Full Version: Peterhead 8- 0 Forfar - Pat Niven Makes Sense!
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Vloon
The outcome was unexpected was it not? i thought it would have been about 15-0 or sumthing biggrin.gif BUt in a more serious note, Pat Niven made sense! blink.gif I KNOW! But what he said about The forfar situation made a lot of Sense, he commented about the SFA's discision to play todays match and sadi "Common sense should apply over any rules in this situation" ohmy.gif Mind you he did look unwell! laugh.gif

Min you it did sound like an end to end game! 1st half peter head -> that way, second half peterhead that way <- lol

Dismal times for us loons!
garymcc1874
Another 2 players less for next week then? Deliberately sent off to get next week's game cancelled? laugh.gif
Vloon
QUOTE(garymcc1874 @ Sep 30 2006, 17:37) [snapback]1212324[/snapback]

Another 2 players less for next week then? Deliberately sent off to get next week's game cancelled? laugh.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif well its a plan but the SFA should never had let that go ahead!
Vloon
Still poor tho! 8 games i think without a win!
AyrshireTon
SFA (or was it SFL?) should hang their heads in shame after that result. mad.gif
Obviously Peterhead can only beat what's in front of them, but was it necessary to make Forfar field 15 and 16 years olds?
nofixedability
QUOTE(garymcc1874 @ Sep 30 2006, 17:37) [snapback]1212324[/snapback]

Who are we playing next week then?

I thought it was an International break.

Hopefully some of the injured players (especially some of the ones that played today that shouldn't have) will be able to play in two weeks time away to Stranraer.
Vloon
QUOTE(AyrshireTon @ Sep 30 2006, 17:51) [snapback]1212342[/snapback]

SFA (or was it SFL?) should hang their heads in shame after that result. mad.gif
Obviously Peterhead can only beat what's in front of them, but was it necessary to make Forfar field 15 and 16 years olds?

It's generally terrible because we have no reserve team or youth team so there was no way we could field a totally fit 16!

6 fit outfielders
2 goalies
AND GEORGE SHAW! biggrin.gif
Duracell Bunny

Game should have happened. That game today was a farce.
nofixedability

Nah, sorry, it would be a nice excuse but the only youngsters we played were Moon and Allison who are teenagers on loan from St. johnstone and Dundee respectively.
garymcc1874
QUOTE(nofixedability @ Sep 30 2006, 17:52) [snapback]1212345[/snapback]

Who are we playing next week then?

I thought it was an International break.

My mistake. tongue.gif

I'd like to think some of the injured players are back for the next game, but having 2 sent off today didn't help much either. It was a disgrace that the game even went ahead.

Vloon
QUOTE(Steven @ Sep 30 2006, 17:53) [snapback]1212349[/snapback]

Game should have happened. That game today was a farce.

Are you having a laff? huh.gif bcus even Pat Niven knew this game should have been postponned, and he's retarded!
Nocturnal Groove
Felt sorry for forfar today. Game should never have went ahead. SFL = CLOWNS
nofixedability
QUOTE(garymcc1874 @ Sep 30 2006, 17:55) [snapback]1212353[/snapback]

I'd like to think some of the injured players are back for the next game, but having 2 sent off today didn't help much either. It was a disgrace that the game even went ahead.

I don't know, the problem to me was not the number of people out but that they were all defenders, Lynn, Dunn, Lunan, Lumsden, Keogh, King, Rattray & Beith ( last two played but shouldn't have) all injured at once is a nightmare for Forfar and I would guess contributed to the defensive capitualtion but that is life and we just had to get on with it.
Vloon
QUOTE(AUFC_Dave @ Sep 30 2006, 17:58) [snapback]1212357[/snapback]

Felt sorry for forfar today. Game should never have went ahead. SFL = CLOWNS

It was a mokery of the game! teams in our situaton should'nt have to have played, Plus we had 2 men sent off!
Tonsilitis
I think it was a bit unfair on Forfar forcing them to play but they would probably have lost up there even with their full squad. I don't think they would have lost 8-0 though and if goal difference comes into it at the end of the season, that thrashing may be significant.

It may also be unfair on other teams in the league in that Peterhead improved their goal difference from -5 to +3. That might matter come the playoffs.

Common sense was never an attribute of the Scottish league, was it?
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Vloon @ Sep 30 2006, 17:55) [snapback]1212354[/snapback]

Are you having a laff? huh.gif bcus even Pat Niven knew this game should have been postponned, and he's retarded!

Sorry missed out "never" was on the phone at the time.

"Game should have never happened. That game today was a farce."

ph34r.gif ph34r.gif ph34r.gif ph34r.gif
Vloon
QUOTE(Steven @ Sep 30 2006, 18:02) [snapback]1212365[/snapback]

Sorry missed out "never" was on the phone at the time.

"Game should have never happened. That game today was a farce."

ph34r.gif ph34r.gif ph34r.gif ph34r.gif

hahaha! laugh.gif it's okay min! i thot the farce thing didnt make sense, sorry! wink.gif
Vloon
QUOTE(Tonsilitis @ Sep 30 2006, 18:02) [snapback]1212364[/snapback]

I think it was a bit unfair on Forfar forcing them to play but they would probably have lost up there even with their full squad. I don't think they would have lost 8-0 though and if goal difference comes into it at the end of the season, that thrashing may be significant.

It may also be unfair on other teams in the league in that Peterhead improved their goal difference from -5 to +3. That might matter come the playoffs.

Common sense was never an attribute of the Scottish league, was it?

haha! true! hasnt really been on their ajenda!
Gnash
Forfar have paid the price for their incompetent squad building in the close season. I've no sympathy with the club, although I do have sympathy with the fans and with the teams who, as Tonsilitis says, may lose out due to Peterhead gaining a much better goal difference than they would otherwise have had. Like us, potentially. dry.gif
Vloon
QUOTE(Gnasher's accountant @ Sep 30 2006, 18:15) [snapback]1212392[/snapback]

Forfar have paid the price for their incompetent squad building in the close season. I've no sympathy with the club, although I do have sympathy with the fans and with the teams who, as Tonsilitis says, may lose out due to Peterhead gaining a much better goal difference than they would otherwise have had. Like us, potentially. dry.gif

Mind you, you wouldnae be saying that if it was stiriling in our possition! I dnt know if you have a youth team or a reserve team but we dont. NOR do we have them money for many Transfers! thats why we were dissapointed when Andy Jackson's loan deal fell thorugh! but as i sed earlier no team with our resouirses should be made to play!
Gnash
QUOTE(Vloon @ Sep 30 2006, 18:29) [snapback]1212415[/snapback]

Mind you, you wouldnae be saying that if it was stiriling in our possition! I dnt know if you have a youth team or a reserve team but we dont. NOR do we have them money for many Transfers! thats why we were dissapointed when Andy Jackson's loan deal fell thorugh! but as i sed earlier no team with our resouirses should be made to play!

I would be livid with the team's management, not the league, if Stirling Albion were in Forfar's position. I would have wanted the game to be postponed, but if it had been I would have known that it was the wrong decision.
Swampy
So, the starting lineup:

Sean Murdoch: regular this season
Fraser Coyle: regular this season
Gavin Beith: squad player, played in the last game
Mark Alisson: As said elsewhere, a newbie, but on loan from another team
Alan Rattray: Club captain in his 10th year, set a marvellous example by getting sent off
Barry Donald: regular this season
Kevin Webster: regular this season
Kevin Moon: another newbie but has played the last 3 games
Ritchie Montgomery: squad player
Paul Tosh: He really needs no introduction, does he?
Darren Gribben: Similarly, does he really need an introduction?

So, what exactly was the problem today, and how exactly as the SFL/SFA/whoever "clowns"? They were absolutely right to deny the request to postpone the game. I'd have done the exact same, and also made them pay any costs incurred during the investigation since they are quite clearly wasting the association's time. Load of rubbish.
Vloon
QUOTE(Swampy @ Sep 30 2006, 18:37) [snapback]1212434[/snapback]

So, the starting lineup:

Sean Murdoch: regular this season
Fraser Coyle: regular this season
Gavin Beith: squad player, played in the last game
Mark Alisson: As said elsewhere, a newbie, but on loan from another team
Alan Rattray: Club captain in his 10th year, set a marvellous example by getting sent off
Barry Donald: regular this season
Kevin Webster: regular this season
Kevin Moon: another newbie but has played the last 3 games
Ritchie Montgomery: squad player
Paul Tosh: He really needs no introduction, does he?
Darren Gribben: Similarly, does he really need an introduction?

So, what exactly was the problem today, and how exactly as the SFL/SFA/whoever "clowns"? They were absolutely right to deny the request to postpone the game. I'd have done the exact same, and also made them pay any costs incurred during the investigation since they are quite clearly wasting the association's time. Load of rubbish.

erm lets think! Tosher has a back problem, montgomery's hamstring isnt fully healed, Rattray isn't fully fit, Beith still isn't fit, WHO THE f**k IS MARK ALLISON (new guy drafted in) and the bench was full of injurred players, unfit players, AND GEORGE SHAW!

8 fully match fit players, which consists of 2 Goalies!
nofixedability
QUOTE(Gnasher's accountant @ Sep 30 2006, 18:15) [snapback]1212392[/snapback]

Oh I am sure we are so sorry. Forfar have broken no rules with the size of their squad and certainly won't be giving any thought to your sanctimonious tosh about us 'costing' other teams anything.
Vloon
QUOTE(nofixedability @ Sep 30 2006, 18:44) [snapback]1212454[/snapback]

Oh I am sure we are so sorry. Forfar have broken no rules with the size of their squad and certainly won't be giving any thought to your sanctimonious tosh about us 'costing' other teams anything.

AGREED!
Swampy
QUOTE(Vloon @ Sep 30 2006, 18:42) [snapback]1212448[/snapback]

erm lets think! Tosher has a back problem,

Then bring on a sub. You had a full bench.

montgomery's hamstring isnt fully healed,

Rattray isn't fully fit, Beith still isn't fit,

Fit enough to get sent off.

WHO THE f**k IS MARK ALLISON (new guy drafted in) and the bench was full of injurred players, unfit players, AND GEORGE SHAW!

Was Mark Allison that bad today?

BTW, you can't put "injured players" on the bench.

8 fully match fit players, which consists of 2 Goalies!

You know, other teams have had to use players who aren't in peak physical condition once or twice.

Malingering timewasters.
Swampy

I think accusing him of being sanctimonious is deeply hypocritical, since you lot want the whole footballing world to stop just because Forfar have a few injuries and a few players who "aren't fully fit."

7 out of the 11 who started are first team regulars. Dry your eyes.
Vloon
QUOTE(Swampy @ Sep 30 2006, 18:47) [snapback]1212468[/snapback]

Fit enough to get sent off.
Was Mark Allison that bad today?

BTW, you can't put "injured players" on the bench.
You know, other teams have had to use players who aren't in peak physical condition once or twice.

Malingering timewasters.

Well we have put injurred players on the bench for the past 2 weeks! We have had to register George shaw as a trialist to make a full team!

YOU p***k!
kullibino
Next time one of our better player is injured i think we should try and get the game cancelled on the ground we might be weaker than normal.

If your daft enough not to have any plan B for this situation you deserve a pumping.
Vloon
QUOTE(Swampy @ Sep 30 2006, 18:50) [snapback]1212473[/snapback]

I think accusing him of being sanctimonious is deeply hypocritical, since you lot want the whole footballing world to stop just because Forfar have a few injuries and a few players who "aren't fully fit."

So you count Peterhead and forfar as the whole world do you? Bitty dramatical don't you think? I DO! Stop being a Kn*b, beacause if it was your team you'd be as peeved off as we are! So in all respects, get it round yeh!
Swampy
QUOTE(Vloon @ Sep 30 2006, 18:52) [snapback]1212477[/snapback]

Well we have put injurred players on the bench for the past 2 weeks! We have had to register George shaw as a trialist to make a full team!

YOU p***k!

Injured to the extent that they can't take to the pitch? You can't do that. It's not allowed.

Incidentally several other teams (e.g. East Stirlingshire) fielded benches with fewer than 5 players last season, which is allowed. Count your blessings and all that.

Again: dry your eyes. 7 first team regulars, a couple of guys with first team experience with Forfar... that's not an injury crisis.

Maybe getting the club captain and another guy sent off might also have contributed towards an embarassing 8-0 defeat, ever think about that one?
Gnash

If I was a Forfar fan I would be directing my anger at your useless management team. But fine, have a go at one of the few people who is looking at this issue objectively. blink.gif
Swampy
Incidentally, why is Pat Nevin's word being taken as gospel here?

Does anyone think he could name 5 Forfar players?

I like Pat Nevin, I like his insight into the national team for example, but I don't see why his opinion on Forfar is any more valid than mine.
HOMBRE
Don't see what all the fuss is about, we asked for the game to be called off and it was'nt. We sent out a team full of injured players and got humped 8 bleesh! The most annoying thing is we now have 2 suspended for the next game. The club has cut back this season, and now we are paying the price for it. At the start of the season i think we all knew something like this was goin to happen, of course we could have signed another 20 players and put the club in serious debt and ended up like a Thistle, Dundee, Livyy...etc, but at least that would have stopped everyone else from moaning about it??? smile.gif
Duracell Bunny
Could the Forfar managment have forseen this happening?

The chances of this happening is rare, Middlesbrough had the same problem a few season ago and they have a far bigger squad than Forfar.

Game should never have went ahead with the situation Forfar were in FACT.
Gnash
QUOTE(Steven @ Sep 30 2006, 19:20) [snapback]1212538[/snapback]

Game should never have went ahead with the situation Forfar were in FACT.

No, that's not a FACT that's an opinion. An illogical one at that.
nofixedability
QUOTE(Swampy @ Sep 30 2006, 18:50) [snapback]1212473[/snapback]

No swampy, it would be deeply hypocritical of me if I had ever said I thought the match should have been called off which I haven't. As far as I can see only 1 Forfar fan on here has said that it should have been called off.

My comments were meant as a reposte to gnashers accountants implication that Forfar should have gone deeper into debt so they had a squad of over 19 players and that other teams would suffer because of it. A number of teams bigger than us have risked their clubs existence to go into debt employing players they can't afford and I would rather than mine not do that any more - if that leads to 8-0 versus perhead today then so be it the club will still be there next season.

And if any fan wants to blame that result for not getting promotion at the end of the first quarter of fixtures they can't have much faith in their own team can they?

And I agree with your thoughts on Pat Nevin. The game should have been on, it was on and Forfar got a hiding, believe me my eyes don't need drying, the only people who emerge from it with any degree of respect are Peterhead (and their fans on here) who kept their counsil and got on with the job at hand.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Gnasher's accountant @ Sep 30 2006, 19:24) [snapback]1212545[/snapback]

No, that's not a FACT that's an opinion. An illogical one at that.

How cause you werent in that situation?

The score today proves it should never went ahead, this could be the result that leads to Forfar going down as two players now suspended, maybe a few of the injured players injuries will have been aggravated.

Cant some football fans think outside the box?
Cabbage
Why on earth dont Forfar have reserve/youth teams any more? They did a few years ago...
Swampy
QUOTE(nofixedability @ Sep 30 2006, 19:24) [snapback]1212547[/snapback]

No swampy, it would be deeply hypocritical of me if I had ever said I thought the match should have been called off which I haven't. As far as I can see only 1 Forfar fan on here has said that it should have been called off.

That is a fair point and I apologise for tarring you with the same brush.

My comments were meant as a reposte to gnashers accountants implication that Forfar should have gone deeper into debt so they had a squad of over 19 players and that other teams would suffer because of it. A number of teams bigger than us have risked their clubs existence to go into debt employing players they can't afford and I would rather than mine not do that any more - if that leads to 8-0 versus perhead today then so be it the club will still be there next season.

And if any fan wants to blame that result for not getting promotion at the end of the first quarter of fixtures they can't have much faith in their own team can they?

And I agree with your thoughts on Pat Nevin. The game should have been on, it was on and Forfar got a hiding, believe me my eyes don't need drying, the only people who emerge from it with any degree of respect are Peterhead (and their fans on here) who kept their counsil and got on with the job at hand.

Very good post biggrin.gif
kullibino
QUOTE(nofixedability @ Sep 30 2006, 19:24) [snapback]1212547[/snapback]

We have Steve Boyack and Chris Malseed signed but both yet to play for us, SB is on £1 a wee and Malseed is at Uni over here and I imagine will be on expenses. Could you stretch to a couple of wild deals such as these?
Cowden Cowboy
Forfar should stop whining. If you don't have enough fit, signed players then tough - that's the way it goes. It's a slippery slope once you let clubs start getting matches postponed due to a certain number of injuries and the fact that they chose not to have more back up resource. Once you start postponing games for this reason they'll all be at it then. Friendly club doctors signing to say players are injured when it suits. I have sympathy for Forfar's plight but can't criticise the League's decision.
blueprint
Why did the loons not try and cheat there way out of it like raith did, did you here about there temporary emergency transfer saga ? Seemingly, three of there players were out injured (mostly strikers) so tey were allowed to bring in a guy from hearts. However, when there team was announced all the injured players had recovered and the loan guy was on the bench. Cheating b*****ds still got beat though !!!
Vloon
Ach weel! this is an opinions thuing and i suppose we all have our opinions, but i ws argueing my opinion which, to be fair in the current situation, is a quite valid 1, but i have to say when i read the opinions on the managment not doing the best, i have to agree, its their duty to keep them fit, and they are failing at that, i apologise if i tryed to demine any1 elses opinion, when possibly it was more VALID than mine, not to say more important but a more valid 1!
Cabbage
QUOTE(Cabbage @ Sep 30 2006, 19:29) [snapback]1212555[/snapback]

Why on earth dont Forfar have reserve/youth teams any more? They did a few years ago...

In case folk missed this...
Swampy
QUOTE(Vloon @ Sep 30 2006, 19:53) [snapback]1212592[/snapback]

Ach weel! this is an opinions thuing and i suppose we all have our opinions, but i ws argueing my opinion which, to be fair in the current situation, is a quite valid 1, but i have to say when i read the opinions on the managment not doing the best, i have to agree, its their duty to keep them fit, and they are failing at that, i apologise if i tryed to demine any1 elses opinion, when possibly it was more VALID than mine, not to say more important but a more valid 1!

You're clearly a bigger man than I, coz I think my opinion is the most valid and important in the world biggrin.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(blueprint @ Sep 30 2006, 19:51) [snapback]1212586[/snapback]

Why did the loons not try and cheat there way out of it like raith did, did you here about there temporary emergency transfer saga ? Seemingly, three of there players were out injured (mostly strikers) so tey were allowed to bring in a guy from hearts. However, when there team was announced all the injured players had recovered and the loan guy was on the bench. Cheating b*****ds still got beat though !!!

You really are a dickhead arent you rolleyes.gif How are we cheating b*****ds?

It's just a name for a way for clubs to loan players outwith the transfer window, get a fucking grip.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Cowden Cowboy @ Sep 30 2006, 19:39) [snapback]1212570[/snapback]

Forfar should stop whining. If you don't have enough fit, signed players then tough - that's the way it goes. It's a slippery slope once you let clubs start getting matches postponed due to a certain number of injuries and the fact that they chose not to have more back up resource. Once you start postponing games for this reason they'll all be at it then. Friendly club doctors signing to say players are injured when it suits. I have sympathy for Forfar's plight but can't criticise the League's decision.

I do agree with that point, could start a trend where clubs could get games put back where they have a few players suspended and say it's cause they have players injured etc etc.

It would create a situation where clubs could try and get a game off for any number of reasons and use "the Forfar situation" as a reason why they should as well, but still today's score proves the game should never have went ahead.
blueprint
Steven, my dearest friend of a dickhead why should your tinky team be allowed to bend the rules but the loons who have a genuine problem be denied.

PS You are a complete fud by the way, and yes that was personal and against the rules, however you did start the naughtiness and I do have all night to play with you smelly boy.

Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(blueprint @ Sep 30 2006, 20:26) [snapback]1212653[/snapback]

Steven, my dearest friend of a dickhead why should your tinky team be allowed to bend the rules but the loons who have a genuine problem be denied.

PS You are a complete fud by the way, and yes that was personal and against the rules, however you did start the naughtiness and I do have all night to play with you smelly boy.

Okay so how did we bend the rules if we signed him according to the rules rolleyes.gif