Full Version: Arbroath 2-1 Elgin
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
Lichtielegend
I thought we played quite poorly today, with too many players trying to do too much on their own, rather than using their team-mates.

It was as if the players looked at Elgin in the league table and thought they'd just need to turn up for the 3 points. Thankfully, Elgin were so poor that that is what happened. Some of their players looked to have real trouble with the basics.

Their keeper made a couple of decent stops before we scored which came from a Rennie header that looped over the keeper and inside the back post.
They equalised straightaway, and I thought it was an own goal by McCulloch, but it's been credited to Johnston.

They should have actually taken the lead when their forward was clean through, but hit the post (Don't know if Peat got a touch on it)

Brazil then broke through just after the hour mark and placed it across the keeper for the winner.

Very unspectacular game today, but 3 points against a bogey team

Must do better in future though, performances like that every week would see us miss the play-offs.
BELLROCK
pish game to watch. i thought we played well below par and were lucky to get 3 points.
having said that Elgin are rank, but wev'e played worse teams this season.
3 points in the bag biggrin.gif
Lichtielegend
Good avatar, Bellrock biggrin.gif
BELLROCK
removes the scum.

tongue.gif
stenny_bairn
aye elgin are really shite. theyve taken over that honour from the shire. did elgin have fans there?
chico5
Arbroath fan
How good is Ian Dobbins?
Lichtielegend
QUOTE(chico5 @ Oct 1 2006, 22:31) [snapback]1214301[/snapback]

Arbroath fan
How good is Ian Dobbins?

This good
Blackandwhiteminstrel
Why is it that if a team struggles " they were pish". Could it not be that the other team did not let them play. City deserved something from the game but due to individual mistakes ended up with nothing. If Adam Moffatt had scored it could have been a totally different game, the keeper got the slightest of touches to divert the ball on to the post. The signs are that things are slowly but surely turning, players coming back from injury. Top dogs at home in a rearranged game on saturday what better way to turn the tide.
Hows Willie Martin been doing, he looked a lot more direct on saturday than he did when he was with us.
Lichtielegend
Why is it that if a team struggles " they were pish". Could it not be that the other team did not let them play.

Dickson did well at stopping us from playing, but the other 3 defenders and half the midfield seemed happy to let us play through at ease, even aiding us at times. We weren't playing well enough to take advantage though.

In the end, Elgin deserved nothing from the game, We dominated the first and last half hour of the game, and when they did have their spell, couldn't take their chances. We couldn't turn our possession into many chances, but we were capable of taking them when they came.

Willie's a hard worker and has become a hit with us because of it. Recently has been rewarded with goals. Needs to learn to shut his mouth at times, because that's his 5th booking I think, which is a suspension. 3 or 4 of them probably came from backchat.
Blackandwhiteminstrel
Lichtielegend
I agree that you had a couple of decent spells without creating too many chances but you certainly did not dominate the first and last half hour.
Taking your chances in this league when your on top is vital and several times this season that has been our problem although we have turned in some shockers Montrose away and Dumbarton at home were the worst two i've seen. I was fortunate to miss Albion and Stenny away.
I don't think you'll ever shut Willie up, he would argue with his shadow, he's still full of tricks and I would certainly like to see him in a City shirt again.
I take your point that you didn't think you played well but i'm pretty sure you'll at least be in the play offs
farflung lichtie
QUOTE(chico5 @ Oct 1 2006, 22:31) [snapback]1214301[/snapback]

How good is Ian Dobbins?

Let's just say when it comes round to the next big charity match, Dobbins should be in charge of picking the rest of the Rest of the World team he would captain.

Committed, capable (indefence and midfield) in the air and on the ground, and deadly. What more could you ask for.

Slight hyperbole maybe but he is appreciated.
ShakehandsTom - DFC
QUOTE(farflung lichtie @ Oct 3 2006, 12:39) [snapback]1215993[/snapback]

Let's just say when it comes round to the next big charity match, Dobbins should be in charge of picking the rest of the Rest of the World team he would captain.

Committed, capable (indefence and midfield) in the air and on the ground, and deadly. What more could you ask for.

Slight hyperbole maybe but he is appreciated.

I only our manger at the time rolleyes.gif could have picked him, or even seen that he had ability and would have played him in and out of the side. rolleyes.gif sad.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.