Full Version: Warriors 2-1 Queen's Park
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 3rd Division General Chatter
Fudge
We got very, very lucky today.

Queen's Park looked an engergetic side and moved the ball quite well and the pace of the forwards caused us quite a bit of bother.

We had 2 glorious chances, once where Hutch header over from close range after the defender had missed it, and again when Baird blasted over from 3 yards out.

However, Queens had much more of the posession and showed good movement, but in truth nevr had too many clear cut chances.

Queen's went ahead when we got a terrible free kick dicision against us, they played it forward quickly, beat the ofside trap before Wetherston(sp?) slotted home.

We pulledi t back when JP was not challeneg, he stroled forward before smashing a low drive to Peat's right, which he couldn;t get down to

Our winner was comical og where Templeton smashed the ball hard across the box, the defeder tried to clear and smashed into his own top corner.

That was lucky, but I'll certainly take it
Francesc Fabregas
Peat? Don't you mean "Old Man" Cairns?

We were lucky today. Very lucky. I said before, I hate playing QP. I wasn't bothered how we played, because I knew we'd be poor, just as long as we got the three point, I'd be delighted.

Some finish by McBride as well cool.gif
fitbin
QUOTE(Francesc Fabregas @ Sep 9 2006, 18:20) [snapback]1185065[/snapback]

We were lucky today. Very lucky.

Aww, bless QP, two good performances in a week, yet two defeats.

Am sure their fans won't be bitter though biggrin.gif
Fraser_QPFC
Gutted after that. we had chances to put the game away,but we didn't take them and we sat far too deep. Losing Stevie Reilly to injury hurt us hugely.

I thought that wee Davie took his goal really well and he really should have taken another of his chances.

The equaliser was a good finish, leaving Cairns with no chance to stop it, but really, we should have blocked the shot.. The winner was unlucky, with Paton slicing his clearance.

There's still plenty of time for us to start to get some decent results in again.
dubs
This is what it's all about. Winning ugly is the mark of potential champions. We did it very regularly last season, and we stopped at the end and that proved to be costly.

QP very unlucky.

Francesc Fabregas
On top of what has been said, I would like to add that Colin Hardie is a fucking moron.
Fudge
QUOTE(Francesc Fabregas @ Sep 9 2006, 18:20) [snapback]1185065[/snapback]

Peat? Don't you mean "Old Man" Cairns?

My mistake. The two have a combined age of 408
Berwick till i die
QUOTE(Francesc Fabregas @ Sep 9 2006, 18:39) [snapback]1185108[/snapback]

On top of what has been said, I would like to add that Colin Hardie is a fucking moron.

I would agree with that.

Tatty Boabie
QUOTE(dubya @ Sep 9 2006, 18:31) [snapback]1185096[/snapback]

This is what it's all about. Winning ugly is the mark of potential champions. We did it very regularly last season, and we stopped at the end and that proved to be costly.

QP very unlucky.

Quite right, Queen's I thought were a good side, will take the 3 points and move on.

FF's post was correct aswell, the referee was a complete tosser.
warriorman
QUOTE(Berwick till i die @ Sep 9 2006, 19:05) [snapback]1185177[/snapback]

I would agree with that.

You reckon anyone wouldn't???
boardroomshuffler
Well the refs are not as bad as is made out on forums ,but Hardie just interupts the flow of games with petulant decisions,He is the worst but many of them are quite decent more than most give them credit for.
Tatty Boabie
QUOTE(boardroomshuffler @ Sep 9 2006, 19:41) [snapback]1185255[/snapback]

Well the refs are not as bad as is made out on forums ,but Hardie just interupts the flow of games with petulant decisions,He is the worst but many of them are quite decent more than most give them credit for.

Hardie is as bad as it is made out on forums. I was going to praise him on one thing only, the fact that he had consistently not booked anybody, and then in injury time he booked Mark Cowan, for reasons which still escape me. There was at least 2 QP players who merited a booking more over the 90 minutes.
Hampden Diehard
Total sickener. I thought we were outstanding, particularly in the first half when we should have been well ahaed. But it's the same old story; we canny score a goal. Weatherston was untouchable today and will be one of the stars of the division. His goal was a peach.

Hardie is truly a tosser and the farside linesman failed to flag for a handball in the box the first half.

Not bitter, just sick as a pig!

Tatty Boabie
QUOTE(Hampden Diehard @ Sep 9 2006, 20:24) [snapback]1185333[/snapback]

Total sickener. I thought we were outstanding, particularly in the first half when we should have been well ahaed. But it's the same old story; we canny score a goal. Weatherston was untouchable today and will be one of the stars of the division. His goal was a peach.

Hardie is truly a tosser and the farside linesman failed to flag for a handball in the box the first half.

Not bitter, just sick as a pig!

That's a very fair post. I do think you have a good side, and were better than us for a lot of today's game. Weatherston is an excellent player, and has that pace and ability to go past defenders almost at will.

Just unfortunate for you today that you conceded a very good goal from McBride and then developed a self destruct button.

Still think you will challenging come the end of the season.
Hampden Diehard
Cheers for that, but we just have to start scoring goals. We had two top class chances against Berwick last week and could have won that too. Any spare strikers going? Maybe once wee Frankie gets fully fit we'll start doing the business.

Still, we have the Well soon in the CIS. Do you get into Europe for winning it any more. Our ground is OK, apparently.

Hey, is anybody else pissed off that they're on this board on a saturday night instead of out there getting totally ersed? I know I am.
Tatty Boabie
QUOTE(Hampden Diehard @ Sep 9 2006, 20:43) [snapback]1185378[/snapback]

Cheers for that, but we just have to start scoring goals. We had two top class chances against Berwick last week and could have won that too. Any spare strikers going? Maybe once wee Frankie gets fully fit we'll start doing the business.

Still, we have the Well soon in the CIS. Do you get into Europe for winning it any more. Our ground is OK, apparently.

Hey, is anybody else pissed off that they're on this board on a saturday night instead of out there getting totally ersed? I know I am.

I am not just saying it either, I mean it, if you can put in perfomances like that, you should be challenging for this division. Your defence is extremely well organised, you have Weatherston who skins defenders for fun. I agree you probably need 1 more striker who is a good finisher to link up with Weatherston, but I wouldn't be too despondant if I were you.

As for the Saturday night thing, I'm getting pissed indoors whilst posting on this forum, and am currently trying to get my girlfriend in a similar state, so that we can maybe end the night with a bang. smile.gif

The chances of me achieving this however, are frankly remote. God loves a trier

Spidersmad
Thanks for the fair comments from the Stenny fans. Thought we totally dominated the first half but as other posters have said we can't turn dominance into goals or even clear cut chances. The first Stenny goal was a peach, brilliantly placed just inside the post leaving Cairns no chance. As for the second goal ... chaotic. Hopefully we can end this run of poor results with a return to Hampden next week v Montrose.
Neilly
Once again Queen's have all the game and if they had a striker of note they would piss this league as far as I am concerned.

If Weatherson could finish then he would not be playing in this league, cracking player but really couldn't finish his dinner his finishing is that bad.

I would like to think that is the sign og a good team, playing so badly yet winning. A cracking strike from an under fire JP, and a comedy OG over the Old Man for a win that was never on the cards.

Nice to see Frankie back and I sincerely hope everything is going OK for him. smile.gif
Bucky
QUOTE(Spidersmad @ Sep 9 2006, 20:27) [snapback]1185463[/snapback]

Thanks for the fair comments from the Stenny fans.

It's extremely easy to be fair to the opposition after you have just robbed them.
beaver1
Agree with everything said on here. McBride changed the game when he came on. As for Weatherston, took his goal well, has oodles of pace, but let's just remember that he was up against Mark Tyrell.
Spidersmad
QUOTE(Bucky @ Sep 10 2006, 09:56) [snapback]1185991[/snapback]

It's extremely easy to be fair to the opposition after you have just robbed them.

I don't think we were robbed - we were the architects of our own downfall, as the cliche goes. If we can't turn possession and nice passing moves into real scoring chances then we're not going to win many games.

That said, the football we played was a big improvement on our rather poor display at Cliftonhill a fortnight ago.
RobRover
That said, the football we played was a big improvement on our rather poor display at Cliftonhill a fortnight ago.

We must have brought the Queens Soccer Machine down to our level that day blink.gif
Hampden Diehard
QUOTE(Tatty Boabie @ Sep 9 2006, 20:53) [snapback]1185395[/snapback]

As for the Saturday night thing, I'm getting pissed indoors whilst posting on this forum, and am currently trying to get my girlfriend in a similar state, so that we can maybe end the night with a bang. smile.gif

The chances of me achieving this however, are frankly remote. God loves a trier

Hope it was a long, hard night for you.
attendant
Fair play to Stenny they took there chance well and pressured our defender into an og.Thought we might hang on at the end but losing Reilly was a blow which our defence seemed to struggle with.Good to see the sporting response to Frankie coming on, there is hope for this division yet.Now we have Montyrose and the Mighty well at Hampden hope we can do better in the finishing stakes against them.

T F BUNDY for now
Tatty Boabie
QUOTE(Hampden Diehard @ Sep 10 2006, 13:25) [snapback]1186213[/snapback]

Hope it was a long, hard night for you.

Thankyou, however, I have to be honest, it didn't go the way I had planned sad.gif
Gall09
Frustrating beyond words today because to be honest i seen it coming. Queen's fans (and other fans) must be sick to death of hearing "if we took our chances" but it's true as even the Stenny fans have admitted. They missed a couple of sitters in particular Baird's blast over the bar from about 3 yards.

McBride's finish was a peach and our player's should take note that that is what you do when there is space in front of you. We try to pass the ball into the net and the some of the player's seem genuinely scared to shoot.

A good result next week should hopefully make up for yesterday and leave us in a stronger position than the current league table suggests.
Trialist
I thought Queens Park should have been out of sight by half time. They were so much better than Stenhousemuir. Dunn blew at least three good chances and, as has been said before, Weatherston is a different class; he needs to finish the chances his ability creates.

All credit to Stenhousemuir, they stole it and it was ugly. After that performance, against a better side, they better have a decent season. They must have found a four leaf clover!!!
Convenor
Update on Hampden Diehard - at the last minute his wife chucked him oot the hoose because of his moping about and he ended up bringing 2 bottles of German schnapps down the social club to wallow in self-pity with the rest of us..which was nice!

Have to agree with everything that's already been said. McBride coming on and Reilly going off for us turned the game in the end. We need goals and we need them soon or it will be a bottom half of the league finish for us.

Was quite impressed with Stennie's pitch - better than I thought it would be.
beaver1
Re the pitch - I think that you soon forget that it is artificial. Compare that surface to the one QP played on at the end of last season!
Hampden Diehard
QUOTE(beaver1 @ Sep 12 2006, 18:28) [snapback]1189690[/snapback]

Re the pitch - I think that you soon forget that it is artificial. Compare that surface to the one QP played on at the end of last season!

Aye, but we won that game!!

Seriusly though, the pitch looked fine and we play on the deck so it suits us OK.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.