...your team to win the Champions leauge or for your country to win the World Cup?
For me it would to be see Scotland lift the world cup.
celtic_antifa
Sep 6 2006, 11:35
QUOTE(craigcouper @ Sep 6 2006, 12:23) [snapback]1181295[/snapback]
...your team to win the Champions leauge or for your country to win the World Cup?
Absolute no brainer – Celtic every time.
Because it’s Celtic First and Celtic Last and Celtic Overall.
We can laugh at the idea of Scotland winning world cup, but not as much as Motherwell winning CL.
Always Scotland first.
Not having a pop at all here, as this question is always asked and always give same reply of.... Daft Question as your club team and Country are two very different things so you can support both and hope both do well.
Being Scottish I am a realist and well aware we won't do much on the international stage. In saying that, I will always put my country 1st. Although want my club team to do just as well, as I spend more time watching and travelling following them, spending a fortune in the process. Also those are the same lads you go for a drink with before and after a match and having the pre-match laugh is part of the crack of going to football.
So overall, I deem myself oldskool and always put country 1st. Although generally I find people who watch their country (especially in England where i live, I assume same in Scotland) the large majority don't actually watch club football. Therefore often on the international scene there is a fake atmosphere and often not proper lads going, just families or people who go as it is the done thing. Maybe I am stuck in the past and would like everything to be how it was in the early 90's when I started going on a regular basis to football.
Also if you support a club side who are succesful often the fans will use there holidays at work watching there club team play away in Europe. So often fans who watch the international team support small clubs, often outside the top division or as i said earlier don't really attend much club football.
So in conclsuion, I spend a small fortune watching my club side home and away. But still put country 1st. I would like to watch Scotland more live, but living in south England, surrounded by English it is hard to persuade people to watch Scotland. I am also not into all that Tartan Army stuff. Prefer having a few beers, wearing casual clothing etc..
Scotland to win the World Cup, GIRFU Ingerlund*
Brechin are already the most succesful Angus club and Celtic have already won the European Cup - bragging rights already established.
*and Brazil,Argentina,Germany,Italy,France,Uruguay can't be racist now eh
SuperTommy
Sep 6 2006, 13:09
dundee every time although i would enjoy seeing scotland win the world cup i would much rather see dundee lift anything let alone to european cup
OneJamesMcCarthy
Sep 6 2006, 13:11
Club 1st,without a doubt.
StewartyMac
Sep 6 2006, 13:18
Always club first.
Pink Freud
Sep 6 2006, 13:24
QUOTE(pollymac @ Sep 6 2006, 12:53) [snapback]1181362[/snapback]
Scotland to win the World Cup, GIRFU Ingerlund*
Brechin are already the most succesful Angus club and Celtic have already won the European Cup - bragging rights already established.
*and Brazil,Argentina,Germany,Italy,France,Uruguay can't be racist now eh

Nah, you just hate everyone
Scotland first. But only in a friendly spirit of cooperation with all other countries involved
smithers-jones
Sep 6 2006, 19:17
Its a no brainer for every true football fan - club first.
I would rather see Airdrie winning the Challenge Cup than Scotland lifting the World Cup.
BIGQ FAE KDY
Sep 6 2006, 22:29
country first with me everytime
jamesieboy
Sep 6 2006, 22:40
Country first of course!
If Scotland won the European Championships (and let's face it, the WC is a no hoper)
like similar countries, Greece and Denmark there'd be the mother of all parties and the hope and optimism would raise people in this country in a way that a club victory never could.
It would also help the clubs as more people would go to football and it, without doubt, break down sectarianism as everyone would be supporting the same winning team.
If the (local) club wins, say promotion or the Scottish Cup it would be also be great but would be limited to a local scene.
Scots men and women around the world would celebrate a victory like never before and there would be an enormous boost to the self-confidence of the Scottish nation.
shetlandbairn
Sep 6 2006, 22:40
Club, without a shadow of a doubt.
I'd rather Falkirk won the Scottish Cup than Scotland won the World Cup. In fact, I'd rather Falkirk stayed in the SPL than Scotland winning the World Cup.
I have no passion for the national team whatsoever.
thefamousphilosifer
Sep 6 2006, 22:44
I'd say club first
Reynard
Sep 6 2006, 22:50
Club first always. I couldn`t give a f**k about the national team.
ClydeNewcomer
Sep 6 2006, 22:50
QUOTE(shetlandbairn @ Sep 6 2006, 23:40) [snapback]1182317[/snapback]
Club, without a shadow of a doubt.
I'd rather Falkirk won the Scottish Cup than Scotland won the World Cup. In fact, I'd rather Falkirk stayed in the SPL than Scotland winning the World Cup.
I have no passion for the national team whatsoever.
You fuckin idiot, yer teams a fuckin diddy amatuer wan, get it rite up ye ya fuckin p***k. Scotland comes first aw the time, Scotland winnin the world cup would be the best thing ever
thefamousphilosifer
Sep 6 2006, 22:59
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Sep 6 2006, 23:50) [snapback]1182332[/snapback]
You fuckin idiot, yer teams a fuckin diddy amatuer wan, get it rite up ye ya fuckin p***k. Scotland comes first aw the time, Scotland winnin the world cup would be the best thing ever
Who let the mental patient near a computer?
Reynard
Sep 6 2006, 23:09
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Sep 6 2006, 23:50) [snapback]1182332[/snapback]
so the anger management course is going well?
Liam_the_Shrew
Sep 6 2006, 23:13
Interestingly in England they consider this a no-brainer - club every time.
Maybe being raised among the English is getting to me, but I agree - your club's a far more personal high than your country.
Larbert_Par
Sep 6 2006, 23:39
Country for me,though it's a tough call.I guess it's just my sheer patriotism that swings it in favour of the country.
SouthLanarkshireWhite
Sep 7 2006, 07:18
Not sure - probably club.
However whilst on the subject,can we keep club and country separate please!!
I noted the big ' look at us' flag unfurled by our North Glasgow compatriots last Saturday.Who cares which team you support when Scotland are playing.
TAKE THE PTFC OFF THE FLAG - IT'S NOT BIG AND IT'S NOT CLEVER, AND IF WE ALL DID IT, TROUBLE WOULD FOLLOW.
That goes for the guy in his Motherwell gear outside the stadium as well.
QUOTE(smithers-jones @ Sep 6 2006, 20:17) [snapback]1181952[/snapback]
says who?
I would rather see Airdrie winning the Challenge Cup than Scotland lifting the World Cup.
that's one of the dumbest things i've ever heard ...
QUOTE(jamesieboy @ Sep 6 2006, 23:40) [snapback]1182316[/snapback]
Country first of course!
If Scotland won the European Championships (and let's face it, the WC is a no hoper)
like similar countries, Greece and Denmark there'd be the mother of all parties and the hope and optimism would raise people in this country in a way that a club victory never could.
It would also help the clubs as more people would go to football and it, without doubt, break down sectarianism as everyone would be supporting the same winning team.
If the (local) club wins, say promotion or the Scottish Cup it would be also be great but would be limited to a local scene.
Scots men and women around the world would celebrate a victory like never before and there would be an enormous boost to the self-confidence of the Scottish nation.
that's basically how i feel about it, though it's only a question of principles so we might as well win the world cup rather than just the euros
Sorry I can't decide, and it's not like I need to. They'll never clash!
Scotland by a mile. I'd much rather Scotland qualified for a major competition than Stenny won the league.
David W
Sep 8 2006, 09:49
QUOTE(Reynard @ Sep 6 2006, 23:50) [snapback]1182331[/snapback]
Club first always. I couldn`t give a f**k about the national team.
QUOTE(David W @ Sep 8 2006, 10:49) [snapback]1183667[/snapback]
Good point, eloquently put and certainly one I agree with.
BrigBairn
Sep 8 2006, 12:26
QUOTE(craigcouper @ Sep 6 2006, 12:23) [snapback]1181295[/snapback]
Hate this question but it Must be for the Scots to lift the World Cup ,just so my sad old firm mates can be by my side
Harry Chibber
Sep 8 2006, 12:57
Scotland to win the World Cup
because hopefully by then ICT might actually have a player in the National team
It would be hard to imagine a whole nation celebrating and even the OF supporters might actually say they were proud to be Scottish rather than wearing Ireland & England strips.
Guinness_Alan
Sep 8 2006, 13:14
QUOTE(Harry Chibber @ Sep 8 2006, 13:57) [snapback]1183872[/snapback]
even the OF supporters might actually say they were proud to be Scottish rather than wearing Ireland & England strips.
You've taken that too far!
Scotland comes first for me every time. I've missed club games to watch Scotland and not regretted it once, even when Ayr won while I was watching Scotland lose!
killie_ken
Sep 8 2006, 14:01
For the good of the country, I'd chose the World Cup win. However, supporting my club and country is very compatible.
I'd support Scotland if it was made up of 11 Ayr players.
Mon the Rovers
Sep 8 2006, 15:42
QUOTE(smithers-jones @ Sep 6 2006, 20:17) [snapback]1181952[/snapback]
Maybe not quite the Challenge Cup
Hearts.
I wouldn't swap either of our recent Scottish Cups for a World Cup to be honest.
South Lanarkshire Jag
Sep 8 2006, 18:43
thistle all the way
Country every single time.
highlandcowden
Sep 8 2006, 19:45
the WC because its a proper tournament.
The CL is just a recent construct by the greedy to try annd make as much money as possible;theyre more concerned at being in it due to the monetary rewards than actually winning it for the glory.The CL is in no way a worthy successor to the European cup which was a top tournament
Scotland Forever.
Hearts at the weekend.
QUOTE(Neiljb @ Sep 8 2006, 20:48) [snapback]1184361[/snapback]
Scotland Forever.
Hearts at the weekend.

By the way, we have midweek games in each of the next three weeks.
smithers-jones
Sep 9 2006, 08:02
As I absolutely hate the Old Firm, I find it impossible to cheer on any of their players, its as simple as that.
scottmcleanscontacts
Sep 10 2006, 00:33
club, every time
Twynholm
Sep 10 2006, 10:48
Tough choice. Had to make it on USA game day but i picked club that day. Probably would pick club although it would hurt me
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.