Full Version: Raith 1 - 0 Brechin
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
kilgour11
WHAT A SECOND HALF!!!!! derek carcary is amazin
Dunc
Derek Carcary is indeed amazing.

He really deserved a goal for that run, taking on 3 or 4 defenders, beating the keeper only to see the ball just roll wide.

If it hadn't started raining, we wouldn't've scored. The ball just slipped off Nelson's hand.
rw89
I'll back you both up in saying he's amazing. We got fairly lucky with a win but we did have the majority of the possesion. We started well and nodded off a little until the goal. I think Fife's Finest really did well however, other than the constant moaning of bored middle aged men who think Rovers should be playing perfect football the place would have been dead without them. they truely are real credit to the club. Great to see we're in the playoffs and i hope the lads keep up the good work.
kilgour11
ye, we really need to try and keep these loan players for next season. I now beleive that we will get a play-off place and could go up a division.

Good to see Marvin Andrews back in top form!!!!!!
AJM2711
Good stuff from the boys today - both on the pitch and in the stand.

Thoroughly deserved the win on posession and no of chances but almost managed to blow it near the end and Fahey was on top form again.

Carcary is pure class. He is going to embarass alot of defenders over the next few months and could be the key to us securing a place in the play-offs (at the right end of the table - who would've thought that a few weeks ago)

blubay
QUOTE(AJM2711 @ Jan 20 2007, 17:41) [snapback]1372686[/snapback]
Good stuff from the boys today - both on the pitch and in the stand.

Thoroughly deserved the win on posession and no of chances but almost managed to blow it near the end and Fahey was on top form again.

Carcary is pure class. He is going to embarass alot of defenders over the next few months and could be the key to us securing a place in the play-offs (at the right end of the table - who would've thought that a few weeks ago)

man , boy or wee laddy dont bend doon when yer in kirkcaldy
rw89
The game against Stranraer will be intresting if Carcary starts. Him and Pelosi seemed to play very well together
Andy.C
What a find Carcary is! How is that boy no' playing for Rangers full team?!?
Great result and another shut-out, we're going no' bad just now. biggrin.gif
a_n_d_o
QUOTE(27/11 @ Jan 20 2007, 17:45) [snapback]1372697[/snapback]
What a find Carcary is! How is that boy no' playing for Rangers full team?!?
Great result and another shut-out, we're going no' bad just now. biggrin.gif

... i think there is a slight difference between playing against brechin and playing against aberdeen, celtic, hearts etc...
kilgour11
carcary reminds me of Nacho Novo. Who knoes Novo may have recommended the Rovers for him!
Andy.C
QUOTE(a_n_d_o @ Jan 20 2007, 17:52) [snapback]1372717[/snapback]
... i think there is a slight difference between playing against brechin and playing against aberdeen, celtic, hearts etc...

Fair enough, I got carried away a wee bit. wink.gif

Think about it though, if he was running at any defender the way he was running at the poor Brechin lads today even the most experienced defender would have a hard day.
a_n_d_o
QUOTE(27/11 @ Jan 20 2007, 18:07) [snapback]1372756[/snapback]
Fair enough, I got carried away a wee bit. wink.gif

Think about it though, if he was running at any defender the way he was running at the poor Brechin lads today even the most experienced defender would have a hard day.

maybe, most defences in this division struggle with direct running and pace anyways. but if against a full time club where the fitness levels (and quality?) are slightly better then he might have it a bit harder. still if he can perform every week in this division you have a wee gem then.
BC USA
QUOTE(a_n_d_o @ Jan 20 2007, 18:26) [snapback]1372811[/snapback]
maybe, most defences in this division struggle with direct running and pace anyways. but if against a full time club where the fitness levels (and quality?) are slightly better then he might have it a bit harder. still if he can perform every week in this division you have a wee gem then.

Give him a couple of weeks and he will be playing just like the rest of the team.
rw89
QUOTE(BC USA @ Jan 20 2007, 18:34) [snapback]1372828[/snapback]
Give him a couple of weeks and he will be playing just like the rest of the team.

Least we'll have a team that isn't self-destructing by the end of the season laugh.gif
Andy.C

Hope so cause the rest o' the team are playing well just now.

Unlike your shitey bottle merchants. laugh.gif
Steven
QUOTE(27/11 @ Jan 20 2007, 18:48) [snapback]1372872[/snapback]
Hope so cause the rest o' the team are playing well just now.

Unlike your shitey bottle merchants. laugh.gif

4th place and rising all the time cool.gif

Where are Cowden going unsure.gif Downhill back to the third where they belong laugh.gif cool.gif

Normal service has been resumed tongue.gif

Well deserved win today btw dry.gif
'Steve
It was a rubbish game! Neither side created many chances and like our last visit, Raith couldn't hit a barn door!

Rovers deserved the win though, we were poor again.
kullibino
You mean below par?
'Steve
QUOTE(kullibino @ Jan 20 2007, 18:56) [snapback]1372895[/snapback]
You mean below par?

Yes.
MonTheRovers!!
Superb result for us today! Taken 6 points from the 2nd and 3rd place teams in the league, can't ask for much more than that can you?

As for the Carcary lad, well what can I say? I've never seen a player move like him in my puff! The way he got off the mark was frightening! Stuff trying to defend against him.

Hope we can get another win under our belt and start to push on a secure that play-off spot. I believe that we are the team most likely to get it. Simply because Cowden have began to slide after losing their two best players (Patawhatshisface and Gomis) and Ayr just don't seem to be good enough.

Roll on Strany, i'll be in attendance!
rw89
Well, it show the change McGlynn has made at Rovers. Before we had underperforming players who didn't look capable of much. Now McGlynn has brought in a few players who have been successful (especially Pelosi) and hasn't been scared to try out new formations. i'm really thinking McGlynn is the best manager we've had in a long time and we might be abled to get a playoff place and if we're very lucky: something out of that. Nonetheless it is important the squad continue to work to that goal.
raith for life
What a result today well done lads as for carcary wouldnt be out of place at a greyhound track. And the effort at the end was unbelievable took 3 or 4 players out and was so unlucky with finish. Stranraer come on down lets see u try and defend against him lets hope lawrie is playing so he can tie him in knots biggrin.gif
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(raith for life @ Jan 20 2007, 21:13) [snapback]1373187[/snapback]
What a result today well done lads as for carcary wouldnt be out of place at a greyhound track. And the effort at the end was unbelievable took 3 or 4 players out and was so unlucky with finish. Stranraer come on down lets see u try and defend against him lets hope lawrie is playing so he can tie him in knots biggrin.gif

If you mean Laurie Ellis he plays for Cowden laugh.gif

Great result today, Carcary is absolutley top clss, best player I've seen at Starks for a long time, including visitors, and a well desrved win. Good couple of results, beating 2nd and 3rd top in succesive weeeks, now we will do a 'Morton' and bottle it against Stranraer

Very happy tonight cool.gif
BIGQ FAE KDY
QUOTE('Steve @ Jan 20 2007, 18:54) [snapback]1372891[/snapback]
It was a rubbish game! Neither side created many chances and like our last visit, Raith couldn't hit a barn door!

You say all that at the start of your post then say raith deserved the win but you are right we deserved it . rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
dudley
QUOTE('Steve @ Jan 20 2007, 18:54) [snapback]1372891[/snapback]

I for one do not think we were poor again! I think the team put in a good solid performance. How the ball did not go in the net on at least 2 occasions is beyond me. The Rovers keeper was in top form and made some great saves during the game. We needed some luck and we did'nt get it but to say we were poor is wrong! It was an entertaining match. There does'nt have to be a barrowload of goals to constitute a good game and I for one think the Brechin players played well and the game could have gone either way up to the goal being scored and afterwards we pressured them and easily could have scored the equaliser. Well done to the players and great to see Scot Walker back. Hope Ward and the other injured players are back soon. How about some encouragement and getting behind the team. We are in 3rd position in the league and if you were asked at the start of the season you would have taken that at this stage in the season. THOUGHT THE WHOLE TEAM PLAYED A LOT BETTER THAN TUESDAY. mad.gif
cityred
Totally agree with Dudley, fail to see how any travelling fan could describe our performance as poor. As the home side Raith indeed had the bulk of possession. And only a mixture of great goalkeeping from Chris Fahey and a couple of goal line clerances kept us from finding the net. A big improvement certainly from midweek.

As always in this division, the team that scored first wen on to win, but Fahey had more saves to make than Nelson. And i think its unfair to describe the performance as "poor".
Scary Bear

How was Forfar?

We played well yesterday. Davidson (No.7) was great in midfield. Big Marv put in a couple of strong challenge. If only he had pace. Fahey had an excellent game in goals.

Carcary looked brilliant yesterday when he came on. I'm looking forward to seeing him again. He looks a real find.
Scary Bear
QUOTE(cityred @ Jan 21 2007, 08:45) [snapback]1373685[/snapback]
Totally agree with Dudley, fail to see how any travelling fan could describe our performance as poor. As the home side Raith indeed had the bulk of possession. And only a mixture of great goalkeeping from Chris Fahey and a couple of goal line clerances kept us from finding the net. A big improvement certainly from midweek.

As always in this division, the team that scored first wen on to win, but Fahey had more saves to make than Nelson. And i think its unfair to describe the performance as "poor".

Brechin were unlucky not to score. That 5-10 minutes of pressure, immediately after we scored, should have brought a goal. It was quite far away so I didn't get a good view but it looked like Fahey made a couple of excellent saves. The one low down at his post looked a cracker of a save.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE(Scary Bear @ Jan 21 2007, 10:15) [snapback]1373740[/snapback]
Big Marv put in a couple of strong challenge. If only he had pace.

I thought that Big Marv was much quicker than he has been in previous weeks. The tackle that he made at the south stand railway end was brilliiant! He was onto it very quickly. Being dropped was just what he needed and he now knows that he isn't going to be guaranted a place in the team.

Davidson (No.7) was great in midfield

Spot on mate. Many people have been slating Davidson about his performances, but i for one believe that he is one of our most consistent performers. He's always there hustling the player, or making that last ditch tackle, tracking back and can also get forward. I just don't seem to understand why he doesn't get the backing that he deserves.
Mon the Rovers
Ya bassa you've nicked ma name mad.gif

Brechin werent bad yesterday, but I thought we deserved the win. They had 5-10 mins of pressure the whole game and that was just before we scored

The game was very similar to the Ayr game which we won 1-0, thanks to a Campbell goal, but it wasnt quite as scrappy
Steven
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Jan 21 2007, 15:06) [snapback]1374033[/snapback]
The game was very similar to the Ayr game which we won 1-0, thanks to a Campbell goal, but it wasnt quite as scrappy

I will take scrappy 1-0 wins till the end of the season if it means we are promoted dry.gif
rw89
QUOTE(Steven @ Jan 21 2007, 15:09) [snapback]1374038[/snapback]
I will take scrappy 1-0 wins till the end of the season if it means we are promoted dry.gif

hear hear smile.gif
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(Steven @ Jan 21 2007, 15:09) [snapback]1374038[/snapback]

I wasnt complainig, I was just saying wink.gif
MonTheRovers!!

Shit! Sorry about that one mate. sad.gif Only been on here a few times before joining so I haven't really noticed any names. blink.gif
Steven
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Jan 21 2007, 15:12) [snapback]1374043[/snapback]
I wasnt complainig, I was just saying wink.gif

Yeah I know, seems to be a fair few Rovers fans about just now on here.

We own the second division board it seems wink.gif
dudley

Brechin werent bad yesterday, but I thought we deserved the win. They had 5-10 mins of pressure the whole game and that was just before we scored

I thought that a draw would have been a fair result. You edged the posession but Brechin had more chances. Your goalkeeper had some very good saves and was busier than Nelson. Your defenders also did well to clear 2 goalbound shots off time line. We did not get the luck this time. We had a number of spells of pressure and the 10min spell was after you scored but hey, you won. Thats football. Roll on next game!!!
Gall09
QUOTE(kilgour11 @ Jan 20 2007, 17:01) [snapback]1372631[/snapback]
WHAT A SECOND HALF!!!!! derek carcary is amazin

Believe me mate, Queen's fans know exactly how good he is. If he takes half the chances his pace makes him for the rest of the season, your in for a good season.
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(MonTheRovers!! @ Jan 21 2007, 15:19) [snapback]1374060[/snapback]
Shit! Sorry about that one mate. sad.gif Only been on here a few times before joining so I haven't really noticed any names. blink.gif

Never mind, at least we have different avatars wink.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.