Recre Rover
Mar 10 2007, 17:10
Weren't at the races today. Well done Stirling - you were as good as I've seen at Stark's, especially first half.
I'll post more later.
Roll on next week.
Not got much to be ashamed of. We made Stirling wait for the 3 points but in my eyes it was just unlucky for the goal. No doubt Fairbairn will be slaughtered by our fickle fans.
Steven
Mar 10 2007, 17:25
No real comment to make about the game today we played well in patches and at times looked like we might sneek it but we never really took control of the game and Stirling made us look like the away team for long spells but we hung in and they never really made any clear cut chances and we looked good for a point till an error (as usually happens in these games) and we lost the game.
Stirling players need to get a grip and stop going to ground so easily, they played the ref but then again he wasnt much good to them either.
Fairbairn should have kicked the ball out, what the hell was he thinking
As for Davidson what was the second yellow for
Andy.C
Mar 10 2007, 17:25
Stirling were by far the better team and could easily have been two or three up before half time if it had'nt been for Chris Fahey making two excellent saves.
As Recre said, the Rovers just didnt get started. Stirling on the other hand were excellent, doing what we've been doing to teams recently, closing players down and negating any chance of decent distribution.
Raith came back into it for a spell in the second half but I cant think of a time where we really tested the 'keeper.
Then the arse fell out of us with Fairy's mistake. Fairbairn had no option's going towards Stirlings end and opted to try and play it back, Cramb intercepted and finished well past an exposed Fahey.
Stirling are well worth their league position and IMO we would be better finishing fourth and taking our chances against the 1st division team.
renton
Mar 10 2007, 17:26
what can you say, all good things must come to an end....
Raith just were'nt in it today, pulled apart in the first half, more even in the second half. Had 0-0 written all over it until Fairy's unfortunate boob. Raith can play better than they did, they seemed bereft of ideas today. Hopefully McG will lift the team back up for next week. Unfortunately it will be with a patchwork midfield after Davo lost the head, if its not one it's the other
at least we know what level we're shooting for, 7 more games to get it right
I didn't think Stirling were particularly good. Definitely lucky to get the goal, the game looked destined to finish 0-0, which would've been fair for both teams, IMO.
Referee was annoying, wouldn't let the game flow and the Railway Stand linesmen's offside calls were atrocious. However, the officials can't really be blamed for the loss.
Fairbairn was the victim of rotten luck, of course he should've looked up and made sure the way was clear, but 9 times out of 10 there wouldn't be anybody there. I don't think Cramb was being clever, he was just fortunate to be where he was. Did well to finish though.
on the brighter side Brechin only got a draw and Alloa got beat!
Play-offs definitely settled now, I think.
Bit of a problem if we play Stirling now though, given the psychological advantage they'll take from today.
Steven
Mar 10 2007, 17:34
QUOTE(Dunc @ Mar 10 2007, 17:32) [snapback]1454118[/snapback]
Play-offs definitely settled now, I think.
Bit of a problem if we play Stirling now though, given the psychological advantage they'll take from today.
We just didnt play well from the off today,we can play much better than that was it simply playing in front of a big crowd at home you think?
If that's the case we should close the south stand for the play-offs
Recre Rover
Mar 10 2007, 17:36
QUOTE(Dunc @ Mar 10 2007, 17:26) [snapback]1454108[/snapback]
I didn't think Stirling were particularly good. Definitely lucky to get the goal, the game looked destined to finish 0-0, which would've been fair for both teams, IMO.
Have to disagree with you, we did not deserve to take anything from today. Did Hogarth have to get his knees dirty?
I also thought Stirling were good. I thought their passing was excellent first half and they created a good few chances.
The Pacey Winger
Mar 10 2007, 17:48
Due to work commitments I couldn't get to todays game but going by the gracious comments made by the Raith boys so far it appears we deserved the points.
Delighted at that obviously. Raith have been the form team recently (despite my jibes in other threads), no doubting that, so to get a win on top of recent victories away to Brechin and Cowdenbeath is excellent.
keyser_soze
Mar 10 2007, 17:54
Stirling by far the better side in the 1st half, 2 great saves from Fahey, we were the better side in the second half although we did not give Hogarth a save to make, poor mistake from fairy and glad to see the fans giving him support rather than booing him.
TBH a draw would have been a great result for us and cant really complain about getting beat, however we just did not perform today and I would be confident of beating Stirling should we meet them in the playoffs.
Good support through from Stirling as well.
Lang Toun Lad
Mar 10 2007, 18:15
Pretty gutted to lose the unbeaten run.
Stirling were the better team for the first half and patches of the second as you could tell by their players despiration to get onto the deck for some sunbathing(?). We had our chances as well but didn't take them and should have had more if the railway stand linesman knew what the rules were.
Hopefully we can pick it up again next week and beat Brechin to pull us into 3rd spot.
Steven
Mar 10 2007, 18:19
McManus needs dropped poor first touch and he needs the treatment Big Marv got for a few games.
Hopefully he will get the finger out for the play-offs (if we make it) The game against Brechin is a must win and if we win that then I will be confident of a play-off place at the end of the season.
Lose then I fear we will need to look over our shoulder at Ayr if they win next week again.
Recre Rover
Mar 10 2007, 18:24
QUOTE(keyser_soze @ Mar 10 2007, 17:55) [snapback]1454169[/snapback]
edit - sorry for double post
Can't you delete your own posts

?
Steven
Mar 10 2007, 18:25
QUOTE(Recre Rover @ Mar 10 2007, 18:24) [snapback]1454198[/snapback]
Can't you delete your own posts

?
You can, just click on delete on the post you want to delete
albion20
Mar 10 2007, 18:26
binos were excellant first half today as most raith boys have said, played some excelllant football with some great passing and movement of the ball. with the raith keeper having a couple of good saves to make. second half rovers had a lot more of the play without really troubling myles in goal, thought we could have had a penalty when snodders wen't down in the box second time first time would have been soft. cram finished his goal well considering he hasn't played a lot recently or scored for a while, all in all a good 3 point's still hanging in there to catch the ton, rovers had a good run apt it started at forthbank and finished against the binos, raith would have taken a play-off place earliar in the season so no dissapointment in that.
keyser_soze
Mar 10 2007, 18:27
QUOTE(Steven @ Mar 10 2007, 18:25) [snapback]1454202[/snapback]
You can, just click on delete on the post you want to delete

done
miketheheadlesschicken
Mar 10 2007, 18:29
Thought we were fortunate to win. Played well in the first half and were the better team but Raith were the better team in the second half, although they didn't create much. Can't remember Hogarth having a save to make in the whole game.
RedWeb
Mar 10 2007, 18:29
Thought we were in total charge on the opening 45 and should have been a couple ahead. Second half Raith started well but failed to really test Hogarth. Last 15 Raith ran out of ideas and we took over again. Thought we deserved the win and on the balance of possession and chances Rovers can't really complain about losing.
Have to say I was surprised at just how ineffectual Carcary was. Can only assume the early sparkle is fading because he might as well have been in the stand for all he contributed. If we meet again in the play offs I'd fancy us to go through but I'd never count Raith out with the big support behind them.
PaulC
Martin Nelson
Mar 10 2007, 18:32
I think today showed that we've a bit to go before we can be considered serious contenders for promotion. Stirling taught us a lesson in the first half and we couldn't get near them. I can't see past them for the play offs, I think they will be the team to beat.
We had too many passengers today. McManus and Bonar were atrocious and 2 or 3 others weren't much better.
I slaughtered Fairbairn at the game for his mistake, I was fuming that he could be so stupid. But, these things happen I suppose and hopefully he can make up for it next week. I'd like to see him start up front rather than McManus next week. As for Davidson, he needs to take a look at himself, his play has come on leaps and bounds but he picks up so many stupid bookings that red cards are inevitable. We can really do without suspensions at this time of year.
We could do with a result next week now.
Steven
Mar 10 2007, 18:32
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Mar 10 2007, 18:29) [snapback]1454208[/snapback]
Have to say I was surprised at just how ineffectual Carcary was. Can only assume the early sparkle is fading because he might as well have been in the stand for all he contributed. If we meet again in the play offs I'd fancy us to go through but I'd never count Raith out with the big support behind them.
PaulC

Carcary would be better in a 4-4-2 out on either wing, I think we might change to that against Brechin.
I think he is wasted in our current formation and he would be much more effective if he was out on the wing.
Gaz_Laad
Mar 10 2007, 18:33
Didnt really deserve the 3 points today so not too downhearted about the result. Yes we have played much better but we have to lose sumtime. Better todo it to a team above us than below. Mcmanus needs to be dropped to give him a shock , yes he covers every blade of grass and works hard but thats not what a strikers role is. Sad to see davo sent off as he worked hard and looked to be one of the best on the rovers side today , will miss him next week and just hope his place in the team wont be lost when he returns like sivo's has since his peterhead card. For me Pelosi must start in place for Fozzie , Fozzie just wasent in it atall today just hoofing the ball everywhere , shoudnt of got man of match.
RedWeb
Mar 10 2007, 18:34
QUOTE(Steven @ Mar 10 2007, 18:32) [snapback]1454214[/snapback]
I think he is wasted in our current formation and he would be much more effective if he was out on the wing.
Aye...he appeared to be playing through the middle which I couldn't understand
raith for life
Mar 10 2007, 18:37
I thought the first half was stirlings by far but the second half was ours. Draw would have been a fair result. 1 other thing the way the stirling players were going down was terrible evrytime we tackled they went to ground a disgrace.
StewartyMac
Mar 10 2007, 18:39
I'm still trying to get over seeing Southstander with a full set of teeth.
Steven
Mar 10 2007, 18:42
QUOTE(raith for life @ Mar 10 2007, 18:37) [snapback]1454229[/snapback]
I thought the first half was stirlings by far but the second half was ours. Draw would have been a fair result. 1 other thing the way the stirling players were going down was terrible evrytime we tackled they went to ground a disgrace.
The game was always going to be decided by a single goal and a goal was always going to come via an error.
Always next week.............
Recre Rover
Mar 10 2007, 18:42
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Mar 10 2007, 18:29) [snapback]1454208[/snapback]
Thought we were in total charge on the opening 45 and should have been a couple ahead. Second half Raith started well but failed to really test Hogarth. Last 15 Raith ran out of ideas and we took over again. Thought we deserved the win and on the balance of possession and chances Rovers can't really complain about losing.
PaulC

To be fair he wasn't the only player by any means to have an off day. Agree with what is said about McManus - he just didn't hold up the ball in the first half which was the start of problems for us there. Hislop also did the exact opposite of what he did at Cowden, I thought he was very lazy today.
keyser_soze
Mar 10 2007, 18:45
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Mar 10 2007, 18:39) [snapback]1454237[/snapback]
I'm still trying to get over seeing Southstander with a full set of teeth.

Never recognised him 1st time I saw him as well
Take it you never found styx
StewartyMac
Mar 10 2007, 18:47
QUOTE(keyser_soze @ Mar 10 2007, 18:45) [snapback]1454253[/snapback]
Take it you never found styx

I had mentioned it on the bus, but was outvoted due to not really having a scooby where it is.
It was decided this would waste valuable drinking time, and I didnae have an argument against it.
Mon the Rovers
Mar 10 2007, 18:48
To be honest I think a draw would have been fair. Stirling were the best team I have seen at Starks this season TBH, but the fact you needed an 85th minute blunder to do so tells you what you need to know.
Carcary would be much better served out on the wing, where he can beat players and use his pace to effect. I just hope John McGlynn realises this, as he seems keen to play him behind the front two.
Just one small thing I didn't appreciate from Stirling's performance- the behaviour and conduct of Robert Snodgrass. He dived all over the place, continually going down after losing headers etc and always had sneaky little pushes at our defenders as the ball went away and the referee wasn't looking. Didn't look like a penalty from where I was, but I was wearing blue tinted specs.
Overall, I'm glad the defeat came now rather than in the play-offs, and being away in front of a small crowd next week may even help the players. Thye always seem to be nervous in front of a bigger crowd. Well done to the choir at the back, didn't sit with you guys today, but at the end you would have thought the Rovers had won due to all the singing. Keep it up lads. And remember Stirling- WE'RE GONNAE f**k YOU'S IN THE PLAY-OFFS
RedWeb
Mar 10 2007, 18:50
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Mar 10 2007, 18:48) [snapback]1454266[/snapback]
And remember Stirling- WE'RE GONNAE f**k YOU'S IN THE PLAY-OFFS
Aye...you can but hope
StewartyMac
Mar 10 2007, 18:50
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Mar 10 2007, 18:48) [snapback]1454266[/snapback]
And remember Stirling- WE'RE GONNAE f**k YOU'S IN THE PLAY-OFFS
Playoffs?? Us??
Na, you're getting us mixed up with a stripey team from Greenock.
Mon the Rovers
Mar 10 2007, 18:52
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Mar 10 2007, 18:50) [snapback]1454272[/snapback]
Playoffs?? Us??

Just thought that was a nice song to sing as you're players walked off
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Mar 10 2007, 18:50) [snapback]1454272[/snapback]
Playoffs?? Us??

itsbinos
Mar 10 2007, 18:56
I thought that the albion just deserved the points today. The raith keeper pulled off a belter of a save when one of our players pinged a shot for the top corner midway through the first half
I thought it was allways going to be a 1 - 0 game and i commented this at half time.. if raith scored first I think stirling may have struggled - which they very nearly did through a ritchie (think it was) very well taken header that almost sneaked in over myles (it had me very worried) so did a cross also in the first (edit it was the second half too! - in raiths best spell of the game) half that was hit hard and low to the 6 yard box and a raith player got a foot on the ball but thank god it went wide.
Albion had 2 penalty claims and i would like to say something very clearly
The second penalty claim, where we were all incensed, was not a possible penalty, it was a stonewaller and i was yelling this for several minutes after the incident

- the first would have been harsh on the rovers but we really should have had that second penalty
Raith lacked invention today but they had a right winger who could have done some damage had he been put in more
Also thought bingham has good ability but is lacking confidence and looks unfit but that will improve - his passing in good positions on a number of occasions were well below what you would expect
Feel a bit sorry for the raith lad who passed it to cramb for a very very calm finish but we did deserve it on the balance of the game
Remember all the negative - cramb - talk that has been mentioned on here? Well done coco cramb!! well taken goal today that could prove very crucial - i hope he stays. Quality player
I remember redweb saying somewhere that cramb will stay and score more goals for us when most binos were slating the guy telling him to F off! you should be ashamed of yourselfes! all going delirious like myselfe when we scored 5 mins from the end - who scored the goal again?
MON THE BINOS
Mon the Rovers
Mar 10 2007, 19:00
QUOTE(itsbinos @ Mar 10 2007, 18:56) [snapback]1454285[/snapback]
The second penalty claim, where we were all incensed, was not a possible penalty, it was a stonewaller and i was yelling this for several minutes after the incident

- the first would have been harsh on the rovers but we really should have had that second penalty
Even if it was a foul, Snodgrass has himself to blame for rolling around the pitch at every available chance
What did the Bino boys make of the red card? Snodgrass was shot wasn't he
miketheheadlesschicken
Mar 10 2007, 19:03
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Mar 10 2007, 19:00) [snapback]1454292[/snapback]
What did the Bino boys make of the red card? Snodgrass was shot wasn't he

Snodgrass was lying on the ground and Davidson drilled the ball off his head. There's no real debate whether it was the right decision or not.
StewartyMac
Mar 10 2007, 19:03
QUOTE(itsbinos @ Mar 10 2007, 18:56) [snapback]1454285[/snapback]
I remember redweb saying somewhere that cramb will stay and score more goals for us when most binos were slating the guy telling him to F off! you should be ashamed of yourselfes! all going delirious like myselfe when we scored 5 mins from the end - who scored the goal again?
Of course we were going delirious, wtf were you expecting?
Maybe if you had half an understanding of the situation with Cramb, you might have been the same.
Mon the Rovers
Mar 10 2007, 19:05
QUOTE(miketheheadlesschicken @ Mar 10 2007, 19:03) [snapback]1454300[/snapback]
Snodgrass was lying on the ground and Davidson drilled the ball off his head. There's no real debate whether it was the right decision or not.
I'm not so sure. I thought Davo kicked the ball at the same time as the referee blew his whistle for a foul to Stirling
First booking was a joke, no doubt about that. He got booked for passing the ball to the Stirling boy
RedWeb
Mar 10 2007, 19:06
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Mar 10 2007, 19:03) [snapback]1454301[/snapback]
Maybe if you had half an understanding of the situation with Cramb, you might have been the same.

To be fair to Cramb it was great to see him go into the stand at half-time and personally apologise to someone for hitting them with a shot. Not many players would have bothered and it's to Colin's credit that he did so...well done sir !!
StewartyMac
Mar 10 2007, 19:07
There were some people who thought Paul Hay had been booked twice. Obviously not as no-one has mentioned it, but I did think at the time of his 2nd half booking, that he'd been showed the yellow card earlier.
Andy.C
Mar 10 2007, 19:08
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Mar 10 2007, 19:07) [snapback]1454310[/snapback]
There were some people who thought Paul Hay had been booked twice. Obviously not as no-one has mentioned it, but I did think at the time of his 2nd half booking, that he'd been showed the yellow card earlier.
Was that your right-back Stewarty?
I thought he had been booked twice too.
StewartyMac
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Mar 10 2007, 19:06) [snapback]1454307[/snapback]
To be fair to Cramb it was great to see him go into the stand at half-time and personally apologise to someone for hitting them with a shot. Not many players would have bothered and it's to Colin's credit that he did so...well done sir !!
Yip, his whole attitude seems to have changed. Hopefully this is the case. Thats down to the manager I reckon. Well done to both Moore and Cramb. It can only be a good thing to have Snoddy, Bingo, and Cramb all vying for a place in the team. That could give us the edge we need to win the league/playoffs.
RedWeb
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Mar 10 2007, 19:07) [snapback]1454310[/snapback]
There were some people who thought Paul Hay had been booked twice.
Not according to my notes...Hislop was booked for a foul on Hay which may have confused you
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Mar 10 2007, 19:06) [snapback]1454307[/snapback]
And Rock Steady allowed it?

Full credit to Cramb however, the Rovers end would be full of players if they all done that
StewartyMac
Mar 10 2007, 19:09
QUOTE(27/11 @ Mar 10 2007, 19:08) [snapback]1454316[/snapback]
Was that your right-back Stewarty?
I thought he had been booked twice too.

That's the one, aye.
Mon the Rovers
Mar 10 2007, 19:11
Hay definitley should have been booked for a foul on McManus (I think) but the ref just gave him a talikng to. An Albion centre half was booked about a minute later(again I think) for a foul on the wing as well, so there was big confusion in the Rovers end about that decision. Fairly sure he wasn't booked though
miketheheadlesschicken
Mar 10 2007, 19:12
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Mar 10 2007, 19:05) [snapback]1454304[/snapback]
I'm not so sure. I thought Davo kicked the ball at the same time as the referee blew his whistle for a foul to Stirling

The free kick had already been given.
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Mar 10 2007, 19:05) [snapback]1454304[/snapback]
First booking was a joke, no doubt about that. He got booked for passing the ball to the Stirling boy

The referee had been extremely lenient with him. He warned him after he had kicked the ball away for a 3rd time. Should have been booked then. He even got away with another one before finally being booked at the incident you mentioned.
west rover
Mar 10 2007, 19:12
QUOTE(raith for life @ Mar 10 2007, 18:37) [snapback]1454229[/snapback]
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.