games lie ahead and most fans are realistic what the manager is up against in ther terms of the strength of the division we are in. So we're not getting carried away just yet.
We caused Airdrie problems at the back yes I would agree with that, but you cannot deny we were not under the cosh a bit in the second half.
Diamonds are Forever
Aug 19 2007, 13:02
QUOTE(Interloper @ Aug 19 2007, 10:07)

How can you say that
your keeper made the save of the season in the second half, how he kept it out I'll never know
You had a couple of breakaways on the counter attack, but virtually the whole second half was played in your half.
QUOTE(marty_j @ Aug 19 2007, 10:59)

Correct and an oustanding save from an otherwise suspect goalkeeper too
Welcome to the world of Stephen Robertson. I have honestly don't think I have ever seen a better shot-stopper than him, at reaction saves and one-on-ones there aren't many better. But punt a cross or long ball into our box, and all hell well break loose.
dreamteamer
Aug 19 2007, 13:38
QUOTE(Diamonds are Forever @ Aug 19 2007, 14:02)

You had a couple of breakaways on the counter attack, but virtually the whole second half was played in your half.
Welcome to the world of Stephen Robertson. I have honestly don't think I have ever seen a better shot-stopper than him, at reaction saves and one-on-ones there aren't many better. But punt a cross or long ball into our box, and all hell well break loose.
We had the points in the bag after the the first 45 mins and could afford to sit back more in the second half. but we never looked like losing the match at any time TBH........
Allstars #9
Aug 19 2007, 13:48
stewarding was a joke and may just have moved berwick from the top of my favourite away day list
I asked one why we had to sit, Health and safety was the reason given, Really?? so standing in a wide open space is dangerous for my health and safety yet two bogs between 300 souls is ok, and sitting on bird shit which is a toxin is ok and being able to buy plastic bottles of juice which are BANNED from football matches is also ok
intresting
fitbin
Aug 19 2007, 13:58
QUOTE(Diamonds are Forever @ Aug 19 2007, 14:02)

Looked good at times, we'll have to remember to pepper your box with long crosses next time
WoolerWeeGer
Aug 19 2007, 13:59
QUOTE(Allstars #9 @ Aug 19 2007, 14:48)

stewarding was a joke and may just have moved berwick from the top of my favourite away day list
I asked one why we had to sit, Health and safety was the reason given, Really?? so standing in a wide open space is dangerous for my health and safety yet two bogs between 300 souls is ok, and sitting on bird shit which is a toxin is ok and being able to buy plastic bottles of juice which are BANNED from football matches is also ok
intresting
Must Agree!
Casper Rose
Aug 19 2007, 14:01

intresting
Race you to the toilet Neil
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Aug 19 2007, 14:48
talking about health and safety....one guy on the way out of the ground when we had to go to the left through a gate (an actual wooden gate) said he was phoning whoever it wis that deals wi health and safety and in his words...."if there was a fire we'd all be dead by now simple as, single file through a wooden gate this is a disgrace". need to agree the stadium is a bit of a bin and between the fat steward blocking my view and a big steel pole....never really got to see much of the action on 1 side of the park!!
Diamonds are Forever
Aug 19 2007, 15:02
QUOTE(dreamteamer @ Aug 19 2007, 14:38)

We had the points in the bag after the the first 45 mins and could afford to sit back more in the second half. but we never looked like losing the match at any time TBH........
Indeed, and that has been my point for weeks now, once we go behind, all teams have to do is sit in and that's the game over because we can't break them down.
Cowans a Square Heed
Aug 19 2007, 17:33

intresting
I could imagine
Centre Stand Hero
Aug 19 2007, 19:17
QUOTE(marty_j @ Aug 19 2007, 10:59)

Correct and an oustanding save from an otherwise suspect goalkeeper too
Yes an outstanding save from an otherwise midget goalkeeper
dougster
Aug 19 2007, 21:06
QUOTE(Bobby Hogg Hogg Hogg @ Aug 19 2007, 00:22)

Today was a great game to watch with Berwick more than matching a full time team in Airdire and their Chairman and Manager both conceded defeat to Rangers as the better side over 90 mins. As our chief scout and his report indicated a weakness down the Airdire right hand side with Waddell suspect which was an important part of our game plan I am surprised to read that fans were happy to see him replaced in the second half.
Can we stop this sniping at the Trust Craig, there absolutely no need for it. I spoke to the Trust guys and yes they made some comments about how we were under the cosh for periods of the game but only somebody wearing black and gold specs or was completely pished would disagree. They also said how well Gemmill and Gary Wood played aswell as both centre halfs. Little lennox had a difficult game but all in all the comments were supportive. We can all take things said out of context and use them but I would suggest, you leave the computer alone when you ve had a drink and if you have nothing constructive to say, dont say anything at all. Oh yes and put your name to your posts. happy to discuss this when we next meet
Doug
marty_j
Aug 20 2007, 05:26
Finished with my woman 'cause she couldn't help me with my mind
People think I'm insane because I am frowning all the time
All day long I think of things but nothing seems to satisfy
Think I'll lose my mind if I don't find something to pacify
Can you help me, occupy my brain?
Oh yeah
I need someone to show me the things in life that I can't find
I can't see the things that make true happiness, I must be blind
Make a joke and I will sigh and you will laugh and I will cry
Happiness I cannot feel and love to me is so unreal
And so as you hear these words telling you now of my state
I tell you to enjoy life I wish I could but it's too late
'Paranoid' - Black Sabbath
bear68
Aug 20 2007, 10:55
Go a bit easier on the stewards guys....here's a little insight.
The club, like every other in the country are forced to comply with the Green Guide To Safety At Sports Grounds, which states spectators must not be allowed to stand in an all seated stand. Terracing gets away with it due to the crush barriers both throughout the terracing depth and at the front wall. The idea being that a fall in the seated area could injure yourselves and fellow spectators. This rule is not merely a suggestion. Failure to comply can lead to fines for both the club and individual stewards concerned in extreme circumstances should an injury occur. Therefore, please don't think its a ' power gone to the head ' sort of situation. It is merely the club complying with the law to cover not only spectator safety but also their own backsides.
On the shouting front 99% of it was fine but in 1 or 2 cases, and I stress 1 or 2, a shout in particular was of an unacceptable nature, racism of the hightest kind, which we must remember the young spectators around. Many children came amongst the Airdrie following and as a dad to two, a follower of football all my life and working class in every sense of the word, I agreed entirely with this man being spoken to. However it was merely a quiet word and the situation resolved.
The speedway gate to the left is a far safer option than exiting the ground up and down steps through a single gate (deemed at all times other than entry an emergency exit only), alongside home fans.
Ofcoarse in times of emergency, this gate would be opened as would the front gates onto the pitch.
On the subject of bird dirt a steward should have been informed and cleaning could have taken place. I will personally relate this to the club to ensure this is dealt with for future visits of away following where segregation takes place.
I hope this clears up any misunderstandings. What I would say though is take away those 1 or 2 tiny incidents where a quiet word took place, the away following exceptionally behaved and were a credit to your club. I had a few conversations with several supporters who were very friendly and made the day all the more enjoyable. As a footnote btw all Berwick Rangers stewards are there entirely voluntary and are there both to ensure spectator safety and to help keep the football club operating in the town.
Thanks
Jerry
Allstars #9
Aug 20 2007, 11:08
well there must be some kind of discretion that can be made, the police and stewards allow us and away fans to stand at broomfield as long as your not blocking anybody's view or causing bother.
I said to the steward as soon as i came in i wasn't sitting on the seats and told him why , i sat on the concrete instead so he fine well knew they were minging.
next time i wont be wearing colours and i'll be going in the terracing
BRFC=DREAMTEAM
Aug 20 2007, 12:42
mid-table
Aug 20 2007, 12:45
QUOTE(BRFC=DREAMTEAM @ Aug 20 2007, 13:42)

My good god. Your two posts on this forum have helped make Pie & Bovril the phenomenom it is today.
diamonds2002
Aug 20 2007, 13:02

Thanks for spending valuable minutes of your life pulling this together - I am sure on your death bed you will look back on this as an epiphany
Monster
Aug 20 2007, 13:06
QUOTE(mid-table @ Aug 20 2007, 13:45)

My good god. Your two posts on this forum have helped make Pie & Bovril the phenomenom it is today.
QUOTE(diamonds2002 @ Aug 20 2007, 14:02)

Thanks for spending valuable minutes of your life pulling this together - I am sure on your death bed you will look back on this as an epiphany
Leave the guy alone, he's "radge".
Centre Stand Hero
Aug 20 2007, 13:22

WTF!

Allstars, Trenchie, Buckles and co; although I doubt you need told, can I still disassociate myself from this maverick tube. I'd hate you to think that your No. 1 Airdire Allstars supporter condones this sort of pish!
BRFC=DREAMTEAM
Aug 20 2007, 16:00
QUOTE(Kilt @ Aug 20 2007, 14:41)

Allstars, Trenchie, Buckles and co; although I doubt you need told, can I still disassociate myself from this maverick tube. I'd hate you to think that your No. 1 Airdire Allstars supporter condones this sort of pish!

Were all berwick fans at the end of th day nick th kilt!
Get over it, its only a bloody laugh and as for the rest of you`s a dont spend ma entire life on this forum.
Allstars #9
Aug 20 2007, 16:17
QUOTE(Kilt @ Aug 20 2007, 14:41)

we never would mate water off a ducks back , all these fannies are like stupid dwarfs
not big and not very clever
we could hear you singing ya auld duffer

suppose that made up for the 6-0 water tanking you got last time , see you soon
Mr Wilson
Aug 20 2007, 20:49
The trust want control of the club!
BRFC=DREAMTEAM
Aug 20 2007, 20:54
QUOTE(Allstars #9 @ Aug 20 2007, 17:17)

we never would mate water off a ducks back , all these fannies are like stupid dwarfs
not big and not very clever
we could hear you singing ya auld duffer

suppose that made up for the 6-0 water tanking you got last time , see you soon
HAHAHA less of th racist comments towards dwarfs!
berwick-the-unbeatable
Aug 20 2007, 21:19
How can you all blame the trust when theyve done f**k all? Not every person in the trust stand there abusing the players, just coz 2 or 3 people in the ducket are being tits, doesn't mean the bloody trust has told them to!
Mr Wilson
Aug 20 2007, 21:24
QUOTE(berwick-the-unbeatable @ Aug 20 2007, 22:19)

How can you all blame the trust when theyve done f**k all? Not every person in the trust stand there abusing the players, just coz 2 or 3 people in the ducket are being tits, doesn't mean the bloody trust has told them to!
DONT TRUST THE TRUST
BerwickMad
Aug 20 2007, 21:26
Don't worry about it Dale lad!
Its been a while since I cared about all that shit.
Monster
Aug 20 2007, 21:27
QUOTE(Mr Wilson @ Aug 20 2007, 22:24)

DONT TRUST THE TRUST
Shite like this really gets on my tits.
Who the f**k are you to criticise folk who give up their time, effort and money to raise money and support their club and community?
This kind of attitude is why it's so easy to shaft fans nowadays. Personal agendas put before the badge.
Mr Wilson
Aug 20 2007, 21:31
QUOTE(Monster @ Aug 20 2007, 22:27)

Who the f**k are you to criticise folk who give up their time, effort and money to raise money and support their club and community?
This kind of attitude is why it's so easy to shaft fans nowadays. Personal agendas put before the badge.
They all want to achieve one goal- control of the club!
berwick-the-unbeatable
Aug 20 2007, 21:45
QUOTE(Monster @ Aug 20 2007, 22:27)

Thankyou. Anyone that puts time effort and money into our club should be praised, not bloody criticised for f**k all.
QUOTE(Mr Wilson @ Aug 20 2007, 22:31)

Explain...
fitbin
Aug 20 2007, 21:47
QUOTE(berwick-the-unbeatable @ Aug 20 2007, 22:19)

Not every person in the trust stand there abusing the players, just coz 2 or 3 people in the ducket are being tits, doesn't mean the bloody trust has told them to!
Lets face it, people slag off the players, manager, weather etc at Berwick, we always have, we always will. We like to have something to complain about. Doesn't mean we all have a secret agenda to overthrow the board, so I hope the powers that be will relax a little...
The only thing we don't complain about is the bird crap on the seats, but we leave them for Airdrie fans...
ss..schlecht
Aug 20 2007, 21:48
QUOTE(Mr Wilson @ Aug 20 2007, 22:31)

Simple answer then Mr Wilson, get off your arse and get involved. Give up your time and effort, go to the trust meetings, then maybe you can find out their agenda and if it's not what you or other fans want, try and change the policy from the inside so to speak. No point just fecking moaning about it on a forum.
Mr Wilson
Aug 20 2007, 21:58
QUOTE(berwick-the-unbeatable @ Aug 20 2007, 22:45)

Thankyou. Anyone that puts time effort and money into our club should be praised, not bloody criticised for f**k all.
Explain...
Then why do the board get criticised from certain sections of the fans? They put effort and money into the club.
berwick-the-unbeatable
Aug 20 2007, 22:11
No offence but Paying at the gate is a thing that everyone who wants to watch has to do, the trust does more then just that.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.