Full Version: Brechin City 2 Alloa Athletic 0
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
cityred
You will go a long way to see two better goals than those scored by Stuart Callaghan and Richard Walker at Glebe Park today.

Callaghan's 30 yard volley was an absoloute screamer described by Allan Maitland as the "best goal I've seen anywhere this season". While Richard Walker cleverly lobbed the ball over goalkeeper Allan Creer from fully 40 yards.

Alloa made Brechin work very hard for the victory and I doubt they will be in the bottom two at the end of the season. Chris Geddes, who on another day could have had four goals, hit the woodworrk for City and Creer made three excellent saves in the first half.

The only sour note was a two-footed tackle by Alloa defender, Fraser Forrest, that led to Geddes having to go off with a bruised shin. The player had already been booked and then having got away with a two-footed lunge on Geddes, brough Ritchie Walker down and again escaped unpunished. Apart from those incidents, Referee Crawford Allan tried to let the game flow.

All credit to Alloa, they made a contribution to what was an open game of football. But Brechin always seemed that wee bit ahead in terms of imagination.
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(cityred @ Sep 9 2006, 22:00) [snapback]1185549[/snapback]

You will go a long way to see two better goals than those scored by Stuart Callaghan and Richard Walker at Glebe Park today.

Callaghan's 30 yard volley was an absoloute screamer described by Allan Maitland as the "best goal I've seen anywhere this season". While Richard Walker cleverly lobbed the ball over goalkeeper Allan Creer from fully 40 yards.

Alloa made Brechin work very hard for the victory and I doubt they will be in the bottom two at the end of the season. Chris Geddes, who on another day could have had four goals, hit the woodworrk for City and Creer made three excellent saves in the first half.

The only sour note was a two-footed tackle by Alloa defender, Fraser Forrest, that led to Geddes having to go off with a bruised shin. The player had already been booked and then having got away with a two-footed lunge on Geddes, brough Ritchie Walker down and again escaped unpunished. Apart from those incidents, Referee Crawford Allan tried to let the game flow.

All credit to Alloa, they made a contribution to what was an open game of football. But Brechin always seemed that wee bit ahead in terms of imagination.

Make the most of your glee while it lasts, I've got a good feeling about the mighty Rovers next week wink.gif biggrin.gif
cityred
"Make the most of your glee while it lasts, I've got a good feeling about the mighty Rovers next week"

You might will win the game and I'm sure there will be a lot of hype with Levein's first game in charge. But I'm more concerned that we are getting players back into our squad after horrendous injury problems. Scott Walker was back today and Davie White was for the umpteenth time this season outstanding.

If the Rovers are serious challengers then you have to beat us at home. Personally, I think we will be in the play-off places come the business end of the season. But my point was about the quality of goals we scored worth the admission money alone.
'Steve
Personally thought we were quite slack today, however, we scored the two all important goals and created a barrowload of chances so I can't really complain. We hit the post, had a header and a shot cleared off the line and Creer made a few outstanding saves in the Alloa goal, some from point-blank range.

Agree with Cityred has said but I think Alloa will have to work hard if they are to avoid relegation this season. They didn't look too bad going forward but defensively they were an absolute shambles and we really should have exploited that more with a few more goals.

We currently have a lot of players out with injury so that makes the result even more impressive.

Both goals were absolute screamers, both ironically scored by ex Alloa players.
loon
Oh dear cityred does Mr Birse know you've slipped your leash. laugh.gif
RedWeb

Callaghan's 30 yard volley was an absoloute screamer described by Allan Maitland as the "best goal I've seen anywhere this season".

Poor Allan....he's seen a few classics end up in the Wasps net this season laugh.gif
cityred
Oh dear cityred does Mr Birse know you've slipped your leash.

You missed the Y off the end of your name Loon and unlike your girlfriend I've never been on a "leash".

loon
QUOTE(cityred @ Sep 10 2006, 09:58) [snapback]1185995[/snapback]

You missed the Y off the end of your name Loon and unlike your girlfriend I've never been on a "leash".

OH No another lie from cityred or is it redblood today. ohmy.gif
cowdenbeath
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Sep 9 2006, 23:32) [snapback]1185757[/snapback]

Poor Allan....he's seen a few classics end up in the Wasps net this season laugh.gif

He was poor against us, Alloa fans seem to love the guy though ohmy.gif shows how bad McGlynn was laugh.gif
cityred
I know who I am mr loon or is it Mr Craik today? Kettle, pot and black eh?
loon
QUOTE(cityred @ Sep 10 2006, 11:16) [snapback]1186062[/snapback]

I know who I am mr loon or is it Mr Craik today? Kettle, pot and black eh?

Thats it everyday, I ve never hidden behind anything or told any lies unlike you Mr Mitchell, have you been given into trouble by the commitee this season laugh.gif
Waspie
QUOTE(cowdenbeath @ Sep 10 2006, 11:01) [snapback]1186045[/snapback]

He was poor against us, Alloa fans seem to love the guy though ohmy.gif shows how bad McGlynn was laugh.gif

Eh if you read the posts from the Brechin fans on this thread they are saying Creer made a number of great saves and was only beaten by two wonder strikes (by ex Wasps sad.gif ). He's a very good keeper and at 19 time is on his side to get better.

Couldnt get to the game yesterday but a disappointing result, felt beforehand we were in with a decent chance at Glebe Park. Need to start picking up points in the next few games to prevent us losing touch with the pack.
cityred
One - You clearly have a case of mistaken identity. I have had the same identity on P &B since its very early days and greatly value it as a good forum for the lower divisions.

Two - I haven't got a clue what you're on about

Three - I opened a topic about two great individual bits of skill by players in the team I support and the contribution the opposition made to the game.

Four _ I have never got into trouble "from the committee" which ever committee your havering about.

I suggest Loon you'd be better off going to talk to someone whose interested in your team and leave the debate about this end of the table to the teams involved.
'Steve
Match Report is now online:- HERE for anyone that's interested.

And Loon:- You really are a grade A fud. Why don't you just focus on your own match on Saturday instead of bombarding this thread with your usual pish.
Captain Kerthorse
QUOTE('Steve @ Sep 10 2006, 14:06) [snapback]1186269[/snapback]

And Loon:- You really are a grade A fud. Why don't you just focus on your own match on Saturday instead of bombarding this thread with your usual pish.

That's rich - Your the first to but your nose into other peoples discussions....

You might find this useful laugh.gif
Captain Kerthorse
.. and sending abuse on MSN isn't very nice either. laugh.gif
'Steve
QUOTE(Big Loon @ Sep 10 2006, 14:18) [snapback]1186285[/snapback]

.. and sending abuse on MSN isn't very nice either. laugh.gif

"Abuse" laugh.gif Do you think anyone actually cares on here about your msn conversations?
Captain Kerthorse
QUOTE('Steve @ Sep 10 2006, 14:24) [snapback]1186290[/snapback]

"Abuse" laugh.gif Do you think anyone actually cares on here about your msn conversations?

Would appear that at least one person does laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
loon
QUOTE(cityred @ Sep 10 2006, 13:34) [snapback]1186228[/snapback]

One - You clearly have a case of mistaken identity. I have had the same identity on P &B since its very early days and greatly value it as a good forum for the lower divisions.

Two - I haven't got a clue what you're on about

Three - I opened a topic about two great individual bits of skill by players in the team I support and the contribution the opposition made to the game.

Four _ I have never got into trouble "from the committee" which ever committee your havering about.
I suggest Loon you'd be better off going to talk to someone whose interested in your team and leave the debate about this end of the table to the teams involved.

Oh dear once a journo always a liar. ph34r.gif

Never said it was anything to do with your ID on P+B and yes its an excellent forum.
The forum I was referring to was probably the same forum where you got my name.

Tell Mr Birse I was asking for him the next time he has you over his knee. laugh.gif

If you look at the league table I think you'll find Alloa beside us your only six in front and six off the top so dont think you have anything to dabate about the top end of the table. ph34r.gif

loon
QUOTE('Steve @ Sep 10 2006, 14:06) [snapback]1186269[/snapback]

Hey wee man wind your neck in. cool.gif
'Steve
QUOTE(loon @ Sep 10 2006, 14:50) [snapback]1186323[/snapback]

Hey wee man wind your neck in. cool.gif

Wee man? Don't make me laugh. laugh.gif

Match pictures from the game is now online:- HERE
loon
QUOTE('Steve @ Sep 10 2006, 15:07) [snapback]1186333[/snapback]

Wee man? Don't make me laugh. laugh.gif

Ok silly little schoolboy then wink.gif
Fernando Torres
Some great photos there Steve. Looks like the players were really up for the game.
Fernando Torres
QUOTE(loon @ Sep 10 2006, 15:17) [snapback]1186339[/snapback]

Ok silly little schoolboy then wink.gif

Give it a rest you utter tube.
loon
QUOTE(Brechin City FC @ Sep 10 2006, 15:19) [snapback]1186343[/snapback]

Give it a rest you utter tube.

If I wanted to hear an Ar*ehole I would have farted dry your eye's tube. ohmy.gif
Fernando Torres
QUOTE(loon @ Sep 10 2006, 15:23) [snapback]1186350[/snapback]

If I wanted to hear an Ar*ehole I would have farted dry your eye's tube. ohmy.gif

By the looks of your posts in this thread you've been talking enough shite as it is without farting.
'Steve
QUOTE(Brechin City FC @ Sep 10 2006, 15:18) [snapback]1186341[/snapback]

Some great photos there Steve. Looks like the players were really up for the game.

Definately, even those who weren't even on the park! Just look at John Hillcoat after the second goal! He's as delighted as anyone. biggrin.gif
loon
QUOTE(Brechin City FC @ Sep 10 2006, 15:26) [snapback]1186356[/snapback]

By the looks of your posts in this thread you've been talking enough shite as it is without farting.

You definately know a lot about speaking sh*te you do it everytime you open your mouth. laugh.gif
Fernando Torres
Stuart Callaghan's really impressed me this season. He seems to have really upped his workrate and effort, and while I wasn't at the game yesterday because of work, I hear he was man of the match again.

Was he playing left back again? Obviously it's not his natural position but the Forfar game in particular showed that he was a more than able backup there. Probably my Brechin player of the season so far.
'Steve
QUOTE(Brechin City FC @ Sep 10 2006, 15:35) [snapback]1186367[/snapback]

Stuart Callaghan's really impressed me this season. He seems to have really upped his workrate and effort, and while I wasn't at the game yesterday because of work, I hear he was man of the match again.

Was he playing left back again? Obviously it's not his natural position but the Forfar game in particular showed that he was a more than able backup there. Probably my Brechin player of the season so far.

Agreed, I've been saying on the Brechin forum about how he's been our best player this season and that he has been overlooked simply because he was gash last season.

He was in the centre of midfield yesterday along with Scott Devlin, if you read the report. tongue.gif wink.gif
Fernando Torres
I never read your reports Steve. wink.gif
Jimmy Waspy
Yip credit to Brechin they scored a couple of real cracking goals. Cal's in particular was a peach, wish he would save them for someone else. mad.gif
It was a pretty open game and we certainly had a few chances to take something from the game. As someone said earlier we were ok going forward, but again lacking a cutting edge (What does Mike Hazeldine have to do to get a goal!). But again we looked shaky at the back, which is mainly due to the forced changes to cover injuries.
Hopefully Ross Clarke isn't too far away from full fitness.
Thought that big Stuart Malcolm had another excellent game and Creer made some great saves. We weren't so strong in central midfield, I thought Collie still looks short of the games pace and took the negative option too often.
Graeme played well making himself avaialable and making some good runs, but the supporting play tended to let us down.
I am still confident at this stage that we can move onwards, hopefully starting with Ayr next week and start to make some progress as we get the squad back to stregth.
Dink
Despite the result I quite enjoyed the game, apart from the first 10 minutes and a spell after Brechin's first goal I thought we played reasonably well in what was an end to end match. Callaghan's goal was an absolute peach and Richie Walker did well for the second once Creer presented him with the chance.

There are still some obvious weaknesses in the team, the defence looks poor in the wide areas but should improve once we have some full-backs fit, the midfield lacks a bit of creativity without Keiran McAnespie who seems to be injured every second game at the moment and the front players are not getting the goals their hard work deserves.

It has been a tough start to the season playing three of the favourites for the league away from home and only having two home league games in our first six. But I think we will improve, we have done well in the cups beating Forfar and Ross County in the CIS Cup and matching Ross County for 120 minutes in the Challenge Cup. It would just be nice if we could start translating those good cup performances into good league performances.
Baz Mac

The only sour note was a two-footed tackle by Alloa defender, Fraser Forrest, that led to Geddes having to go off with a bruised shin.

Yaaaaaaaaas!!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Raving On
I thought Ross Clark was the only full back Alloa are missing at the moment? Obviously McAnespie can play there but he seemed to be pretty important to you in the centre of midfield by all accounts?
Jimmy Waspy
Yes but when you consider that our RB is now playing LB, one of our cnetrehalfs in playing RB and we have reserve in the centre, you start to see a couple of the issues that we have.
Mcanespie is not a LB by any stretch of the imagination.
Waspie
QUOTE(Raving On @ Sep 11 2006, 12:18) [snapback]1187435[/snapback]

I thought Ross Clark was the only full back Alloa are missing at the moment? Obviously McAnespie can play there but he seemed to be pretty important to you in the centre of midfield by all accounts?

Im wondering if Maitland is looking to play McClune at right back and Clark at left back (where was pre-season). With McColligan, McKeown, McAnespie and Grant all vying for centre midfield spots McClune could well go to right back. Or McKeown can play right back and McClune into centre mid, I believe it was right back McKeown played for Leeds reserves and Scotland under 17s and 18s.
Dink
I reckon Waspie has it spot on, I think Clark and McClune will take the full-back slots. That leaves us with McAnespie, McKeown, Grant and McColligan all looking to play in centre-midfield. If we are playing three in the middle I would go with McKeown, McAnespie and Grant if it is just two then McKeown and McAnespie with John Grant pushed out to the right wing. But I can't see Allan Maitland doing that as McColligan is the club captain.
Magic Hat
QUOTE(Dink @ Sep 11 2006, 12:47) [snapback]1187479[/snapback]

But I can't see Allan Maitland doing that as McColligan is the club captain.

As Dink knows after having to listen to me every week I am far from a fan of Brian McColligan who as far as I can see offers very little to the team. Would prefer if McAnnespie (when fit) would be playing in midfield in front of him but the fact he is the club captain this is very unlikely and Alan Maitland would probably go for dropping John Grant as it is an easy option despite contributing far more to the team. Remember somebody saying to me "it is the things you don't see him do" that makes him so effective" dry.gif

On the positive side actually thought we played well and with a bit of luck (even more than the luck that stopped Brechin scoring a few in the First Half) might have got a point out of the game. Hazeldine looked good and was very unlucky not to score with a header in the First Half which was brilliantly saved by Nelson and a goal that was chopped off for alleged handball (could have been). Ross Hamilton was also good when he came on and hopefully Alan Maitland letting him know that he is not an automatic first choice will make him raise his game.

The next three league games are very important to the club and we need to start picking up points before we become detached at the bottom as the chances of another revival like last season are remote.

Still reasonably positive that we wil improve. rolleyes.gif
Waspie
QUOTE(Magic Hat @ Sep 11 2006, 13:11) [snapback]1187521[/snapback]

As Dink knows after having to listen to me every week I am far from a fan of Brian McColligan who as far as I can see offers very little to the team. Would prefer if McAnnespie (when fit) would be playing in midfield in front of him but the fact he is the club captain this is very unlikely and Alan Maitland would probably go for dropping John Grant as it is an easy option despite contributing far more to the team. Remember somebody saying to me "it is the things you don't see him do" that makes him so effective" dry.gif
:

I thought Colly was a key man for us last season and that it was indeed a case of the things that you dont see being effective. He protected the defence and put the tackles in and when he got the ball he gave it to somebody who would do something with it, the kind of defensive midfield player we were lacking for years. Maybe he hasnt being playing his best this season but he did miss a few games at the start plus McKeown is a similar player too so maybe thats affecting Colly.
Still feel he will be a key man for us this season.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.