Full Version: Favourite Away Ground In Div 2
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Big_Andy
For me, Forfar, cause its terraced, and you get shit hot bridies! tongue.gif
bubbaTON
might be a shithole but Somerset.
BIGQ FAE KDY
Mines is peterhead as its no a bad wee ground with an excellent social club set up where if the fitba is rank you dont have far to go for a pint. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Steak & Barley
Glebe Park for me. Tidy wee ground, nice setting and a cracking chippie just outside.
fifesfinestkenny
mine would have to be Forfar laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif just for the bridies:D laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

oh yes cany beat a forfar bridie likes
roland sausage
QUOTE(fifesfinestkenny @ Sep 15 2006, 21:17) [snapback]1194454[/snapback]

mine would have to be Forfar laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif just for the bridies:D laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

oh yes cany beat a forfar bridie likes

I knew you were gonna say that before i even read yer post laugh.gif biggrin.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(southstander @ Sep 15 2006, 21:19) [snapback]1194461[/snapback]

I knew you were gonna say that before i even read yer post laugh.gif biggrin.gif

Yeah he has a one track mind, always thinking about his belly laugh.gif
Blue Moon
Probably Forfar. Nice tidy wee ground and great quality catering.
MIFTHEBINO
Somerset for me,closely followed by Cappielow.
RosscoTon
Somerset without a doubt. The banter at the segregation fence reminds me of the old Cappielow. Excellent stuff and always look forward to it. Only if the pie stall wasn't for millionaires.
GavMan_AUFC_1910
QUOTE(gmfc_rossco_1874 @ Sep 16 2006, 00:55) [snapback]1194708[/snapback]

Somerset without a doubt. The banter at the segregation fence reminds me of the old Cappielow. Excellent stuff and always look forward to it. Only if the pie stall wasn't for millionaires.

laugh.gif Somerset must have the best toilets for away fans too!! wink.gif
Monster
San Starko for me.

Great view from the away stand, always a good run up there and we usually get a result.

Rovers fans are alright as well.

We're going to the Recs today and that would be my second choice. I love that place, a proper old school fitba' ground.
StewartyMac
Balmoor, no question.

For purely drink reasons of course, after all, thats what an away trip's all about. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Monster
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Sep 16 2006, 09:48) [snapback]1194797[/snapback]

Balmoor, no question.

For purely drink reasons of course, after all, thats what an away trip's all about. laugh.gif laugh.gif

Is your eyesight failing in yer auld age? wink.gif

Look at the topic heading: Favourite away GROUND.

Drink is not mentioned tongue.gif
MTJ
QUOTE(Monster @ Sep 16 2006, 08:55) [snapback]1194769[/snapback]

I love that place, a proper old school fitba' ground.

Proper shitehole more like.
cowdenbeath
Voted for Forfar hope I still like it come 4.45 biggrin.gif also like Brechin, Stirling which is one of the better new grounds and Alloa.
Cliche Guevara
I have to say there's not a ground I don't like apart from Cappielow - but only because we have to sit in that awful main stand now. The benches behind the nets used to be one of my favourite away experiences. I reckon a few Morton fans are voting for their own ground on this one, as I can't believe anybody has it as their favourite!

Forthbank loses points as you can't watch from behind the goal. Do they ever open that funny bit of terracing?
rw89
Forfar for the bridies...no question really
RedWeb
QUOTE(Alun @ Sep 16 2006, 11:31) [snapback]1194893[/snapback]

Forthbank loses points as you can't watch from behind the goal. Do they ever open that funny bit of terracing?

Aye....but only when big teams come to town ph34r.gif

The only reason we have the terracing is because without it the ground wouldn't have been big enough to qualify for some SFA grant. We therefore stuck on a few rows of terracing at each end to make sure our capacity was over the required number. Even though we rarely use it it's nice to have the option and it does make the ground feel a bit more complete than some of the one stand jobs you get these days.

PaulC smile.gif
Cliche Guevara
so what's it like then Morton fans?
Guinness_Alan
QUOTE(Monster @ Sep 16 2006, 10:31) [snapback]1194841[/snapback]

Aye, but the pubs are an integral part of the whole away day experience. nologo.gif

Basically, I like grounds with terracing, and hate all seated grounds. No particular favourite, but if I had to pick one from this division it would be Forfar.
Gnash
I quite like Cappielow other than the unbelievably cramped seating and the horrific music.
moneton!!!
Forfar. Bridies and a great view from the big terracing (behind the far away goal once you enter the ground).
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Monster @ Sep 16 2006, 10:31) [snapback]1194841[/snapback]

Well, it should be laugh.gif
soapy
After todays result it has to be Recreation Park!

But seriously I like any ground that does not have segregation, its good to have banter with the oposition fans but I realise that this is not possible at most grounds in Scotland.
Bryan
QUOTE(Alun @ Sep 16 2006, 11:41) [snapback]1194907[/snapback]

so what's it like then Morton fans?

We used it once.....
wearealldoomed
Somerset for me, although I like the atmosphere in Cappielow too.

See you chaps next season, Morton excepted. ph34r.gif
LoonsYouthTeam
Peterhead is good for away games. The ground is decent and I like the close proximity behind the goals, still laugh at the thought of Paul "Alien heid" Mathers!
BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!!!!!!
i like brechin, its a tidy wee park an has the "hedge"

forthbank is not bad either and the stands are built the way stair parks should of been

balmoor is tidy as well and always a good day out beerchug.gif
froggybinos
Forfar nae qualms
froggybinos
Forthbank, 6 votes, yer haying a laugh, sad Binos fans voting for there own...though ams ure there not the only ones.
cowdenbeath
QUOTE(froggybinos @ Sep 17 2006, 21:37) [snapback]1196865[/snapback]

Forthbank, 6 votes, yer haying a laugh, sad Binos fans voting for there own...though ams ure there not the only ones.

And 4 for Central Park ohmy.gif
Dunc
QUOTE(cowdenbeath @ Sep 17 2006, 21:43) [snapback]1196881[/snapback]

And 4 for Central Park ohmy.gif

ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

Glebe Park has the hedge, Central Park feels like it should have the Berlin Wall! laugh.gif

My favourite away ground... Alloa probably, but then I haven't visited Forfar or Peterhead, which seem to be other people's favourites.
McB
Probably Station Park (bridies + no segregation biggrin.gif ), though tbh I like most of the grounds in the second, with the exception of Stair Park ph34r.gif

Forthbank is not bad as new identikit lego stadia go, but I prefer terracing.

Have still never managed to Balmoor or Central Park, hopefully that'll change this season.
JonaTon
I voted for Forthbank. I've always liked it for some reason, maybe because I have a soft spot for Stirling Albion and I don't mind Stirling the City either. It's also a wee bit different from most other 'new' seated stadiums.

My first visit was about 97/98 maybe. Morton went 2 -0 up Duffield and Mahood only for Albion to score two near the end. One from Landry Zahani-Oni.

QUOTE(Alun @ Sep 16 2006, 10:31) [snapback]1194893[/snapback]

QUOTE(RedWeb @ Sep 16 2006, 10:39) [snapback]1194904[/snapback]

Aye....but only when big teams come to town ph34r.gif

Another reason would be because on of my favourite away games ever was played there. 2002/03 Morton looked like they had lost any chance of the 3rd Division. Got ourselves back in it in the last few games but the 3-0 win we got at Forthbank when they opened the terrace to let us cram in behind the goal (see quotes above wink.gif ) seemed to be the moment we realised we would win it. Everything just seemed to fall into place.

GoRdY_b
Voted for the Recs purely because it eventually will be the loss of a bygone age as well as being a good place for an away win wink.gif The pies are extremely acceptable as well!
Naked Chef
Peterhead - Mainly because its 20 minutes away when raith play rather than travelling to Starks from Aberdeen biggrin.gif
Tomsk The Beano
Station Park by miles, been a big fan of it since my fist visit back in 19canteen.

The worst in the league is Cappielow, a god forsaken hovel in the arse end of nowhere.
Whistle Blower
I canae decide between Station Park, with the best terrace in scottish football at the non market end, and Somerset Park (5 mins fae the hoose) but a throw back to grounds I remember fae ma youth.
Robbo
and Somerset Park (5 mins fae the hoose) but a throw back to grounds I remember fae ma youth.

Good memory have we? wink.gif
Whistle Blower
QUOTE(Robbo @ Sep 18 2006, 12:21) [snapback]1197273[/snapback]

Good memory have we? wink.gif

Must do, I can remember the rovers winning there
Klaus Nomi
QUOTE(Alun @ Sep 16 2006, 11:31) [snapback]1194893[/snapback]

I have to say there's not a ground I don't like apart from Cappielow - but only because we have to sit in that awful main stand now. The benches behind the nets used to be one of my favourite away experiences. I reckon a few Morton fans are voting for their own ground on this one, as I can't believe anybody has it as their favourite!

Why on earth would you not beleive anyone would have Cappielow as their fav ground - I agree that the Stand is a bit of a nightmare due to poor leg romm, but it is a tidy ground with good atmosphere and an great playing surface.
Klaus Nomi
QUOTE(Tomsk The Beano @ Sep 18 2006, 09:44) [snapback]1197149[/snapback]

Station Park by miles, been a big fan of it since my fist visit back in 19canteen.

The worst in the league is Cappielow, a god forsaken hovel in the arse end of nowhere.

huh.gif

Sound like you havn't been to many football grounds in Scotland.
Tomsk The Beano
QUOTE(Klaus Nomi @ Sep 18 2006, 13:39) [snapback]1197350[/snapback]

huh.gif

Sound like you havn't been to many football grounds in Scotland.

Only been to 35 current grounds and another 10 or so defunct ones and Cappielow is my least favourite ground out of the lot, haven't liked it since the first time I went there back in circa 1985 when Morton were in the Premier League.
Double Jack D
QUOTE(Tomsk The Beano @ Sep 18 2006, 14:21) [snapback]1197394[/snapback]

Only been to 35 current grounds and another 10 or so defunct ones and Cappielow is my least favourite ground out of the lot, haven't liked it since the first time I went there back in circa 1985 when Morton were in the Premier League.

I would agree, thee are not many grounds I haven't been to and Mortons is up there with the worst of them. That bloody stand was surely designed for guys with no legs!

We always get beat there too ph34r.gif

Klaus Nomi
QUOTE(Tomsk The Beano @ Sep 18 2006, 14:21) [snapback]1197394[/snapback]

Why?

(So Cappielow is a worse ground than Central Park or Recreation Park for example {no disrespect to Cowden or Alloa})

I must admit that I enjoy going to every groung in Scotland (and as you say, many that are sadly no longer with us) - but why you would think that Cappielow is so bad is beyond me - jealousy I dare say. But everyone is entitled to their opinion.
Tomsk The Beano
QUOTE(Klaus Nomi @ Sep 18 2006, 14:37) [snapback]1197405[/snapback]

Why?

Cos I don't like it or Greenock, a festering blight on the face of Scotland.

why you would think that Cappielow is so bad is beyond me - jealousy I dare say.

laugh.gif laugh.gif Aye jealous of having a decrepit ground built for midgets in the arse end of nowhere. rolleyes.gif

But everyone is entitled to their opinion.

Indeed they are and Cappielow is my least favourite ground.
Klaus Nomi
QUOTE(Tomsk The Beano @ Sep 18 2006, 14:44) [snapback]1197409[/snapback]

Cos I don't like it or Greenock, a festering blight on the face of Scotland.
laugh.gif laugh.gif Aye jealous of having a decrepit ground built for midgets in the arse end of nowhere. rolleyes.gif

Youre mabe right - a couple of shoe box no charecter plastic stands in the middle of nowhere is probably better than a traditional football ground with a bit of history.

Tomsk The Beano
QUOTE(Klaus Nomi @ Sep 18 2006, 14:47) [snapback]1197416[/snapback]

Youre mabe right - a couple of shoe box no charecter plastic stands in the middle of nowhere is probably better than a traditional football ground with a bit of history.

Compared to Cappielow, YES! laugh.gif
Klaus Nomi
QUOTE(Tomsk The Beano @ Sep 18 2006, 14:52) [snapback]1197423[/snapback]

Compared to Cappielow, YES! laugh.gif

Yep, wouldn't be great if every ground in Scotland was a little plastic box, all identical with no atmosphere and no history. I'm not so sure?

(Bring back the likes of Douglas Park etc. I say)

However, enjoy your football in you little faceless box and I'll see you next time the Ton come to visit