Full Version: Pre Match
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Larbert Bairn
Before all home matches at Hampden our group always drink in the Pandora but this Saturday we are having a change and have tickets for The Shed.

What I would like from you guys is some info ..... ie

How far is it from Hampden and how long will it take to stagger there.

Is it best to get a taxi from Queen St. to get there?

Is it as good an atmosphere as The Pandora?

Thanks in advance.
tuckersloan
I normally get my ticket through Newton Stewart but this time our secretary forgot to send our clubs request away. Am desperate not to miss the match. What chance do you guys think I would have of picking up a ticket in Pandoras or something? Maybe not too good considering how big the game is mind. Then again there are always a few folk pull out at the last minute. Can only live in hope!
Larbert Bairn
QUOTE(tuckersloan @ Oct 2 2006, 22:55) [snapback]1215677[/snapback]

I normally get my ticket through Newton Stewart but this time our secretary forgot to send our clubs request away. Am desperate not to miss the match. What chance do you guys think I would have of picking up a ticket in Pandoras or something? Maybe not too good considering how big the game is mind. Then again there are always a few folk pull out at the last minute. Can only live in hope!

Eh ....just ever so slightly off-topic. blink.gif
SPLwankwankwank
QUOTE(Larbert Bairn @ Oct 2 2006, 22:43) [snapback]1215663[/snapback]

Before all home matches at Hampden our group always drink in the Pandora but this Saturday we are having a change and have tickets for The Shed.

Thanks in advance.

Been to both before matches. It's six and half a dozen for atmosphere and it's roughly the same time as far as walking distance. Streetmap it and you'll see. The Shed sits where the E of [font=Garamond]Earthwork [font=Arial] is on the map while Pandora is to the North of Queens Park itself near the Rail Station to the South West of "Govanhill".

Not edited despite shocking attempted us of Fonts.
Larbert Bairn
QUOTE(SPLw**kw**kw**k @ Oct 2 2006, 23:10) [snapback]1215696[/snapback]

Been to both before matches. It's six and half a dozen for atmosphere and it's roughly the same time as far as walking distance. Streetmap it and you'll see. The Shed sits where the E of [font=Garamond]Earthwork [font=Arial] is on the map while Pandora is to the North of Queens Park itself near the Rail Station to the South West of "Govanhill".

Not edited despite shocking attempted us of Fonts.

Cheers!

Any other opinions?
Cheyne Stoking
QUOTE(Larbert Bairn @ Oct 3 2006, 05:17) [snapback]1215813[/snapback]

Cheers!

Any other opinions?

Will be going to Bar Buddha, it's at the roundabout on that map between the fire station and the hospital.
killie_ken
Been to both and I'd say Pandoras is better for atmosphere. Porbably because its more intimate than the Shed. Down side is you can't move and the bogs are a nightmare but I still prefer Pandoras every time. DJ at Pandoras is superb and plays some crackers.

Just get there early and get a corner next to the DJ and cellar.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(Larbert Bairn @ Oct 2 2006, 22:43) [snapback]1215663[/snapback]

Thanks in advance.

the shed is at the start a shawlands mate next tae the goals fitbaw complex. it is a 15 minute walk tae get tae hampden, easy!
wearealldoomed
Shawlands train station will be closest to The Shed but that's still a decent walk away. A taxi or a bus will be fine as Shwlands is out the way of the football traffic.

There's a shitload of busses run thorugh Shawlands Cross, no's 38 and 57 are probably the most frequent though. Takes around 10.15 minutes from Union Street.
Chris
QUOTE(wearealldoomed @ Oct 3 2006, 21:33) [snapback]1216578[/snapback]

Shawlands train station will be closest to The Shed but that's still a decent walk away. A taxi or a bus will be fine as Shwlands is out the way of the football traffic.

There's a shitload of busses run thorugh Shawlands Cross, no's 38 and 57 are probably the most frequent though. Takes around 10.15 minutes from Union Street.

Crossmyloof station will be the nearest to the Shed, 5 minutes walk max.
Butterfield
It is a ten minute walk maximum - even when drunk!

wearealldoomed
QUOTE(Chris @ Oct 3 2006, 21:52) [snapback]1216596[/snapback]

Crossmyloof station will be the nearest to the Shed, 5 minutes walk max.

Forgot about that one. I do my shopping at the Morrisons there too. laugh.gif