Full Version: East Fife 1 - 0 Dumbarton (and Referee)
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
Mon_The_Fife
Another good win for us today even though Jabba took about 400 attempts at goal before he finally scored.

John Dodds, who had a mare at Hampden last week had a really good game today and made a class save from some Dumbarton guys header right after we had scored. Hopefully it will give him some confidence.

The referee should have just worn his Dumbarton top instead today, he was pretty rank and added on an extra 5 minutes at the end of the game for some reason, but we stuck it out and get the 3 points biggrin.gif
faither
East Fife struggled to do anything in the second half but managed to hold on.
If I were a Dumbarton fan I'd probably feel a bit aggrieved at not getting a point but mind you they missed some good chances.
Our keeper Dodds played well apart from one fumle early on.
I suspect there will be many more games like this!
Uddy_Fifer
QUOTE(Mon_The_Fife @ Sep 30 2006, 18:39) [snapback]1212440[/snapback]

The referee should have just worn his Dumbarton top instead today, he was pretty rank and added on an extra 5 minutes at the end of the game for some reason, but we stuck it out and get the 3 points biggrin.gif

Was the ref Colin Brown today tongue.gif

Couldn`t make my return to Bayview today unfortunatley but will make it against Albion Rovers on 21st October
The Dumb son
did we play well? huh.gif
Boghead Ben
Aye, we played well enough, and on another day, would have won easily.

No-one to blame but ourselves. Our strikers failed to score when presented with golden chances and at any level, failure to convert often loses points.

IMO, Winter had a good game, especially as he was on his own with Bagan having yet another 'mare. Disappointed with Boyle's contribution again as he can play much better. Is he injured?

Ach well, it's a week off, on the park, and we now await the visit of Montrose. And Andy Rodgers.
ShakehandsTom - DFC
I thought second-half we were decent enough, but first half was very diappointing really. sad.gif It was always going to be a difficult game, but from the outset we had an uphill struggle as their defenders were very good in the air, and we really had to fight for any headers and second balls.

We had a couple of good chances, which obviously rolleyes.gif would have changed the game had we scored, but East Fife did what they obvously do well today. Pump the ball long, hold it up, harry the opposition and pull every time-wasting and edging throw-ins forward. Not pretty, but very effective.

As it got closer and closer to the end, we pushed more and more forward, we just lacked that cutting-edge that was necessary in the box. sad.gif

Craig Winter, Mark Canning at-the-back and Nuggs had good games today, the others I don't think stood out for any reason. The referee did (for obvoius reasons rolleyes.gif sad.gif mad.gif ), but we were ok, but it's in the final third we will need to improve upon.

Still we can debate the game and it's incidents, but the one thing I am pleased about (although it has never been in question) was the effort from our lads today. thumbup2.gif

Ach well, there were some positives and hopefully we can get on the right track again in a fortnight, and the week off perhaps will give us the chance to work on things in training. Hopefully against Montrose we can get a result that we need to get us back up the table.
the auld son
what is wrong with Chris Boyle
completely ineffective in the last few matches
is he carrying an injury
some fans got their wish today when he moved inside when bagan went off
if anything he looked even more lost
can someone explain dry.gif
Angusfifer
QUOTE(the auld son @ Sep 30 2006, 21:16) [snapback]1212764[/snapback]

is he carrying an injury

Dumbarton had a lot of possession and must feel unhappy at losing all three points but we worked really hard and if a second goal had come might well have gone one on to win comfortably. Don't feel too guilty because we've had absolutely no luck at New Boghead in recent years.
Such is fitba... ph34r.gif
Tatty Boabie

Another good win for us today even though Jabba took about 400 attempts at goal before he finally scored.

John Dodds, who had a mare at Hampden last week had a really good game today and made a class save from some Dumbarton guys header right after we had scored. Hopefully it will give him some confidence.

We are all playing against the referees and linesman, the quality at this level is poor
)(x_dumbarton_gurl_x)(
thought we played ok although not great. I think we should of at least got a point in the second half as we had a lot of chances which our forwards did not take very well. Didn't think Dobbie played as bad as everyone made out when he got taken off, i would say he is more of a goal threat than nuggs but nuggs played ok. smile.gif

I though borris actually played good today but nobody seemed to have said anything about him. Didn't think Geggan had a good game at all. Overall i dont think anybody played outstanding ! sad.gif

Hopefully we can keep our heads up and get back on track with the wins in two weeks at home against montrose. smile.gif

P.S Notice how the dumbarton fans were singing the whole way through the match even when we were 1-0 down but the fife fans hardly made a sound. Nice to hear us getting behind the boys !!!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Angusfifer
QUOTE()(x_dumbarton_gurl_x)( @ Sep 30 2006, 22:39) [snapback]1212972[/snapback]

thought we played ok although not great. I think we should of at least got a point in the second half as we had a lot of chances which our forwards did not take very well. Didn't think Dobbie played as bad as everyone made out when he got taken off, i would say he is more of a goal threat than nuggs but nuggs played ok. smile.gif

I though borris actually played good today but nobody seemed to have said anything about him. Didn't think Geggan had a good game at all. Overall i dont think anybody played outstanding ! sad.gif

Hopefully we can keep our heads up and get back on track with the wins in two weeks at home against montrose. smile.gif
P.S Notice how the dumbarton fans were singing the whole way through the match even when we were 1-0 down but the montrose fans hardly made a sound. Nice to hear us getting behind the boys !!!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Couldnae hear the Montrose fans at all from our end either...
)(x_dumbarton_gurl_x)(
QUOTE(Angusfifer @ Sep 30 2006, 22:55) [snapback]1212998[/snapback]

Couldnae hear the Montrose fans at all from our end either...

sorry there ! u know what a meant !
Angusfifer
QUOTE()(x_dumbarton_gurl_x)( @ Sep 30 2006, 23:08) [snapback]1213035[/snapback]

sorry there ! u know what a meant !

blink.gif biggrin.gif
)(x_dumbarton_gurl_x)(
QUOTE(Angusfifer @ Sep 30 2006, 23:13) [snapback]1213045[/snapback]

blink.gif biggrin.gif

smile.gif biggrin.gif
GoF
There's never any atmosphere from us at home though. Place is like a morgue, which is probably what's attracted Collumbine to join us tongue.gif

IPB Image
O'Kelly Isley III

is he carrying an injury

Over to you Rockstar.......
Howlin' Wilf

is he carrying an injury

On form Chris Boyle is our best player. However he has as we know regular injury problems and is not the physically stroingest of characters. Bit of a cheap shot by OK3 to cite half a game (when he was having a poor game anyway) as proof that he can't play in the centre of midfield. Why not look at the whole time Brian Fairley was in charge for evidence of Boyle's ability in that position? Particularly the season we missed promotion to the first division by a point. Gerry McCabe thinks Boyle is too lightweight and small to play in that position and we have to respect that but then for a while he thought John Dillon was a left full back. To answer the Auld Son's question, it looks like Chris has lost his way a bit. He is a part time player with a third division club and that happens.
I'm disappointed by yesterday's result as I thought we'd get a point. However things are I feel going in the right direction. Two of our away defeats have been 1-0 in matches we have had the upper hand. We've had two shockers, against Berwick and Arbroath largely due to positional changes (some forced some not) which didn't work.
I think if we keep going results will improve further. McCabe has got us playing football again & I don't think any side will be relishing a visit to SHS.
sonsanorak
Boghead Ben in boyle out, Dillon in shocker!! tongue.gif

Nuggs movement at times yesterday was good, but yet again what stood out was; how easily he's knocked off the ball and how many chances he needs before he scores. Still, he's young and will improve.

Andy Geggan was the target for a lot of misplaced abuse yesterday (Cedrick), the boys been amongst our best players since he arrived so reminding him that Livvy got rid of him because he's not good enough was a bit harsh. We're obviously still short of experienced players and had three nippers, JD and Shaw on the bench yesterday. So we need to support the players just now who are in possession, not take an easy opportunity to give them pelters.

We've played everyone now and I think in footballing terms we can match and beat them, what we're short of is physical presence and the real David Bagan.

sons for spl

got to agree he did favor dumbarton quite alot
(good man)
cedrick1
overall yesterday i thought the more physical team won.still thought we had more than enough chances to have more than nil at end of game as we had last week to have more than 3.
last season we had a lot of games we I felt we were at least as good but could have scored more and feel same is happening.

i apologise if I was harsh on AG but I felt his distribution was really bad from early on yesterday.I also dont think his distribution in other games(elgin exc) has been brilliant and it needs to improve.Agree he has done well in some of previous games but doesnt change my view on yesterdays performance.
Pehaps as his defending is sound I hould reflect on this rather than his forward thinking play

concerned why if he was having an off day we didnt throw mccann or mckeever on (both have played RB this season) to give a change.

Nice to see David Craig put in a good shift .Winter is doing really well at moment as is Borris.
Bit disapointed in hamilton when he came on yesterday-he has shown more previosly

Sometimes on P&B and at games particularly Dumbarton games we need to remember it is all about opinions we all have our favourite likes and hates and all of us are not always right in what we say.
Sometimes i am wrong even stupid in my thoughts but i would like to think i am not alone in this
lets be happy

by the way i didnt think ref was all that bad and didnt make in game changing decisions from where i was

Positive-If we play the way we have and create as many chances as we have over last three weeks we will be Ok
Negative-We said that from Jan-March this year

sons for spl
QUOTE(sonsanorak @ Oct 1 2006, 09:02) [snapback]1213377[/snapback]

Boghead Ben in boyle out, Dillon in shocker!! tongue.gif

Nuggs movement at times yesterday was good, but yet again what stood out was; how easily he's knocked off the ball and how many chances he needs before he scores. Still, he's young and will improve.

movement what movement dobbie ran toward the defence and waited for the through ball to nuggs
and he did move and stayed behind him ?? blink.gif

the substitute hamilton for dobbie ohmy.gif he was the only one of the two forwards that looked like scoring.

credit to east fife defended well
ShakehandsTom - DFC
I think tbh, we were distinctly average yesterday. Having now seen all opposition teams, I think we can honestly say that we can be, nor should we be, frightened of anyone.

We didn't produce the goods yesterday against an effective but not 'stylish football' East Fife team.

Credit to them though, they did what they do best and it worked a treat for them. To use the cliche, I don't think East Fife will 'play many teams off-the-park' this season with classy football or anything like that. But they got the job done effectively by playing to their strengths. They hoof the ball, were good in the air, annoy the opposition players, pressure the ball and clip ankles and the likes, but hey, it worked for them. Why should they not (if it works for them) play 'ugly' football?

I think we've got to put that behind us, it's lost, nothing we can do now, but in the next game vs Montrose, if we play decent football, and play it on the deck we can cause problems for all teams in this league. As we have shown when we play to our best.
Boghead Ben
QUOTE(sonsanorak @ Oct 1 2006, 09:02) [snapback]1213377[/snapback]

We've played everyone now and I think in footballing terms we can match and beat them, what we're short of is physical presence and the real David Bagan.

Fair assessment imo.
fanny paddery
The sons must be looking for promotion, the best team in the league in my opinion only problem is a lack of consistency. Against Stenny n Rovers they were brillaint, then against Queens park very very poor. Hopefully when Gemmell is back him and Nuggs will be a better combination up front than Nuggs and the lazy and fat Dobbie. At least there is a break this week for the lads and hopefully straight back into a flyer against Montrose !!!
IXI THE ONE IXI
Wasn't a good game really, the guy that scored needed loads of chances and then still it looked lucky he put it in the net.

Dobbie missed a sitter and Hamilton missed a 1 on 1 that could have been hit harder with a sock full of shite.

I hope McNaught gets dropped, he looks like he needs a rest and really he will be judged on goals being a striker and at the moment I don't think he is playing up front with a striker that can teach him anything.

Boyle was poor again, but Bagan was rank, East Fife coasted past him in midfield, which is why we lost the game.

Don't think East Fife will last at the top, I'd back Stenhousemuir for the league title and us, Berwick, East Fife and Arbroth to scrap it out for the playoff spot(s).

Not too worried, I think we could beat them at home comfortably if we get the passing game going and not hitting the ball head height into a player who is about 2ft shorter than the East Fife number 5.
ShakehandsTom - DFC
QUOTE(IXI THE ONE IXI @ Oct 2 2006, 15:39) [snapback]1214998[/snapback]

Don't think East Fife will last at the top, I'd back Stenhousemuir for the league title and us, Berwick, East Fife and Arbroth to scrap it out for the playoff spot(s).

Not too worried, I think we could beat them at home comfortably if we get the passing game going and not hitting the ball head height into a player who is about 2ft shorter than the East Fife number 5.

I think East Fife will be more difficult to beat and dislodge from the top-spot than others suggest. No they don't play pretty football, but the play to their strengths and we just weren't able to break them down.

However, I do think if we, against Montrose and beyond, get back to our slick-passing game then we do have the ability to knock them off their perch. However, us doing our stuff is the easy part blink.gif , it's being able to cope with other teams different styles of play that is the hardest part imo.
gordon131
is it that andy geggans distribution is bad?or is it that our slow lazy strikers cannot cant keep up.
fanny paddery
Its that Dobbie is to unfit to bother chasing, he wants the ball on a plate and you cant always get that at 3rd division level !!
Bring Back Paddy Flannery
i think geggan has been a stand out player for us so far this season. he's only 18 or 19 (i think) and id say his only problem is maybe being caught out of position sometimes but im sure he will continue to learn and i reckon he will move up a level in a couple of years.
ThirdrockfromtheSon
QUOTE(Bring Back Paddy Flannery @ Oct 2 2006, 23:07) [snapback]1215691[/snapback]

i think geggan has been a stand out player for us so far this season. he's only 18 or 19 (i think) and id say his only problem is maybe being caught out of position sometimes but im sure he will continue to learn and i reckon he will move up a level in a couple of years.

I agree. He's a smashing young player. If he does move on in time (almost inevitable) he'll do well wherever he goes (except if he goes to the OF where he'll be on the third string's substitute's bench like every other decent talent they've hoovered up over the years).
Rockstar
QUOTE(ThirdrockfromtheSon @ Oct 3 2006, 11:17) [snapback]1215922[/snapback]

I agree. He's a smashing young player. If he does move on in time (almost inevitable) he'll do well wherever he goes (except if he goes to the OF where he'll be on the third string's substitute's bench like every other decent talent they've hoovered up over the years).

He looks to be a good prospect, just wish some sons fans would get off his back, like at East Fife last week. Sure he didn't have a good game but shouting your 'pish' and 'chuck it' ain't gonna help develop the boy.
ThirdrockfromtheSon
QUOTE(Rockstar @ Oct 5 2006, 16:10) [snapback]1218296[/snapback]

He looks to be a good prospect, just wish some sons fans would get off his back, like at East Fife last week. Sure he didn't have a good game but shouting your 'pish' and 'chuck it' ain't gonna help develop the boy.

Almost like a rite of passage for nearly every player we have.........there's a hard core in our lot that wouldn't be happy if we were in the SPL beating everyone in sight. Even if we won the Champions League (far fetched, I know, but IF we did) then there would STILL be a moaning nucleus.

Damned if you're good, damned if you're bad.......
IXI THE ONE IXI
QUOTE(ThirdrockfromtheSon @ Oct 6 2006, 14:36) [snapback]1219301[/snapback]

Almost like a rite of passage for nearly every player we have.........there's a hard core in our lot that wouldn't be happy if we were in the SPL beating everyone in sight. Even if we won the Champions League (far fetched, I know, but IF we did) then there would STILL be a moaning nucleus.

Damned if you're good, damned if you're bad.......

Get off the glue.

ThirdrockfromtheSon
QUOTE(IXI THE ONE IXI @ Oct 6 2006, 16:07) [snapback]1219331[/snapback]

Get off the glue.

You should try it some time . Might make even you seem coherent.

Uhm, what's your team, stranger? Or are you just another wahoo who hides behind a keyboard jibing at everyone else 'cos you're so narrow-minded and non-brained?

Speak up or f**k off.
fight
fanny paddery
QUOTE(Bring Back Paddy Flannery @ Oct 6 2006, 16:40) [snapback]1219363[/snapback]

fight

calm it kids Lol
ThirdrockfromtheSon
QUOTE(Bring Back Paddy Flannery @ Oct 6 2006, 16:40) [snapback]1219363[/snapback]

fight

No fight - just canny be bothered with halfwits who hide.
No club, no clue as to their identity. Just another arse hiding behind the safety of a keyboard, sniding at others who like a bit o' banter.

I'll bet he or she is Old Firm. Wears the colours but doesn't manage to go to the games. Seen a million of them. Spineless.
QUOTE(ThirdrockfromtheSon @ Oct 6 2006, 21:25) [snapback]1219572[/snapback]

No fight - just canny be bothered with halfwits who hide.
No club, no clue as to their identity. Just another arse hiding behind the safety of a keyboard, sniding at others who like a bit o' banter.

I'll bet he or she is Old Firm. Wears the colours but doesn't manage to go to the games. Seen a million of them. Spineless.

i was only jk big yin, that 'the one' character does my tits in aswell
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.