Full Version: Montrose 1 - 0 East Fife
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
Mon_The_Fife
A very disappointing performance by us today after the 5-0 against Shire last week and Montrose deserved to win but were just as poor as us.

We never played football like we have done recently and this hump up the park pish was not working, when we play football on the deck we get on better and have good footballers in the squad.

We tried to lift our team today but with no spark coming from the pitch we ran out of steam. Don't want to get on any players backs but to me Paul Ritchie is very poor for a player who has played at a higher level I expect a lot better. John Dodds had an absolute mare in goals and the sooner Ian Ross is back fit the better.

Hopefully this is a kick up the ass the players needed today and we are getting players back fit so Baikie can ring the changes for Berwick. Overall a pool game but I know we can play better. We were going to lose at some point, just hard to take against a poor Montrose side.

A good train journey back with the Air Show geeks getting on at Leuchars train station! tongue.gif
Monty Rose
Strange how when we win our opposition tell us how poor we were, yet when we lose or draw we're complimented for being a decent side. Stinks of sour grapes to me.

I thought our boys were excellent today and i can see the quality rise the more games we play.

The first half was pretty even and we can count ourselves a little fortunate to be ahead at the interval. The second half however, was a different story. I felt we dominated and should have ran out comfortable winners (3 or 4 would not have flattered us).
East fife battled gamely but were out-fought and out-thought. I don't think any of their fans will complain at the result. They had a decent support I thought, a bit crabbit though.

Particularly pleased with big Tawse standing in for the injured Higgins. The big man gives it his all and won't let us down through the lack of effort. Our midfield is as hard working as any I've seen. Donachie sits and lets Henslee and Adam go runaround and it creates a lot of openings which Rogers and Michie are more than capable of exploiting. John Adam covered every blade of grass today and was very unlucky not to get on the scoresheet on more than one occassion. Having said that we relied on a cracking Andy Reid tip-over in the dying seconds to grab us the win. We must learn to kill games off and avoid the inconvenience of minor heart attacks.

I know there are some bitter and cheesed off mo supporters out there coz of the whole Wolecki stramash but I'm sure they will agree that the level of player brought in this season is way above what we've been used to watching in recent seasons. I for one am happy to be watching this side and I remain very optimistic about our prospects this season. I think we'll be one of 4 or 5 teams in the hunt come the latter stages. Once Higgins and Davidson are fit it's going to be very competitive at LP. Our bench will be strong.

I look forward to Hampden next week with eager anticipation.
law
I feel sorry for you guys at montrose you have just got rid of one dud manager or assistant Wolecki and ended up with the pals act in charge, I think overall the squad is good and better than the last few years . Not suprised you got a result today but I think with a better manager you could possibly challenge for top spot.

Dont come back with how well Wolecki was doing as he was taking you to nowhere, and you new man will turn you into a Elgin.

great set up, good stadium, decent players, good supprt, Whats missing ?

Ps well done today
VillaKnollBoy
QUOTE(law @ Sep 10 2006, 01:23) [snapback]1185839[/snapback]

I feel sorry for you guys at montrose you have just got rid of one dud manager or assistant Wolecki and ended up with the pals act in charge, I think overall the squad is good and better than the last few years . Not suprised you got a result today but I think with a better manager you could possibly challenge for top spot.
Dont come back with how well Wolecki was doing as he was taking you to nowhere, and you new man will turn you into a Elgin.

Ps well done today

The 'o' in support is missing! biggrin.gif

Thanks for that, we have heard everybody's thoughts on the Wolecki regime/scenario, and as you say, with the better pool of players now seen @ LP, an idiot should be able to get results! Did I say that?
Our home form, may stand us in good stead for the season, if only our road trips prove half as successful, we should be there or thereabouts, I will wait and see.
Neilly
QUOTE(law @ Sep 10 2006, 01:23) [snapback]1185839[/snapback]

Ps well done today

This is the start of EF's fall to mid table mediocrity.

We will pish this league.

FACT.
Kierkegaard
QUOTE(Neilly @ Sep 10 2006, 06:14) [snapback]1185930[/snapback]

We will pish this league.
FACT.

Trying to think where I've heard this before, Neilly......
Mon_The_Fife
QUOTE(Monty Rose @ Sep 9 2006, 23:33) [snapback]1185758[/snapback]

Strange how when we win our opposition tell us how poor we were, yet when we lose or draw we're complimented for being a decent side. Stinks of sour grapes to me.

Simple, because you weren't good! No sour grapes, I've already said you were better than us and deserved to win yesterday which doesn't say very much about our performance. I think we needed that result yesterday though and brings the players back down to earth!
Neilly
QUOTE(Kierkegaard @ Sep 10 2006, 11:01) [snapback]1186046[/snapback]

Trying to think where I've heard this before, Neilly......

Very true but there is no Cowdenbeath in this league now and Berwick, despite them thinking their new team is better than last year, are worse and will finish mid table.

Simon's Arbroath World X1 are seemingly pish and Queen's Park can't finish their dinner.

It will be over by Christmas.
RobRover
QUOTE(Neilly @ Sep 10 2006, 11:22) [snapback]1186067[/snapback]

Very true but there is no Cowdenbeath in this league now and Berwick, despite them thinking their new team is better than last year, are worse and will finish mid table.

Simon's Arbroath World X1 are seemingly pish and Queen's Park can't finish their dinner.

It will be over by Christmas.

Bookmarked biggrin.gif
The Marquis of Montrose
Surprised by this - I thought East Fife would walk this game based on there form. Looking forward to next week now.
manic miner
We were crap, Montrose a little less crap, we lost, end of story.
tripod
Cant beleive the childish posts in here! biggrin.gif
Ok, we were THRASHED, HUMILIATED, GUBBED , TROUNCED, etc.... 1-0
What a resounding defeat. Our season is surely over. We will all wear sackcloth and ashes, and consume only gruel and water, as we are not worthy of the mighty Mintrose.
I shall now go and hang myself in shame.

There, does that make you feel better? rolleyes.gif
Gordon EF
Saturday was our worst performance of the season, Montrose were OK and probably capable of taking a play-off spot but I doubt they have a chance of winning the league. This league is close and nobody is going to get it all their own way, everybody has had at least one poor result after only 6 games.

Montrose have two strikers who can score goals, that was the difference between them and us. Paul Ritchie has looked well past it so far and I see Craig Smart more as an attacking midfielder than a striker. Our striker's inability to score is covered up when the defenders and midfielders are chipping in but when they don't it's obviously a big problem.

John Dodds' inability to kick the ball in a straight line was galling to watch all the way through the game and that was what cost us in the end. We had a few good chances to score and could easily have came away with a point or even 3 but we wouldn't have merited it for a performance like that.

The passion and energy from earlier games was totally missing today from most of the players and hopefully Dave Baikie will boot a few arses before Berwick on Saturday.
BLADES MAN
QUOTE(tripod @ Sep 11 2006, 00:12) [snapback]1187147[/snapback]

Cant beleive the childish posts in here! biggrin.gif
Ok, we were THRASHED, HUMILIATED, GUBBED , TROUNCED, etc.... 1-0
What a resounding defeat. Our season is surely over. We will all wear sackcloth and ashes, and consume only gruel and water, as we are not worthy of the mighty Mintrose.
I shall now go and hang myself in shame.

There, does that make you feel better? rolleyes.gif

Childish indeed ! It would be nice though, if Montrose were given a wee bit of credit when we do win. Without exception, it is because we are "a little bit less crap" than who we beat.

I thought Saturdays game was quite good, especially first half, when both sides had chances to score. As it was, it took a well constructed goal to win it, as well as a fantastic save from Andy Reid right at the death. We did just enough to shade it, but if East Fife are to do anything this season that keeper has got to go, he was woeful.
Ladyfan
QUOTE(BLADES MAN @ Sep 11 2006, 16:35) [snapback]1187800[/snapback]

Childish indeed ! It would be nice though, if Montrose were given a wee bit of credit when we do win. Without exception, it is because we are "a little bit less crap" than who we beat.

I thought Saturdays game was quite good, especially first half, when both sides had chances to score. As it was, it took a well constructed goal to win it, as well as a fantastic save from Andy Reid right at the death. We did just enough to shade it, but if East Fife are to do anything this season that keeper has got to go, he was woeful.

I wasn't at the game on Saturday so I'm afraid I can't give Montrose any credit but I do agree with you about our keeper! We let the best keeper go and kept the not so good one. Dodds is not too bad in some circumstances but he does flap alot and is not very good at kicking the ball out. He's not been too dodgy so far this season but IMO that is more to do with the defence doing well.
Gordon EF
QUOTE(BLADES MAN @ Sep 11 2006, 16:35) [snapback]1187800[/snapback]

Join the club, East Fife are never given credit for victories by opposition fans and I would imagine that's the same for everyone apart from when a team really turns it on and gives someone a doing.

Compared to the standards we have set so far this season, Saturday was a poor performance for us, that's why most East Fife fans will see our defeat as a result of us being poor rather than Montrose being brilliant. Your goal came from our keeper passing the ball straight to one of your players from a goal kick, from then on, Montrose had an excellent chance to score.

Both team had chances which maybe could have been converted but Montrose did deserve the win. I think if both teams played to their full potential, we would win and I think East Fife will finish above Montrose in the league, from what I've seen and read though, I think Montrose have a decent chance of getting a play-off place.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.