Full Version: Aiden Mcgeady
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Pages: 1, 2
Harry Chibber
GIRUY!!

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Follow Follow
I concur, wee Castlemilk Irishman
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Follow Follow @ Oct 8 2006, 16:51) [snapback]1220943[/snapback]

I concur, wee Castlemilk Irishman

Ireland are welcome to him, we Judas p***k laugh.gif

Wouldnt get a game for the world champions anyway wink.gif
celtic_antifa
QUOTE(Steven @ Oct 8 2006, 17:39) [snapback]1220983[/snapback]

Ireland are welcome to him, we Judas p***k laugh.gif

Wouldnt get a game for the world champions anyway wink.gif

This is what amuses and to be honest puzzles me.

There is a helluva lot of obsession over a player that apparently isn't good enough to play for Scotland in the first place.
StewartyMac
QUOTE(celtic_antifa @ Oct 8 2006, 17:40) [snapback]1220986[/snapback]

There is a helluva lot of obsession over a player that apparently isn't good enough to play for Scotland in the first place.

Whether he's good enough is irrelevant. I suspect you know this, you're just being your normal smart arse self.

Nae offence.
celtic_antifa
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Oct 8 2006, 17:46) [snapback]1220992[/snapback]

Whether he's good enough is irrelevant. I suspect you know this, you're just being your normal smart arse self.

Nae offence.

So if whether he is good eough or not is irrelevant, why the obsession over him when other players who have done likewise i.e. played for a country through the grandparent route, are not mentioned?
Ned Nederlander
"You're Scots , and you know you are
You're Scots , and you know you are ......"

I hear a cheer from next door every time The Tic score ... yesterday there was hee-haw mad.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE(celtic_antifa @ Oct 8 2006, 17:48) [snapback]1220997[/snapback]

So if whether he is good eough or not is irrelevant, why the obsession over him

blink.gif

It's hardly an obsession.

He IS a talented player, and chose to turn his back on Scotland at a time when we we crying out for talented players (and yes I know we still are, just not quite as desperate).

The boy is Scottish born, and has Scottish parents. Scotland were woefully short of players, and he decides to go and play for someone else. I think that's what irks a few people.

It's up to him of course, it's a free country, and I personally don't really care, but there is a certain amusement factor in seeing his chosen nation get humped while we beat France.
Reynard

So if whether he is good eough or not is irrelevant, why the obsession over him when other players who have done likewise i.e. played for a country through the grandparent route, are not mentioned?

Why does he think hes Irish though? He`s not Irish. He`s Scottish. I like many Scots can trace my ancestry to Ireland but I`m not Irish,I have no interest in being Irish.

Why does McGeady think he is Irish?

Thats what amuses me.
qos_75

I can't think of many Scottish players defecting to tell the truth. I think Houghton and Coyle, but they were never going to get a game for Scotland. Stuart McCall, was in an English u21 team and jogged off to the other end of the pitch (He was a sub) to ensure he did not play and disqualify himself from playing for Scotland.

Aidan McGeady would certainly have got a game for Scotland and was approached, I think at the end of Bertie's time and start of Walters time, but for whatever reason he decided he was not Scottish. Could it have been he thought Ireland were a better side? Would he have made the same decision if it was Andorra?

With a couple of exceptions the grandparent rule helps the player get some sort of international experience as his country of birth has no intention of using them.

Still no need to get worked up about it, It appears his choice was vindicated. laugh.gif
Waspie

Think the reason people get more wound up about McGeady is that unlike players like Nigel Quashie or Ray Houghton who ended up playing for another nation when it was obvious they wouldnt get a game for their chosen team, McGeady actually turned his back on the country of his birth even though he knew he would have got a cap for them.

Personally I would defend the right of anybody to swear allegiance to the country of their ancestors rather than of their birth IF they really felt a stronger tie to that nation. Unfortunately McGeady doesnt come into that case because he's on record as saying he initially wanted to represent Scotland and his parents have also said they are Scottish...so how is he Irish huh.gif blink.gif ??

Anyway who cares, Id rather we concern ourselves with those players who want to play for us! And after yesterdays result I can honestly say that Aidan McGeady was the last thing on my mind. As was the England result, dont understand why some people said England drawing made it an even better day...who gives a feck about England - Macedonia, we just beat France.
celtic_antifa
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Oct 8 2006, 18:05) [snapback]1221019[/snapback]

blink.gif

It's hardly an obsession.

He IS a talented player, and chose to turn his back on Scotland at a time when we we crying out for talented players (and yes I know we still are, just not quite as desperate).

The boy is Scottish born, and has Scottish parents. Scotland were woefully short of players, and he decides to go and play for someone else. I think that's what irks a few people.

It's up to him of course, it's a free country, and I personally don't really care, but there is a certain amusement factor in seeing his chosen nation get humped while we beat France.

So when did he choose to turn 'turn his back on Scotland'? As far as I can make out it he decided to stick with Ireland after coming up through the ranks and forming a close bond with the management team - Brian Kerr in particular, who was the first to cap him. SOme people seem to think that it was as soon as his case become public knowledge!!

If the media had not made such a big deal about him after his debut at Hearts, then I think it is fair to say that there would be nowhere near the obsession there is over him. I suppose the wider issue is how influential the media are in this country.
Waspie
QUOTE(celtic_antifa @ Oct 8 2006, 18:12) [snapback]1221031[/snapback]

So when did he choose to turn 'turn his back on Scotland'? As far as I can make out it he decided to stick with Ireland after coming up through the ranks and forming a close bond with the management team - Brian Kerr in particular, who was the first to cap him. SOme people seem to think that it was as soon as his case become public knowledge!!

He wanted to represent Scottish Schoolboys first but because they only pick kids who play for their schools and Celtic dont allow that it all fell through. Rather than wait a year and play for Scotland under 17's he started playing for Irish schools. Just a daft wee ned with not much between his ears...
Coup

Because its not often a player turns his back on Scotland for a weaker team.

I hope he rotts in the dark and cold place Ireland are heading smile.gif
Swampy
I think the SFA has now ended the Scottish Schools requirements thingymabob.

I've said it before and I'll say it again - I couldn't give a f**k about McGeady. He doesn't want to play for Scotland - fine, entirely his choice, it leaves us with players who ARE interested in the team, as seen during the period of immense effort yesterday.
Follow Follow
[attachmentid=11849]
CC 33
At the time of his first u21 cap I can remember reading in the paper him saying he thought he'd have a better chance of playing in major championships with ireland laugh.gif
Reynard
QUOTE(Waspie @ Oct 8 2006, 18:09) [snapback]1221025[/snapback]

Personally I would defend the right of anybody to swear allegiance to the country of their ancestors rather than of their birth IF they really felt a stronger tie to that nation. Unfortunately McGeady doesnt come into that case because he's on record as saying he initially wanted to represent Scotland and his parents have also said they are Scottish...so how is he Irish huh.gif blink.gif ??

Exactly. It`s just a load of bollocks. Fag of convenience nonsense. He isn`t Irish.
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Waspie @ Oct 8 2006, 18:09) [snapback]1221025[/snapback]

As was the England result, dont understand why some people said England drawing made it an even better day...who gives a feck about England - Macedonia, we just beat France.

It made it a better day in the same way it's a better day after the Albion win when I hear either you or Falkirk have been gubbed. laugh.gif
Waspie
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Oct 8 2006, 21:04) [snapback]1221085[/snapback]

It made it a better day in the same way it's a better day after the Albion win when I hear either you or Falkirk have been gubbed. laugh.gif

Each to their own I suppose...but personally when Scotland have just beaten one of the worlds best teams in an amazing atmosphere I dont need England to make me feel any better smile.gif Who cares about England against Macedonia anyway? laugh.gif huh.gif

PS Same would apply if Alloa had enjoyed a great win...I couldnt give a monkeys f**k how Stirling had got on, an irrelevance wink.gif
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE(qos_75 @ Oct 8 2006, 18:08) [snapback]1221023[/snapback]

I can't think of many Scottish players defecting to tell the truth. I think Houghton and Coyle, but they were never going to get a game for Scotland. Stuart McCall, was in an English u21 team and jogged off to the other end of the pitch (He was a sub) to ensure he did not play and disqualify himself from playing for Scotland.

Aidan McGeady would certainly have got a game for Scotland and was approached, I think at the end of Bertie's time and start of Walters time, but for whatever reason he decided he was not Scottish. Could it have been he thought Ireland were a better side? Would he have made the same decision if it was Andorra?

With a couple of exceptions the grandparent rule helps the player get some sort of international experience as his country of birth has no intention of using them.

Still no need to get worked up about it, It appears his choice was vindicated. laugh.gif

Tommy Coyne was another one, though your point still stands. So is Sammy Malcolmson and there were probably other ex-pats with the Antipodean countries over the years.

I actually think Houghton would certainly have gotten capped for Scotland but it didn't appear too likely at the time he opted for Ireland. He was a late bloomer to top level football so your point still stands.

I don't thnk McGeady was ever approached with reference to the senior team was he? He was far too young. Not that that really makes any difference and he probably would have gone on to senior level though I'm not sure he'd be in yet. The very similar Maloney only has a handful of outings.

To be fair to McGeady he does at least have Irish family. It's not like he has no connection to Ireland.
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Waspie @ Oct 8 2006, 21:30) [snapback]1221113[/snapback]

Each to their own I suppose...but personally when Scotland have just beaten one of the worlds best teams in an amazing atmosphere I dont need England to make me feel any better

Had England won, it wouldn't have dampened my excitement yesterday, even if they had won 10-0, but I will admit I had a good chuckle when I heard the score.

I was more interested in the Italy-Ukraine score though. I would have had a bigger cheer had that finished all square.
Reevel Alderson
Anything to do with us being shite when McGeady defected?

Great choice kid. laugh.gif
RoswellSaint
I have no problem with mcgeady choosing to play for ireland, and he will get plenty of support from tic fans on the issue due to their dithering allegience to their grandparents country of birth, but lets see how much support they give him when he swans off to the premiership next year.
ford prefect
McGeady? Enjoy the mediocrity son.
MacMirza
Hope to send a Swiss postcard to his English address in less than two years time tongue.gif

COME ON SCOTLAND! biggrin.gif
GAD
We don't need to get it up McGeady because he'll be feeling rotten enough right now. He'll have seen the papers and the TV coverage. He'll have seen his clubmate, a decent enough footballer but nowhere near the ability of McGeady, be the toast of his country. He'll have seen Caldwell's face on the back of every paper and on every football TV show.

He will have seen good honest pros like Alexander, Pressly, Dailly, Teale etc get thier big moment of glory and he'll know he could have been part of it. He'll realise that guys like Maloney, Caldwell, Miller and even guys like Beattie and Marshall have a great chance of playing at Euro 2008 whereas he has none.

He'll know that in his home city there was a great party on saturday night whilst he was in Cyprus playing for a team who got reamed 5-2. He'll know the almighty slaggin he's coming home to.

Whatever McGeady achieves playing for the Republic in the future, right now he'll be feeling pretty low.
Mon_The_Bairns
Everything that needs to be said about mcgeady has been said. He can't possibly feel irish. Its probably just to do with this celtic pish where being a celtic fan seems to make you irish. I disagree with the whole grandparent rule but as has been said it makes a difference if you could get a game with your country of birth. Quashie, for example, would admit he would have played for england if he could. Mcgeady can't say same...

And fwiw, maloney is at least as good.
andersonwl
McGeady-Celtic-Ireland-Cause-Hero-Worship.
Tomsk The Beano
GIRUY ya Tattie Howken traitor!
highlandcowden
QUOTE(celtic_antifa @ Oct 8 2006, 17:40) [snapback]1220986[/snapback]

i personally think he's a very good player actually.Just a shame he's a traiterous wee w**k.Was pretty ambivilent regarding Ireland scores in the past but now am delighted to see them humped at every opportunity.
Why wasnt i surprised to see which team the poster of the above quote supports;you must be delighted of how "celtic-minded" that wee shite is.
Double Jack D
Who's Aiden McGeady?
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Double Jack D @ Oct 9 2006, 13:14) [snapback]1221523[/snapback]

Who's Aiden McGeady?

He's a silly little boy who choose Ireland over his home country cause he felt they were a better team laugh.gif laugh.gif
Swampy
Does anyone have any evidence that he did it because Ireland were (at the time) better?

I don't think that's why he did it at all.
Pink Freud
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 9 2006, 15:42) [snapback]1221677[/snapback]

Does anyone have any evidence that he did it because Ireland were (at the time) better?

Was there not some business about Ireland approaching him at under 19 level when Scotland failed to? unsure.gif

If that was the case, I could see an element of loyalty to Ireland colouring his decision. I don't think the guy deserves to be pilloried in any case, he's made his decision and good luck to him.

Having said that, hopefully any other players in similar circumstances might be thinking a wee bit harder about it after the last few months....
Günther
Get it up the wee p***k.

I hope he is reading every fucking Daily Record, Scottish Sun, etc etc and seeing what a fanny he really is. I seen him with someone who admits to being Scottish, Stephan Pearson in Bamboo a few months ago. And said "Nice Irish accent bawbag" to him and walked by...

Was saying beforehand that I wished someone broke his fuckin legs. But this is even better!

f**k the wee p***k. Judas b*****d!
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(MacMirza @ Oct 8 2006, 22:59) [snapback]1221242[/snapback]

Hope to send a Swiss postcard to his English address in less than two years time tongue.gif

COME ON SCOTLAND! biggrin.gif

stinkin wee turncoat p***k, al never forgive him, hope he brakes his leg in 12 differrent places. SCUM!!!!

killie_ken
It doesn't really bother me that much, especially now that our national team is getting itself sorted out again. What I find sad is that McGeady (and recently his team mate Lennon) has said that playing for the Republic is a good career move.

Surely playing for your nation isn't about what's good or bad for your career; it's about the pride in representing your country?
qos_75
QUOTE(Duff Man @ Oct 10 2006, 00:15) [snapback]1222421[/snapback]

Was saying beforehand that I wished someone broke his fuckin legs.

QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Oct 10 2006, 00:18) [snapback]1222424[/snapback]

ohmy.gif
stinkin wee turncoat p***k, al never forgive him, hope he brakes his leg in 12 differrent places. SCUM!!!!

ohmy.gif

Come on folks that is a bit extreme, I would not wish that on any football player. Yes gloat at his miscalculation, but lets not cross the the line here, that's bad form. sad.gif
ICTChris
QUOTE(killie_ken @ Oct 10 2006, 09:56) [snapback]1222510[/snapback]

It doesn't really bother me that much, especially now that our national team is getting itself sorted out again. What I find sad is that McGeady (and recently his team mate Lennon) has said that playing for the Republic is a good career move.

Surely playing for your nation isn't about what's good or bad for your career; it's about the pride in representing your country?

It's been going on for years though. John Barnes didn't play for Jamaica, Andrei Kanchelskis chose Russia over Ukraine.

Agree it does kind of take away from what international football is about though.
Rasta Ton
QUOTE(Duff Man @ Oct 9 2006, 19:15) [snapback]1222421[/snapback]

Get it up the wee p***k.

I hope he is reading every fucking Daily Record, Scottish Sun, etc etc and seeing what a fanny he really is. I seen him with someone who admits to being Scottish, Stephan Pearson in Bamboo a few months ago. And said "Nice Irish accent bawbag" to him and walked by...

Was saying beforehand that I wished someone broke his fuckin legs. But this is even better!

What an @rsehole. I wouldn't wish broken legs on anyone, especially not on someone who relies on their legs for their profession. Aye yer a real big man going up and saying stuff in night clubs. No doubt if he'd clobbered ye one ( which by the sounds of it you desrved it) you'd be on here greetin' about how McGeady's a wee ned, blah, blah, blah.

Just for the record I love to see the RoI get beat when McGeady plays for them but wishing broken legs on someone is just wrong.
skinnyjean
QUOTE(Duff Man @ Oct 10 2006, 00:15) [snapback]1222421[/snapback]

Get it up the wee p***k.

You really are a twit.

On a general point, Scotland had their best result in years, why are people getting worked up over someone who has nothing to do with it?

Diamonds are Forever
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 9 2006, 15:42) [snapback]1221677[/snapback]

I am pretty sure I remember him saying that he chose Ireland because he had more chance of playing in Major Championships.
Casper Rose
QUOTE(Reynard @ Oct 8 2006, 18:05) [snapback]1221020[/snapback]

Why does he think hes Irish though? He`s not Irish. He`s Scottish. I like many Scots can trace my ancestry to Ireland but I`m not Irish,I have no interest in being Irish.

Why does McGeady think he is Irish?

Thats what amuses me.

All tims think they are Irish, haven't you realised that yet? tongue.gif
webeatleeds
QUOTE(Casper Rose @ Oct 10 2006, 17:20) [snapback]1223102[/snapback]

All tims think they are Irish, haven't you realised that yet? tongue.gif

Point well made, never understood the need to be another nationality, I dont wish 'Wee Aiden' any harm, but I do hope he wins f*ck all for the rest of his bog hopping career.
Günther
QUOTE(skinnyjean @ Oct 10 2006, 15:09) [snapback]1222908[/snapback]

You really are a twit.

On a general point, Scotland had their best result in years, why are people getting worked up over someone who has nothing to do with it?

In a world of freedom of speach. Arn't I entitled to say that? He turned his back on his country which was in need of young talent. Scottish Football Fans paid for his education through tax, they paid for his child tax credits etc. He played on Scottish soil and learned his trade on Scottish soil, also paid for and maintained by our tax's. His parents are Scottish, his house is Scottish, and his accent is scottish. Except from a few pints of guiness, the only irish in him is his grandad, who's wife is Scottish too may I add.

So f**k him. Hope he has a shite career. Hope he enjoyed the Clyde Celtic game earlier this year. His face was a picture!!

f**k McGeady. Enjoy our success ya wee p***k!
buddie06smfc
He probably woudnt fit in with walter smith's style of play anyway
skinnyjean
QUOTE(Duff Man @ Oct 10 2006, 21:13) [snapback]1223473[/snapback]

In a world of freedom of speach. Arn't I entitled to say that? He turned his back on his country which was in need of young talent. Scottish Football Fans paid for his education through tax, they paid for his child tax credits etc. He played on Scottish soil and learned his trade on Scottish soil, also paid for and maintained by our tax's. His parents are Scottish, his house is Scottish, and his accent is scottish. Except from a few pints of guiness, the only irish in him is his grandad, who's wife is Scottish too may I add.

So f**k him. Hope he has a shite career. Hope he enjoyed the Clyde Celtic game earlier this year. His face was a picture!!

f**k McGeady. Enjoy our success ya wee p***k!

Of course you're allowed to say it, didn't say you weren't, doesn't make you any less of a twit though. Wishing broken legs on someone is utterly pathetic.
Duracell Bunny
FAI responds over NI defections

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/i...als/6083842.stm

The IFA contends that for Northern Ireland-born players to represent the Republic that either a parent or grandparent has to be born in the Republic or the player has to have lived there for at least two years.

The Republic are at it again rolleyes.gif
MattBairn
QUOTE(Steven @ Oct 25 2006, 17:59) [snapback]1242328[/snapback]

FAI responds over NI defections

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/i...als/6083842.stm

The IFA contends that for Northern Ireland-born players to represent the Republic that either a parent or grandparent has to be born in the Republic or the player has to have lived there for at least two years.

The Republic are at it again rolleyes.gif

SO theyve cut out the "or drank Guiness" bit then laugh.gif