Full Version: Those Who Slated Kenny Miller
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
SPLwankwankwank
Fannies the lot of you. Hang your heads in shame rolleyes.gif

Give him support and he'll do the business.
Waspie
QUOTE(SPLw**kw**kw**k @ Sep 6 2006, 21:31) [snapback]1182058[/snapback]

Ive slated him in the past and he deserved it. Runs all day and can be nuisance to defenders and such I never questioned his commitment or his nuisance value.
Fact is though he missed a number of crucial chances and as such people were justified to question him. Did well tonight (as he has done in other recent Scotland games) and deserves all the praise he gets.
SPLwankwankwank
QUOTE(Waspie @ Sep 6 2006, 21:38) [snapback]1182077[/snapback]

Ive slated him in the past and he deserved it. Runs all day and can be nuisance to defenders and such I never questioned his commitment or his nuisance value.
Fact is though he missed a number of crucial chances and as such people were justified to question him. Did well tonight (as he has done in other recent Scotland games) and deserves all the praise he gets.

Aye perhaps one per game in the last qualifiers and those were pretty much the only ones we created in each game. Smith admitted he left him high and dry and it wasn't his fault.
So you can hang your head...

Next. rolleyes.gif
orlandoblue
He's got a touch like Gordon Durie

Nuff said.

He's pish
SPLwankwankwank
QUOTE(orlandoblue @ Sep 6 2006, 21:47) [snapback]1182097[/snapback]

Nuff said.

He's pish

rolleyes.gif Bitter and Orange. Only 39p per lb at Asda folks. Bitter Oranges rolleyes.gif
fraser_arab
Looked good tonight and took a great 1st touch to set himself up for his goal. However he does miss some easy chances which is his main downfall, could he finish the easier chances he'd be a great player cool.gif
thefamousphilosifer

Like the support you give Walter Smith

rolleyes.gif
bairnagain
The big difference is all the players are now giving everything for the jersey and are playing as a team. Berti didn't instill the kind of discipline and Miller was left looking looking a plonker more often than not.

He still isn't the type of player I like personally. I would prefer to see my centre forward in the box looking for the ball at all times from the midfield, but Miller is certainly doing the job asked of him well at the moment. The goal will only give him even more confidence.

Shame about the stupid booking on Saturday though. dry.gif
David W
Djimi Traore cleared a shot off the line in the Champions League final - didn't suddenly make him Paulo Maldini's play-a-like laugh.gif
SPLwankwankwank
QUOTE(thefamousphilosifer @ Sep 6 2006, 22:05) [snapback]1182133[/snapback]

Like the support you give Walter Smith

rolleyes.gif

Oh you mean Smith who had us playing with one up front and under pressure until his hand was forced with Quashie getting injured and he had to bow to putting Boyd on? That Smith? The one I said should be playing Boyd before we failed to qualify in the last tournament?
Fanny rolleyes.gif
Peterhead Dave
He's a headless chicken who, by some fluke, keeps managing to end up in the right place at the right time for Scotland. That doesn't make him a good player though.
thefamousphilosifer
QUOTE(SPLw**kw**kw**k @ Sep 6 2006, 22:24) [snapback]1182176[/snapback]

Fanny rolleyes.gif

Indeed you are.

From what I seen of the match, we were still under a lot of pressure even when Boyd came on rolleyes.gif
SPLwankwankwank
QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Sep 6 2006, 22:27) [snapback]1182189[/snapback]

He's a headless chicken who, by some fluke, keeps managing to end up in the right place at the right time for Scotland. That doesn't make him a good player though.

Clueless

QUOTE(thefamousphilosifer @ Sep 6 2006, 22:29) [snapback]1182201[/snapback]

Indeed you are.

From what I seen of the match, we were still under a lot of pressure even when Boyd came on rolleyes.gif

Bullshitter
Radford

Not sure if you're talking with your tongue in cheek, Dave, but I agree.

If we played that game again 100 times, I'd never start Boyd. He actually did do ok as the game wore on but for a good 20 minutes of the second-half we'd have been as well with 10 men.

Walter got the tactics spot on tonight.
bairnagain
Kev, Italy are in our group. Time for a wee change maybe? wink.gif
thefamousphilosifer
QUOTE(SPLw**kw**kw**k @ Sep 6 2006, 22:31) [snapback]1182209[/snapback]

Clueless

Bullshitter

Well the last 15-20 min of the match I never seen us make many chances, whereas Lithuania create quite a few rolleyes.gif
Peterhead Dave
QUOTE(Radford @ Sep 6 2006, 22:31) [snapback]1182211[/snapback]

Not sure if you're talking with your tongue in cheek, Dave, but I agree.

If we played that game again 100 times, I'd never start Boyd. He actually did do ok as the game wore on but for a good 20 minutes of the second-half we'd have been as well with 10 men.

Walter got the tactics spot on tonight.

Just to make it clear: Kenny Miller is shite.
Radford
QUOTE(bairnagain @ Sep 6 2006, 22:34) [snapback]1182220[/snapback]

Kev, Italy are in our group. Time for a wee change maybe? wink.gif

It's on the "to do" list. wink.gif

QUOTE(Peterhead Dave @ Sep 6 2006, 22:36) [snapback]1182228[/snapback]

Just to make it clear: Kenny Miller is shite.

Sorry Dave, thought you're description was perfectly suited to Boyd! I quite like Kenny Miller.
CK
I always thought Kenny Miller was a good player!
Skyline Drifter
I've always been a fan of Kenny Miller in a Scotland shirt. Good on him.
clyde til we die
QUOTE(Skyline Drifter @ Sep 6 2006, 23:02) [snapback]1182287[/snapback]

Ditto wink.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Skyline Drifter @ Sep 6 2006, 23:02) [snapback]1182287[/snapback]

QUOTE(clyde til we die @ Sep 6 2006, 23:08) [snapback]1182293[/snapback]

Ditto wink.gif

I'll third that.
ClydeNewcomer

Nuff said.

He's pish

is that possibly to do with him playin for celec ya queen loven tramp. Super kenny has been absolutely worldclass for us the last 5/6 games. Outstanding again today, seems tae get faster and better everytime a see him
Larbert_Par
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Sep 6 2006, 23:29) [snapback]1182309[/snapback]

I'll third that.

Aye,agree.Another excellent performance and goal from Kenny.As long as he keeps doing the biz in the Dark Blue,who are we to complain? smile.gif
Loki
Ever since the Belarus and Italy games, he has grown in stature and confidence. Seven goals in eight games at International level is good by anyones standard. He is a good player, however the misses he did make should have been goals. So any critcism was deserved, but I said if he keeps getting into those positions he would still be playing well.
ali_le_point
Who cares? Six points out of six and fighting performances. If I were gay I'd want to shag the lot of them bandy legged. Instead, I'll stick to Mrs Stewart. wink.gif
Pompey.
With the dark blue on, Miller is a goal machine.

Still gives the ball away awfully easily for my liking (granted he started alone up front), and misses too many chances (had we had a decent striker in Milan, Scotland would possibly have been in Germany this summer), but credit where it is due, he took his goal well tonight.
Thundermonkey
QUOTE(Carlos @ Sep 7 2006, 01:17) [snapback]1182383[/snapback]

Ever since the Belarus and Italy games, he has grown in stature and confidence. Seven goals in eight games at International level is good by anyones standard. He is a good player, however the misses he did make should have been goals. So any critcism was deserved, but I said if he keeps getting into those positions he would still be playing well.

Wholeheartedly agree.

He deserves all the credit going but that does not make him exempt from the critiscism he deserved for earlier poor performances. Why some people can't get their head round that I'll never know.
H_B
QUOTE(Thundermonkey @ Sep 7 2006, 09:27) [snapback]1182454[/snapback]

Why some people can't get their head round that I'll never know.

It's only really 3 w**ks that can't, so that doesn't really count.

Pace is the winner at International level, that's why Miller will start every game he's available for.

I thought he was unlucky with his booking yesterday though.
AndyBud
QUOTE(Hieronymous_Bosch @ Sep 7 2006, 10:21) [snapback]1182494[/snapback]

It's only really 3 w**ks that can't, so that doesn't really count.

Pace is the winner at International level, that's why Miller will start every game he's available for.

I thought he was unlucky with his booking yesterday though.

I thought on Saturday his stupid booking would come back to haunt him. Winning 5-0 at the time, and getting yourself booked, is just crazy!

He'll be missed for the France game.
GAD
QUOTE(David W @ Sep 6 2006, 22:21) [snapback]1182166[/snapback]

Djimi Traore cleared a shot off the line in the Champions League final - didn't suddenly make him Paulo Maldini's play-a-like laugh.gif

Maybe if he did it seven times in the last eight games it would.
Estragon
I have slated Miller in the past with reservation - I've never questioned his commitment or his tenacity, he does however give the ball away an awful lot and misses the odd gilt-edged chance. However, on his current form I must say I'm beginning to be convinced....
Thundermonkey
QUOTE(Estragon @ Sep 7 2006, 14:26) [snapback]1182813[/snapback]

I have slated Miller in the past with reservation - I've never questioned his commitment or his tenacity, he does however give the ball away an awful lot and misses the odd gilt-edged chance. However, on his current form I must say I'm beginning to be convinced....

That won't be enough, you'll no doubt forever be a boo boy. Don't you know that giving you opinion is not allowed in a SPLWWW thread? rolleyes.gif
North Stand Bairn

It's instinct. Surely a striker ending up in the right place at the right time means he's a better striker than one who doesn't end up there at all??

Thought his booking last night was harsh but sadly at that level you'll end up getting cautioned if you go into a challenge with studs showing.
Rockstar

Nuff said.

He's pish

Don't know how you can compare that fast beast with Kenny Miller. Miller will run his heart out and is a far better player than Durie ever was. Seen Durie play for Chelsea on a number of occasions and he was so bloody lazy, worse than McCoist in that respect.
Rockstar

Thats some fluke then! Don't be silly the guy is a good player, he's not a great player but he does the job for us by scoring goals so how can we complain.
We are a nation of bloody moaners - we are top of the group so gee the players a break and Miller especially so!
Chris

This is the one thing I have ever agreed with you about. However, you've not exactly been entirely consistent in your support of Miller - particularly before the Italy game, in which he actually scored. rolleyes.gif