Full Version: Paranoid Celtic Fans
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
findis89
Looks like they will be boycoting the new FM 2007 game
See here
http://www.petitiononline.com/fm07cfc/petition.html
Some of the comments are fantastic as well as the spelling .
Time for some of these people to get a grip.
Of course it is all anti-catholic sentiments from the biased media biggrin.gif
Ric
For those who can't be arsed to view it, the petition is this..

To: Sigames

We, the undersigned, ask Sigames 'Football Manager 2007' to follow their mission of designing an accurate Football simulating game by fixing the data at Celtic F.C. These fixes include the financial status of the club 'transfer budget, wage structure', the individual data of a number of players 'Lee Naylor, Shaun Maloney, Aiden Mcgeady and Stephen McManus' this includes both the positions and stats.

We who sign this petition may be fans of Celtic F.C, might be fans of the Football Manager game, or might be fans of football in general who feel that the club 'Celtic' has been poorly researched within the game.

Sincerely,

The Undersigned

Now on one hand I have a certain amount of sympathy for the cause. Scottish football fans (as have other fans from nations that are outwith the top 4 or 5) have had to put up with shoddy and misrepresentative stats for teams. It's frustrating loading up a new footy game only to see your star striker is incorrectly named, sits out on the left wing and can't hit a cow's are with a banjo.

That said that is what the whole point of having patches for these things are for. The game isn't even out yet and they are starting a petition about it. If they had even an ounce of sense they would contact the club who could put forward an official letter re-assessing any differences between the club in real life and how it is portrayed in the game. After all, and Celtic are not unique in this, it's all about branding and a game as popular as this will shape the opinions of millions of poeple.

Edited:

btw, what is so wrong with.. "the individual data of a number of players; Lee Naylor, Shaun Maloney, Aiden Mcgeady and Stephen McManus"?
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(ricster @ Oct 8 2006, 12:36) [snapback]1220705[/snapback]

For those who can't be arsed to view it, the petition is this..
Now on one hand I have a certain amount of sympathy for the cause. Scottish football fans (as have other fans from nations that are outwith the top 4 or 5) have had to put up with shoddy and misrepresentative stats for teams. It's frustrating loading up a new footy game only to see your star striker is incorrectly named, sits out on the left wing and can't hit a cow's are with a banjo.

That said that is what the whole point of having patches for these things are for. The game isn't even out yet and they are starting a petition about it. If they had even an ounce of sense they would contact the club who could put forward an official letter re-assessing any differences between the club in real life and how it is portrayed in the game. After all, and Celtic are not unique in this, it's all about branding and a game as popular as this will shape the opinions of millions of poeple.

Edited:

btw, what is so wrong with.. "the individual data of a number of players; Lee Naylor, Shaun Maloney, Aiden Mcgeady and Stephen McManus"?

true mate, english makers of the game don't bother with scottish teams, they really don't, to busy drawin pubes and eye lashes on the english players, barry ferguson is black in the game lmao
Swampy
Much of the research is done by fans, though. The problem with Celtic was that their researcher apparently let the head of Scottish research down badly, so some of it was a bit of a rush job to salvage it.
Ric
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 8 2006, 12:48) [snapback]1220714[/snapback]

Much of the research is done by fans, though.

Not sure if you were aware of this, but some of the Scottish stats for previous CM games were done by people who frequent this site. This made a few of the teams, which I will not mention as I am sure it would be unfair (*cough* Ayr *cough*) way above their actual real life values.

Personally I don't think fans should report stats on their teams, it's always going to be biased and unrepresentative. SI/Sega will make a killing on this title (as SI always do with their titles) so would it be so difficult to hire independent researchers to do this properly?
uberman
Celtic seem to have a lot of fans called "signature rejected". Is that an oirish name?
celtic_antifa
Thank god for you uberman. This thread was nearly heading in the direction of a sensible discussion.

Heaven forbid.
Ric
QUOTE(celtic_antifa @ Oct 8 2006, 13:11) [snapback]1220745[/snapback]

Heaven forbid.

Ooh, we are a tad grumpy today. Is this because your national team were beaten 5-2 by Cyprus? rolleyes.gif

..btw, it's a joke, like uberman's comment. wink.gif

Swampy
QUOTE(ricster @ Oct 8 2006, 13:00) [snapback]1220733[/snapback]

Not sure if you were aware of this, but some of the Scottish stats for previous CM games were done by people who frequent this site. This made a few of the teams, which I will not mention as I am sure it would be unfair (*cough* Ayr *cough*) way above their actual real life values.

Aye, I'm aware biggrin.gif (I'm not one of them, incidentally.) I think the following teams had research conducted by P&B members, either in the past or to the present day:

Morton
St. Mirren
St. Johnstone
Ayr United
Motherwell
Dundee United

I assume there are lots of others but I don't know about them.

Personally I don't think fans should report stats on their teams, it's always going to be biased and unrepresentative. SI/Sega will make a killing on this title (as SI always do with their titles) so would it be so difficult to hire independent researchers to do this properly?

I think it's a holdover from when SI (even in its pre-Eidos days), while very successful, was a much smaller company. A lot of the guys doing research today have been doing it for years and will be regarded as trustworthy and reliable, some of them also now have higher-up research positions and can help filter out the rubbish.

It's also the case that the "hidden values" (potential/ability) for players is limited by squad, so you can't just make a whole team of superstars because you really think Montrose are of UEFA Cup quality.

Also, I know from personal experience that a lot of the professional research conducted is of comparable quality to amateur research (not talking about FM here but just in general.) And I do think the overall head of research is a paid employee.

Basically I do agree to some extent but at the same time, it's not a HUGE issue.
Ric
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 8 2006, 13:36) [snapback]1220769[/snapback]

Basically I do agree to some extent but at the same time, it's not a HUGE issue.

Totally, I believe that the purpose of the game is to manage. It doesn't matter if your sqaud is correct or not, it's still the art (science?) of managing that is the basis of the game.

Oh, and (imo) I think this thread is probably best moved to the E-Chat forum.
Stu
The research for Football Manager (and Championship Manager when it was still SI) is on the whole fairly reliable in my view. Even when the St. Mirren stuff was being done by a Partick fan for a few years the problems I had were to do with stuff like finances, stadium capacity etc rather than the actual player ratings (although sometimes I'd point out an incorrect position).

As Swampy says, the quality of some "professional" research is bloody awful. I remember downloading the CM 5 demo which had research done by some professionals. Best St. Mirren player? Scott Gemmill blink.gif For comparison, that would be like classing Derek Carcary or Paul Lawson as the best players at Rangers and Celtic.

Without trying to be funny, I feel most of the people who feel their team is underrated are just pish at the game and can't cope with the fact. I know when playing as Saints in the first division I've often thought half the league was overrated because I was losing to them laugh.gif
Follow Follow
1. Its a fuckin computer game - get over it.
2. If you compain about pointless shite like that then your either:
A. Very very paranoid; or
B. Very shite at the game
3. If your that bad and can't hack the budget or players positions, use the editor and cheat laugh.gif
MattBairn
There is also the beauty of the editor that comes with these games.

I dont like using the editor too much as the temptation to cheat is always there, although i manage to avoid it...... mostly! tongue.gif But its great for changing stats of players or financial info that you honeslty feel are incorrect.

If the Celtic fans dont want to buy it because of something so unimportant (considering you can change it anyway) then they dont have too. Im sure plenty of Celtic fans wont give it a second thought and would quite happily buy it anyway.

smile.gif
FTOF
QUOTE(Follow Follow @ Oct 8 2006, 14:16) [snapback]1220815[/snapback]

1. Its a fuckin computer game - get over it.

Says it all really. rolleyes.gif
The Ger
Most game developers don't give a monkeys about the Scottish teams. In a recent FIFA game I bought Barry Ferguson looked more like Charlie Miller! They only bother aboot giving Wayne Rooney an accuartely shaped head.
XaaronPrimus
Swampy, add Peterhead to that list, unless he's been lying to me all these years wink.gif.

I'm guessing Cletic have no money, and certain players aren't very good? Or are they saying the players are too good?

EDIT: loaded it up, and the financial thing is up for debate (starting balance of £1.......) the players seem about right for the fact that Maloney can't get regular games for celtic, Naylor used to play for Wolves, etc. McGeady is a point or two low on a couple of things, but ffs EDITOR anyone?
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(XaaronPrimus @ Oct 8 2006, 17:53) [snapback]1220999[/snapback]

Swampy, add Peterhead to that list, unless he's been lying to me all these years wink.gif

You called? tongue.gif

Some folk are just never happy - a hell of a lot of volunteers give up a hell of a lot of time to try and make FM as accurate as possible. It's just a shame some idiots - and it is usually Old Firm fans, can't see their way to admitting a good job is generally done.

It's not perfect by any means, but the amount of guidelines in place mean it's hard to make Albion Rovers a potential European super power, and it's only the really the new researchers who have problems with their squads. Unfortunately, it seems near impossible to find a reliable unbiased researcher for some clubs, and at others it can be hard to find anyone at all!
Bryan
QUOTE(ricster @ Oct 8 2006, 13:00) [snapback]1220733[/snapback]

There are rating guidelines in place that trys to rate teams fairly e.g. Gretna, Saintees and Livy are the top 3 rated teams in the 1st. independent researchers are useless on the small teams, as long as the head researcher is good which he is the research will be good. Sadly the celtic researcher let the head researcher down.
David W
As others have said, there are regulations in place to make sure things are researched as thoroughly as possible. The head researcher will check everything and I did a complete check of the 1st division stuff.

Generally supporters will know their side pretty well, unlike "independant" researchers. For instance, there'll be a lot of young, U18 players in the game, with inaccurate DOB's etc, but they wouldn't even be in the game if it wasn't for people who know their club well.
djchapsticks
Oh dear. Isn't that what editors are for?

FM is far and away the most reliable game on the market for research. The halfwit Sellick fans signing this petition won't realise that whatever their transfer budget was at the start of research, will be depleted as players like Jarosik, Venegoor, Gravesen et al, signed for them.

But then lets sacrifice realism. £10m worth of players, which will have no bearing on the transfer buget at the start of the game.

Friggin' botons.
Grayzer
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 8 2006, 13:36) [snapback]1220769[/snapback]

It's also the case that the "hidden values" (potential/ability) for players is limited by squad, so you can't just make a whole team of superstars because you really think Montrose are of UEFA Cup quality.

nah i did it for montrose. no chance of them being uefa cup quality
Mr X
I actually read through the thread on the SI forums that prompted this petition.

Basically the 2 main problems seem to be

1) Celtic only have £1m to spend but Rangers have £3.5m
2) Malone and McGeady are underated and dont have the correct positions.

The head of Scottish testing explained the situation RE the Celtic tester and tried to get some constructive criticism from those posting, but the whole thing was going round and round in circles including some pretty unfair criticism of the researchers as a whole - along with the usual accusations of Rangers bias rolleyes.gif

Frankly, the whole thing is pathetic and I cant see anyone at SI losing any sleep over this.
Stu
QUOTE(andycqos @ Oct 9 2006, 09:04) [snapback]1221360[/snapback]

I actually read through the thread on the SI forums that prompted this petition.

Basically the 2 main problems seem to be

1) Celtic only have £1m to spend but Rangers have £3.5m
2) Malone and McGeady are underated and dont have the correct positions.

The head of Scottish testing explained the situation RE the Celtic tester and tried to get some constructive criticism from those posting, but the whole thing was going round and round in circles including some pretty unfair criticism of the researchers as a whole - along with the usual accusations of Rangers bias rolleyes.gif

Frankly, the whole thing is pathetic and I cant see anyone at SI losing any sleep over this.

Did you notice how much they loved my comments of constructive criticism wink.gif
Mr X
QUOTE(Stu @ Oct 9 2006, 09:09) [snapback]1221362[/snapback]

Did you notice how much they loved my comments of constructive criticism wink.gif

Yes. In fact, the only reason I got as many pages through as I did was cause it was quite funny when the research team all ganged up laugh.gif
Stu
QUOTE(andycqos @ Oct 9 2006, 09:13) [snapback]1221364[/snapback]

Yes. In fact, the only reason I got as many pages through as I did was cause it was quite funny when the research team all ganged up laugh.gif

Safety in numbers, plus claims such as McGeady being worth £20million and McFadden never having a good game for Scotland deserve ridicule.
Mr X
QUOTE(Stu @ Oct 9 2006, 09:43) [snapback]1221372[/snapback]

Safety in numbers, plus claims such as McGeady being worth £20million and McFadden never having a good game for Scotland deserve ridicule.

Even I know that the valuation is a coding issue rolleyes.gif tongue.gif laugh.gif
Bryan
ph34r.gif laugh.gif
XaaronPrimus
How can you class Celtic as sleeping giants? Thought they were already awake blink.gif
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(XaaronPrimus @ Oct 13 2006, 17:26) [snapback]1227350[/snapback]

How can you class Celtic as sleeping giants? Thought they were already awake blink.gif

But they haven't won anything competitive since 1967 ph34r.gif
codfish
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Oct 13 2006, 17:44) [snapback]1227400[/snapback]

But they haven't won anything competitive since 1967 ph34r.gif

Now now, they made a good effort of making the Scottish Cup competitive last season..... ph34r.gif
DAVE M
This petition is a complete joke! laugh.gif

PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID, PARANOID,

Obviously they are the ONLY team with flaws eh?

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Gaz
Some of these comments are hilarious!

i have played the game from its very first version (Domark) Championship Manager and i believe that the Scottish research is terrible especially Celtics , I also believe that this will always be the case with Rangers fans heading the Scottish research team .I wont be buying the game until it is impartial

We know morally in our heart of hearts - we've got a hunner bullion

the celtis team are very poorly represented in the game due to the fact that the valuations are rubish and so are the attributes of the players i think that aidey mcgeady should be labled the next wayne rooney in the game because he's brilliant

A sell out, the Celtic name is disgraced. I will buy a duffer from the Barras to check the accuracy before a genuine purchase is mooted. Dont miss the opportunity

please fix it,or is it the fact a rangers fc fan works on the scottish game in fm

As usual the masonic influence is apparent by the Hun responsible for a computer game playing the orange card and showing yet again how in Scotland being a Celtic fan gives you second class status in all walks of life

Look Sports Interactive we were the first Brittish side to win the European Cup and the only Irish team to have one it also. Get the budget sorted now.

One again we see anti catholic sentiments in the media. Everybody is against us and we always have to do things with one hand tied behind our backs. We are like the black people in the USA in the 50's

...etc., etc.. The bird talking about the masonic influence is hilarious!!! laugh.gif
DAVE M
As usual the masonic influence is apparent by the Hun responsible for a computer game playing the orange card and showing yet again how in Scotland being a Celtic fan gives you second class status in all walks of life

Stupid Cow. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Swampy
I'm very hopeful that that one is the work of an alias biggrin.gif
MTJ
What a fuckin boot. laugh.gif
Gaz
QUOTE(Swampy @ Oct 14 2006, 23:26) [snapback]1228997[/snapback]

I'm very hopeful that that one is the work of an alias biggrin.gif

To be fair, a lot of them are probably from aliai, but they're still damn funny!
SeD
Aliai or not, the fact that they've not been pulled whereas many, many others have is amusing - and perhaps revealing biggrin.gif
Beren
we were the first Brittish side to win the European Cup and the only Irish team to have one it also

Is it just me or does that just not tally up? blink.gif

fcukwits to a man
Kylesons
Reading all these quotes do make you crack up laugh.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif
djchapsticks
Am....am I missing something here? Playing through the game, aren't Celtic still far and away better than Rangers, or indeed anyone else in Scotland? blink.gif
Dunc
QUOTE(djchapsticks @ Oct 20 2006, 15:36) [snapback]1235850[/snapback]

Am....am I missing something here? Playing through the game, aren't Celtic still far and away better than Rangers, or indeed anyone else in Scotland? blink.gif

Not for me! Aberdeen have 5 wins out of 5. Caley and Celtic both have 3 wins and 2 draws!
Mr X
QUOTE(djchapsticks @ Oct 20 2006, 15:36) [snapback]1235850[/snapback]

You're not missing anything.

Their main beef (or should that be potato) was that Celtic only had £1m to spend whereas Rangers had £3m. And that McGeady wasnt rated as the best player in the world, Scotland, Celtic. All a bit pathetic really rolleyes.gif
The Real Saints
The Celtic 'researcher' hasn't transferred Paul Lawson to St. Johnstone. I'm signing the petition! wink.gif tongue.gif