Full Version: Stranraer V Raith
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Sanny's army
I know there's another thread on info but I'll focus on the game.

Bit of added interest in this one from both sides, us on the back of an unexpected but excellent win against Brechin last week and Raith obviously with a new manager in charge.

Things seem to be clicking for us now that the first 11 is settled in to a system, McMullan, Moore and Hamilton in particular giving us some excellent attacking play. We're finally playing some football rather than route one stuff and it's good to watch.

Our defence is still a bit suspect and so if Raith are to come at us I think they need big One to outmuscle our defence and create chances. Hopefully if it's Harty and McManus up front we have enough to cope with them.

Could go either way this one, but as we seem to be on the up I'm plumping for a 2-1 home win.
edd
judging by the number of replies to this thread you'd think morton and cowdenbeath are the only teams in division 2 tongue.gif
venga1
If we play like we did on Sunday we'll win.
If Ramsay and Crilly are fit it will be the same starting outfield 10 for 3rd game running, Black might come in for Morrison in goal, even if the latter is fit, after making 4 good saves v Brechin.
Agree 2-1 to the Blues.
kirkcaldybanjo111
If we play this bugger wev'e nae chance.
Steven
QUOTE(kirkcaldybanjo111 @ Sep 7 2006, 19:30) [snapback]1183126[/snapback]

If we play this bugger wev'e nae chance.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

It aint that big, maybe when we signed him wink.gif
BIGQ FAE KDY
If we play how we played on sunday especially in the 2nd half then you would be aswell getting the points just now and us not travelling.We were dreadfull but and theres always a but we have a new boss and players are playing to impress or they will be out.So i hope there will be a vast improvement and we get a good result with mcmanus scoring on his return rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
Sanny's army
Sounds like the mood in the Raith camp has changed drastically with the appointment of Levein. I'm sure the performance from you will be better, although I suppose Levein hasn't had a proper chance to assess his best team yet.

McManus could hardly buy a goal at Stair Park during his short stint with us, hopefully it continues for another game.
renton
QUOTE(Sanny's army @ Sep 8 2006, 08:59) [snapback]1183591[/snapback]

Sounds like the mood in the Raith camp has changed drastically with the appointment of Levein. I'm sure the performance from you will be better, although I suppose Levein hasn't had a proper chance to assess his best team yet.

McManus could hardly buy a goal at Stair Park during his short stint with us, hopefully it continues for another game.

Nah, he'll be back with his shooting boots on, He's had 4 weeks off and needs at least a hat trick tomorrow to have a chance of catching clarke tongue.gif

Will be interesting to see what Levein does with the midfield since that's where he reckoned the problems were, I note that Blair batchelor and Fraser Sergeant are in the squad, one's a promising midfielder the others a wee short arse striker who's capable of near light speed velocities.

Will be an interesting game for us to say the least. Mcullen was good three years ago for us and Crilly had the odd moment...

...Pity Gerry Britton is a horses arse ph34r.gif
Whistle Blower
QUOTE(renton @ Sep 8 2006, 14:29) [snapback]1183915[/snapback]

Gerry Britton is a Parsy Hoor

The only palyer I have ever booed after he scored for Raith.

Parsy Hoor

Steven
QUOTE(Whistle Blower @ Sep 8 2006, 15:03) [snapback]1183965[/snapback]

Parsy Hoor

So not a fan then laugh.gif
Stuart Millar

Parsy Hoor

Is there any senior team he HASN'T played for?
Steven
QUOTE(Stuart Millar @ Sep 8 2006, 17:21) [snapback]1184111[/snapback]

Rangers laugh.gif
Tamrover
4-1 Rovers, well done lads, the only way is up.
The magic of a new manager who knows what he's doing - at last!
Highwayman
I think this is the start of us going on a run which will see us deny Morton the title.
Mon the Rovers
QUOTE(Highwayman @ Sep 9 2006, 19:50) [snapback]1185265[/snapback]

I think this is the start of us going on a run which will see us deny Morton the title.

Calm down, we're still 8 points behind. Next two games are at home to Brechin and Alloa, looking for 6 points from that. Should be a big crowd next week, any Brechin fan know what kind of numbers will be travelling. Don't think it would be much, but you never know
Swampy

Parsy Hoor

How fucking petty is that?

It isn't, you're still shit
fifesfinestkenny
brilliant result the day lads. First half very poor both teams as bad as each other, no football played all long balls. second half Levein got them going, came out stopped the long balls got the ball down played football, Mcmanus took his goal brilliantly and so did hart and fairy, Great day out.

Must mention. Fifes finest for the singing the dat brilliant lads use were the twelth man, about 20 folk non stop singing, I never stood with use today was other end but could hear use easily and the players surely got a lift,

the future is bright
the future is blue
'Steve
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Sep 9 2006, 20:05) [snapback]1185298[/snapback]

Calm down, we're still 8 points behind. Next two games are at home to Brechin and Alloa, looking for 6 points from that. Should be a big crowd next week, any Brechin fan know what kind of numbers will be travelling. Don't think it would be much, but you never know

Probably just the usual, say 40-50. Will we be in the stand behind the goal or will we be chucked in the Main Stand?
Dunc
QUOTE('Steve @ Sep 9 2006, 23:10) [snapback]1185721[/snapback]

Probably just the usual, say 40-50. Will we be in the stand behind the goal or will we be chucked in the Main Stand?

Behind the goal.
Whistle Blower
QUOTE(Swampy @ Sep 9 2006, 20:10) [snapback]1185310[/snapback]

How fucking petty is that?

Very, but I'm proud of it tongue.gif

Thought we were gash first half then turned on the style second half.
McManus & Harty were on fire.

Still loads of improtant work for Levein to do, I would suggest looking for a new right back and captain are the most important.
Monster
QUOTE(Stuart Millar @ Sep 8 2006, 17:21) [snapback]1184111[/snapback]

Ayr United.

Oh, sorry, SENIOR team, not soon to be junior team. rolleyes.gif
Sanny's army
Can’t argue with Raith getting 3 points overall, we just collapsed after a reasonably bright opening. Hamilton scored a peach, left foot 20 yarder to beat Brown in 3 mins. Moore could have made it 2 but Brown got enough on it to slow it before defender cleared off the line. We deserved to be winning at half time.

Second half was a horror show for us. Raith the better team but 4 goals flattered them. First goal was a decent finish from McManus. Goals 2,3 and 4 were gifted to them by Stranraer though, slack passing let Harty run through, defender failed to clear letting Harty get another and then keeper let a relatively straight shot go under him. We just didn’t have any ideas.

May look like on paper that Raith humped us but I don’t think they’re out of the woods yet in terms of being consistent and challenging. Looks like we’ll be Jekyll and Hyde all season.

Rumour is we have a defender lined up to sign, I only hope with the news Stirling didn’t sign Reid or Gaughan that it’s not one of them. unsure.gif
Steven
QUOTE(Sanny's army @ Sep 11 2006, 18:25) [snapback]1188003[/snapback]

Rumour is we have a defender lined up to sign, I only hope with the news Stirling didn’t sign Reid or Gaughan that it’s not one of them. unsure.gif

At least you wont be beaten for pace if you sign any of those two laugh.gif
Jimmy MCcabe
Rumour on Saturday it was Sandy Hodge.
Mabawsa_Ritchie
QUOTE(Highwayman @ Sep 9 2006, 19:50) [snapback]1185265[/snapback]

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Steven
QUOTE(Mabawsa_Ritchie @ Sep 11 2006, 19:58) [snapback]1188186[/snapback]

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Well somebody has to so it might as well be Rovers laugh.gif
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.