edinbugercowden
Sep 18 2006, 18:36
When is the scottish cup draw for the 1st round and what 2nd div teams will be in it if any. Thanks
RedWeb
Sep 18 2006, 18:43
Dunno when the draw is but the non-league sides who have qualified are:
North
Deveronvale
Fraserburgh
Buckie Thistle or Wick Academy
Keith.
South
Preston Athletic or Dalbeattie Star
Hawick Royal Albert or Edinburgh City
Threave Rovers or Spartans or Annan Athletic
Vale of Leithen or Edinburgh University
boardroomshuffler
Sep 18 2006, 18:44
Vale or edinburgh uni away please
All Third division, Second Division and non league teams will be in the first and second round draws. However the majority of clubs will get a bye for Round One. I believe the draw is to happen when all non league teams have been finalised. So I would expect it some time next month.
Tonsilitis
Sep 18 2006, 19:37
I don't know why we bother listening to it. We always get a diddy non league team in round one, Ayr United away in round two and thereafter no further interest!!!
Raving On
Sep 18 2006, 20:16
I would love a trip through to Edinburgh Uni to see the Binos at Peffermill
Should there be more non league sides in it?
Jimmy MCcabe
Sep 18 2006, 20:21
Wick Academy away, bound to get publicity because of the distance and could be a cracking day out.
cowdenbeath
Sep 18 2006, 20:27
Qualifying Cup semi finals are on Saturday 15th October the draw will probarly be on the following Monday.
cowdenbeath
Sep 18 2006, 20:29
QUOTE(boardroomshuffler @ Sep 18 2006, 19:44) [snapback]1197749[/snapback]
Vale or edinburgh uni away please
What not wanting another trip to Spartans
bluetooner
Sep 18 2006, 21:17
QUOTE(cowdenbeath @ Sep 18 2006, 16:27) [snapback]1197912[/snapback]
Qualifying Cup semi finals are on Saturday 15th October the draw will probarly be on the following Monday.
Qualifying cup semi finals make no difference to the draw as far as i know
Captain Kerthorse
Sep 18 2006, 21:23
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Sep 18 2006, 19:43) [snapback]1197746[/snapback]
North
Wick Academy
QUOTE(Big Loon @ Sep 18 2006, 22:23) [snapback]1198038[/snapback]
I wouldn't get too excited just yet, I fully expect Buckie to go through.
AJM2711
Sep 18 2006, 21:55
Would love Buckie away. My mate plays for them (Paul Lamberton) and there's loads of pubs.
Will probably get a third division team and get knocked out again.
We haven't been past the third round since we beat hibs at eater road in January 1998.
Monster
Sep 19 2006, 11:39
Any team we don't have to play in a replay is fine with me, thus avoiding the 'my poor wee lambs are too tired to win league games' pish we have had so far.
LoonsYouthTeam
Sep 19 2006, 13:32
In terms of the trip any Highland team would be good, but would be a hard fixture.
Threave was great last year but cant see them getting past Spartans
SimonLichtie
Sep 19 2006, 13:55
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Sep 18 2006, 19:43) [snapback]1197746[/snapback]
Dunno when the draw is but the non-league sides who have qualified are:
North
Deveronvale
Fraserburgh
Buckie Thistle or Wick Academy
Keith.
South
Preston Athletic or Dalbeattie Star
Hawick Royal Albert or Edinburgh City
Threave Rovers or Spartans or Annan Athletic
Vale of Leithen or Edinburgh University
Wick, Deveronvale or Keith away please!
cowdenbeath
Sep 19 2006, 14:57
QUOTE(bluetooner @ Sep 18 2006, 22:17) [snapback]1198014[/snapback]
Qualifying cup semi finals make no difference to the draw as far as i know

They normally have the draw the Monday after the semis BT.
bluetooner
Sep 19 2006, 16:11
QUOTE(cowdenbeath @ Sep 19 2006, 10:57) [snapback]1198653[/snapback]
They normally have the draw the Monday after the semis BT.
OK, i thought it was after all the teams were confirmed
Gordon Silvestro
Sep 20 2006, 13:22
QUOTE(bryantonfan @ Sep 18 2006, 21:19) [snapback]1197888[/snapback]
Should there be more non league sides in it?
I think they should let more non league sides take part in the first round and have a lot less byes myself
LoonsYouthTeam
Sep 20 2006, 20:16
QUOTE(Gordon Silvestro @ Sep 20 2006, 14:22) [snapback]1199640[/snapback]
I think they should let more non league sides take part in the first round and have a lot less byes myself
Like your bye into the 3rd round?
AyrshireTon
Sep 20 2006, 20:23
We did Deveronvale, Keith and Buckie in a pre-season tour a few years ago.
Any of them will do, although Keith is my preferred option.
We'll probably get Ayr though.
Gaz_Laad
Sep 20 2006, 20:41
Hopefully a smaller team for us to play so we can actaully get somewhere in a cup this season. Mind u we had a smaller team lst season and still fukd up
Duracell Bunny
Sep 20 2006, 21:51
QUOTE(Gaz_Laad @ Sep 20 2006, 21:41) [snapback]1200277[/snapback]
Hopefully a smaller team for us to play so we can actaully get somewhere in a cup this season. Mind u we had a smaller team lst season and still fukd up

I think we will get past the second round for a change, then get one of the Old Firm in Glasgow and get a good pay day.
Works for me
SaltyTON
Sep 21 2006, 07:48
QUOTE(AyrshireTon @ Sep 20 2006, 21:23) [snapback]1200236[/snapback]
We did Deveronvale, Keith and Buckie in a pre-season tour a few years ago.
Any of them will do, although Keith is my preferred option.
We'll probably get Ayr though.

Not Buckie, we always drew 1-1 pre-season with them. Keith are pish we'd hammer them, Deveronvale have strikers but can't defend.
Scary Bear
Oct 13 2006, 11:12
QUOTE(cowdenbeath @ Sep 18 2006, 21:27) [snapback]1197912[/snapback]
Not long now. Who is in the first round draw? Are all the second division teams in it or do Stranraer and Brechin get a bye?
Will the draw not be on Saturday night, after the games?
Blue Moon
Oct 13 2006, 16:34
QUOTE(Scary Bear @ Oct 13 2006, 12:12) [snapback]1226639[/snapback]
Not long now. Who is in the first round draw? Are all the second division teams in it or do Stranraer and Brechin get a bye?
Will the draw not be on Saturday night, after the games?
No, unfortunately the former 1st division giants have to enter at the same stage as the diddy teams.
Scary Bear
Oct 13 2006, 16:39
QUOTE(Blue Moon @ Oct 13 2006, 17:34) [snapback]1227376[/snapback]
No, unfortunately the former 1st division giants have to enter at the same stage as the diddy teams.

Are Edinburgh City still in the draw? I think they play at Meadowbank...that would be good for me. Fall out my bed and i'm there.
blueone
Oct 14 2006, 21:50
Draw is to be made apparently on Thursday the 19th October.
Edit to add non league qualifiers
Buckie Thistle
Deveronvale
Fraserburgh
Keith
Annan Athletic
Edinburgh City
Edinburgh University
Preston Athletic
boardroomshuffler
Oct 15 2006, 10:14
Thursday it is and the first place to find it will be on here no doubt.
The usual low key approach in what should be a major event ,another f**k up by the timelords with the papers going super exclusive with Rangers player orders small fries at Burger King.
The Sun Newspaper does deserve credit though for offering fans half price coupons for the first two rounds so i hope that continues.
Another trick missed by our glorious leaders ,why can the 1st and 2nd round draws not be made live on BBC Scotland/STV ,i mean its not to time consuming ,that idea may be a bit to far fetched for the idiots.
Monster
Oct 15 2006, 10:33
Please please please can we get Annan Athletic away?
Please?
Another weekend there won't make my liver happy, but....hey.
boardroomshuffler
Oct 15 2006, 12:44
There is nothing attractive about Annan.
The Lino Lickers away please.
QUOTE(igor @ Oct 15 2006, 13:49) [snapback]1229431[/snapback]
The Lino Lickers away please.
I'd go for that. Would be a good game.
Peterhead Dave
Oct 15 2006, 21:16
Edinburgh Uni, thanks
AyrDelighted
Oct 15 2006, 22:08
I predict we'll draw either Dumbarton, Stirling or Morton.
stranraer blue
Oct 16 2006, 15:56
A trip to Annan or any other non league team would do me always enjoy a game against the unexpected or going to a ground where you stand on the side lines beside the managers.
Whitehill Welfare for us a good few year back was a classic day!! but you always want to be in the hat come the third round along with the so called big boys!
GavMan_AUFC_1910
Oct 16 2006, 23:19
We will be at home to Montrose or Morton.
doulikefish
Oct 17 2006, 07:59
fraserbourgh away for us please!!
SaltyTON
Oct 17 2006, 08:14
Edinburgh Uni at home would be an easy start
Monster
Oct 17 2006, 08:36
I reckon the worst draw we could have is home to somebody like Stenhousemuir or Arbroath. At home we are so negative and invite teams on to us and that could spell disaster if it's a team playing well in their division.
If it's away anywhere i'd be confident as we can hit teams on the break and destroy them.
I wouldn't mind a bye though....
QUOTE(Monster @ Oct 17 2006, 09:36) [snapback]1231352[/snapback]
I wouldn't mind a bye though....

You canny get us again
midTONs
Oct 17 2006, 09:13
Highland league team away for me
kullibino
Oct 17 2006, 09:26
Just happy to avoid playing a team from our league.
Bogs_Dollox
Oct 17 2006, 17:50
QUOTE(midTONs @ Oct 17 2006, 10:13) [snapback]1231385[/snapback]
Highland league team away for me
ditto , yes please
Steak & Barley
Oct 17 2006, 19:07
face it kiddies - we've got Ayr
blue boy stranraer
Oct 17 2006, 20:50
Would like a trip 2 annan not 2 far away and a good social club, knowing r luck from the last 2 seasons we will play a team that we allready meet 4 times a season, last season dundee and the season b4 ayr away then a replay
Mon_The_Fife
Oct 17 2006, 22:34
Beware the 3rd division giants
Would love Raith at Starks Park or a trip to the highlands again. Huntly was a good trip 2 seasons ago.
Martin Nelson
Oct 17 2006, 23:53
I think Rovers should withdraw from the competition. We will only embarrass ourselves anyway.
Duracell Bunny
Oct 18 2006, 13:54
QUOTE(Martin Nelson @ Oct 18 2006, 00:53) [snapback]1232638[/snapback]
I think Rovers should withdraw from the competition. We will only embarrass ourselves anyway.
Surely we will have a half decent run this year
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.