Full Version: Iwelumo Still Wants Scotland Call
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Steven
Looks a decent player, might be worth shout?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/t...ted/6159017.stm

Colchester striker Chris Iwelumo has made another plea for a call-up from Scotland manager Walter Smith.

The 28-year-old admitted in September that he "didn't know whether Walter Smith knows where Layer Road is, or even knows that I'm Scottish".

But having scored four goals in Tuesday's 5-1 win over Hull, he told BBC Essex: "Hopefully if I keep performing, the door will open.

"It'd be nice to get noticed but they have some good players in my position."

Iwelumo's four-goal haul - the first by a Colchester player since Roy McDonough in August 1991 - took his total to nine goals this season.
Swampy
He's got a good partnership going at Colchester but I'm not sure that we need a CCC-level striker when we have guys like Boyd, Maloney etc.

In any case, having pretty much half your season's tally coming in one game against a shit team isn't that great. (Cue comparisons with Boyd rolleyes.gif)

Still, good to see he's interested in the national team, maybe he'll peak late smile.gif
ClydeNewcomer

lmao is this a pisstake? he plays for colchester! enough said. does'nt look or sound remotely scottish in anyway. He must have some half scottish great granny. This guy will not get a look in with the scotland squad.
ICTChris
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Dec 1 2006, 10:47) [snapback]1296413[/snapback]

lmao is this a pisstake? he plays for colchester! enough said. does'nt look or sound remotely scottish in anyway. He must have some half scottish great granny. This guy will not get a look in with the scotland squad.

He was born in Paisley, his first club were St Mirren. Why do you say he "doesn't look Scottish"? rolleyes.gif

From what I know about him he's a big targetman type striker, maybe worth a run-out in the B team.
cdisaaccie

Iwelumo was actually born in Coatbridge according to the article in the Sun so he is a born Scot; not that it matters cos he won't get near the squad anyhoo.
Spanky Rodriguez
I would also like to make let Walter know that i'm available for selection. At 23 i've got plenty of youthful exuberance in me. I'm 6ft+ so i'm a good height and could act as a target man plus I scored a few goals whilst playing 5 a'sides the other night so i'm bang in form.

Just P'M me Walter wink.gif
GeeJay

He said last September:

I don't know whether Walter Smith knows where Layer Road is, or even knows that I'm Scottish," Iwelumo told the East Anglian Daily Times.

"But I'm a proud Scotsman and I would love to get involved with the team."

"I was selected for a Scotland B squad in 2002, to tour South Korea, but I couldn't go because my team Stoke were involved in the play-offs," he said.

"I'd love to be considered for those matches."

Sounds Scottish enough to me. Sounds like he would love to play for us. We need more people like that. By the way mate, Colchester are in the Champsionship, which I would say is a better standard than the SPL, and if he can bang four goals in one night he must be doing something right.

If you're dismissing him because he plays in the Championship, then does that also mean Neil and Graham Alexander aren't good enough? Couple of seasons ago Murty, Teale, Dailly and McCulloch would all be in that bracket too.
Follow Follow

Now, if I had said that I would have been a bigoted,racist hun p***k

Your the same ( exlucding the hun bit ).

If he can score as many at interbational level then I'd take him in the squad. Don't think he's good enough though
South Lanarkshire Jag

What do you mean by that

is that the Colchester who are 8th in the Championship??

i would give him a go in the B squad v Finland to see if he is good enough but having not seen him play i cant comment on his ability
XaaronPrimus
Seeing as Chris Clark got in the B team, I say he's worth taking a look at. It's clear he wants to play for Scotlandand not many opposition defenders will have heard of him, so he COULD cause a surprise or two.

He's scored 9 goals in the league this season, one more than Boyd and 7 more than Miller
Ned Nederlander
I watched his 4 goals the other day on Sky Sports News without the slightest inckling (sp)that he was Scottish .... I remember thinking what a shitty way to manage 4 goals though but I can't remember what was shit about them unsure.gif

one was a penalty though unsure.gif
Ned Nederlander
QUOTE(Ned Nederlander @ Dec 1 2006, 19:24) [snapback]1297420[/snapback]

I watched his 4 goals the other day on Sky Sports News without the slightest inckling (sp)that he was Scottish .... I remember thinking what a shitty way to manage 4 goals though but I can't remember what was shit about them unsure.gif

one was a penalty though unsure.gif
here it is : YouTube Clickster

I reckon it was his penalty dive that made me take notice dry.gif
killie_ken
He went to school with one of my mates (Stewarton Academy I believe)

How does somebody 'look' Scottish? We're not all pasty faced, ginger teuchters with a skin complection similar to the inside of a tea-pot you know. huh.gif
Russ.
He must be worth a chance. That's what B and friendly internationals are for. We do lack a little bit up front we've got Boyd, Miller, McCulloch and Garry O'Connor, however not a lot apart from that. With both Maloney and McFadden better played wide than up front.
xbasslichtie_old
Thats a name that takes me back...he was brilliant in one of the old champ mans, used to buy him as soon as I could......he could find it difficult as we already have Boyd, O'Connor, Faddy, Miller etc. and Walter Smith isnt a great fan of playing more than one striker, ever!
djchapsticks

What a fucking idiot you are.

I knew big Chewing Gum (easier to say than Iwelumo) well from his time with us. He is as Scottish sounding as I am. He was born, raised and schooled in Coatbridge, speaks with a broad West Coast accent and loves his country. His mum is Scottish, and his father a Nigerian who lives or lived here.

You, on the other hand aren't helping this country in general, with narrow minded, racist comments like the one you have come out with. Congrats on racially profiling a guy because of the way he looks, before you have ever even heard him open his mouth.

Fucking racist w**ker. mad.gif
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(BenchWarmer7 @ Dec 1 2006, 17:28) [snapback]1297254[/snapback]

He said last September:
[b]

If you're dismissing him because he plays in the Championship, then does that also mean Neil and Graham Alexander aren't good enough? Couple of seasons ago Murty, Teale, Dailly and McCulloch would all be in that bracket too.

not slaggin the championship am slaggen colchester, one of the worst teams in that division. colchester would get bluttered off 5/6 spl sides.

He sounds game enough, but can't ever see him gettin a sniff in the squad, with maloney, beattie, boyd, mcculloch,riorden, oconner, teale hardly ever gettin a game
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(djchapsticks @ Dec 2 2006, 08:48) [snapback]1298362[/snapback]

What a fucking idiot you are.

I knew big Chewing Gum (easier to say than Iwelumo) well from his time with us. He is as Scottish sounding as I am. He was born, raised and schooled in Coatbridge, speaks with a broad West Coast accent and loves his country. His mum is Scottish, and his father a Nigerian who lives or lived here.

You, on the other hand aren't helping this country in general, with narrow minded, racist comments like the one you have come out with. Congrats on racially profiling a guy because of the way he looks, before you have ever even heard him open his mouth.

Fucking racist w**ker. mad.gif

lmao racist, aye mate that proves am racist. Not the slightest bit racist. Ignorant with ma comments definately not racist. Its easy to think hes some african-english amatuer player whos never even heard of scotland, who wants to further his career.

he sounds awrite, but will definately not get a sniff
South Lanarkshire Jag
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Dec 2 2006, 22:46) [snapback]1299214[/snapback]

not slaggin the championship am slaggen colchester, one of the worst teams in that division. colchester would get bluttered off 5/6 spl sides.

you talk so much pish mate

if they are one of the worst teams in it then why are they 10th only 9pts of the 1st place

if they are so bad how come they beat Cardiff when they were clear top? they drew with them today

they have won 8 home games on the bounce comprehensively beating Hull 5-1. Southampton 2-0, Sheffield Wed 4-0

Get your facts right before you slag them off dry.gif
Chris
I, too, still want a Scotland call.
djchapsticks
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Dec 2 2006, 22:51) [snapback]1299225[/snapback]

lmao racist, aye mate that proves am racist. Not the slightest bit racist. Ignorant with ma comments definately not racist. Its easy to think hes some african-english amatuer player whos never even heard of scotland, who wants to further his career.

Read what your first post says again though, and admit how narrow minded it looks to someone like me.

Yes, it's easy to think he is an African-English player.....but then you should really have found this out before coming on here and spouting something as offensive, when there are folk on this site who have known big Chris in the past and realise that he is as Scottsih as you or me, and what he looks/sounds like should have no bearing on his desire to play for his country. That should be based solely on ability alone.

I assume you haven't seen his ability as you base your argument (aside from the fact that he's black and his name is African), on the fact that he 'plays for colchester, nuff said lolololol', so you don't really have a leg to stand on in this one mate. wink.gif
smithers-jones
I remember him playing for St Mirren against Airdrie many moons ago. Murder, I seem to remember, made Mark Yardley look like Pele. No way should this joker be allowed anywhere near the national side.
smithers-jones
QUOTE(Spanky Rodriguez @ Dec 1 2006, 11:04) [snapback]1296446[/snapback]

I would also like to make let Walter know that i'm available for selection. At 23 i've got plenty of youthful exuberance in me. I'm 6ft+ so i'm a good height and could act as a target man plus I scored a few goals whilst playing 5 a'sides the other night so i'm bang in form.

Just P'M me Walter wink.gif

Or more correctly, Holding and Willey. The standard of education these days...... cool.gif
Spanky Rodriguez
QUOTE(smithers-jones @ Dec 3 2006, 11:19) [snapback]1299588[/snapback]

Or more correctly, Holding and Willey. The standard of education these days...... cool.gif

Thanks for that. Changed accordingly wink.gif
Colin M
To be honest I doubt whether he's good enough for Scotland, with people at a higher level currently ahead of him in the queue.

The Notorious JMS
Worth a B team call up me thinks...some of the pish spouted by muppets on here is ridiculous... dry.gif
Larbert_Par
Totally agree with you mate.Give him a call up to the B team in February if he continues doing as he is-absolutely no harm in seeing what he can do.
cmontheloknow
I think Chris went to Woodfarm High School in Glasgow.
smithers-jones
QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Dec 6 2006, 22:36) [snapback]1305766[/snapback]

I think Chris went to Woodfarm High School in Glasgow.

And your point is......?
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(smithers-jones @ Dec 10 2006, 20:29) [snapback]1310950[/snapback]

And your point is......?

And your problem is.....?

I was referring to a previous post:

http://www.pieandbovril.co.uk/forum/index....t&p=1297764

rolleyes.gif
TheScarf
He scored again at the weekend. His 74th penalty of the season.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(killie_ken @ Dec 1 2006, 22:39) [snapback]1297764[/snapback]

He went to school with one of my mates (Stewarton Academy I believe)

How does somebody 'look' Scottish? We're not all pasty faced, ginger teuchters with a skin complection similar to the inside of a tea-pot you know. huh.gif

now that is racist. If anyone slightly hints about a black player then they are immediately deemed as the devil. Its ok to slag ginger people and stereotypical scottish?? if thats no racist a don't know wit is. It's getting to the stage in this world where ye can't even fart without being called racist. I have nothing against fat people or specky people my mate is fat but if he annoys me I call him a fat specky cun* doesnt meen I discriminate against horizontally challenged or visually impaired people. tongue.gif

Just like the white player that plays for trinidad and tobacco lol all their fans think its great but laugh at him and cannot believe he is playing for their country. Doesnt make them racist.

now fuckin calm doon and stop being so fukin politically correct n get a life

SeD
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Dec 11 2006, 20:28) [snapback]1312255[/snapback]

now that is racist. If anyone slightly hints about a black player then they are immediately deemed as the devil. Its ok to slag ginger people and stereotypical scottish?? if thats no racist a don't know wit is. It's getting to the stage in this world where ye can't even fart without being called racist. I have nothing against fat people or specky people my mate is fat but if he annoys me I call him a fat specky cun* doesnt meen I discriminate against horizontally challenged or visually impaired people. tongue.gif

Just like the white player that plays for trinidad and tobacco lol all their fans think its great but laugh at him and cannot believe he is playing for their country. Doesnt make them racist.

now fuckin calm doon and stop being so fukin politically correct n get a life

Surely the Scots aren't a race so slagging them can't be racist ph34r.gif
Russ.
QUOTE(SeD @ Dec 11 2006, 20:42) [snapback]1312274[/snapback]

Surely the Scots aren't a race so slagging them can't be racist ph34r.gif

I'm surprised you managed to make senese of some of that post, he makes Bhoys67 look intelligent.
ClydeNewcomer
and if anyone tries to hit me with 'gingers and speckys are not a race of people though, so it isnt racist ' then look at countries. Countries are regularly picked on and its perfectly accetable and sometimes regarded as funny and clever. David Starkey that fanny historian actually called someone an annoying scottish fart. One of the winners on Big Brother called the scottish housemate a stupit scottish twat and actually got a cheer and round of applause. The scots are a race of people so is that not racist??
replace the word scottish in each sentence with the word black. Now they would both be equally racist but only one is regarded as racist.

To take this point to another level white people can be slagged without it being considered racist. The countless times i have seen comments about white people. An example of this is the white player that plays for trinidad and tabago. One tv presenter said its a shame for him when it comes to dressing room showers. He is implying that black people have bigger dicks than white people. Which is bullshit and racist. But the audience laughed at this. Can you imagine if there was a black person was slagged for being black in a group of white people!!!!? its unimaginable. For example if I said its a shame for the white people being in with that blackman in the javelin team, its clear that the black guy is going to chuck that spear further

POINT PROVEN
Russ.
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Dec 11 2006, 20:50) [snapback]1312281[/snapback]

To take this point to another level white people can be slagged without it being considered racist. The countless times i have seen comments about white people. An example of this is the white player that plays for trinidad and tabago. One tv presenter said its a shame for him when it comes to dressing room showers. He is implying that black people have bigger dicks than white people. Which is bullshit and racist. But the audience laughed at this. Can you imagine if there was a black person was slagged for being black in a group of white people!!!!? its unimaginable. For example if I said its a shame for the white people being in with that blackman in the javelin team, its clear that the black guy is going to chuck that spear further

POINT PROVEN

huh.gif

What a load of pish. I'm not talking about racism in any form here but the actual shite that you just made up to try and prove that your original post on this thread was not racist when infact it clearly was.

What exactly is your point?
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(Only1Hagi @ Dec 11 2006, 21:01) [snapback]1312302[/snapback]

huh.gif

What a load of pish. I'm not talking about racism in any form here but the actual shite that you just made up to try and prove that your original post on this thread was not racist when infact it clearly was.

What exactly is your point?

the point is stop loosen sleep over posts like mine. Some people including yoursel have nearly had a heart attack over ma first post. Callin me racist and makin the biggest deal ever oot it.

I don't like it, when other people can do it to offend other races but when it comes to black people its worse.

XaaronPrimus

While you admit your factual ignorance at a later post, you are basically saying "He can't be scottish, because he's black"

And that doesn't look good. I wouldn't have guessed he was Scottish by looking at him either, but to dismiss it out of hand purely based on his skin colour is asking for trouble.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(XaaronPrimus @ Dec 11 2006, 21:15) [snapback]1312320[/snapback]

While you admit your factual ignorance at a later post, you are basically saying "He can't be scottish, because he's black"

And that doesn't look good. I wouldn't have guessed he was Scottish by looking at him either, but to dismiss it out of hand purely based on his skin colour is asking for trouble.

Well maybe its just as racist as saying white men can't jump. The point is that because its a comment about a black player, it is racist and shocking.

Do you thnk the trinidad and tabago fans wont say the same thing about their white player. Of course they will and they are right, he doesnt look like someone from trinidad and tabago, is that racist??? don't think so
ICTChris
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Dec 11 2006, 21:32) [snapback]1312345[/snapback]

Well maybe its just as racist as saying white men can't jump. The point is that because its a comment about a black player, it is racist and shocking.

Do you thnk the trinidad and tabago fans wont say the same thing about their white player. Of course they will and they are right, he doesnt look like someone from trinidad and tabago, is that racist??? don't think so

You were suggesting that he couldn't be Scottish because he is black, that he "must have some half-Scottish great-granny". Maybe he doesn't look like your typical Scottish person, that is true. But he's still Scottish. John Carew doesn't look like your typical Norwegian but he's still a Norwegian.

The white guy who plays for Trinidad isn't from Trinidad, his mum was born there.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(ICTChris @ Dec 11 2006, 21:54) [snapback]1312379[/snapback]

You were suggesting that he couldn't be Scottish because he is black, that he "must have some half-Scottish great-granny". Maybe he doesn't look like your typical Scottish person, that is true. But he's still Scottish. John Carew doesn't look like your typical Norwegian but he's still a Norwegian.

The white guy who plays for Trinidad isn't from Trinidad, his mum was born there.

its not 100% coz he is black his name is the most foreign african sounden name imaginable. Its not really coz hes black. Just like lorenzo amuroso, when he said he wanted to play for scotland. He is white and doesnt look scottish or sound scottish. White italian men don't look scottish. Its no racist. If there where lots of scottish men walking around with long greasy gelled hair and tanned skin then he would look scottish.

cmontheloknow
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Dec 11 2006, 21:58) [snapback]1312388[/snapback]

its not 100% coz he is black his name is the most foreign african sounden name imaginable. Its not really coz hes black. Just like lorenzo amuroso, when he said he wanted to play for scotland. He is white and doesnt look scottish or sound scottish. White italian men don't look scottish. Its no racist. If there where lots of scottish men walking around with long greasy gelled hair and tanned skin then he would look scottish.

What a vile, prejudiced, post.
cmontheloknow
What would our K...K....K....Clyde fan think of Chris Iwelumo if his dad happened to be from Jamaica as opposed to Nigeria? There are lots of Jamaicans with very Scottish names, for fairly obvious reasons considering our nation's inglorious past. Walter Boyd for one. Would the K...K....K....Clyde fan have Walter Boyd playing for Scotland were he to have had a Scottish connection?

IPB Image
Walter Boyd
ICTChris
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Dec 11 2006, 21:58) [snapback]1312388[/snapback]

What an idiotic, idiotic post.

So as well as 'having a Scottish name' you have to 'look Scottish'? So you'll only be happy if our national team is filled with guys with ginger beards called Dougal MacDonald?
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Dec 11 2006, 22:07) [snapback]1312407[/snapback]

What would our K...K....K....Clyde fan think of Chris Iwelumo if his dad happened to be from Jamaica as opposed to Nigeria? There are lots of Jamaicans with very Scottish names, for fairly obvious reasons considering our nation's inglorious past. Walter Boyd for one. Would the K...K....K....Clyde fan have Walter Boyd playing for Scotland were he to have had a Scottish connection?

IPB Image
Walter Boyd

lol now thats more like it, He could definately play for scotland, no doubt about it. He has a scottish chin
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(ICTChris @ Dec 11 2006, 22:23) [snapback]1312435[/snapback]

What an idiotic, idiotic post.

So as well as 'having a Scottish name' you have to 'look Scottish'? So you'll only be happy if our national team is filled with guys with ginger beards called Dougal MacDonald?

Your totally exaggeratin now, what if someones called Agapoko Nbelundo or chris Kelly, now none of them are scottish names but a think onestands out a wee bit mer than the other one.

Not at ANY stage did a say he is not scottish, if he is born and bred here with scottish family then he is most definately scottish.

The FACT is that lookin at him you wouldnt immediately think that he was brought up in a council hoose in govanhill. Exactly the same with Lorenzo Amuruso.

What would happen if I went to the Congo Islands with ginger hair, blue eyes and whiter than a milky bar. You seriously suggesting people would think straight away that I was congolese?? not a chance

nothing racist aboot that

*edited to change would to would'nt
XaaronPrimus
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Dec 11 2006, 22:38) [snapback]1312456[/snapback]

Your totally exaggeratin now, what if someones called Agapoko Nbelundo or chris Kelly, now none of them are scottish names but a think onestands out a wee bit mer than the other one.

Not at ANY stage did a say he is not scottish, if he is born and bred here with scottish family then he is most definately scottish.

The FACT is that lookin at him you would immediately think that he was brought up in a council hoose in govanhill. Exactly the same with Lorenzo Amuruso.

What would happen if I went to the Congo Islands with ginger hair, blue eyes and whiter than a milky bar. You seriously suggesting people would think straight away that I was congolese?? not a chance

Do you need a shovel?
ICTChris
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Dec 11 2006, 22:38) [snapback]1312456[/snapback]

The FACT is that lookin at him you would immediately think that he was brought up in a council hoose in govanhill. Exactly the same with Lorenzo Amuruso.

How do you decide what's a Scottish name? Do you think Ally McCoist is a Scottish name, for instance? I used to play football with a guy called Fernando Vastano, is he permissable?

Obviously Iwelumo isn't a typically Scottish name, but someone's name or race have nothing to do with them actually being Scottish.

What does someone who was brought up in a council house in Govanhill look like? is there a standard template for residents of Govanhill? Iwelumo was brought up in Paisley.

Where are the Congo Islands? Is there such a place? If this mythical place actually exists I have no idea what it's residents would think of you. I'd bet they'd be glad that you aren't Congolese, that's for sure.

the FACT is that you think that Iwelumo shouldn't play for Scotland because he has black skin and a 'funny sounding' name, meaning that you don't think he's Scottish. That's what you said.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(ICTChris @ Dec 11 2006, 23:01) [snapback]1312493[/snapback]

the FACT is that you think that Iwelumo shouldn't play for Scotland because he has black skin and a 'funny sounding' name, meaning that you don't think he's Scottish. That's what you said.

Now your definately twistin things, read wit a said ya tit. A said he will never get a game for scotland coz hes no where near good enough with players like maloney, oconnor etc no even gettin a game.

a way n poke yer arse wae a stick

or maybe thats racist. Maybe am using a racist sterotype that everyone from inverness pokes there arse with sticks.

Sorry away and sit down in a friendly non racist way
Russ.

does'nt look or sound remotely scottish in anyway. He must have some half scottish great granny.

QUOTE(ICTChris @ Dec 11 2006, 23:01) [snapback]1312493[/snapback]

QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Dec 11 2006, 23:24) [snapback]1312513[/snapback]

Now your definately twistin things, read wit a said ya tit. A said he will never get a game for scotland coz hes no where near good enough with players like maloney, oconnor etc no even gettin a game.

The top quote is what you said at first and waht you were getting was exactly what ICTChris wrote so I don't know how he's "definately twistin things"
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.