Tayport v Thorniewood United
Thornton Hibs v Dundonald Bluebell
Tranent v Sunnybank
Vale of Clyde v Lesmahagow
West Calder United v Harthill Royal
Whitburn v Shotts Bon Accord
Yoker Athletic v Ardrossan Winton Rovers
Loki
Who are Jeanfield Swifts? Where are they from?
bluetooner
Both Buchanhaven Hearts and Longside still in it, with a possible chance to get to the 3rd round. Good to see smile.gif
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(bluetooner @ Oct 10 2006, 13:32) [snapback]1222751[/snapback]

Both Buchanhaven Hearts and Longside still in it, with a possible chance to get to the 3rd round. Good to see smile.gif

Buchanhaven will have a chance against East Craigie who're not having a great season. They've only won 1 game in 10. Longside will have an horrendous journey down though - Kello play away down in Dumfries & Galloway in a mining village called Kirkconnel. It's not far off 90 mins from Kilmarnock which isn't exactly next door to Longside either! They're the sort of side who seem to try and outscore the opposition. They've netted 32 goals in 13 games but have let in 37.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Carlos @ Oct 10 2006, 13:24) [snapback]1222739[/snapback]

They're from Perth and play a mile or so further into Perth than McDiarmid Park though they're moving ground. They used to play in the Tayside Region but that was all changed in the summer and they along with Kinnoull, Scone Thistle, Bankfoot Athletic and Luncarty all transferred into the Central District of the East Region. The other sides that make up Central are from Fife. Kinnoull and Scone both play in the two all-in upper divisions, but Jeanfield, Bankfoot and Luncarty are in the Central division. Jeanfield are doing well enough in the league but have lost 6 out of 7 cup ties so far.
South Lanarkshire Jag
East Kilbride Thistle v Stonehouse Violet

who is favourite to win this tie?
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(South Lanarkshire Jag @ Oct 10 2006, 14:52) [snapback]1222885[/snapback]

East Kilbride by a mile. They're going great guns in the West Division One while Stonehouse, 2 divisions below, are floundering at the foot of the Central League 2nd Division and are only spared bottom by the awfulness of Royal Albert and Wishaw. That said, Stonehouse are better away from home, but I fancy EK's experience to see them through with at least three or four to spare.
bluetooner
QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Oct 10 2006, 09:09) [snapback]1222810[/snapback]

Buchanhaven will have a chance against East Craigie who're not having a great season. They've only won 1 game in 10. Longside will have an horrendous journey down though - Kello play away down in Dumfries & Galloway in a mining village called Kirkconnel. It's not far off 90 mins from Kilmarnock which isn't exactly next door to Longside either! They're the sort of side who seem to try and outscore the opposition. They've netted 32 goals in 13 games but have let in 37.

I have no idea how good either Longside or the Hearties are justnow laugh.gif If it is that bad a journey, i could see Longside making a weekend of it and going down on the Friday night.
South Lanarkshire Jag
QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Oct 10 2006, 15:23) [snapback]1222928[/snapback]

East Kilbride by a mile. They're going great guns in the West Division One while Stonehouse, 2 divisions below, are floundering at the foot of the Central League 2nd Division and are only spared bottom by the awfulness of Royal Albert and Wishaw. That said, Stonehouse are better away from home, but I fancy EK's experience to see them through with at least three or four to spare.

kk

knew EK were doing very well this season just wasnt sure where Stonehouse were in comparison
Steve McQueen
QUOTE(Carlos @ Oct 10 2006, 13:24) [snapback]1222739[/snapback]

QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Oct 10 2006, 14:13) [snapback]1222819[/snapback]

They're from Perth and play a mile or so further into Perth than McDiarmid Park though they're moving ground. They used to play in the Tayside Region but that was all changed in the summer and they along with Kinnoull, Scone Thistle, Bankfoot Athletic and Luncarty all transferred into the Central District of the East Region. The other sides that make up Central are from Fife. Kinnoull and Scone both play in the two all-in upper divisions, but Jeanfield, Bankfoot and Luncarty are in the Central division. Jeanfield are doing well enough in the league but have lost 6 out of 7 cup ties so far.

Kinnoull are in the East Superleague this season.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Steve McQueen @ Oct 10 2006, 19:03) [snapback]1223269[/snapback]

Kinnoull are in the East Superleague this season.

That's what I said - "Kinnoull and Scone both play in the two all-in upper divisions". But all 5 are part of the Central District. If and when Kinnoull and Scone get relegated they'd not go into the North division with their old Tayside pals, they'd go into the Central one.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(bluetooner @ Oct 10 2006, 17:42) [snapback]1223135[/snapback]

I have no idea how good either Longside or the Hearties are justnow laugh.gif If it is that bad a journey, i could see Longside making a weekend of it and going down on the Friday night.

Buchanhaven top end of the 1st Division, Longside bottom end of Premier.
Steve McQueen
QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Oct 11 2006, 07:35) [snapback]1223872[/snapback]

That's what I said - "Kinnoull and Scone both play in the two all-in upper divisions". But all 5 are part of the Central District. If and when Kinnoull and Scone get relegated they'd not go into the North division with their old Tayside pals, they'd go into the Central one.

Maybe I misunderstood, I read it as Kinnoull & Scone were in the same division.

Kinnoull are in the Superleague.

Scone are in the East Premier

Jeanfield are in the East Central.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Steve McQueen @ Oct 11 2006, 20:21) [snapback]1224610[/snapback]

Maybe I misunderstood, I read it as Kinnoull & Scone were in the same division.

Kinnoull are in the Superleague.

Scone are in the East Premier

Jeanfield are in the East Central.

Yeah maybe wasn't clear in what I said; I was trying to say that Kinnoull and Scone had joined the Central District but weren't playing in that division (as they were in the two all-in ones above). I didn't mention originally what divisions they were in as the post by Carlos was referring to Jeanfield.
Waspie
QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Oct 10 2006, 14:13) [snapback]1222819[/snapback]

They're from Perth and play a mile or so further into Perth than McDiarmid Park though they're moving ground.

Isnt Jeanfield's ground the one you see when you are coming into Perth Railway Station from the north? Looked like the grass was really long when I went past it the other week...have they already moved?

Whats behind the move anyway? Looks like a nice trim wee ground.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Waspie @ Oct 12 2006, 17:21) [snapback]1225918[/snapback]

Isnt Jeanfield's ground the one you see when you are coming into Perth Railway Station from the north? Looked like the grass was really long when I went past it the other week...have they already moved?

Their website makes mention in the news section about the new pitch not being ready so their game this week has been moved. You therefore could be right.

http://www.jeanfieldswifts.co.uk/

There are a couple of pics of the old ground at the non-league directory (East Region, Central Division)

http://www.pollokfc.co.uk/directory/snl-index.htm
Steve McQueen
QUOTE(Waspie @ Oct 12 2006, 17:21) [snapback]1225918[/snapback]

Yes, thats the ground. I think they have been delayed as it was meant to open in August.

Their Social club closed & then burned down & they had decent offer to build houses there. Apparently they have spent £500k on their new ground in North Muirton.
Waspie
QUOTE(Steve McQueen @ Oct 12 2006, 19:49) [snapback]1226061[/snapback]

Yes, thats the ground. I think they have been delayed as it was meant to open in August.

Their Social club closed & then burned down & they had decent offer to build houses there. Apparently they have spent £500k on their new ground in North Muirton.

That must be the old ground though??? Its been there for years!
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Waspie @ Oct 12 2006, 21:32) [snapback]1226191[/snapback]

Yeah, I meant the old ground. Apart from 'North Muirton' I've no idea where the new ground is. I haven't been to Perth (properly) since watching the super Sheep struggle to a 0-0 eons ago (well, 14 years...) against St. Johnstone.
boardroomshuffler
Kilsyth v Dunbar will Kilsyth not win that game easily?
OneJamesMcCarthy
QUOTE(South Lanarkshire Jag @ Oct 10 2006, 14:52) [snapback]1222885[/snapback]

Mon the jags. ph34r.gif
Never thought i could say that.
SeD
QUOTE(boardroomshuffler @ Oct 13 2006, 02:23) [snapback]1226379[/snapback]
Kilsyth v Dunbar will Kilsyth not win that game easily?

I would expect a comfortable home win

cmontheloknow
QUOTE(SeD @ Oct 13 2006, 08:46) [snapback]1226418[/snapback]

I would expect a comfortable home win

Yeah, Dunbar have not had a great start to the season and have yet to win away. Kilsyth are also having a poor season but I think they'll get through this one as they do have some good players. 2-0 the Gers.
South Lanarkshire Jag
QUOTE(hafc75 @ Oct 13 2006, 08:42) [snapback]1226415[/snapback]

Mon the jags. ph34r.gif
Never thought i could say that.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Steve McQueen
QUOTE(Waspie @ Oct 12 2006, 21:32) [snapback]1226191[/snapback]

QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Oct 12 2006, 21:52) [snapback]1226215[/snapback]

Yeah, I meant the old ground. Apart from 'North Muirton' I've no idea where the new ground is. I haven't been to Perth (properly) since watching the super Sheep struggle to a 0-0 eons ago (well, 14 years...) against St. Johnstone.

New ground is in Bute Drive, near the river behind the Grammer School.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Steve McQueen @ Oct 13 2006, 18:55) [snapback]1227552[/snapback]

New ground is in Bute Drive, near the river behind the Grammer School.

Thanks - any idea what they're calling it? New Simpson Park?
bluetooner
QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Oct 11 2006, 02:38) [snapback]1223873[/snapback]

Buchanhaven top end of the 1st Division, Longside bottom end of Premier.

Nothings changed then laugh.gif
cmontheloknow
Jamie's 2nd Round Predictions:

(Predicted win after replay is as 1st tie)

Ardeer Thistle v Ellon United HOME
Arniston Rangers v Haddington Athletic HOME
Arthurlie v Forfar West End HOME
Ashfield v Armadale Thistle HOME
Banchory St. Ternan v Montrose Roselea DRAW-AWAY
Bathgate Thistle v Carnoustie Panmure HOME
Benburb v Bo'ness United AWAY
Bishopmill United v Aberdeen East End AWAY
Blackburn United v Annbank United DRAW-AWAY
Blairgowrie v Petershill AWAY
Blantyre Victoria v Maryhill AWAY
Bonnyrigg Rose Athletic v Cruden Bay HOME
Broughty Athletic v Troon AWAY
Camelon v Dundee Violet HOME
Carluke Rovers v Greenock AWAY
Coupar Angus v Newburgh AWAY
Craigmark Burntonians v Banks O'Dee HOME
Dundee East Craigie v Buchanhaven Hearts DRAW-AWAY
Dundee North End v Kilwinning Rangers AWAY
Dunipace v Rutherglen Glencairn AWAY
East Kilbride Thistle v Stonehouse Violet HOME
Fauldhouse United v Cumbernauld United AWAY
Forres Thistle v Luncarty AWAY
Glenrothes v Bellshill Athletic AWAY
Glentanar v Darvel HOME
Hillhead v Johnstone Burgh AWAY
Irvine Meadow X1 v St. Anthony's HOME
Irvine Victoria v Larkhall Thistle AWAY
Islavale v Hermes HOME
Jeanfield Swifts v Nairn St. Ninians HOME
Kello Rovers v Longside HOME
Kelty Hearts v Burghead Thistle HOME
Kilbirnie Ladeside v Glasgow Perthshire HOME
Kilsyth Rangers v Dunbar United HOME
Kinnoull v Forth Wanderers HOME
Kirkcaldy YMCA v Formartine United HOME
Lanark United v Glenafton Athletic HOME
Largs Thistle v Neilston DRAW-AWAY
Lewis United v Culter AWAY
Linlinthgow Rose v Aberdeen Lads Club HOME
Lochee Harp v Rosyth HOME
Lochee United v Pumpherston HOME
Lochore Welfare v Pollok AWAY
Lugar Boswell Thistle v Parkvale HOME
Maud v Kirkintilloch Rob Roy AWAY
Musselburgh Athletic v Downfield HOME
Newmains United v Hurlford United AWAY
Oakley United v Girvan HOME
Penicuik Athletic v Fraserburgh United HOME
Port Glasgow v Cumnock Juniors AWAY
RAF Lossiemouth v Ballingry Rovers AWAY
Renfrew v Livingston United HOME
Sauchie v Hill of Beath Hawthorn AWAY
Shettleston v Auchinleck Talbot AWAY
St. Roch's v Lossiemouth United HOME
Stonehaven v St Andrews United AWAY
Strathspey Thistle v Arbroath Vics DRAW-AWAY
Tayport v Thorniewood United HOME
Thornton Hibs v Dundonald Bluebell AWAY
Tranent v Sunnybank DRAW-AWAY
Vale of Clyde v Lesmahagow HOME
West Calder United v Harthill Royal AWAY
Whitburn v Shotts Bon Accord HOME
Yoker Athletic v Ardrossan Winton Rovers HOME

There are some that are pretty tough to call there. This round should see off the bulk of the North Region clubs, the only guaranteed survivors come from the Lewis United v Culter tie, Islavale v Hermes and Bishopmill United v East End.

There are a few potential shocks but I'll not go so far as to predict them.
Loki
St Ninians will beat Jeanfield.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Carlos @ Oct 20 2006, 11:21) [snapback]1235401[/snapback]

St Ninians will beat Jeanfield.

They'll get horsed. Well, maybe not horsed, but teams in Nairn's league don't generally win Junior Cup ties so unless they're going to break the mould I'm going to back Jeanfield.

Already this season we've had:

Pollok 12 New Elgin 2
Dundonald Bluebell 1 Fochabers 0
Buckie Rovers 0 Lochee United 8
Pumpherston 8 Whitehills 1
Loki
Have you looked at the league table? St Ninians are by far the best team thats been in that league for mny a year. If they are beaten I certainly don't think they will be horsed. If they play to their potential they have a good chance of advancing. However I will concede that you have infinately more wisdom than me on Junior football and will more often be right than wrong.

I shall bet you one pint on the outcome of the tie.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Carlos @ Oct 20 2006, 13:04) [snapback]1235571[/snapback]

Have you looked at the league table? St Ninians are by far the best team thats been in that league for mny a year. If they are beaten I certainly don't think they will be horsed. If they play to their potential they have a good chance of advancing. However I will concede that you have infinately more wisdom than me on Junior football and will more often be right than wrong.

I shall bet you one pint on the outcome of the tie.

Yes I have looked at the league table but it is the worst Junior league in Scotland and therefore doesn't reflect how they'll do against anyone outwith the North.

New Elgin dominated the North Division 2 for a few seasons but lost a few key players to the Highland League, the keeper McConnachie especially missed. Nairn's start looks impressive with six league wins out of six - but New Elgin won their first TWELVE last season, and had won 16 out of 18 by February. Their Scottish Cup exploits, like most North sides, ended in their first tie with a 4-1 defeat at Rob Roy.

Nairn St. Ninian's results against non-Division Two sides have been:

Glentanar 2 Nairn St Ninian 0
Nairn St Ninian 2 East End 2
Nairn St Ninian 2 Aberdeen Lads Club 4
Longside 6 Nairn St Ninian 3
Hillhead 1 Nairn St Ninian 1 (Hillhead won 3-1 on pens)

That's a mixed bag of 3 defeats and 2 draws over 90 mins.

The best side in the North Juniors in recent years has been Culter. They've won the North Superleague 3 years in a row. Right now they're a point behind Stonehaven with 2 games in hand. They drew Saltcoats Vics in the 1st Round of the Junior Cup. Saltcoats' only wins this season came in the Ayrshire Sectional League Cup, but they'd conceded 15 goals in their first 3 games in that competition. They've lost 4 and drawn 1 of their 5 league games and are rock bottom of the Ayrshire District League, which, along with the Central 2nd Division, is the basement of West Junior football. In short, they are on current form pretty dire. Culter needed a replay to beat them.

Historically North Region sides have really struggled in the Scottish Junior Cup. In total last season there were nine victories for North sides in the entire cup.

Banchory 3 Buchanhaven 0 (North v North)
Dyce 1 Benburb 0 (North v West - Central 2nd Div, 4th tier)
Bishopmill 2 Dufftown 1 (North v North)
Ellon 5 Broughty 0 (North v East - Tayside Div 1, 3rd tier)
Newburgh 0 Stoneywood 0 (0-2 replay) (East - Fife League, 2nd tier v North)
RAF Lossie 0 Fraserburgh U 4 (North v North)
Wilsons 5 St Rochs 0 (North v West - Central 2nd Div, 4th tier)
Sunnybank 2 Formartine 1 (North v North)
Hermes 1 Banks O'Dee 1 (2-1 replay) (North v North)

So, of the 9 ties won, 5 of them were North v North. That means the of the 38 North sides, 34 lost to sides from outwith their region. 29 teams lost their only tie. Of those who beat a team from outwith North, Dyce (who eventually got promoted) were beaten in the next round by Steelend Vics 2-0 who finished rock bottom in the Fife District League and only won 4 other games all season. Ellon took Ayrshire District side Kilbirnie to a replay before losing 3-1. FC Stoneywood lost 3-0 to West Premier side Renfrew in the next round and Wilson's XI lost to Kirkcaldy YMCA of the Fife District League 1-0 at home.

I'll take your bet!
Loki
Haha a yes would have been sufficient!
Loki
Are you worried yet my friend? Nairn secured a 5-2 win against the defending champions today! What kind of odds would a bookie give me on this game? Obviously with the absolutely terrible record of the north teams in the cup lately, the odds would be fairly generous on Nairn. Does ladbrokes offer odds on the cup at all?

Mind if I look like a numpty and nairn get horsed your not aloud to bring it up!
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Carlos @ Oct 21 2006, 19:37) [snapback]1237155[/snapback]

Are you worried yet my friend? Nairn secured a 5-2 win against the defending champions today! What kind of odds would a bookie give me on this game? Obviously with the absolutely terrible record of the north teams in the cup lately, the odds would be fairly generous on Nairn. Does ladbrokes offer odds on the cup at all?

Mind if I look like a numpty and nairn get horsed your not aloud to bring it up!

I assume you refer to New Elgin but after losing 8 players, they aren't what they were last season and were a total joke when we played them last month. We could have scored 20 but had to settle for 12 and went 40 mins in the middle of the game without scoring.

William Hill do a Junior book. 'McGinty's yer man.
Loki
When you say we what do you mean? Manage, coach, play or support?
Bluenose5
Why are'nt Maybole in it? Did they get knocked out in the 1st round unsure.gif
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Carlos @ Oct 21 2006, 23:44) [snapback]1237578[/snapback]

When you say we what do you mean? Manage, coach, play or support?

I'm a Pollok fan.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Bluenose5 @ Oct 22 2006, 04:29) [snapback]1237722[/snapback]

Why are'nt Maybole in it? Did they get knocked out in the 1st round unsure.gif

Yeah, beaten 2-0 at home to Kelty Hearts from the East Premier League.
Loki
QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Oct 22 2006, 10:07) [snapback]1237777[/snapback]

I'm a Pollok fan.

Yeah I had realised that immediately after I had posted that when I read your avatar. How's Pollocks season going so far?
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Carlos @ Oct 22 2006, 13:04) [snapback]1237932[/snapback]

Yeah I had realised that immediately after I had posted that when I read your avatar. How's Pollocks season going so far?

Mixed bag, we won the Central Region's Sectional League Cup but have started a little indifferently in the League despite making a number of big signings in the summer and have already dropped 12pts from a max of 21. Also got knocked out of the West of Scotland Cup by a team three leagues below us last weekend.
Nocko
QUOTE(Carlos @ Oct 21 2006, 19:37) [snapback]1237155[/snapback]

Prices will be available the week before the game from William Hill The ONLY major bookies to offer Single bets on Junior Football
Swampy
Can you do it online?
Nocko
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 23 2006, 12:46) [snapback]1239067[/snapback]

Can you do it online?

Don't think so mate. I'll find out nearer the time for you
Nocko
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 23 2006, 12:46) [snapback]1239067[/snapback]

Can you do it online?

Don't think so mate. I'll find out nearer the time for you
Bundesliga Boy
I'm off to the East Craigie v Buchanhaven Hearts game - not really sure what to expect as it could be anyones game. Predicting 2-1 East Cragie in a close one.

On the rather strange topic of who will win the Jeanfield Swifts game - that should be Swifts by 4 or 5 I would think. Most reasonably sized streets could get a team of neighbours to beat 2nd division northern sides who are normally truly dire!

Hope everyone enjoys the cup action today!

BundesligaBoy

ps come on Ballingry!!!
Loki
I owe you a pint. The game finished 4-1 to Jeanfield. The game was closer than the score suggests but nairn never looked like winning. Good luck jeanfield in the next round.
Bundesliga Boy
Not exactly a lot of quality football in the East Craigie v Buchanhaven Hearts game. The game was 1-1 for a long time with Cragie being by far the better side - even though in the grander scheme of things of things they were both pretty poor. (Craigie were the least poor if you like).

Anyway, Craigie were determined to avoid a replay up north by going all out for the winner when a huge defensive error allowed Hearts to score with a coupe of minutes to play. All of a sudden East Craigie would have jumped at a chance of a replay.

They were not to be disappointed when they scored in injury time resulting in the game finishing two each and a return match is on the cards for next Saturday.

Cant wait to get all the classifieds - hopefully there will be a few draws so I can go to another ground that I've yet to visit.

Bundesliga Boy
central staggie
I was told today Linlithgow Rose beat Aberdeen Lads Club 7-0, and Bo'ness beat Benburb 2-0. Not a bad result for them.
Steve McQueen
QUOTE(Carlos @ Nov 4 2006, 17:00) [snapback]1255149[/snapback]

I owe you a pint. The game finished 4-1 to Jeanfield. The game was closer than the score suggests but nairn never looked like winning. Good luck jeanfield in the next round.

Kinnoull won as well so it was a good day for football in Perth.