Full Version: Raith 0-1 Stirling
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Albiondweeb
Well done Lads. Coco keeps the dream alive.

Was well pleased with the first half performance. On another day and with a less inspired goal keeping performance we could have been two goals up. Unfortunately it was not to be.

Raith had the better of the second and if they had scored when on top they could easily have won. Overall if you look at the shots on target etc we were worthy winners.

I hope we can keep this form right up till the end of the season and make Morton work for the title.

I must admit Snodgrass did take a dive in the box early in the second half. However the second penalty claim looked decent to me. The Raith player had a handful of his jersey from what I could see. Maybe the dive earlier on was held against Snoddy.

As for the sending off Snoddy was lying on the ground and the Raith boy fired the ball right off his cranium from about 3 yards away. It was a total cheap shot and the ref made the right call. The Raith fans must be wishing that there Strikers were as accurate as the man that perpetrated this evil deed.

Anyway I shall enjoy the rest of my weekend and look forward to the visit of the Champions Elect next week.
StewartyMac
QUOTE(west rover @ Mar 10 2007, 19:12) [snapback]1454334[/snapback]
mad.gif

Why would an Albion Rovers fan be angry about this?

Another Buckfast spill in Coatbridge is it?
miketheheadlesschicken
Was Davidson's sending off a straight red? Can't remember seeing the ref produce two cards.
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(miketheheadlesschicken @ Mar 10 2007, 19:12) [snapback]1454333[/snapback]
The free kick had already been given.
The referee had been extremely lenient with him. He warned him after he had kicked the ball away for a 3rd time. Should have been booked then. He even got away with another one before finally being booked at the incident you mentioned.

That as it may be, he did kick the ball away a couple of times. But he then PASSED the ball to the Stirling player to take the free kick. He was then booked. Are you not allowed to give someone the ball? unsure.gif
RedWeb
QUOTE(miketheheadlesschicken @ Mar 10 2007, 19:15) [snapback]1454344[/snapback]
Was Davidson's sending off a straight red? Can't remember seeing the ref produce two cards.

Think it was...not totally sure though blink.gif
StewartyMac
Looked like a straight red to me.
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(Albiondweeb @ Mar 10 2007, 19:14) [snapback]1454336[/snapback]
Well done Lads. Coco keeps the dream alive.

Was well pleased with the first half performance. On another day and with a less inspired goal keeping performance we could have been two goals up. Unfortunately it was not to be.

Raith had the better of the second and if they had scored when on top they could easily have won. Overall if you look at the shots on target etc we were worthy winners.

I hope we can keep this form right up till the end of the season and make Morton work for the title.

I must admit Snodgrass did take a dive in the box early in the second half. However the second penalty claim looked decent to me. The Raith player had a handful of his jersey from what I could see. Maybe the dive earlier on was held against Snoddy.

As for the sending off Snoddy was lying on the ground and the Raith boy fired the ball right off his cranium from about 3 yards away. It was a total cheap shot and the ref made the right call. The Raith fans must be wishing that there Strikers were as accurate as the man that perpetrated this evil deed.
Anyway I shall enjoy the rest of my weekend and look forward to the visit of the Champions Elect next week.

1) Snodgrass dived the whole game, so all of that was held against him dry.gif

2) Yes we do biggrin.gif

I must admit I thought the sending off was harsh at first, but obviously the whiste sound takes longer to come to the stand than Davo thumping the ball of Snodgrass's puss. I must also admit I thought it hit his legs ph34r.gif
miketheheadlesschicken
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Mar 10 2007, 19:17) [snapback]1454348[/snapback]
That as it may be, he did kick the ball away a couple of times. But he then PASSED the ball to the Stirling player to take the free kick. He was then booked. Are you not allowed to give someone the ball? unsure.gif

Yeah, but suggesting he was unlucky to get booked isn't correct. Anyway, I don't think it matters as I think he was given a straight red card.
AberdeenRover
very disappointed with the result iday! sad.gif

Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Mar 10 2007, 19:19) [snapback]1454353[/snapback]
Looked like a straight red to me.

He had definitley been booked, but I din't see what card/cards were shown as I was too busy shouting at everyone around me to stop clapping off a player who had just been sent off. I don't think anyone who gets sent off deserves to be applauded of the pitch.
MonTheRovers!!
Had to chill out and watch fot tele before coming on here as i was absolutely fuming after the match. But here goes:

Very disappointed not to come away with a point today.

Fahey - Kept us in it in the 1st half. Two brilliant saves.

Fotheringham - Wasn't at the races. Hid infield when we needed him to be getting the ball outwide. Pelosi has to start next week. Much more attack minded.

Wilson - A few good balls into the box. Apart from that, pretty inefectual for the most part though.

Campbell - Won the ball in the air and did as he is asked to do. Nothing special. Didn't see his substitution coming though. Did he take a knock or something? Or was it tactical?

Lumsden - Won the ball in the air and made a few good tackles.

Big Marv - Makes me nervous when he tries to skin players in his own half. Never did anything too daft though and kept it tight throughout the game.

Davidson - One of very few with any passion out there today. Shows it week in week out and was just a very frustrated lad today. You could see his sending off a mile away. Could have done without it. Big game against Brechin next week.

Bonar - I feel that he hides a lot of the time and that he has no purpose in the team. Just what is his job?

Carcary - Not as good as previous weeks but whenever he got the ball you felt as if he could create something. His turn and cross at the South Stand end where we went just wide was excellent. Torments defences with his pace. As said previously, would be much better suited out on the wing.

McManus - Another one that wasn't at the races today. Needs a goals to get his confidence up.

Hislop - If he was any slower he would be going backwards and thats about the end of it. Didn't hold the ball up at all today which is surely what he is there to do? Some arsehole giving him pelters after about 15 mins got me a bit pissed off aswell.

Subs:

Fairbairn - Before the backpass he looked like the Fairbairn of all, using his pace and skillt o take players on and get to the bye-line. One mistake cost us the game today and it was his. You saw him at full time. He was distraught and dejected. Good to see him applauded rather than booed.

Pelosi - Never got very long and i never really noticed that he was on the pitch.

McLaughlin - Another forward with very little pace. Another one that needs a goals aswell.

I never really had Stirling down as cheats but after today i'm in two minds. Snodgrass hit the deck every time he went up for an aerial challenge and the lad with the long hair that came on (is it Tomana?) i had to laugh at his attempt. The pools along the Prom pal. Dying swan.

I have no words for how awful, disgusting, dire, inconsistent and pish the officials were today. Two mins before Stirling scored the ball was slipped though by Carcary and McManus ran onto it from atleast a yard onside and ws pulled back for offside. 9 times out of 10, we score, game over, 3 points.

Never mind. There's always Brechin next week.

RedWeb
Even if we somehow fail to win the title I think today showed we are better than Raith and would be favourites to beat them in the play-offs. Raith were on a decent run but came up short against a team who have been playing well for most of the season cool.gif
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(miketheheadlesschicken @ Mar 10 2007, 19:20) [snapback]1454360[/snapback]
Yeah, but suggesting he was unlucky to get booked isn't correct. Anyway, I don't think it matters as I think he was given a straight red card.

He was unlucky to be booked for the 'offence' that he commited then laugh.gif

And you may be right. He is out for three games anyway
keyser_soze
As good a player as Davo is he can be a bit hotheaded at the best of times, he has been booked in the last 2 or 3 games as well, could do with him keeping his cool and not picking up so many silly bookings, that said he does care a hell of a lot for this club (local lad who supported them as a boy I believe)

suspensions can be a killer at this time of the season.
Albiondweeb
I think we are better than Raith, but I still think they could beat us in the playoffs on a bad day. Let us all pray for the binos!
miketheheadlesschicken
QUOTE(MonTheRovers!! @ Mar 10 2007, 19:22) [snapback]1454364[/snapback]
Snodgrass hit the deck every time he went up for an aerial challenge

I don't blame him. Some of Lumsden, Campbell and Andrews' challenges are reckless, especially Andrews who is danger of injuring someone in every game.
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Mar 10 2007, 19:22) [snapback]1454365[/snapback]
Even if we somehow fail to win the title I think today showed we are better than Raith and would be favourites to beat them in the play-offs. Raith were on a decent run but came up short against a team who have been playing well for most of the season cool.gif

I'll go back to what I said before- WE'RE GONNAE f**k YOU'S IN THE PLAY-OFFS biggrin.gif (hopefully ph34r.gif )
RedWeb
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Mar 10 2007, 19:26) [snapback]1454380[/snapback]
I'll go back to what I said before- WE'RE GONNAE f**k YOU'S IN THE PLAY-OFFS biggrin.gif (hopefully ph34r.gif )

Quite possibly but if we're on our game then you've no chance huh.gif
keyser_soze
Hasn't been mentioned yet but I thought it was a cracking game today, end to end stuff at times, 2 evenly matched sides.
StirlingScott
moro photos later tonight on www.stirlingalbionfc.co.uk

RedWeb
QUOTE(keyser_soze @ Mar 10 2007, 19:27) [snapback]1454388[/snapback]
Hasn't been mentioned yet but I thought it was a cracking game today, end to end stuff at times, 2 evenly matched sides.

Aye....it was a decent game...seen better but not bad all the same cool.gif
Lang Toun Lad
What was up with Rocksteady today? dry.gif
One of them came up to us at the start of the game and said that if we stood we would be chucked out. It looked like the Fife Finest lot were told the same as no-one stood for the rest of the half. That made the atmosphere to be crap even when people tried to bring it up with a song. It got better once everyone started standing toward the end but by then the game was dead and buried. I think the team may have played better with the fans behind them but it was impossible.
You don't think they found the threads here and on the Rover's board do you? ohmy.gif
RedWeb
Looking forward to the video footage on the Rovers site later...assuming it works...didn't last time we won at Starkers mad.gif
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Mar 10 2007, 19:27) [snapback]1454385[/snapback]
Quite possibly but if we're on our game then you've no chance huh.gif

You haven't seen us on our game wink.gif

Neither have we ph34r.gif As good as the run was, with the exception of the 1st half against Alloa, did anyone at any point ever think 'we are playing brilliantly here0?
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE(StirlingScott @ Mar 10 2007, 19:29) [snapback]1454394[/snapback]

There was about as many away fans there today as there was at the home game where we beat you 1-0. blink.gif
Andy.C
QUOTE(Albiondweeb @ Mar 10 2007, 19:25) [snapback]1454374[/snapback]
I think we are better than Raith, but I still think they could beat us in the playoffs on a bad day. Let us all pray for the binos!

I'd rather avoid Stirling in the play-offs, they impressed me a lot in the first half.

Give me a first division team who's been getting humped week in week out any day.
west rover
mad.gif if mcmanus was pish then what was hyslop the guys a posser did f**k all throughout the game, should have been subbed sooner, the boy wonder , has been a one game wonder played well against a tired brechen team full of old men and looked good scored 1 goal since and should have been subbed today when hes no got the ball he hides. under daz mc manus got to play striker and scored goals under levein was pulled back to defend and struggled to score ,the same things happening under mc glynn. and he was still better than the latter two today. pauls got nothing to prove at rovers, but a few other so called strikers have. message to mr mc glynn if you want goals leave mc manus up front and get the ball to him and the goals will come.
RedWeb
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Mar 10 2007, 19:31) [snapback]1454406[/snapback]
You haven't seen us on our game wink.gif

Not being disrespectful but it doesn't matter. If Stirling knock it around like we did in the opening 45 for a whole 90 then there is only one winner. Man for man I just think we are a better team unsure.gif
StewartyMac
I agree with Mr Soze, I thought it was an excellent game played by two good sides.
keyser_soze
QUOTE(west rover @ Mar 10 2007, 19:33) [snapback]1454412[/snapback]
mad.gif if mcmanus was pish then what was hyslop the guys a posser did f**k all throughout the game, should have been subbed sooner, the boy wonder , has been a one game wonder played well against a tired brechen team full of old men and looked good scored 1 goal since and should have been subbed today when hes no got the ball he hides. under daz mc manus got to play striker and scored goals under levein was pulled back to defend and struggled to score ,the same things happening under mc glynn. and he was still better than the latter two today. pauls got nothing to prove at rovers, but a few other so called strikers have. message to mr mc glynn if you want goals leave mc manus up front and get the ball to him and the goals will come.

You in the wrong forum mate wink.gif

Here to help laugh.gif
albion20
QUOTE(MonTheRovers!! @ Mar 10 2007, 19:33) [snapback]1454410[/snapback]
There was about as many away fans there today as there was at the home game where we beat you 1-0. blink.gif

good to see a good turnout today for the binos more than some quoted earlier in the week. good crowd over-all 2100 or thereabouts
Lang Toun Lad
How bad is this?

Fahey takes a nap on the stairs while the ball just flies by. Terrible.
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Mar 10 2007, 19:33) [snapback]1454413[/snapback]
Not being disrespectful but it doesn't matter. If Stirling knock it around like we did in the opening 45 for a whole 90 then there is only one winner. Man for man I just think we are a better team unsure.gif

Possibly, but we seriously haven't really even got out of 1st gear yet. Thats even including the win at Cowden
andybino
Good win for the binos today and i thought we deserved it...

Raith did nothing in front of goal and we missed several good chances. Fahey had a cracking match.

Snoddy should have had a penalty when he was wrestled to the ground but he got nothing after being manhandled the whole game so wasnt a surprise he got nothing in the box...

Intelligent play by Cramb to sneak in and a good finish biggrin.gif
Mon the Rovers

Hi Paul!!!
keyser_soze
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Mar 10 2007, 19:34) [snapback]1454416[/snapback]
I agree with Mr Soze, I thought it was an excellent game played by two good sides.

Mr Soze cool.gif

I like the sound of that laugh.gif laugh.gif
Lang Toun Lad
QUOTE(andybino @ Mar 10 2007, 19:38) [snapback]1454430[/snapback]
Snoddy should have had a penalty when he was wrestled to the ground but he got nothing after being manhandled the whole game so wasnt a surprise he got nothing in the box...

You're joking right? I hear Cowden are looking to replace Pataleinin with him.
andybino
Every time he went up for a header he had two hands on his back....typical Raith thugs wink.gif
west rover
cool.gif meaning.
Andy.C
Anyway folks, this is the most amicable after-match thread I've ever seen.

Stirling were shite and we should have humped them, diving b*****ds.

We're gonna shaft ye's all ways in the play-offs and then im gonna come on here spouting more pish than usual.

Where's the junior contingent when you need them?

tongue.gif wink.gif
philpy
I really have to question mgglynn's tactics and selections today. For a start, it seemed like we played a one-man midfield for the first half. Hislop should have been left out and fairbairn should have started instead. Mistake for the goal aside, he caused a few problems when he came on and him and mcmanus seem to link up well when they play together. In all honesty, i dont know why mgglynn didnt stick with the same starting 11 we had at cowden last week. Also carcary seemed to take most of the corners today, which somewhat baffled me given the fact that 3 of our last 7 seven goals have been a result of davidson taking corners. Our defence, which has been fairly solid over the course of the last month or so seemed look shaky today as well. We seemed to be very nervous and jittery at times today and gave the ball away very easily. I really hope the players got a good rollicking after the game, as we cant afford to play like that again at brechin next saturday. Also that had to be the worst display of officiating i have seen at starks park for a long time. f**k knows how that linesman actually passed whatever tests our officials have to take, he clearly wouldnt know an onside player if he came up and smacked him in the face. The ref was rank rotten as well, he didnt let the game flow at all.
itsbinos
Agree with what most binos are saying.

What did cramb do? its been done now its not like by holding the information in you are undoing it... please tell me! I'm very intrigued! (stewarty)

can someone tell me who the raith right winger was please!
Steven
QUOTE(itsbinos @ Mar 10 2007, 19:48) [snapback]1454461[/snapback]
Agree with what most binos are saying.

What did cramb do? its been done now its not like by holding the information in you are undoing it... please tell me! I'm very intrigued! (stewarty)

can someone tell me who the raith right winger was please!

Wilson (number 2) or Fairbairn (12) who set up the only goal of the game rolleyes.gif
west rover
mad.gif just seen some of the other posts naw i am not on the wrong site,when i joined pb i supported albion, then i moved east to fife and it made sence to support rovers with so many ex albion players playing. chris f, chris s, tod l, scott c paul mc m. and always will while i live here. cool.gif
itsbinos
It might have been mcmanus. But a guy who seemed quite fast and agile and good with the ball at his feet popped up on a number of occasions (mostly near our box on the raith right wing) just thought he looked a threat most of the game!
Good defending by us though
Steven
Both my brothers were at the game for the first time since we lost 3-1 to Cowden at home earlier on in the season.

Both have been banned from Starks till the end of the season mad.gif laugh.gif
Lang Toun Lad
biggrin.gif

I have to say, the Stirling fans are one of the loudest I have heard all season in the North Stand. Only Morton were louder but they sat in silence until they scored their third goal.
Martin Nelson
QUOTE(miketheheadlesschicken @ Mar 10 2007, 19:12) [snapback]1454333[/snapback]
The free kick had already been given.
The referee had been extremely lenient with him. He warned him after he had kicked the ball away for a 3rd time. Should have been booked then. He even got away with another one before finally being booked at the incident you mentioned.

Totally agree, Davidson was stupid beyond belief and deserved to go. Unfortunately we have no code of discipline in place so he will not be fined.
Recre Rover
QUOTE(miketheheadlesschicken @ Mar 10 2007, 19:15) [snapback]1454344[/snapback]

Yes it was.

QUOTE(RedWeb @ Mar 10 2007, 19:22) [snapback]1454365[/snapback]

Aye, but we had an off day today, we've been playing far better in recent weeks. We could say the same about you for the game at FB earlier in the season.

QUOTE(miketheheadlesschicken @ Mar 10 2007, 19:26) [snapback]1454379[/snapback]
I don't blame him. Some of Lumsden, Campbell and Andrews' challenges are reckless, especially Andrews who is danger of injuring someone in every game.

What a lot of bollocks.

That seems a 100%, totally unbiased view.

QUOTE(philpy @ Mar 10 2007, 19:48) [snapback]1454459[/snapback]
I really have to question mgglynn's tactics and selections today. For a start, it seemed like we played a one-man midfield for the first half. Hislop should have been left out and fairbairn should have started instead. Mistake for the goal aside, he caused a few problems when he came on and him and mcmanus seem to link up well when they play together. In all honesty, i dont know why mgglynn didnt stick with the same starting 11 we had at cowden last week. Also carcary seemed to take most of the corners today, which somewhat baffled me given the fact that 3 of our last 7 seven goals have been a result of davidson taking corners. Our defence, which has been fairly solid over the course of the last month or so seemed look shaky today as well. We seemed to be very nervous and jittery at times today and gave the ball away very easily. I really hope the players got a good rollicking after the game, as we cant afford to play like that again at brechin next saturday. Also that had to be the worst display of officiating i have seen at starks park for a long time. f**k knows how that linesman actually passed whatever tests our officials have to take, he clearly wouldnt know an onside player if he came up and smacked him in the face. The ref was rank rotten as well, he didnt let the game flow at all.

I think you're being a bit harsh to McGlynn there, I blame the players more. That was not a bad team we had out, that team just didn't perform.
Martin Nelson
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Mar 10 2007, 19:31) [snapback]1454404[/snapback]
Looking forward to the video footage on the Rovers site later...assuming it works...didn't last time we won at Starkers mad.gif

We won't show it since we lost wink.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.