Full Version: France V Italy
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
cdisaaccie
Craig Broon was refused entry into the Stade de France because he didn't have a press pass to get to the commentary areas.

He's had to buy a ticket off a tout outside laugh.gif
There's hoping he'll make into the Radio Scotland commentary box later on.

Best result for us tonight in this game would obv be a draw.
Here's hoping smile.gif
cdisaaccie
Frogs 1-0 Tallies: Govou, 68 seconds!! ohmy.gif
cdisaaccie
2-0 Henry
celtic_antifa
Cue calls after the game 'France are the real world champions'.
cdisaaccie
2-1 Gilardino
Steve McQueen
QUOTE(cdisaaccie @ Sep 6 2006, 20:21) [snapback]1181960[/snapback]

2-0 Henry

Pity he doesnt do it in the really big games though rolleyes.gif tongue.gif
Neilly
Cracking game actually and both teams are just a few players different from the final a few months back.

Flicking between this and another embarrasing England performance laugh.gif
cdisaaccie
3-1 to the Froggies; Govou again
Radford
QUOTE(cdisaaccie @ Sep 6 2006, 20:04) [snapback]1181936[/snapback]
Best result for us tonight in this game would obv be a draw.

Why?

Andy Gray called it spot on earlier. After Saturday's result, our hope has to be France scud everyone (ourselves excepted) and that gives us the best chance of qualifying. If we now match Italy's results, they need to beat us in both games to finish ahead of us. Considering they drew at home with Lithuania and have lost away to France, we have a shot at doing that.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(Radford @ Sep 6 2006, 22:28) [snapback]1182198[/snapback]

Why?

Andy Gray called it spot on earlier. After Saturday's result, our hope has to be France scud everyone (ourselves excepted) and that gives us the best chance of qualifying. If we now match Italy's results, they need to beat us in both games to finish ahead of us. Considering they drew at home with Lithuania and have lost away to France, we have a shot at doing that.

A hate aw these fuckin constant negative comments aboot scotland. If we reached the world cup finals wed still have c**ts saying "i think we shold ty and defend and hold out for a draw" were no frightened a any c**t in this, and its no a case of france definately beatin us both games. A think weel f**k they french bastarts at hampden. defaintely. We should NOT rely on other countries doin us favour. Weve played 2 won 2 top of the league lets start gettin positive here and no greetin about how wonderful france are.

BRING THEM ON!!
Liam_the_Shrew
If we now match Italy's results, they need to beat us in both games to finish ahead of us.

Unfortunately not, because of that shitty rule about head to head records - all they have to do is hold us at Hampden and beat us away (like they did last time) to get above us.

Personally I really don't see what's wrong with goal difference, especially with this new group system where lots of decent teams are mixed together and everyone takes points off each other, head to head records seem less relevant.
Wee Bully
QUOTE(Liam_the_Shrew @ Sep 7 2006, 00:09) [snapback]1182355[/snapback]

Unfortunately not, because of that shitty rule about head to head records - all they have to do is hold us at Hampden and beat us away (like they did last time) to get above us.

Personally I really don't see what's wrong with goal difference, especially with this new group system where lots of decent teams are mixed together and everyone takes points off each other, head to head records seem less relevant.

Are they not 5 points behind? Surely if they win and draw, they will still be 2 behind?
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE(Radford @ Sep 6 2006, 22:28) [snapback]1182198[/snapback]

Why?

I don't agree, and didn't when I heard Andy Gray say it either.

I can see the theory no problem, ie that France beat everyone and we ONLY need worry about outpointing Ukraine (who are being very conveniently ignored at the minute) and Italy. But I don't think it's practical. At best it leaves us trying to nick one spot with two other sides in the hunt for it.

I much prefer our chances of getting one of two spots available in a four team melee for it. To be honest even now it's too early to get carried away with our chances. We've beaten the worst two sides in the group. But if we're to have any chance at all then we'd obviously be better with our three closest rivals dropping as many points in total as possible. Last night France got three. Had it been a draw they'd have got one each (two in total) and both dropped points. France, despite their world cup final soiree are not world beaters and were fortunate to even qualify for Germany ahead of Israel and Ireland. They won't go through the group winning every game (hopefully starting at Hampden) and I don't think we should want them to do so yet. Obviously if in time it becomes clear they are going to qualify then we will need them to start beating everybody.

Skyline Drifter
QUOTE(Liam_the_Shrew @ Sep 7 2006, 00:09) [snapback]1182355[/snapback]

No they don't. Not if we match every other result. We'd outdo them on points because we didn't drop points to Lithuania.

And the head to head tiebreak is nothing new. It's been in place for years apart from being ignored in Germany qualifying for some reason.