Full Version: Challenge Cup Draw Semi Final.....
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
TONFAN1986
Morton away to Clyde
Ross county at home to Albion

teekasule
QUOTE(TONFAN1986 @ Sep 14 2006, 15:19) [snapback]1192361[/snapback]

Morton away to Clyde
ROVERS ! not Albion .....
agd
QUOTE(TONFAN1986 @ Sep 14 2006, 15:19) [snapback]1192361[/snapback]

Morton away to Clyde

Looks like the final will be at broomfield again this year - only if Ross County slip up.
diamonds2002
good luck to the Albion
thejailender
Best possible draw for us, however Albion tongue.gif did beat Partick in the earlier rounds so it won't be a walk over, and Alloa have already proven we are able to be beaten by lower league teams this year.

As for the final if we get there, it has to be Perth again just to shorten our travel time, and make it more equal travel time for both teams
Monster
Would be great to see the Albion Rovers in a Final.

As for Morton, i suggest your players take protective headgear....... ph34r.gif
McB
Where is Broadwood, anyway? Cumbernauld? blink.gif
thefamousphilosifer
QUOTE(LauraMcB @ Sep 14 2006, 15:46) [snapback]1192409[/snapback]
Where is Broadwood, anyway? Cumbernauld? blink.gif

Yes
Mon The Clyde
Morton at Broadwood, could have been worse!
Whistle Blower
Diddy cup, please move to diddy forum
Deco
Not too bothered with this draw. This will be my first trip to Broadwood, I was just a nipper when we last travelled.

If we play to our potential then I can't really see Clyde stopping us, but it will definitely be a tough game.

I am looking forward to it.
midTONs
QUOTE(Monster @ Sep 14 2006, 15:44) [snapback]1192405[/snapback]

As for Morton, i suggest your players take protective headgear....... ph34r.gif

Your one sick fucker, you never fail to amaze me. I would love you to come out with a comment like that whilst you stood next to me in a pub.

brains
QUOTE(thejailender @ Sep 14 2006, 15:32) [snapback]1192383[/snapback]

Best possible draw for us, however Albion tongue.gif did beat Partick in the earlier rounds so it won't be a walk over, and Alloa have already proven we are able to be beaten by lower league teams this year.

As for the final if we get there, it has to be Perth again just to shorten our travel time, and make it more equal travel time for both teams

do not count your chickens!!!!!!
brains
QUOTE(Whistle Blower @ Sep 14 2006, 15:55) [snapback]1192428[/snapback]

you are just the diddy to do it! ya bawbag
Gareth
QUOTE(midTONs @ Sep 14 2006, 16:02) [snapback]1192450[/snapback]

Your one sick fucker, you never fail to amaze me. I would love you to come out with a comment like that whilst you stood next to me in a pub.

Im pretty sure that comment isnt related to the incident with the Hamilton player, but rather with the numerous occasions a Clyde player led with his elbow on tuesday night when we played them.

Just to clear that up before you go attacking people in pubs...
teekasule
QUOTE(Whistle Blower @ Sep 14 2006, 15:55) [snapback]1192428[/snapback]

only a diddy cup if yer no in it !
Buddie Holly

Chill out Fanny Face wink.gif
midTONs
QUOTE(Buddie Holly @ Sep 14 2006, 17:50) [snapback]1192603[/snapback]

Chill out Fanny Face wink.gif

ho ho santa flaps,
Ayrgirl

You'd run a mile mate.......6ft 5 - built like a brick shit house....... dry.gif

he meant morton players would need protection as clyde kicked Ayr all over the park on tuesday......
midTONs
QUOTE(ayrgirl @ Sep 14 2006, 18:19) [snapback]1192638[/snapback]

You'd run a mile mate.......6ft 5 - built like a brick shit house....... dry.gif

he meant morton players would need protection as clyde kicked Ayr all over the park on tuesday......

run a mile laugh.gif aye ok
StewartyMac
QUOTE(diamonds2002 @ Sep 14 2006, 15:30) [snapback]1192377[/snapback]

good luck to the Albion

Thanks but wishing us luck for a tournament we're not in is a tad silly. ph34r.gif
Ayrgirl
QUOTE(midTONs @ Sep 14 2006, 18:27) [snapback]1192649[/snapback]

run a mile laugh.gif aye ok

Said from the comfort of behind a pc!
smithers-jones
2 bob tourney. I have it on good authority that this will be the last one (thank God) as teams are actually incurring losses in fulfilling their fixtures. Won't be missed.
kirkcaldybanjo111
Is broadwood big enough for the morton away support ? laugh.gif
brains
QUOTE(smithers-jones @ Sep 14 2006, 18:51) [snapback]1192688[/snapback]

2 bob tourney. I have it on good authority that this will be the last one (thank God) as teams are actually incurring losses in fulfilling their fixtures. Won't be missed.

well those of us who own our own stadium are doing ok from it, so keep your nose out of other folks success and try to get off the bottom of the league
SpoonTon
I'll never understand why fans would turn their nose up at winning a competition.
midTONs
QUOTE(ayrgirl @ Sep 14 2006, 18:36) [snapback]1192660[/snapback]

pm me wink.gif
LargsTON
QUOTE(ayrgirl @ Sep 14 2006, 18:19) [snapback]1192638[/snapback]

QUOTE(ayrgirl @ Sep 14 2006, 18:36) [snapback]1192660[/snapback]

midTONS certainly ain't the kind to hide, I can assure you. You'd be best letting that one go. Obviously a misunderstanding anyway. smile.gif

"6ft 5 - built like a brick shit house"

*translation*

Fat b*****d fell asleep in a greenhouse.

wink.gif
LargsTON
As for the draw.

Quite happy in that we avoided County away.

A huge Morton support should travel through, hopefully as much as 2,000.

Clyde don't seem to be the team they were last season so i'd expect us to shade it over 90mins. Had they kept last season's side together then i'd be more worried but I think we'll just have too much pace and firepower for them.

Pity I'll be sunning myself in Mexico as we book our place in the final.

cool.gif
bsd
QUOTE(LargsTON @ Sep 14 2006, 20:52) [snapback]1192852[/snapback]

midTONS certainly ain't the kind to hide, I can assure you. You'd be best letting that one go. Obviously a misunderstanding anyway. smile.gif

"6ft 5 - built like a brick shit house"

*translation*

Fat b*****d fell asleep in a greenhouse.

wink.gif

I'd back the Monster any day. Quality poster. What odds do you think I'd get? smile.gif

As you say, sounds like a misunderstanding. I think Midtons was a bit off the mark with his post though.

LargsTON
QUOTE(bsd @ Sep 14 2006, 20:59) [snapback]1192868[/snapback]

I'd back the Monster any day. Quality poster. What odds do you think I'd get? smile.gif

As you say, sounds like a misunderstanding. I think Midtons was a bit off the mark with his post though.

He is a quality poster right enough. biggrin.gif

Just don't fancy his chances with midTONs. I'll give you 5/1 against the "brick shit house."

ph34r.gif

Steak & Barley
Draw could have been worse ie Ross Cty away. Should be a good contest with a fair bit of blood and guts.

Hope it's on the Wednesday.

Monster
Eh.......what have i missed? unsure.gif

It's a misunderstanding (obviously rolleyes.gif ). The incident against Hamilton the boy was caught accidentally in the windpipe. Which part of the head is that on that would require head protection?? huh.gif

I was referring to the fondness certain Clyde players have for elbowing the opposition constantly in the back of the head. When they weren't doing that they were falling over. Then one gave it the 'get it right up ye!' gesture at the final whistle. Then one of their fans on the way out tutted at me moaning to the wife about Kenny Clark, gave me the daggers, waited until he was 100 yards away in the car park and began to jump up and down giving it the 'come ahead' arms apart stance, while his bint and toddler son looked on(presumably in admiration, who can say?)

A thoroughly depressing windswept plastic fantastic pit to have the misfortune of visiting. I haven't enjoyed a Tuesday evening quite so much since i last had my boils lanced.dry.gif

MidTon would kill me. I lived in Greenock - they folk have razor blades melted into their knuckles at birth, and thats just the girls..... ph34r.gif
Steak & Barley
biggrin.gif

Whistle Blower
brains' date='Sep 14 2006, 16:26' post='1192484']
you are just the diddy to do it! ya bawbag

Poster in living up to their username shocker laugh.gif
TONFAN1986
QUOTE(teekasule @ Sep 14 2006, 15:22) [snapback]1192362[/snapback]

ROVERS ! not Albion .....

same difference mate huh.gif
BullyWee1878
QUOTE(LargsTON @ Sep 14 2006, 20:57) [snapback]1192863[/snapback]

As for the draw.

Quite happy in that we avoided County away.

A huge Morton support should travel through, hopefully as much as 2,000.

Clyde don't seem to be the team they were last season so i'd expect us to shade it over 90mins. Had they kept last season's side together then i'd be more worried but I think we'll just have too much pace and firepower for them.

I wasnt too confident about the Cup game with Morton but if we play like we did in the 2nd half today I think we could have too much for Morton, excellent passing and could see the confidence coming back to the players once we went in the lead.

Monster your team were total shite and stop trying to deflect attention away from that by having a go at the latest easy target to take shots at, your fans were giving him dogs abuse at the end, he quite rightly gives you the get it up ye sign and all your fans start greeting and running to the coppers ohh that bad boy made a sign at us.

If your gonna dish it out then learn to take it back, better watch what I say or your wife will come along and tell me off rolleyes.gif
roy of the rovers
QUOTE(TONFAN1986 @ Sep 15 2006, 13:40) [snapback]1193850[/snapback]

same difference mate huh.gif

Is it really you fan of Greenock? huh.gif

The semis I understand may be switched to Sunday 8th October as there are no league matches that weekend due to the Scotland v France game the Saturday.

An excellent idea if approved smile.gif

Mark Yardley to come out of retirement if it's Morton we're playing in the final! wink.gif
Steak & Barley
QUOTE(roy of the rovers @ Sep 16 2006, 19:58) [snapback]1195361[/snapback]

Mark Yardley to come out of retirement if it's Morton we're playing in the final! wink.gif

Can you afford the cost of crane hire unsure.gif
roy of the rovers
biggrin.gif
Monster
QUOTE(BullyWee1878 @ Sep 16 2006, 19:27) [snapback]1195318[/snapback]

Monster your team were total shite and stop trying to deflect attention away from that by having a go at the latest easy target to take shots at, your fans were giving him dogs abuse at the end, he quite rightly gives you the get it up ye sign and all your fans start greeting and running to the coppers ohh that bad boy made a sign at us.

If your gonna dish it out then learn to take it back, better watch what I say or your wife will come along and tell me off rolleyes.gif

The only easy target were our players heids.

He got dogs abuse for his conduct. Quite rightly. If you want to behave like a thug on a football pitch the opposition fans are going to shout at you. Put your petted lip away. Interesting to note you approve of the players gesture. Seems there is a distasteful culture on AND off the pitch at Clyde FC currently. You must be so proud.....

It seems to me that you are the bitter one here, not me. wink.gif
JonaTon
Looking forward going back to Broadwood I haven't been there since 2000/01 I think it was. My favourite Morton matches at Broadwood actually involved Airdrie when they were groundsharing there.

The only draw that I would have said I would have 'feared' would have been Ross County away. I haven't seen Clyde this season so I can't comment on them but if we play the way we were playing post-Stirling Albion I am confident we could get a result against most first division clubs. I still expect a really tough game though.

I'm confident we can win this competition but then again I said that before we played St. Mirren in last seasons semi-final sad.gif .

I'd expect Ross County to come through their tie but they'll have to cope with the goal scoring machine Scott Chaplain.
mcclyde
QUOTE(Monster @ Sep 17 2006, 08:21) [snapback]1195939[/snapback]

The only easy target were our players heids.

He got dogs abuse for his conduct. Quite rightly. If you want to behave like a thug on a football pitch the opposition fans are going to shout at you. Put your petted lip away. Interesting to note you approve of the players gesture. Seems there is a distasteful culture on AND off the pitch at Clyde FC currently. You must be so proud.....

It seems to me that you are the bitter one here, not me. wink.gif

Sad that you have to attack all things Clyde because you lost the game last week - truly pathetic.

There was hardly a bad tackle in the game, in fact the only bad thing WAS the game.

Have a pint to wash away the taste of sour grapes mate.
Monster
QUOTE(mcclyde @ Sep 20 2006, 23:43) [snapback]1200496[/snapback]

Sad that you have to attack all things Clyde because you lost the game last week - truly pathetic.

There was hardly a bad tackle in the game, in fact the only bad thing WAS the game.

Have a pint to wash away the taste of sour grapes mate.

So we lost in a diddy cup and removed our managers flimsy excuse as to why we get humped on a Saturday? Big deal.

Suppose if we'd won the game you wouldn't mind me drawing everyones attention to your thugs?

In other words, what's the result of a pishy game got to do with it?

I suspect there will be a few others posting the same about Clyde before long.....
ton5saints1
Clyde -v- Morton

Wednesday 27 September Broadwood Stadium

Admission prices for this match, being played on Wednesday 27th September, have now been confirmed as follows:

Adults: £12.00

Concession: £ 7.00

Parent & Child: £14.00

Under 18's: £5.00

Kick off for this match is 7.45pm.
Monster
QUOTE(ton5saints1 @ Sep 22 2006, 16:43) [snapback]1202508[/snapback]

Clyde -v- Morton

Wednesday 27 September Broadwood Stadium
Admission prices for this match, being played on Wednesday 27th September, have now been confirmed as follows:

Adults: £12.00

Concession: £ 7.00

Parent & Child: £14.00

Under 18's: £5.00

Kick off for this match is 7.45pm.

Notice the prices have gone up since the Quarter-Final.

Wouldn't have anything to do with Morton having a large following ripe for the plunder?

Shove yer EssPeeEll Junior up yer arses. mad.gif
SaltyTON
QUOTE(Monster @ Sep 23 2006, 08:45) [snapback]1203099[/snapback]

Notice the prices have gone up since the Quarter-Final.

Wouldn't have anything to do with Morton having a large following ripe for the plunder?

Shove yer EssPeeEll Junior up yer arses. mad.gif

The fact that we don't have to live on £3 a day tattie picking money as well, might have something to do with it. wink.gif