Full Version: Do You Support Scotland?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
DJP
I have lived down south for ages, but whenever I return up north I always hear that Scottish born Rangers fans support England and Scottish born Celtic fans support Ireland. Is this true, as in close to a 50/50 split. Or is this bollox. I find it hard to belive that so many people would ditch there own country. Or alot of them just don't care about the national team. Maybe I am a dying breed who always puts Country before club. Live in a RAF Town down south, plenty of Rangers and Celtic fans here, but they all support Scotland. I just can't get my head round it, if they do support another country over there own.

I don't mind if they support England/Ireland after Scotland (i personally never could), so long as they support Scotland 1st.

This is only for Rangers and Celtic fans, other supporters please keep your cheap shots to yourself.
DJP
As i know 10-15 years ago, everyone seemed to support Scotland. I am hoping that in most cases about 90% of both sets of fans support Scotland.

DJP
Final thing, Good luck to Rangers, Celtic and Hearts in Europe this season. Always want to see the Scottish/British teams do well (except Liverpool as I can't stand them)
LordHawHaw
You drunk huh.gif
GeeJay
I go to a school consisting 99% of Rangers fans. Out of them I'd say, about 50% support Scotland, 25% support Scotland and England and about 25% support England over Scotland.

The Catholic school up the road, all you see is them wearing Ireland tops, but I'm not going to jump to conclusions by saying that they'd support them over Scotland, but lets just say it wouldn't suprise me... rolleyes.gif

Thats all I'll say.
DJP
QUOTE(BenchWarmer7 @ Aug 26 2006, 00:00) [snapback]1167273[/snapback]

I go to a school consisting 99% of Rangers fans. Out of them I'd say, about 50% support Scotland, 25% support Scotland and England and about 25% support England over Scotland.

The Catholic school up the road, all you see is them wearing Ireland tops, but I'm not going to jump to conclusions by saying that they'd support them over Scotland, but lets just say it wouldn't suprise me... rolleyes.gif

Thats all I'll say.

Cheers. Still shocking some support England over Scotland. Can't get my head round that. Ah well.

Won't be to nice to you either since you support Queens Park ph34r.gif
DJP
QUOTE(LordHawHaw @ Aug 25 2006, 23:58) [snapback]1167269[/snapback]

You drunk huh.gif

Yes i am. Cider session. But been home for 2 hours so sobered up-ish.

I have seen before you are proud to be Scottish but you don't care about the national team.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE(idlewild @ Aug 26 2006, 00:19) [snapback]1167325[/snapback]

I have seen before you are proud to be Scottish but you don't care about the national team.

Correct, however not really having a great interest in supporting any team other than Celtic (National team) makes me a undesirable smile.gif
celtic_antifa
You can't get your head round why 2nd, 3rd, 4th generations of the Irish Diaspora in Scotland would support Ireland?

I hope you are not being serious.

Does the same incredulity exist with you towards other ethinic groups who retain a feeling and sense of identity with a country they were not born in? What about Pakistani born Scots who support the Pakistani cricket team? What about Scottish Diaspora in America who celebrate Tartan Day and retain a sense of identity towards the country which their parents, grandparents of great grandparents came from?

For the record, I run a Celtic bus and while a small number actually go to Scotland games I know of none that do not want Scotland to win. Many a good night out we have had out watching Scotland games. Sadly, such truths don't correspond with agenda driven myths.
djchapsticks
QUOTE(celtic_antifa @ Aug 26 2006, 09:22) [snapback]1167541[/snapback]

You can't get your head round why 2nd, 3rd, 4th generations of the Irish Diaspora in Scotland would support Ireland?

I hope you are not being serious.

Does the same incredulity exist with you towards other ethinic groups who retain a feeling and sense of identity with a country they were not born in? What about Pakistani born Scots who support the Pakistani cricket team? What about Scottish Diaspora in America who celebrate Tartan Day and retain a sense of identity towards the country which their parents, grandparents of great grandparents came from?

For the record, I run a Celtic bus and while a small number actually go to Scotland games I know of none that do not want Scotland to win. Many a good night out we have had out watching Scotland games. Sadly, such truths don't correspond with agenda driven myths.

No, I can't to be honest. I am what you would call '3rd generation Irish Diaspora' and have no feelings for Ireland or anything Irish. The majority of the halfwits who do have feelings, only retain the most tenuous of links to their 'Heartland', as they know it will suitably wind up anyone who dares ask why they support Ireland over Scotland. You can't get your head around the fact that these 2nd, 3rd, 4th generation plastic paddys are Scottish first and foremost, yet still support a country many of them have never visited, let alone lived in in the past?

If I trace my roots back as far as 4 generations, I find Irish, English, Russian, Polish and German blood in my family at some point or another. To say I retain any feeling, or harbour any cares for these countries would be a complete lie. I am Scottish, I was born here, I've lived here all my life and no matter where I go or live in the future, I always will be. Each to their own though, and if any genuine Irish-Scots support Ireland then that is fine by me. What gets my goat though, is that 95% actually have about as much or less Irish blood running through their veins as I do, yet they still profess a fake love for a country because it is the done thing. The vast, vast majority of these halfwits who love their Heartland so, don't know the fucking first thing about Ireland or it's history. That's a promise.
DJP
QUOTE(djchapsticks @ Aug 26 2006, 12:40) [snapback]1167762[/snapback]

No, I can't to be honest. I am what you would call '3rd generation Irish Diaspora' and have no feelings for Ireland or anything Irish. The majority of the halfwits who do have feelings, only retain the most tenuous of links to their 'Heartland', as they know it will suitably wind up anyone who dares ask why they support Ireland over Scotland. You can't get your head around the fact that these 2nd, 3rd, 4th generation plastic paddys are Scottish first and foremost, yet still support a country many of them have never visited, let alone lived in in the past?
If I trace my roots back as far as 4 generations, I find Irish, English, Russian, Polish and German blood in my family at some point or another. To say I retain any feeling, or harbour any cares for these countries would be a complete lie. I am Scottish, I was born here, I've lived here all my life and no matter where I go or live in the future, I always will be. Each to their own though, and if any genuine Irish-Scots support Ireland then that is fine by me. What gets my goat though, is that 95% actually have about as much or less Irish blood running through their veins as I do, yet they still profess a fake love for a country because it is the done thing. The vast, vast majority of these halfwits who love their Heartland so, don't know the fucking first thing about Ireland or it's history. That's a promise.

Well said.

I have a bit of Maltease blood in me, but as far as I am concerned my old man is Scottish as is his whole family, I was born in Scotland, thus making me Scottish. Even though I have lived in England most my life and have a English accent. As far as i am concerned I was born in Scotland, therefore my country.

As for the bloke about Pakistani's, I have nothing against them wanting to keep there identity, but surely the ones born in England should support England 1st. The fact so many are anti English/British in all walks of life is half the reasoning behind the racial tension down here. In places like Stoke, Bradford, Oldham, B'ham, Wycombe etc... it is going off every weekend. I like the English, but when it comes to sport, no chance. But it is all good humoured banter.
Coup
I support scotland. I havent missed a home games since Belgium 2000.

And i support Rangers... rolleyes.gif ...imagine that
DJP
QUOTE(craigcouper @ Aug 26 2006, 17:58) [snapback]1168107[/snapback]

I support scotland. I havent missed a home games since Belgium 2000.

And i support Rangers... rolleyes.gif ...imagine that

But no beef with that and very happy to see a answer like that.
Sam68+1
I am a Scottish catholic with an Irish grandmother, which makes me as close to being Iriish as Aiden McGeady. I love Ireland and love going on holiday there but I am Scottish first and last.

I remember the ribbing I used to get, some good humoured some not, for supporting my local team, Falkirk and being a proud member of the Tartan Army. I also remember the ribbing I took for wanting Scotland to be independent, like Ireland, now that did confuse them. laugh.gif
Gordon Silvestro
I would rather let a blind, drunk man shave my balls with a rusty razor than cheer on England. I may of lived in England for a long time but I was born in Scotland and its Scotland I support
BishyTON
Yeah I support Scotland. Don't go to many Scotland games, but i always go down the pub to watch them. I can't stand England either, my favourite moment of every major international tournament is when they get knocked out.
bhoy_4_life
I'm a Celtic fan first and foremost but definatly a Scotland fan aswell, cant see why anyone who is Scottish can support anyone else over there own country, yes i like to see Ireland win but in an Ireland Scotland game the only team I support wear blue!
djchapsticks
QUOTE(bhoy_4_life @ Aug 28 2006, 22:30) [snapback]1170840[/snapback]

I'm a Celtic fan first and foremost but definatly a Scotland fan aswell, cant see why anyone who is Scottish can support anyone else over there own country, yes i like to see Ireland win but in an Ireland Scotland game the only team I support wear blue!

Good for you on all of the above, except one thing....which you may clear up by answering me this....why do you like to see Ireland win? Do you even have a valid reason to give a toss about the Irish national side?

If you do then fair enough, but if it's because you are a Celtic fan and it's the done thing, or your great-great-great uncle was Irish, or you drank half a pint of Guiness without spewing one time, then I'm afraid none of these reason should really cut the mustard.

I do understand that we have freedom of choice in who we support in this country, but I just want to get to the bottom of why Celtic fans and Rangers fans will offer up their love for these respective nations.
DAVE M
If you're born in Scotland, support f*cking Scotland!!!

DJP
Good to see plenty of support for the National side here. Nae fussed if you go to the match or not. Live down south so hard to get to international games, but does not stop me from supporting Scotland. I am really optimistic about the future, starting to get a pool of young Scottish players together.

For 1st time in years, in Gordon, I actually feel confident in a Scotland keeper. Alot of young Scottish strikers starting to come through in Boyd, Naismith, Maloney, O'Riorden as well as experienced heads like Kenny Miller and Dickov (not the greatest player in the world but guaranteed to give 100% and wind up the opposistion)
djchapsticks
QUOTE(idlewild @ Aug 29 2006, 20:38) [snapback]1171922[/snapback]

For 1st time in years, in Gordon, I actually feel confident in a Scotland keeper.

Craig Gordon is the best British-born goalkeeper there is. He is our only player who would stroll into the England side. Far superior to Paul Robinson, Rob Green, Chris Kirkland etc.
cdisaaccie
QUOTE(idlewild @ Aug 29 2006, 20:38) [snapback]1171922[/snapback]

For 1st time in years, in Gordon, I actually feel confident in a Scotland keeper. Alot of young Scottish strikers starting to come through in Boyd, Naismith, Maloney, O'Riorden as well as experienced heads like Kenny Miller and Dickov (not the greatest player in the world but guaranteed to give 100% and wind up the opposistion)

Who the f**k's that?? laugh.gif tongue.gif
Bluenose5
I support Scotland, always have and always will. wink.gif
deky
What's wrong wi Australia? wink.gif
Bluenose5
QUOTE(deky @ Aug 30 2006, 20:52) [snapback]1172507[/snapback]

What's wrong wi Australia? wink.gif

Well my parents are Scottish and i was grown up to support Scotland from a very young age. So i have always been a very passionate Scotland supporter and always will be wink.gif .

I have never supported Australia plus the Australians think everything revolves around them and that they are the best in the world, i mean they brought out a dvd on the England friendly match they won at Upton Park, i mean seriously it was a friendly and England could'nt give a shit about it but the Australians thought they were the best Football team in the world. And all of a sudden when the World Cup comes everyone suddenly loves Football and knows everything about football but when World Cup finished everyone hates football again and bags football for no reason rolleyes.gif .

Im really looking forward to the Faroes and Lithuania matches coming up, cant wait, MON SCOTLAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
deky
QUOTE(Bluenose5 @ Aug 30 2006, 12:40) [snapback]1172569[/snapback]

Well my parents are Scottish and i was grown up to support Scotland from a very young age. So i have always been a very passionate Scotland supporter and always will be wink.gif .

I have never supported Australia plus the Australians think everything revolves around them and that they are the best in the world, i mean they brought out a dvd on the England friendly match they won at Upton Park, i mean seriously it was a friendly and England could'nt give a shit about it but the Australians thought they were the best Football team in the world. And all of a sudden when the World Cup comes everyone suddenly loves Football and knows everything about football but when World Cup finished everyone hates football again and bags football for no reason rolleyes.gif .

Im really looking forward to the Faroes and Lithuania matches coming up, cant wait, MON SCOTLAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Typical old firm fan.
tongue.gif
Bluenose5
QUOTE(deky @ Aug 30 2006, 21:48) [snapback]1172577[/snapback]

Typical old firm fan.
tongue.gif

Explain? unsure.gif
deky
Clinging onto their "history" and "roots" at the expence of their adopted homeland.
Do you see any similarities wink.gif
Bluenose5
QUOTE(deky @ Aug 30 2006, 22:02) [snapback]1172599[/snapback]

Clinging onto their "history" and "roots" at the expence of their adopted homeland.
Do you see any similarities wink.gif

Australia is not my adopted homeland, i was born here. I dont see any similarities as i support Scotland and not England or Ireland which is what your getting at. Me supporting Scotland has nothing to do with Rangers. tongue.gif wink.gif
deky
QUOTE(Bluenose5 @ Aug 30 2006, 13:18) [snapback]1172631[/snapback]

Australia is not my adopted homeland, i was born here. I dont see any similarities as i support Scotland and not England or Ireland which is what your getting at. Me supporting Scotland has nothing to do with Rangers. tongue.gif wink.gif

Funnily enough I'm not getting at England or Ireland, I'm getting at you wink.gif
Granted the old firm take a lot of stick for that very reason and it's refreshing to read the old firm fans who back Scotland but it's the ones who back Ireland/Ulster due to bygone family heritage I'm comparing you too.
Granted I'm probably being harsh on you Bluenose as you parents are Scottish but what about your kids and grandkids if you settle in Oz for good. Will they still be blindly fed the "auld country" patter at the expence of Australia. It makes no difference to me whether it's Irish , Pakistani or Scottish immigrants who generations later still cling to the romantic, misty notion of their forefathers patriotism.
From a personal point if I was ever to immigrate I'd obviously always consider myself Scottish and would make sure any children I had were aware of their heritage, but also I'd make sure the weans knew that they were also Australian ( for talkin sake) and as the Deky clan increased through the generations I'd expect and hope that they would assimilate fully into their new homeland and culture.
What the hell is multiculturism if we all cling to our wee historical differences without fully immersing ourselves in the culture of your adopted nation.
If you want to be a little Scotlander/Irleander wherever, stay there, don't move half way round the world, or oor the water then expect it to be like home, or worse try and re-create home.
Sair fingers wink.gif
bhoy_4_life
I've always just liked to see Ireland do well since I can remember maybe it did start from the Celtic connection, but I also like to see Wales and France to win all there games so its no as if I just like to see Ireland win.
DJP
QUOTE(cdisaaccie @ Aug 30 2006, 09:33) [snapback]1172364[/snapback]

Who the f**k's that?? laugh.gif tongue.gif

ph34r.gif
DJP
QUOTE(bhoy_4_life @ Aug 30 2006, 19:26) [snapback]1173047[/snapback]

I've always just liked to see Ireland do well since I can remember maybe it did start from the Celtic connection, but I also like to see Wales and France to win all there games so its no as if I just like to see Ireland win.

I personally hope France lose every competitive match between now and summer of 2008
LordHawHaw
QUOTE(Bluenose5 @ Aug 30 2006, 12:40) [snapback]1172569[/snapback]

People like you should be drowned in a billabong, support yer own country ya plastic Jock, a wee kiltie McHaggis eater, och aye the noo mcShane

Kincardine
QUOTE(deky @ Aug 30 2006, 13:40) [snapback]1172659[/snapback]

What the hell is multiculturism if we all cling to our wee historical differences without fully immersing ourselves in the culture of your adopted nation.

OK sage Deky answer me this one.

We currently live in delightful rural Kincardineshire (hence my moniker) and are moving in a month to Buckinghamshire (south east of england).

My 5 yo wears a Scotland rugby shirt (which he's growing out of) for football training but most of the kids he plays with wear Dons shirts or Scotland shirts. He asked me tonight, "When we move to London will you get me a proper Rangers shirt?".

So what shirt do I get him? Rangers? Scotland? England? Wycombe Wanderers? To what extent do I impose what you call, " wee historical differences"?

Kincardine
QUOTE(LordHawHaw @ Aug 30 2006, 20:33) [snapback]1173144[/snapback]

People like you should be drowned in a billabong, support yer own country ya plastic Jock, a wee kiltie McHaggis eater, och aye the noo mcShane

Oh the irony!

*Hums where in Ireland is Glasgow
deky
QUOTE(Kincardine @ Aug 30 2006, 20:47) [snapback]1173155[/snapback]

OK sage Deky answer me this one.

We currently live in delightful rural Kincardineshire (hence my moniker) and are moving in a month to Buckinghamshire (south east of england).

My 5 yo wears a Scotland rugby shirt (which he's growing out of) for football training but most of the kids he plays with wear Dons shirts or Scotland shirts. He asked me tonight, "When we move to London will you get me a proper Rangers shirt?".

So what shirt do I get him? Rangers? Scotland? England? Wycombe Wanderers? To what extent do I impose what you call, " wee historical differences"?

Oh you sweet talker you.
England shirt- hell no
Rangers shirt- hell no
Wycombe(assuming thats in Bucks)- Why not
Scotland top- Aye.
Obviously you and your family are Scottish and as such should be proud of that. If you settle in England for good then your son will become anglified to a certain extent(scary I know). What about his kids if he settles there. Please not Rangers tops wink.gif
It's when generations later they still cling to the auld country, a country most will never had visited or certainly lived in, at the expense of the country of their birth. Plastic paddies, Plastic Jocks Plastic anybodies. Makes no difference.
Maybe you could start a fitba team doon there to keep the Scots away from the natives. rolleyes.gif

Kincardine
QUOTE(deky @ Aug 31 2006, 08:16) [snapback]1173605[/snapback]

Oh you sweet talker you.
England shirt- hell no
Rangers shirt- hell no
Wycombe(assuming thats in Bucks)- Why not
Scotland top- Aye.
Obviously you and your family are Scottish and as such should be proud of that. If you settle in England for good then your son will become anglified to a certain extent(scary I know). What about his kids if he settles there. Please not Rangers tops wink.gif
It's when generations later they still cling to the auld country, a country most will never had visited or certainly lived in, at the expense of the country of their birth. Plastic paddies, Plastic Jocks Plastic anybodies. Makes no difference.
Maybe you could start a fitba team doon there to keep the Scots away from the natives. rolleyes.gif

I've been over-ruled anyway. Mrs K wants to impose her own "wee historical differences" so is getting him a Sweden top when she's in Stockholm next week.

deky
QUOTE(Kincardine @ Aug 31 2006, 08:44) [snapback]1173618[/snapback]

I've been over-ruled anyway. Mrs K wants to impose her own "wee historical differences" so is getting him a Sweden top when she's in Stockholm next week.

Good for Mrs K.
Anything that keeps a Ranger top off the poor wee guy's back wink.gif
Kincardine
QUOTE(deky @ Aug 31 2006, 11:22) [snapback]1173755[/snapback]

Good for Mrs K.
Anything that keeps a Ranger top off the poor wee guy's back wink.gif

Well I did show her this video of a riot at a recent game in Stockholm and told her I didn't want my son corrupted by Swedish football hooliganism.

Didn't go down too well.
deky
Biting my tounge. tongue.gif
Bluenose5
QUOTE(deky @ Aug 31 2006, 17:16) [snapback]1173605[/snapback]

It's when generations later they still cling to the auld country, a country most will never had visited or certainly lived in, at the expense of the country of their birth. Plastic paddies, Plastic Jocks Plastic anybodies.

So your contradidcting yourself then. My parents are Scottish and so is everyone else in my whole family except i was born down under and i support Scotland, but you said i was a plastic supporter but how can i be when im not like 4th generation Scottish or anythin like that rolleyes.gif
deky
I did make the distinction between youself, who's parents are Scottish with those 4th generation Scots who still cling to the auld country. Gradually this should fade in my opinion and I still don't understand your apathy to Australia, the country of your birth.
Cannae mind callin you a plastic Jock (hate that word mad.gif ) but if I did then shouldn't apply to you, sorry.
Now about this supporting Rangers pish wink.gif
Bluenose5
QUOTE(deky @ Aug 31 2006, 21:42) [snapback]1173837[/snapback]

I did make the distinction between youself, who's parents are Scottish with those 4th generation Scots who still cling to the auld country. Gradually this should fade in my opinion and I still don't understand your apathy to Australia, the country of your birth.
Cannae mind callin you a plastic Jock (hate that word mad.gif ) but if I did then shouldn't apply to you, sorry.
Now about this supporting Rangers pish wink.gif

No worries thanks cos i really am a diehard Scotland supporter wink.gif . You would understand my apathy to Australia if you lived here.
I am a Rangers supporter cos my dad is a Gers supporter.
**sits back and awaits usual comments about Rangers supporters**
deky
QUOTE(Bluenose5 @ Aug 31 2006, 13:00) [snapback]1173860[/snapback]

No worries thanks cos i really am a diehard Scotland supporter wink.gif . You would understand my apathy to Australia if you lived here.
I am a Rangers supporter cos my dad is a Gers supporter.
**sits back and awaits usual comments about Rangers supporters**

Don't get me wrong, I'm glad you love Scotland, what's no to love (apart fae OF tongue.gif ) and obviously with your parents being Scottish the ties are still strong, however I'd like to think I'd have some sort of loyalty to Australia if I was born there, but as I've never even been I'll take you're word for it.
My main gripe is however the people who's great great grand parents came from another country , yet these people still feel more of a tie to an ancient homeland than to the land of their and their parents birth. Personally I just don't understand it.
All my grandparents and parents were born in Scotland. Before that however take your pick from Ireland, England and France.
What kind of plastic should I be?
Marvin
I support Celtic and come from an Irish family, but I'd still support Scotland over Ireland any day of the week. I do love to see Ireland doing well, as I have strong feelings for the country. I've got an Ireland top, but I've also got an Italy top and a Spanish one.

I'd say that people can support whichever team and country that they want. Telling someone to support Scotland when they feel more strongly about Ireland is silly. The same goes for Rangers fans and England, if the currant bun in question is descended from England.
deky
QUOTE(Marvin @ Aug 31 2006, 14:56) [snapback]1173956[/snapback]

I support Celtic and come from an Irish family, but I'd still support Scotland over Ireland any day of the week. I do love to see Ireland doing well, as I have strong feelings for the country. I've got an Ireland top, but I've also got an Italy top and a Spanish one.

I'd say that people can support whichever team and country that they want. Telling someone to support Scotland when they feel more strongly about Ireland is silly. The same goes for Rangers fans and England, if the currant bun in question is descended from England.

I'm not telling anyone who to support, I just don't personally understand supporting another country over you're own. Not most old firMers on here thankfully but many do support Ireland or England over Scotland. The same applies to Bluenose with regards to Australia, the only defence I'd make for him is that he's first gen Aussie. After 3 or 4 surley the country they are in should have more of a pull?
Now about this supporting Celtic pish? wink.gif
2nd_generation_bud
QUOTE(Bluenose5 @ Aug 30 2006, 21:40) [snapback]1172569[/snapback]

I think it's a shame you have that opinion of the Australian team Bluenose.

And why not consider yourself an Aussie? How good is this country we're in?

I have parents and grandparents from Scotland, England and Italy but I consider myself Australian first and foremost. I love this country and I'm so glad my parents and grandparents migrated here.

I treasure my scottish, english and italian heritage, especially as a football fan. But I'll always follow the aussies before anyone else no matter what sport they're playing.
deky
QUOTE(2nd_generation_bud @ Aug 31 2006, 22:02) [snapback]1174657[/snapback]

I think it's a shame you have that opinion of the Australian team Bluenose.

And why not consider yourself an Aussie? How good is this country we're in?

I have parents and grandparents from Scotland, England and Italy but I consider myself Australian first and foremost. I love this country and I'm so glad my parents and grandparents migrated here.

I treasure my scottish, english and italian heritage, especially as a football fan. But I'll always follow the aussies before anyone else no matter what sport they're playing.

That's how I'd like to think I'd be if I ever emigrated, or my parents had. Be proud of your families roots, but be proud of your new country too.
In truth though I'd probably have grown up more of a fervent Scot than I am and go round writing SNLA all over Sydney, or wherever.
Follow Follow
I support Scotland, goin to all the home games and I'm in the SSC. Fookin hate England!