Full Version: Thistle 3-0 Livingston
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
MTJ
Worst team I've seen us play in a long time, if it weren't for McPake and the Livi no. 6, it would have been many many more. That said we were great no one played badly. McStay was my MotM his cheeky drag by the defender for the second then to lay on Strachan was quality. Good to see Buchanan off the mark as well. Plenty of good football on show heres to much more of that. smile.gif

Livi, well they are dire, much worse than Stirling were last week. For anyone who took their keeper in the fantasy, bad move because he is pants! A cross came directly to him under no pressure which he palmed away like a kid!

Easiest win we'll likely have all season.
Hen Broon
QUOTE(MTJ @ Aug 11 2007, 17:37) *
Worst team I've seen us play in a long time, if it weren't for McPake and the Livi no. 6, it would have been many many more. That said we were great no one played badly. McStay was my MotM his cheeky drag by the defender for the second then to lay on Strachan was quality. Good to see Buchanan off the mark as well. Plenty of good football on show heres to much more of that. smile.gif

Livi, well they are dire, much worse than Stirling were last week. For anyone who took their keeper in the fantasy, bad move because he is pants! A cross came directly to him under no pressure which he palmed away like a kid!

Have to agree with you about our keeper . Big guy ,cant jump. Dropped the ball 4 times last week against Dundee. I was full of hope this season, but after seeing them play I fear we are worse than last year
Nizzy
I tipped Proctor to be this season's first managerial casualty and if Livi continue to play like that then I won't be wrong - they were woeful.

In saying that, it's the best I've seen us play under McCall. I was worried that, as a big side, Livi were going to bully us, but we played with a pace and directness that they just couldn't cope with. Rowson, McStay, Strachan, Storey and Twaddle were all outstanding - I don't envy whoever it was that had to pick the man of the match.

Long may it continue.
The Arch
Felt I had to make my first post just to emphasise how impressive we looked at times, and on the other hand, how terrible Livingston were

Strachan looks a lot more confident on the right wing, and McStay and Rowson could be the best central midfield pairing we have had for a long time. We were solid defensively and Tuffey barely had anything to do.

Livingston were atrocious. McPake looked the only capable player you had, helping keep us out on a few occasions in the second half. Your goalkeeper was really bad, worst ive seen in a while. No communication, flapping at everything and worst of all, worse than Colin Stewart...

Top half looks very possible, and if we strengthen, who knows. Good luck Livi cause you are gonna need it. Hope the LAC won't hurt me for saying that
Nizzy
QUOTE(Tescojag @ Aug 11 2007, 18:26) *
Tuffey barely had anything to do.

I made it 85 minutes before Livi had their first effort on goal.
StevenC
Partick did the basics of passing, defending and putting the ball in the back of the net. We didn't. We were shite. Probably the worst I've seen us play since we got humped at Hamilton.

Yes, Partick were easily the better side but they were far from anything special. Certainly no better than Dundee were last week.

I don't understand why we won't play the proper football we saw in pre-season and against Ayr. Everything seemed to resort to the hit and hope again untill the last fifteen minutes when I think all the Partick players had left the field, and we still couldn't score.

Shibuya
This thread makes me feel much more positive about our result at Livi on Tuesday.

thanks sad.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE(StevenC @ Aug 11 2007, 18:34) *
Yes, Partick were easily the better side but they were far from anything special.

Special? No. Good? Yes. Encouraging? Definitely!
Lianne
Speaking to some Livi guys after the game and they are bemused at how good they looked in pre-season, yet just how poor they are playing now. Noubissie and McPake apart they were terrible. The keeper made two very good saves in the first half, but looks a bit circumspect. Good performance from Thistle though, we could and should have scored more, McStay was by far MotM, Murray played well too but don't know how he managed to nick the award from McStay. But Donnelly and Roberts both look to be out for a few weeks, which leaves us a bit short of numbers...
Virtual Insanity
QUOTE(StevenC @ Aug 11 2007, 18:34) *
Yes, Partick were easily the better side but they were far from anything special. Certainly no better than Dundee were last week.

I'll certainly settle for being level with Dundee come the end of the season.

Edited to add: never seen a referee make such a cock up of a match where there wasn't one major decision to make. In situations like that they have to be accountable for their performance, and Smith's today should be seriously reviewed, as should the Livi players bar McPake. Worst team I have seen us play in quite a while.
vikingTON
The question is:
Will Pearce axe another manager before the MASSIVE rolleyes.gif Cup tie in midweek? unsure.gif
strathbrock
I'd like to say Livi were beaten because Thistle were so good but, sorry guys, Thistle just looked good because Livi were so bad. Personally I think it is because we get all confused when we can't play in our new black home strips. rolleyes.gif If only it was that simple.

I still think Livi, like Dunfermline, have not adapted to this division because their respective managers have no experience of it. Tippy tappy is nice to watch but it isn't enough in the First.

Ah well from where we are sitting tonight the only way to go is up. Cannae see it any time soon but hope springs eternal wink.gif

And at least Dunfermline got beat. Maybe there is a God. tongue.gif
MCL
The only way for us is up blink.gif

I think it was a mistake to play two new signings and a trialist. We don't have any continuety and half the players have only just met each other. We played great passing football during pre-season but that seems to have gone out the window.

Losing Tinkler was a blow for us although Mitchell did well enough when he came on. He hit Murray hard with ten minutes to go when it should have happened within the first ten minutes. He was allowed to run about unchallenged most of the game and cause us problems.

Can't take anything away from Thistle and they deserved to win. The Livi players couldn't keep their feet for some reason. Looked like they were playing with their slippers on.

Mark Proctor and Ian McCall post match audio
Virtual Insanity
It works in reverse as well though. In part Livi looked atrocious because we gave them no time on the ball, and in McStay we had someone with the touch and vision to change the game, hopefully he can continue to do so as the season goes on. I've already said Livi were absolutely rank so I'm not getting too carried away, mid table pushing for a top five position seems more likely after today only because Livi look like a sure bet to finish below us. Most worrying thing from a Livi fans point of view (it's hard to pick) was the total lack of fight shown, at 3-0 down there was no belief whatsoever that they could get anything out of the game, not even creating a decent chance once Thistle had totally taken their foot off the gas. Unless Dorrans and Snodgrass fulfill all their potential this season, Livi are in for a rough ride.
MTJ
QUOTE(MCL @ Aug 11 2007, 20:25) *
The only way for us is up blink.gif

I think it was a mistake to play two new signings and a trialist. We don't have any continuety and half the players have only just met each other. We played great passing football during pre-season but that seems to have gone out the window.

Losing Tinkler was a blow for us although Mitchell did well enough when he came on. He hit Murray hard with ten minutes to go when it should have happened within the first ten minutes. He was allowed to run about unchallenged most of the game and cause us problems.

Can't take anything away from Thistle and they deserved to win. The Livi players couldn't keep their feet for some reason. Looked like they were playing with their slippers on.

Mark Proctor and Ian McCall post match audio

When I click on that link nothing comes up. unsure.gif blink.gif
MCL
QUOTE(MTJ @ Aug 11 2007, 20:27) *
When I click on that link nothing comes up. unsure.gif blink.gif

It works ok for me. If you have pop-ups blocked, hold down the Ctrl key when you click it.
Nizzy
QUOTE(strathbrock @ Aug 11 2007, 20:15) *
Tippy tappy is nice to watch but it isn't enough in the First.

By tippy tappy do you mean good football? We played plenty of that today and did not to bad out of it.
MTJ
QUOTE(MCL @ Aug 11 2007, 21:06) *
It works ok for me. If you have pop-ups blocked, hold down the Ctrl key when you click it.

Firefox just appeared to be the problem, worked fine on IE.

Would like to think we can get in a couple of strikers this week.
soapy
Football's a funny old game, we beat Partick in pre season and get humped by Livi in the cup and Livi
get humped by Partick. Who's going to hump who next?
vikingTON
QUOTE(soapy @ Aug 11 2007, 21:26) *
Football's a funny old game, we beat Partick in pre season and get humped by Livi in the cup and Livi
get humped by Partick. Who's going to hump who next?

Morton will hump Lavvy on Tuesday.
O yes. cool.gif
MCL
QUOTE(vikingTON @ Aug 11 2007, 21:27) *
Morton will hump Lavvy on Tuesday.
O yes. cool.gif

Duly bookmarked cool.gif biggrin.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE(MCL @ Aug 11 2007, 21:29) *
Duly bookmarked cool.gif biggrin.gif

Whatever.
Even if you humped us 7-0 on Tuesday I still couldn't give a flying f*ck.
MCL
QUOTE(MTJ @ Aug 11 2007, 21:17) *
Firefox just appeared to be the problem, worked fine on IE.

Would like to think we can get in a couple of strikers this week.

What do you think of your manager giving you no chance of the league this early ? blink.gif
MCL
QUOTE(vikingTON @ Aug 11 2007, 21:30) *
Whatever.
Even if you humped us 7-0 on Tuesday I still couldn't give a flying f*ck.

Bookmark removed as you've got your excuses in early laugh.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE(MCL @ Aug 11 2007, 21:32) *
Bookmark removed as you've got your excuses in early laugh.gif

As if I'll need them. cool.gif
MTJ
QUOTE(MCL @ Aug 11 2007, 21:31) *
What do you think of your manager giving you no chance of the league this early ? blink.gif

Pretty much agree, its a long haul rebuilding job.
Denji
Thistle 3-0 Livingston

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
F_T_W
QUOTE(MTJ @ Aug 11 2007, 17:37) *

looks like thistle made hard work of an spl calibre sleeping giant. blink.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE(MCL @ Aug 11 2007, 21:31) *

He's being realistic.

As he says, the feel good factor is returning to Firhill, but he's obviously trying to keep our feet on the ground. McCall's not daft, he knows that a couple of bad results could see the fans start to get on his back.

What would you rather have MCL, a realist like McCall, or a fantasist like Flynn?
LLD
AS has already been mentioned, we were awful.

Like MCL says, the biggest problem is continuity. I thought Noubissue did not bad, but McCaffrey and James were utterly hopeless on the left side. The trialist striker barely saw the ball.

IMHO playing trialists shows the league disrespect. We should be playing bounce games and reserve games to try these guys out. A trialist is a trialist because you aren't sure if he'll be good enough; if you aren't sure, you shouldn't be risking playing him in a proper competitive game.

I've seen enough in pre season and v Ayr to give me hope that we'll improve, but with the Pars at home followed by a tricky trip to Palmerston its not going to be easy to get points on the board in the next fortnight.
Jim McL
QUOTE(Nizzy @ Aug 11 2007, 18:29) *
I made it 85 minutes before Livi had their first effort on goal.

Apology for being a pedant-it was 82 actually.
MCL
QUOTE(Nizzy @ Aug 11 2007, 21:58) *
He's being realistic.

As he says, the feel good factor is returning to Firhill, but he's obviously trying to keep our feet on the ground. McCall's not daft, he knows that a couple of bad results could see the fans start to get on his back.

What would you rather have MCL, a realist like McCall, or a fantasist like Flynn?

Mr Flynn isn't the manager tongue.gif

It's ok being a realist but surely you have to believe that you can win the league ? Aim high and all that.
vikingTON
QUOTE(MCL @ Aug 11 2007, 22:21) *

It's ok being a realist but surely you have to believe that you can win the league ? Aim high and all that.

Haven't you heard? unsure.gif rolleyes.gif
andyconnor
i thought the livi keeper had a couple of cracking saves first half, although why he punched that cross away in the 2nd half i'll never know. the number 4 also looked a cracking player.

wee stevie murray was immense for thistle. jags playing with 2 wingers was great too see, hope ian mcall is brave enough to continue with it.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Well , what can i say .... the Livingston keeper Mariuz Liberda has been capped for poland 4 times blink.gif
Virtual Insanity
QUOTE(MCL @ Aug 11 2007, 22:21) *

In the general scheme of things we are behind Dundee, St J, Hamilton and Dunfermline at this stage, even if Dunfermline have made a shocking start to the season. Therefore it would take us having a very good season and all of them having bad ones for us to win the league. It's not impossible, but it's unlikely.

Dundee, St Johnstone and Dunfermline are probably the three teams that started this season with the goal of winning the league, we're looking for mid table security (something Thistle don't tend to do), and some signs of hope which were very much lacking last season. McCall is absolutely spot on in everything he says for me, he can't talk up winning the league at this stage, it would in all probability make him look silly come the end of the season. Of course there's a chance but it's a slim one, so as long as we achieve our set goals and go about it in an entertaining way McCall will have the backing of all at Firhill at the end of the season.

Whether or not Livi want to put it down to your team being crap, what was evident today is that we had a team out to entertain. Strachan, Murray, Roberts, Donnelly, Buchanan and Chaplain all showed nice interplay upfront, Rowson was solid as a rock in the middle and Gary Harkins has the sort of class on the ball not witnessed at Firhill since Scott "Shaggy" Paterson. One of the most solid (if not the most solid) centre halves in the league next to him in Alan Archibald and a couple of very useful fullbacks. Add in the touch of magic provided by Ryan McStay today and you have all the ingredients for a very entertaining season.

We have four signings left. If McCall brings in even 3 that are better than our strongest 11 at the moment, I might just start to believe. Just a wee bit.
Thistle doo
QUOTE(soapy @ Aug 11 2007, 21:26) *
Who's going to hump who next?

That reminds me, hows the missus? smile.gif
Fuctifano
That was lovely yesterday, we were sitting in the pub afterwards talking about how much we'd enjoyed it. The first goal was really good, intelligent football. Hopefully we get someone in up front for next week as that's where we're still lacking, especially with the injuries. Good to see Buchanan get his first goal, though he should have had 2 or 3 more. Strachan's best game in a Thistle shirt IMO, maybe he's going to finally deliver on his potential this season?
Nizzy
QUOTE(Synex @ Aug 12 2007, 12:18) *
Strachan's best game in a Thistle shirt IMO, maybe he's going to finally deliver on his potential this season?

As I've said in another thread, do you think that's down to having a manager and coaching staff who are willing to invest a bit of time and effort in him?
Nizzy
yesterday's goals
Hen Broon
QUOTE(Nizzy @ Aug 12 2007, 17:28) *

Thanks for the highlights . All goals were well taken. Looked like all round poor play from Livi. Great commentator
Nizzy
QUOTE(Hen Broon @ Aug 12 2007, 20:09) *
Great commentator

Campbell's a legend, although many philistines on here would disagree.
AldoLeon
Looking at those highlights - our keeper is a diddy. Our defence is a shambles and we can not pass to save ourselves.

We better improve for the midweek game againest Morton then.
ali_le_point
QUOTE(Nizzy @ Aug 12 2007, 19:17) *
Campbell's a legend, although many philistines on here would disagree.

I assume you're referring to Campbell Hughes there Nizzy. He is the meister and takes the award for being the most preposterous individual to ever represent the club - and that's against some stiff competition.
rowanalexander
QUOTE(Nizzy @ Aug 11 2007, 18:13) *
I tipped Proctor to be this season's first managerial casualty and if Livi continue to play like that then I won't be wrong - they were woeful.

In saying that, it's the best I've seen us play under McCall. I was worried that, as a big side, Livi were going to bully us, but we played with a pace and directness that they just couldn't cope with. Rowson, McStay, Strachan, Storey and Twaddle were all outstanding - I don't envy whoever it was that had to pick the man of the match.

Long may it continue.

Proctor was a Gamble ! Now Livy will have to wash that man right out of their hair. GEEZE A JOB! I CAN DO BETTER!
Demon Drawer
QUOTE(rowanalexander @ Aug 15 2007, 08:43) *
Proctor was a Gamble ! Now Livy will have to wash that man right out of their hair. GEEZE A JOB! I CAN DO BETTER!

No thnks Rowan we prefer someone who turns up. wink.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.