Full Version: Celtic Park
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
Günther
One of the worst stadiums I have ever been in. Only ones I can think of that are worse are the 2 in Lithuania I've been to...
My view was a fuckin pillar, which otherwise could be described as one of the best seats in the stadium!
The bogs were fuckin tiny!! The bogs at Broadwood are much bigger and that's saying something!
Trying to get out the stadium is a joke, and if it wasnae for the fact I leapt over the seats on my way down. It'd have taken me ages to get out!
The atmosphere is shite, naec**t can ever have the cheek to slag hampden for a lack of atmosphere. Due to Parkhead being a tincan stadium. All the clapping drowned out the singing!

Hope to f**k we don't play there again, This is just the stadium I am talking about, nevermind the local area which can't be decribed other than the Arsehole of Glasgow, Shite everywhere!

I got into the game on time so this isn't what propelled this thread.

f**k Robbie Williams... laugh.gif Hampden is Scotlands home!
Calderwood PTFC
QUOTE(Duff Man @ Sep 3 2006, 22:31) [snapback]1178191[/snapback]

One of the worst stadiums I have ever been in. Only ones I can think of that are worse are the 2 in Lithuania I've been to...
My view was a fuckin pillar, which otherwise could be described as one of the best seats in the stadium!
The bogs were fuckin tiny!! The bogs at Broadwood are much bigger and that's saying something!
Trying to get out the stadium is a joke, and if it wasnae for the fact I leapt over the seats on my way down. It'd have taken me ages to get out!
The atmosphere is shite, naec**t can ever have the cheek to slag hampden for a lack of atmosphere. Due to Parkhead being a tincan stadium. All the clapping drowned out the singing!

Hope to f**k we don't play there again, This is just the stadium I am talking about, nevermind the local area which can't be decribed other than the Arsehole of Glasgow, Shite everywhere!

I know lets play Scotland games at broadwood from now on, eh fud man?
RoswellSaint
If hampden is unavailable again, the SFA will not be using parkhead. The lock out due to the ticketing system will put paid to that.
roland sausage
Getting out the ground was a nightmare yesterday, some fuckwit decided they would shut one of the gates so anyone who was in the janefield street end that wanted to head back towards bellgrove station or the city centre had walk round the long way dry.gif it was a pain in the arse trying to get to the toilet at half time, as the queues for the snack bars were right back to the bottom of the stairs. I laughed at the people moaning to the stewards about having to wait ages in the food queues and the folk moaning about the prices, why dont they have the brains to get something to eat at the chippy or something before the game?
jamesieboy
QUOTE(southstander @ Sep 3 2006, 23:01) [snapback]1178265[/snapback]

Getting out the ground was a nightmare yesterday, some fuckwit decided they would shut one of the gates so anyone who was in the janefield street end that wanted to head back towards bellgrove station or the city centre had walk round the long way dry.gif it was a pain in the arse trying to get to the toilet at half time, as the queues for the snack bars were right back to the bottom of the stairs. I laughed at the people moaning to the stewards about having to wait ages in the food queues and the folk moaning about the prices, why dont they have the brains to get something to eat at the chippy or something before the game?

Quite correct.

If you want something to eat you go to a restaurant or a cafe. Football stadiums are for people who want to watch football. And make a fool of themselves on some occasions.
DAVE M
Parkhead is indeed a complete shithole, and it's not exactly breaking news. smile.gif
BerwickMad

I dont think ive been to a big stadium which is any different to that.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(Duff Man @ Sep 3 2006, 21:31) [snapback]1178191[/snapback]

I seen the pillers there, I can't even imagine wit it would be like to be rite behind one. I was in the south stand and it was a great seat. I must admit I was impressed by parkheed. Big stadium withot the runnin track around the edge. The only thing that I don't like about it is the area its in. Nightmare to get to ontime. 5 mins into the game there was still at least 10,000 tryin to get in. The broadwood toilets are well better 8 )
Günther
QUOTE(Calderwood PTFC @ Sep 3 2006, 22:36) [snapback]1178208[/snapback]

I know lets play Scotland games at broadwood from now on, eh fud man?

You really are a wee p***k. f**k off to ibrox ya wee hun b*****d.

The only thing I liked better about smackheid to hampden is the fact they have a healthy amount of turnstyles so there wasnae really many queues. But I wasnae affected by the ticket problem...
Steve McQueen
Surley Scotland should move all their games to Murrayfield!

We must be the only country that doesnt play (at least some of) their home games in the capital city.
MattBairn
QUOTE(Steve McQueen @ Sep 4 2006, 19:02) [snapback]1179196[/snapback]

I wouldnt have a problem with that.
Its a cracker of a stadium.
The Pacey Winger

We must be the only country that doesnt play (at least some of) their home games in the capital city.

It's a fair point and I wouldn't have a problem with it either. Bigger capacity and excellent atmosphere. Somehow I think the traditionalists may disagree though. Worthy of debate.
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(The Pacey Winger @ Sep 4 2006, 18:45) [snapback]1179227[/snapback]

It's a fair point and I wouldn't have a problem with it either. Bigger capacity and excellent atmosphere. Somehow I think the traditionalists may disagree though. Worthy of debate.

There is probably more chance of a hen growing teeth than the SFA wanting to ugrade hampden's capacity. 52,500 really isnt enough for Scotland
Mon the Rovers
Its bloody annoying for everyone outside Glasgow having to travel for every single Scotland game, they should have put this game at Murrayfield or somewhere
Rockstar

Brazil don't play in their capital, neither do Australia, Holland or Turkey. Sure Hampden is our home but I hate it as a stadium, miles fae the pitch. I for one enjoyed my first trip to Celtic Park since it has been revamped. Better atmosphere than Hampden! I am not saying we should play our games at Celtic Park but it would be nice to have a national stadium to be proud of (like the welsh have).
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE(Rockstar @ Sep 4 2006, 21:56) [snapback]1179413[/snapback]

Brazil don't play in their capital, neither do Australia, Holland or Turkey. Sure Hampden is our home but I hate it as a stadium, miles fae the pitch. I for one enjoyed my first trip to Celtic Park since it has been revamped. Better atmosphere than Hampden! I am not saying we should play our games at Celtic Park but it would be nice to have a national stadium to be proud of (like the welsh have).

Hampden is shite, we should play our games at either Ibrox, Parkhead or Murryfield.
Crap views and WHAT WAS THE POINT OF THE RUNNING TRACK? Can somebody please tell me mad.gif

Waste of money upgrading Hampden when we already had two other big grounds in the City.

Pompey.
QUOTE(Steven @ Sep 4 2006, 22:08) [snapback]1179444[/snapback]

Hampden is shite, we should play our games at either Ibrox, Parkhead or Murryfield.
Crap views and WHAT WAS THE POINT OF THE RUNNING TRACK? Can somebody please tell me mad.gif

Waste of money upgrading Hampden when we already had two other big grounds in the City.

The running track was to make it harder for people to get onto the pitch: if you have a look at the perimeter wall at Hampden now, you'll notice that there are actually two walls, about five foot apart, and in between them is a network of wire mesh to make it nearly impossible to get onto the track before a steward or polis gets there. If you do get onto the track, then you've still got a bit to go before you can get to the pitch, and the security people will have noticed your efforts at getting over the mesh, and be on the way to beat you up at the back of the terracing.

And because it was already there, it was probably cheaper, knowing the SFA mad.gif
Follow Follow
QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Sep 4 2006, 20:47) [snapback]1179310[/snapback]

Its bloody annoying for everyone outside Glasgow having to travel for every single Scotland game, they should have put this game at Murrayfield or somewhere

If its moved to Edinburgh for this reason, then people will moan to have it up north.What ig you travel over from Canada to watch Scotland- should we give them a wee shot of hosting a game?
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(Follow Follow @ Sep 4 2006, 22:18) [snapback]1179467[/snapback]

If its moved to Edinburgh for this reason, then people will moan to have it up north.What ig you travel over from Canada to watch Scotland- should we give them a wee shot of hosting a game?

We should give the friendlies to Aberdeen. Like they did against Nigeria. The only reason MurrayField is not used is because of the big name and history of Hampden
Pompey.
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Sep 4 2006, 22:34) [snapback]1179502[/snapback]

We should give the friendlies to Aberdeen. Like they did against Nigeria. The only reason MurrayField is not used is because of the big name and history of Hampden

Pittodrie holds 21000. rolleyes.gif
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(Pompey. @ Sep 4 2006, 22:42) [snapback]1179522[/snapback]

Pittodrie holds 21000. rolleyes.gif

22 thousand actually lol. Ideally we would want around 30/35 thousand seater stadium for friendlies coz although I turn up there are alot of glory huntin fans out there who only want to go to big games. We won't get 52,000 for a friendly against Southern Botswana. We should but just disny happen unfortunately
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Sep 4 2006, 23:24) [snapback]1179608[/snapback]

22 thousand actually lol. Ideally we would want around 30/35 thousand seater stadium for friendlies coz although I turn up there are alot of glory huntin fans out there who only want to go to big games. We won't get 52,000 for a friendly against Southern Botswana. We should but just disny happen unfortunately

anyway am no complainin, a live accross the road fae hampden, the mount!
The Notorious JMS

Amen to that Duffman... smile.gif

As for you moaning muppets, complainin about Hampden, shut it...the atmosphere generated at Hampden when we played the Germans, Italians, and the Dutch over the last few years was fantastic...Hampden will be our secret weapon against the French, Italians and Ukranians...watch them shite it... cool.gif
Pompey.
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Sep 4 2006, 23:24) [snapback]1179608[/snapback]

No, we won't get 52,000 for a friendly against this, presumably newly-established, state that you mention.

But why preclude ourselves from having the potential to do so?

It's like the muppets at St Mirren Park condeming the club to an eternity of 6000 maximum crowds.

If you have no ambition, you have no hope, and you have no future.
MattBairn
QUOTE(Follow Follow @ Sep 4 2006, 22:18) [snapback]1179467[/snapback]

The Canada comment was just daft and taking it to a ridiculous degree.

What would be wrong with using other grounds in the "smaller" games?

Aberdeen, Dundee, Perth etc.
Move the games round the country. That way people from different areas will have easier access to some Scotland games. More kids might get the chance to go and help aid the future attendances for Scotland games.

The big games such as major qualifiers etc could be shared between Glasgow and Edinburgh as they have the biggest Stadia (Hampden and Murrayfield).

England did it for a while and it proved very successful for getting fans to the game who cant usually make the trip to their home of football.
Pompey.
QUOTE(MattBairn @ Sep 5 2006, 10:50) [snapback]1179856[/snapback]

Dundee, Perth etc.

Do you really want Scotland's national teams friendlies to be watched by 9000 people?
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(Pompey. @ Sep 5 2006, 16:40) [snapback]1180296[/snapback]

Do you really want Scotland's national teams friendlies to be watched by 9000 people?

naw naw yer missen the point here. A know wit yer sayin about us trying to better ourselves by encouraging fans to go to the big stadiums for friendlies. If we are playin so called diddy teams that won't attract big numbers then we really should be playing at pittodre. A meen 22 tousand packed intae there or 22,000 in a less than hof full hampden. Ye must understand that, its shameful in ma eyes but theres a lot a glory hunters that wulny go tae the friendlies. Disny take away the fact that we have amazin support, but we have unfortunately got alot a these glory hunters
Steve McQueen
QUOTE(Rockstar @ Sep 4 2006, 21:56) [snapback]1179413[/snapback]

Brazil don't play in their capital, neither do Australia, Holland or Turkey.

Holland certainly do play some of their games in Amsterdam.
The Leader
QUOTE(Steve McQueen @ Sep 5 2006, 18:39) [snapback]1180472[/snapback]

Amsterdam is not the capital of The Netherlands.
Günther
QUOTE(Steve McQueen @ Sep 5 2006, 18:39) [snapback]1180472[/snapback]

What a cock muncher laugh.gif. Is Glasgow the capital of Scotland in your world pal? laugh.gif

The capital of Holland is Den Haag, aka The Hague laugh.gif. And ADO Den Haags stadium is a dump laugh.gif
The Leader
QUOTE(Duff Man @ Sep 5 2006, 21:51) [snapback]1180769[/snapback]

What a cock muncher laugh.gif. Is Glasgow the capital of Scotland in your world pal? laugh.gif

The capital of Holland is Den Haag, aka The Hague laugh.gif. And ADO Den Haags stadium is a dump laugh.gif

You tell him Duff Man,

For a minute I though you had called ME a cock muncher dry.gif ohmy.gif
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE(Duff Man @ Sep 5 2006, 21:51) [snapback]1180769[/snapback]

must admit a thought the capital wiz amsterdam, used tae be anyway! lol
Pompey.
QUOTE(ClydeNewcomer @ Sep 5 2006, 23:10) [snapback]1180915[/snapback]

must admit a thought the capital wiz amsterdam, used tae be anyway! lol

You'd be right.

It is a misconception that it is a misconception that Amsterdam is the Dutch capital.

The Hague is the seat of Government, hosting the Senaat and Tweede Kamer, all foreign embassies and missions, all Dutch Ministries, the Supreme Court, lobbying organisations, Royal Dutch Shell, Royal Dutch Telecom, Holland Post, the International Court of Justice, the Tribunal for Former Yugoslavia, the International Criminal Court, EUROpol, and of course Queen Beatrix lives and works in The Hague,

However, the Dutch Constitution does list Amsterdam as the Capital.
Iain
That's the first time I've ever been in Celtic Park and I thought it was excellent. I was in the 3rd row of the top tier North stand, just about at the corner flag and the view was a million times better than anything at Hampden. Getting in was fine, though it's a fair way from the Bellgrove station we were told was only 5 mins out, and so we just walked into the City Centre afterwards, which was also fine.

All-in-all way better than at Hampden, but I don't really agree with the atmosphere comments, I felt it was second best on Saturday to the feeling at Hampden when the team comes out, Loch Lomond plays, etc.