Full Version: Beanos 1-1 Rovers
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
StewartyMac
Gutting to lose a last minute equalizer, although a draw was probably the fairest result. We were the better side in the 2nd half, Raith shaded it in the first.

Still, it's annoying. Particularly sitting on a 1-0 lead with our less-than-perfect defence

And ANOTHER awful ref. For both teams.

Pretty pish game overall, nothing much more to say about it really...
miketheheadlesschicken
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Sep 3 2006, 17:14) [snapback]1177640[/snapback]

And ANOTHER awful ref. For both teams.

You're now apparently allowed to elbow a player in the face and you won't even get booked for it.
kullibino
And volley the ball out of a players hands when he's trying to take a free kick, Raith weren't a drity team really but both fullbacks were real bawbags.

Draw possibly a fair result but I thought we shaded it, missed 2 really good chance's at 1-0 aswell.

Have to start winning these game's if we want to be challenging.
Steven
Shit game and shit ref.

Our lack of shots on goals is worrying and our captain is pish.

Also whats with the fucking police, fucking get a life what are we allowed to do at matches now just sit in fucking silence bored out of our skulls? mad.gif
base
QUOTE(Steven @ Sep 3 2006, 18:09) [snapback]1177692[/snapback]

what are we allowed to do at matches now just sit in fucking silence bored out of our skulls? mad.gif

When you're watching the Rovers, yes.
Steven
Wonder when Harty's shoulder will clear up as we sure need him back asap alongside McManus who should be back next week.

Hopefully it wont take anymore than one or two weeks.
StewartyMac
Thought the wee pocket of singing Rovers fans backed their team well. Unfortunately, we don't ever seem to sing at home games now sad.gif
Steven
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Sep 3 2006, 18:46) [snapback]1177746[/snapback]

Thought the wee pocket of singing Rovers fans backed their team well. Unfortunately, we don't ever seem to sing at home games now sad.gif

I was going to come across and check you lot were still alive across in the home end wink.gif
roaryrover
QUOTE(Steven @ Sep 3 2006, 18:18) [snapback]1177706[/snapback]

Wonder when Harty's shoulder will clear up as we sure need him back asap alongside McManus who should be back next week.

Hopefully it wont take anymore than one or two weeks.

rovers fans were immense and todd lumsden needs to get 2 fk with bonar kilgannon one and davidson asap
Crazy_Horse
Stirling, you wuz robbed!

Broon.............decent game

Bonar.............Tosser
Fozzy..............Decent game
Silvestro.........Decent game
Campbell........Decent game, good headed goal
Lumsden.........Captain calamity. Fucks things up and blames everyone else. Arsehole.
Fairbairn.........Lazy, pish, should f**k off back to Least Fife and we get John Martin back.
No, strike that, we'd even take Johnathan Smart back, and thats saying something! mad.gif
Janczyk..........Who the f**k signed him? Complete twat.
One................Complete waste of space. Should be pulling pints or something, as NOT a footballer!
Davidson........Worst game in a Rovers shirt. Utter pants.
Kilgannon.......Should work in the same pub as One. Another (Parsy) w**ker.

Manson..........Should have scored when through again! Still, get him in before One!
Trialist...........Didnae have much to do. Beats Kilbloodygannon hands down though.

Striling polis.................W A N K E R S! Cant swear cant stand, what do you do? Thought we were going to get put out for singing by the dandy looking polisman behind us! Dick.
RedWeb
Armand One has to be the biggest bloke I've ever seen playing Scottish football....the lad looked like a heavyweight boxer. He holds the ball up well but other than that gives nothing to the Raith effort....don't think I saw him actually break into a gentle jog in the entire match....mind you the shorts looked a tad on the tight side and were probably restricting the blood supply to the rest of his body.

As for the rubbish on the pitch I thought we probably just about deserved to win but an inability to keep clean sheets cost us again.
rubberneck nelson
Didnt make the game due to a severe hangover from yesterday and a lack of funds, but it sounds like i didnt miss much
Steven
QUOTE(southstander @ Sep 3 2006, 19:30) [snapback]1177832[/snapback]

Didnt make the game due to a severe hangover from yesterday and a lack of funds, but it sounds like i didnt miss much

Trust me you made the right choice......................
StewartyMac
Having seen Armand One in the flesh for the first time, I am convinced he is the secret love child of Frank Bruno and Justin Fashanu. laugh.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Raithsaltire @ Sep 3 2006, 19:13) [snapback]1177803[/snapback]

Davidson........Worst game in a Rovers shirt. Utter pants.

I assume this was your number 10? A player who was very, very lucky to have gone the whole game without a red card. Or maybe just lucky that the referee was clueless. Is he always as dirty as that?
Dunc
I think that if we can get a decent tactician in, Armand could become a better asset.

Every corner/free-kick we get, defenders draw towards him, and leave other players free. If the gaffer realises this, it could work in our favour.

He also showed against Airdrie he is capable of scoring. Like Harty, he needs to settle in, get to full fitness and then maybe he'll start showing the sort of form he did for Cowden last season.
Raving On
QUOTE(Dunc @ Sep 3 2006, 19:51) [snapback]1177864[/snapback]

I think that if we can get a decent tactician in, Armand could become a better asset.

Every corner/free-kick we get, defenders draw towards him, and leave other players free. If the gaffer realises this, it could work in our favour.

He also showed against Airdrie he is capable of scoring. Like Harty, he needs to settle in, get to full fitness and then maybe he'll start showing the sort of form he did for Cowden last season.

I can't believe how poor One was. RedWeb talked about him being able to hold the ball up but his first touch was poor virtually all of the time and it was only the inability of our defence to get round him that allowed him to retain control. Raith surprised me a bit actually as I thought they looked fairly decent defensively, with the midfield closing down excellently in the first half and for most of the duration of the game. Trouble was with the midfield it was clearly defensively orientated and had absolutely no creativity leading to the 2 front men having to feed off long balls.

As for ourselves, I felt Rovers restricted us from playing pretty well in the first half but in the second half we were much the sharper. Allan Moore needs to look at his options in midfield because Stevie Bell clearly isn't a right winger and Dougie Wilson had much more of an influence there when he came on just because he hugged the touchline. Bell has also stopped going in for 50/50 tackles since he smashed the Dumbarton boy's leg up in pre-season; it's clearly got to him. Someone said we were robbed and in a way we were but if we can't defend simple set-plays properly then we will be punished as we were today. It was never a free-kick in the first place but that's not really an excuse.
Steven
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Sep 3 2006, 19:48) [snapback]1177861[/snapback]

I assume this was your number 10? A player who was very, very lucky to have gone the whole game without a red card. Or maybe just lucky that the referee was clueless. Is he always as dirty as that?

In one word yes he is also as shit as that mad.gif
renton
Thats a few games where Davo's been throwing himself about like the karate kid... not good sad.gif

Lost my temper spectacularly with One at the Cowden game, I am yet to see any evidence to the contrary of my loudly voiced opinion from that day, namely: "RUN YOU FAT FUCKING LAZY b*****d, YOUR SHIIIITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Neither do I honestly believe that Harty will recover that lost form - He's just this season's Eddie Annand, despite our now departed manager's attempts in the transfer market over the summer we still have only one man caopable of scoring - Mcmanus, in fact I'd go as far to say he is maybe the only guy in a raith shirt who show any kind of tactcal awareness, guile, speed and on the ball skill. Maybe only one of three players we have who are complete footballers in their respective positions - the others are fozzie and Campbell.

That in mind it's gonna be a brave man who takes us on as manager
Neilly
How's Cramby playing so far for Stirling?

Surprisingly so far not heard much from him disrupting the dressing room or being a naughty boy, plus he's scored a couple as well hasn't he?
MIFTHEBINO
He seems to fade in and out of games,but pops up with a goal now and again.I'm not his biggest fan as he looks lazy and shits out of challenges/tackles,however it is still early days and I'll settle for that if he can score more goals.
Raving On
I'm happy enough with him just now. As MIF says he doesn't always contribute a lot but has got 3 goals in the first 5 league matches and at least 1 assist. If he keeps up that kind of ratio I'll be delighted - and also a bit surprised.
Cowden Cowboy

v Cowden he put in 3 dreadful over the top of the ball challenges in the first half.

As for One - a good manager would know how to use him. Highly effective for Cowden last season because we played to his strengths. Raith are clueless as to how to use him. He was even more unfit when he played for us but still more than paid his way. If he was still with Cowden he would be banging in the goals.
Raving On
As I said in a post earlier, I struggled to see what his strengths were today other than being big. If he was that good Cowden wouldn't have chucked him at the end of last season.
Cowden Cowboy
QUOTE(Raving On @ Sep 3 2006, 21:17) [snapback]1178020[/snapback]

As I said in a post earlier, I struggled to see what his strengths were today other than being big. If he was that good Cowden wouldn't have chucked him at the end of last season.

We didn't chuck him - Mixu wanted him and told him he would get him fit over the summer. Armand was keen to stay but his girlfriend has had a baby and she wanted him I am led to believe to accept the higher wages on offer from Raith. Armand therefore has lost the opportunity to benefit from Mixu's excellent fitness regime whilst having to suffer Dalziel's ineptness in signing a player he doesn't even seem to know how to use properly. Did he not even watch him play for Cowden?
Mon the Rovers
The game was rubbish today, sat bored oot ma skull, occasionally getting up to shout at Kilgannon or Davidson. What do they do? Kilgannon has contributed nothing in a Rovers shirt and I doubt he ever will. The ref was rank rotten, to both teams to be fair, the last 2 games now I've seen absolutley shocking decisions from the refs. Stirling's wee Slovakian boy was the only footballer on the pitch, only bad thing about him is he goes down far too easily. A point more than expected for us I suppose, but we still have to wait for a Forthbank win
Steven
QUOTE(Cowden Cowboy @ Sep 3 2006, 21:23) [snapback]1178034[/snapback]

Armand therefore has lost the opportunity to benefit from Mixu's excellent fitness regime whilst having to suffer Dalziel's ineptness in signing a player he doesn't even seem to know how to use properly. Did he not even watch him play for Cowden?

Don't ask a silly question course he didnt mad.gif

RedWeb
QUOTE(Neilly @ Sep 3 2006, 20:31) [snapback]1177912[/snapback]

How's Cramby playing so far for Stirling?

Doing well...3 in 5 league games with a couple of assists. For a 32 year old journeyman I don't reckon we have a right to expect much better. Have to say some Albion fans blether a load of pish when it comes to his workrate....as I take notes I can assure some of the doubters that he does a lot more than he's given credit for tongue.gif
gogsmo
QUOTE(Steven @ Sep 3 2006, 20:48) [snapback]1178092[/snapback]

Don't ask a silly question course he didnt mad.gif

He sat behind me at the Cowdenbeath v Falkirk game with notebook in hand. Didn't see him write a thing down though and he left with about 25 minutes left to play(perhaps dreaming of drinks in the Boardroom wink.gif ). Says it all about his tenure really.
Steven
QUOTE(gogsmo @ Sep 3 2006, 22:04) [snapback]1178135[/snapback]

He sat behind me at the Cowdenbeath v Falkirk game with notebook in hand. Didn't see him write a thing down though and he left with about 25 minutes left to play(perhaps dreaming of drinks in the Boardroom wink.gif ). Says it all about his tenure really.

I was sitting pretty close to him during that game as well, he was sitting with Eric Drysdale.

Wouldnt surprise me if he didnt leave to go home but went to get into the social club before everybody else. Was the place dried out when you lot went into it after the game?
gogsmo
QUOTE(Steven @ Sep 3 2006, 21:12) [snapback]1178147[/snapback]

I was sitting pretty close to him during that game as well, he was sitting with Eric Drysdale.

Wouldnt surprise me if he didnt leave to go home but went to get into the social club before everybody else. Was the place dried out when you lot went into it after the game?

Well Eric was definately enjoying the hospitality(as is his want). He kept disappearing down the steps and on one occassion returned licking his lips, rubbing his belly and giving the thumbs up to Daz and the other guy who was there(Bob Mullin, Admin bloke?).
South Lanarkshire Jag
QUOTE(Raithsaltire @ Sep 3 2006, 19:13) [snapback]1177803[/snapback]

Kilgannon.......Should work in the same pub as One. Another (Parsy) w**ker.

QUOTE(Mon the Rovers @ Sep 3 2006, 21:26) [snapback]1178041[/snapback]

Kilgannon has contributed nothing in a Rovers shirt and I doubt he ever will.

now you know why thistle fans made up a song mocking his shiteness

i feel for you as u dont seem to have the size of squad to drop him or not play him He was a player i rated before he came to Firhill as he seemed decent when he played against us but now he is the biggest waste of space
Steven
QUOTE(gogsmo @ Sep 3 2006, 22:21) [snapback]1178174[/snapback]

Well Eric was definately enjoying the hospitality(as is his want). He kept disappearing down the steps and on one occassion returned licking his lips, rubbing his belly and giving the thumbs up to Daz and the other guy who was there(Bob Mullin, Admin bloke?).

I seen that as well ph34r.gif

Yep it was Bob Mullen, he came into the ground with Dalziel as I met them on the way in.
Steven
QUOTE(South Lanarkshire Jag @ Sep 3 2006, 22:33) [snapback]1178197[/snapback]

now you know why thistle fans made up a song mocking his shiteness

i feel for you as u dont seem to have the size of squad to drop him or not play him He was a player i rated before he came to Firhill as he seemed decent when he played against us but now he is the biggest waste of space

Totally agree, maybe a better manger will be able to get something out of him but I doubt it, another typical Dalziel signing mad.gif
west rover
ph34r.gif one is never a player,the only way to get anything out of him is to stick him in the penalty box and fire cross balls to his head hight, and hope he can finish any scraps that land at his feet without him having to run,thats the only way i would use him,mark yardley was a more dangerous player than one even when he was in his last seasons as a senior player. cool.gif
rubberneck nelson
QUOTE(west rover @ Sep 3 2006, 22:53) [snapback]1178251[/snapback]

mark yardley was a more dangerous player than one even when he was in his last seasons as a senior player. cool.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif come on now.....
west rover
tongue.gif ok laugh but if you check you will see that the partnership between yardley and mcmanus brought 22 goals for paul the season that yardley finished playing senior, thats never gonna happen with paul playing off one,as he is killing the speed of the attack with his fumbling with the ball and inability to head the ball down or onwards to a player. lets be honest here if one was any good any of his previous clubs would have bent over backwards to keep him, you cant buy the height and build he has, but he has to be able to use it. in saying that i am willing to be his agent, for the part of big george, in the green mile. part 2. you never know he might be a better actor than he is a player. tongue.gif
Steven
QUOTE(west rover @ Sep 3 2006, 23:32) [snapback]1178318[/snapback]

tongue.gif ok laugh but if you check you will see that the partnership between yardley and mcmanus brought 22 goals for paul the season that yardley finished playing senior, thats never gonna happen with paul playing off one,as he is killing the speed of the attack with his fumbling with the ball and inability to head the ball down or onwards to a player. lets be honest here if one was any good any of his previous clubs would have bent over backwards to keep him, you cant buy the height and build he has, but he has to be able to use it. in saying that i am willing to be his agent, for the part of big george, in the green mile. part 2. you never know he might be a better actor than he is a player. tongue.gif

Yardley was twice the ............................size One is laugh.gif

Are you implying Yardley didnt slow down attacks, fat overweight useless c**t that he was rolleyes.gif
west rover
ph34r.gif aye and more dangerous. listen guys i follow both raith and albion,as i am a west coaster living in the east,and with the amount of ex albion players playing for raith it makes sense to watch both teams when ever i can, and i will ask you one queston what has one done in football compared to a fat mark yardley, i would take yards every time. rolleyes.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE(RedWeb @ Sep 3 2006, 22:04) [snapback]1178133[/snapback]

Have to say some Albion fans blether a load of pish when it comes to his workrate....as I take notes I can assure some of the doubters that he does a lot more than he's given credit for tongue.gif

Hae a word with yersel man.

Because you 'take notes' this makes you a better judge of player?? laugh.gif

Surely, you miss loads of the action because you're busy scribbling away rolleyes.gif

Only joshing, but don't mock others opinions just because you use a pen. wink.gif
Double Jack D

I don't think he's intentionally dirty, he's just useless and hopelessly unfit! I've seen a few of his tackles lately - especially one against PatClarke in the Cowdenbeath game where he could've walked and fear he's gonna injure someone badly.

A sad sad excuse for a footballer!
rw89
We need to get rid of One (though the songs about him are funny smile.gif ),kilgannon and lumsden. All of these players don't really work enough and aren't having a good effect on the team
Steven
QUOTE(riw89 @ Sep 4 2006, 08:40) [snapback]1178445[/snapback]

We need to get rid of One (though the songs about him are funny smile.gif ),kilgannon and lumsden. All of these players don't really work enough and aren't having a good effect on the team

lumsden who has a go at every other player on the park and never takes the blame for his own mistakes, he's as bad as Dalziel rolleyes.gif
Whistle Blower
QUOTE(Steven @ Sep 4 2006, 08:42) [snapback]1178447[/snapback]

lumsden who has a go at every other player on the park and never takes the blame for his own mistakes, he's as bad as Dalziel rolleyes.gif

I get fed up repeating myself on here, anyway

Lumsden is one of the worst centre halves seen at Starks Park since Steve Corstorphine packed his bubble perm and left in 1984
Tomsk The Beano
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Sep 3 2006, 19:46) [snapback]1177859[/snapback]

Having seen Armand One in the flesh for the first time, I am convinced he is the secret love child of Frank Bruno and Justin Fashanu. laugh.gif

Loved his socks though laugh.gif
Tomsk The Beano
QUOTE(MIFTHEBINO @ Sep 3 2006, 20:45) [snapback]1177940[/snapback]

He seems to fade in and out of games,but pops up with a goal now and again.I'm not his biggest fan as he looks lazy and shits out of challenges/tackles,however it is still early days and I'll settle for that if he can score more goals.

Cramb has been one of our most consistent players so far this season. The problem is he needs the ball to his feet and we ain't playing that way which means he is doing most of his work outside the box in link-up and hold-up play. He's certainly not as lazy/shitting out as Shields.
RedWeb
QUOTE(Tomsk The Beano @ Sep 4 2006, 09:16) [snapback]1178464[/snapback]

He's certainly not as lazy/shitting out as Shields.

Agreed....Coco for manager !!
Cowden Cowboy
Are you playing Shields wide on the right - that is his true position. He can be devastating when given a run in that position. Cowden fans know that. Rowan Alexander had as much idea how to use him as Dalziel had for One. Dino is not a central striker!
Gnash
QUOTE(Cowden Cowboy @ Sep 4 2006, 20:25) [snapback]1179274[/snapback]

Are you playing Shields wide on the right - that is his true position. He can be devastating when given a run in that position. Cowden fans know that. Rowan Alexander had as much idea how to use him as Dalziel had for One. Dino is not a central striker!

If this is true then we'd definitely be best reverting to the 4-5-1 of last season:

Hogarth

Nugent Graham Forsyth Devine

Shields Bell Fraser Tomano O'brien

Cramb

Cramb would get the support he clearly needs so long as Bell and Tomano push forward - which they would. biggrin.gif
RedWeb
QUOTE(Cowden Cowboy @ Sep 4 2006, 20:25) [snapback]1179274[/snapback]

Are you playing Shields wide on the right - that is his true position.

To be fair I think he was a striker to start out with but a lack of goals and form prompted a switch to the wing to make best use of his pace and decent dribbling. He does seem quite lively out there and maybe it would be a decent shout to give it a go...we've just lost a right winger and Shields could be the answer out there....but I'm not holding my breath.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.