Full Version: Spl2 Protests
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
MIFTHEBINO
Thought I would set up a seperate thread to sort this out.

What are peoples thoughts..

Contact details to protest

Sportsound http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/sportscotland/sportsound/

Realradiohttp://scotland.realradiofm.com/Article.as...p;section=onair

Clyde http://clyde1.com/showdj.asp?DJID=28573

Talksport http://www2.talksport.net/index.asp
Bryan
The seating regs are the ones most are against maybe that should be the target, hopefully when they discuss the ideas with the SFL there will be a compromise
Eönwë
Find out which teams are pro-SPL2 and boycott matches at their grounds and their sponsors products/services (make sure you buy their rivals stuff - how petty's that laugh.gif ).

Get writing to club chairmen (write to as many as possible - maybe need to start another thread with alternative ideas, there's no point in writing to say 'I'm against it because SPL2's shoyte')

Make sure there's a visible element to any protests - tabloids etc love the old banners, single letter on a t-shirt etc (Sack the Board across the terracing at Celtic Park springs to mind).

Boycott matches and take in a junior's game - first weekend after the internationals.
StewartyMac
If the people involved want this to happen, it'll happen, and it'll be on THEIR terms, and no amount of protesting will ever do any good.

When has people power ever worked in Scottish Football, particularly in the last 20 years?

Sorry for being so negative, but I'm totally scunnered.
Steven_1979
Write to supporters clubs of clubs that will be joining SPL2 and see if they will support us, we cant boycott our clubs if they against the idea as many are already in a shaky financial situation already but I do agree with organising boycotts of all the clubs that are going into SPL2 as they have to be made aware that fans united will net lie down and watch other clubs die.

Time is now to stand together and make sure we these chairmen know that we will not go quietly and will not sit back as they ruin Scottish football and kill many clubs in the process
Steven_1979
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Aug 17 2006, 16:49) [snapback]1155289[/snapback]

If the people involved want this to happen, it'll happen, and it'll be on THEIR terms, and no amount of protesting will ever do any good.

When has people power ever worked in Scottish Football, particularly in the last 20 years?

With that attitude then yes it will, it will only happen if we sit back and let it happen.

Without fans these clubs are nothing and many fans from these clubs will support us in our fight I'm sure.

Time for clubs to listen to the people who really matter for a change......
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Steven_1979 @ Aug 17 2006, 16:51) [snapback]1155293[/snapback]

Time for clubs to listen to the people who really matter for a change......

I agree, but will they?
Eönwë
Next Tuesday might be a good time for some fans to take in a match as a 'neutral'.

I am of course thinking of Brechin v Spawn of Satan's XI and get it right f'in up Pearse Flynn for 90 minutes.
StewartyMac
QUOTE(pollymac @ Aug 17 2006, 16:57) [snapback]1155301[/snapback]

I am of course thinking of Brechin v Spawn of Satan's XI and get it right f'in up Pearse Flynn for 90 minutes.

Now THAT could be interesting. rolleyes.gif
Steven_1979
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Aug 17 2006, 16:56) [snapback]1155300[/snapback]

I agree, but will they?

If we all stick together and organise boycotts of games from the main players in this disgrace they will have no choice.

they forget we can kill clubs by not going/making it hard for people to get to games if need be.

Sometimes extreme situations demand extreme solutions.

That is a last resort but they cant get away with this.

If Livingston said they were in trouble I wouldnt care less they have brought everything on themselves, not as if ther fanbase would bother either most would go back to supporting the old firm.
ClydeSI
QUOTE(Steven_1979 @ Aug 17 2006, 16:49) [snapback]1155290[/snapback]

Write to supporters clubs of clubs that will be joining SPL2 and see if they will support us, we cant boycott our clubs if they against the idea as many are already in a shaky financial situation already but I do agree with organising boycotts of all the clubs that are going into SPL2 as they have to be made aware that fans united will net lie down and watch other clubs die.

Time is now to stand together and make sure we these chairmen know that we will not go quietly and will not sit back as they ruin Scottish football and kill many clubs in the process

I bet the boards of the 1st division teams are shitting themselves over a boycott from Raith Rovers fans at their grounds. laugh.gif

A boycott of the National Team may be more suitable – after all, the Scotland support is largely populated by supporters of lower league teams (so we are told). Maybe you could all start with, say, the France or Italy game dry.gif
Steven_1979
QUOTE(ClydeSI @ Aug 17 2006, 17:03) [snapback]1155307[/snapback]

I bet the boards of the 1st division teams are shitting themselves over a boycott from Raith Rovers fans at their grounds. laugh.gif

A boycott of the National Team may be more suitable – after all, the Scotland support is largely populated by supporters of lower league teams (so we are told). Maybe you could all start with, say, the France or Italy game dry.gif

Not the point and you know it go away and play with the buses.

As for boycotting the national team that's pointless and only hurts our national team it's the individual clubs that are going along with this that we need to target.
Guinness_Alan
There's also the option of a standing protest in the all seated grounds. If all the fans stood up what could the stewards do? Show the choobs that their proposed rules are ridiculous, unnecessary and unwanted!
Steven_1979
QUOTE(Guinness_Alan @ Aug 17 2006, 17:10) [snapback]1155311[/snapback]

There's also the option of a standing protest in the all seated grounds. If all the fans stood up what could the stewards do? Show the choobs that their proposed rules are ridiculous, unnecessary and unwanted!

We need to put all these ideas together and then come up with a framework for this.
Also after this is all over and done with keep a close link between fans of all the clubs so fans of all teams have a voice where we can easily organise any kind of protest/boycott in the future if something like this happens again. We are the fans and it's us who go to games and pay money to watch it so why should we just accept the same old rubbish and rubbish like SPL2.

This cant just be about a few fans at every club we need as many as possible on our side to stand with us and stop this from happening.

Maybe organise large protests outside various teams grounds that are involved in SPL2?
Lying down and watching this happen isnt an option that we can take.
BerwickMad
On this Newcastle site I go on there was this campain to get Ottmar Hitzfeld appointed Newcastle manager. The site is visited by far less people than here but we still managed to make "Your On Sky Sports", Soccer Saturday, The Chronicle, The Daily Star and many other national papers. It didnt work in the end obviously but everyone heard about the campaign and I think you would get alot more people involved in this type of protest, esspecially considering some main players in the sports media are bound to be against the plan.

We should maybees get a list of contacts sorted out first of all for us to email or write to and get it pinned on here. Phone in Radio Scotland ect ect. Everything could help. The word does need to get out to as many people as possible. The Hitzfeld campain snowballed as more people heard about it. I know it was a bit of a silly campaign, but it shows what can happen when we start something off.
Blue Brazil Forever
Start by bombarding Jim Traynor on Saturday
Steven_1979
QUOTE(BerwickMad @ Aug 17 2006, 17:21) [snapback]1155321[/snapback]

On this Newcastle site I go on there was this campain to get Ottmar Hitzfeld appointed Newcastle manager. The site is visited by far less people than here but we still managed to make "Your On Sky Sports", Soccer Saturday, The Chronicle, The Daily Star and many other national papers. It didnt work in the end obviously but everyone heard about the campaign and I think you would get alot more people involved in this type of protest, esspecially considering some main players in the sports media are bound to be against the plan.

We should maybees get a list of contacts sorted out first of all for us to email or write to and get it pinned on here. Phone in Radio Scotland ect ect. Everything could help. The word does need to get out to as many people as possible. The Hitzfeld campain snowballed as more people heard about it. I know it was a bit of a silly campaign, but it shows what can happen when we start something off.

It's a good idea it only takes a few of us to start this and it will have a snowball affect very quickly to the point where national newspapers/tv are taking notice.
BerwickMad
QUOTE(Steven_1979 @ Aug 17 2006, 17:25) [snapback]1155328[/snapback]

It's a good idea it only takes a few of us to start this and it will have a snowball affect very quickly to the point where national newspapers/tv are taking notice.

Exactly. There was a thread pinned at the top. It ended up about 200 pages long, but on the first post it had a list of all the key contacts and emails. We could have club chairman, SFL, SFA, SPL, Newspapers, journalists, phone in numbers, supporters groups ect ect. Then there was a list of times of phone in shows. So they would put up phone numbers for 606 on a Wednesday night, your on sky sports ect. Whenever the campaign got a mention people talked about it on the thread. Who had phoned in, who got a mention. More and more people became involved and it even started to spread to other sites.
Mushroom
Sorry to invade your forum guys, but I have to agree with you another closed shop league is not what Scottish football needs sad.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE(Blue Brazil Forever @ Aug 17 2006, 17:25) [snapback]1155327[/snapback]

He wouldnae have a clue what you were on about though.
Guinness_Alan

I think you've misspelt the word "bombing". wink.gif
Pompey.
QUOTE(StewartyMac @ Aug 17 2006, 17:35) [snapback]1155343[/snapback]

He wouldnae have a clue what you were on about though.

He would if he was bombarded with hundreds of calls every week, though.

Scottish football's supporters can either sit on their arses and moan, or we can do something.

The first thing to do is to ensure that everyone who listens to or watches a sports programme, whether it's Your Call, ScotSport, You're on Sky Sports, Real Radio, any and every football phone-in, is aware of the opposition of the fans, and why we're opposed.

If public revulsion at this plan grows - and it will, Scotland, with all its faults remains an egalitarian society - no sponsor will come near it. Do you think the real Premierleague teams will want to give away half their Setanta and HBOS cash to the 1st Division teams? Of course they won't - no sponsor, no TV deal, and the idea flops.

Get in touch with any sponsor rumoured to be considering dealing with SPL2 (and how you can have a second "premier" anything, I don't know) and tell them they'll be boycotted.

If the fans get together, boycott SPL2's official drink, official sponsor, official car, official condom, anything associated with SPL2 is boycotted, then the idea flops.

For any team which joins SPL2, boycott them. If we get them away in a Cup draw, don't go. It will cost them a fortune (see St Johnstone v Gretna last year). Boycott their title sponsor and kit manufacturer. If Livingston join, then we must petition Intelligent Finance and let them know exactly why we won't be dealing with them. If Dundee join, petition Bukta, and let them know exactly why their sales won't be boosted by any football fan.

However, what won't work is everyone moaning into their keyboards, and then putting on a prettily-coloured woolen scarf, a shite-quality top for which you certainly wouldn't pay £40 if it didn't have your club's badge on it, and moaning to other supporters.

A wee banner at a game will solve nothing. Boycotts and petitions will, but they must be started quickly, and the campaign must be publicised.

onlycowdenfanhere
I think you're right in what you're saying there Pompey. If a protest is to be mounted, it's got to be publicised. Get the media involved, then it will show the SPL 1/2 bigwigs that we care about our respective football teams. The Real Football Phone in is about to start, I say everybody who is against SPL2 call in, have your say and start the ball rolling. And hopefully the people for this idea will have to stop and listen to what we have to say.
highlandcowden

Dont be-your team will still survive and thats a big deal.I was originally a Caledonian supporter whose team was murdered in the merger with Inverness Thistle in the name of progress.Its far worse to lose your club than it is to compete in what the forcess of "progress"(who know the price of everything and the value of nothing)call a diddy league.
Keep behind the beanos and continue to watch your football alongside others that love the game
qos_75
QUOTE(Pompey. @ Aug 17 2006, 17:52) [snapback]1155373[/snapback]

He would if he was bombarded with hundreds of calls every week, though.

Scottish football's supporters can either sit on their arses and moan, or we can do something.

The first thing to do is to ensure that everyone who listens to or watches a sports programme, whether it's Your Call, ScotSport, You're on Sky Sports, Real Radio, any and every football phone-in, is aware of the opposition of the fans, and why we're opposed.

If public revulsion at this plan grows - and it will, Scotland, with all its faults remains an egalitarian society - no sponsor will come near it. Do you think the real Premierleague teams will want to give away half their Setanta and HBOS cash to the 1st Division teams? Of course they won't - no sponsor, no TV deal, and the idea flops.

Get in touch with any sponsor rumoured to be considering dealing with SPL2 (and how you can have a second "premier" anything, I don't know) and tell them they'll be boycotted.

If the fans get together, boycott SPL2's official drink, official sponsor, official car, official condom, anything associated with SPL2 is boycotted, then the idea flops.

For any team which joins SPL2, boycott them. If we get them away in a Cup draw, don't go. It will cost them a fortune (see St Johnstone v Gretna last year). Boycott their title sponsor and kit manufacturer. If Livingston join, then we must petition Intelligent Finance and let them know exactly why we won't be dealing with them. If Dundee join, petition Bukta, and let them know exactly why their sales won't be boosted by any football fan.

However, what won't work is everyone moaning into their keyboards, and then putting on a prettily-coloured woolen scarf, a shite-quality top for which you certainly wouldn't pay £40 if it didn't have your club's badge on it, and moaning to other supporters.

A wee banner at a game will solve nothing. Boycotts and petitions will, but they must be started quickly, and the campaign must be publicised.

You are right Pompey, people need to stand up and be counted, or it will be doomed to failure. The media need to get there claws into it and perhaps give some backing. A clear alternative is required though, with objectives and timescales.
qos_75

Don't be down. Think of the protests against Mercers plans for a Hib's and Hearts merger. People power does work. smile.gif
Steven_1979
QUOTE(qos_75 @ Aug 17 2006, 18:06) [snapback]1155393[/snapback]

Don't be down. Think of the protests against Mercers plans for a Hib's and Hearts merger. People power does work. smile.gif

It's worked all through history and no reason it wont work now.

Equal rights for Blacks & Women etc etc

If you are organised enough and won’t back down and stay true to your convictions then you can achieve anything that you put your mind too.

Future of Scottish football and many clubs is in our hands.......
bluetooner
Berwick mad is also correct with using Pie and Bovril to organise this. It is an easy way for fans of all teams to organise the petitions, protests and everything. As has been said bombard the phone ins about it. Have a thread pinned here (Bryan? or another of the Mods?) so that it can be organised to call and when. Note down who called, who got through, who got hung up on. Do this every week/day and people will start to take notice. As pompey has said get everyone to write to the sponsors of ALL clubs involved. Im sure that sponsors wont be happy if people threaten to withdraw service and such like. As has been said if people are at a lose end this week for the Brechin Livi game go to it and protest. Its nice and cheap to get an old bed cloth and paint it for starters. Dont go to any away games at clubs involved. This will especially hurt teams with poor home supports like Livi. (as well as saving you a few quid). ALl of these are great ideas and may need to be done to help. What it may also do is get some sponsors interested in sponsoring the lower divisions/sfl as it is now.
Dunc
QUOTE(Steven_1979 @ Aug 17 2006, 18:13) [snapback]1155411[/snapback]

It's worked all through history and no reason it wont work now.

Equal rights for Blacks & Women etc etc

Who's going under the King's horse, then? wink.gif laugh.gif
Swampy
(Cross-posted from another thread)

IMO any objection should be focused on the stadium issue. Remember this SPL2 will still have promotion and relegation. But it's designed to exclude "smaller" clubs that show ambition - such as Brechin, Stranraer, Alloa and Arbroath, all of whom have been in Div 1 in the last 5 years or so - in order to create a cozy wee haven for "bigger" clubs, many of whom overspend and underachieve. Call me a reactionary old fusspot but IMO the stadium issue should be about safety and away fans; the divisional setup should be primarily based upon footballing achievement and this SPL2 is just another step in removing this.
Bryan
http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/sportscotland/sportsound/ they are live tonight email them
Steven_1979
I think a protest should be organised for the Brechin/Livie game and get as many fans from as many different teams there.

Would signal our intent from the word go and make them sit up and take notice.
Bryan
QUOTE(bluetooner @ Aug 17 2006, 18:13) [snapback]1155412[/snapback]

Berwick mad is also correct with using Pie and Bovril to organise this. It is an easy way for fans of all teams to organise the petitions, protests and everything. As has been said bombard the phone ins about it. Have a thread pinned here (Bryan? or another of the Mods?) so that it can be organised to call and when. Note down who called, who got through, who got hung up on. Do this every week/day and people will start to take notice. As pompey has said get everyone to write to the sponsors of ALL clubs involved. Im sure that sponsors wont be happy if people threaten to withdraw service and such like. As has been said if people are at a lose end this week for the Brechin Livi game go to it and protest. Its nice and cheap to get an old bed cloth and paint it for starters. Dont go to any away games at clubs involved. This will especially hurt teams with poor home supports like Livi. (as well as saving you a few quid). ALl of these are great ideas and may need to be done to help. What it may also do is get some sponsors interested in sponsoring the lower divisions/sfl as it is now.

make it and we can pin it
Bogs_Dollox
QUOTE(Steven_1979 @ Aug 17 2006, 18:33) [snapback]1155458[/snapback]

I think a protest should be organised for the Brechin/Livie game and get as many fans from as many different teams there.

Would signal our intent from the word go and make them sit up and take notice.

think i might head through to this game
BerwickMad
Just found Real Radio on the internet so im gonna send a few emails in from different addresses.

Also, for the folk mentioning banners. If they are up at grounds others will take notice. Journalists will notice and pictures will be taken.
Swampy
Just emailed this to Sportsound:

Have the architects of the SPL2 learned nothing from the failings of the SPL? Ludicrous stadium requirements designed with self-preservation in mind ultimately breed resentment and cannot last.

The SPL2 is little more than a clubhouse for teams that consistently fail to balance the books. As is so often the case, clubs with small facilities and big ideas - such as Brechin and Stranraer - will lose out no matter how well they perform on the pitch.

Of course some SFL clubs will want a sponsor but this is the wrong way to go about it. Every club involved in this needs to take a good look at the future of the game beyond the short term!
BerwickMad
http://scotland.realradiofm.com/Article.as...p;section=onair

Email that.
bluetooner
QUOTE(bryantonfan @ Aug 17 2006, 13:36) [snapback]1155464[/snapback]

make it and we can pin it

This one ? ? ? unsure.gif unsure.gif

Swampy
Done.

Everyone needs to email in their thoughts... a lot of lower-league fans (myself included) complain that Old Firm talk dominates the media, but that's just a simple case of supply and demand. If we can prove that there's an audience for this important issue then they'll give airtime to this as well, so get emailing!
Bryan
QUOTE(bluetooner @ Aug 17 2006, 18:42) [snapback]1155482[/snapback]

This one ? ? ? unsure.gif unsure.gif

make a new one with the links, email etc at the top
gretna_ed

If anything does come from a protest etc then Bill Leckie needs to be contacted about it. Judging by his article in Todays Scottish Sun he pretty much feels the same way as a lot us on here. With his position in the media he can be the voice that is needed to make a full impact
bluetooner
QUOTE(bryantonfan @ Aug 17 2006, 13:43) [snapback]1155488[/snapback]

make a new one with the links, email etc at the top

Ill leave that to someone that has all the info laugh.gif im just a lazy fucker that needs to get on with work ohmy.gif
Bryan
Regarding the SPL2, I feel the seating rules are very wrong, there are only about 14 SFL teams that can meet the number of seats. What would it mean for the other teams would they be cut adrift, or would some go bust trying to upgrade stadiums, that will be mostly empty.
sent that
Bryan
http://clyde1.com/showdj.asp?DJID=28573 radio clyde
Bryan
http://www2.talksport.net/index.asp
H_B
Call me a reactionary old fusspot but IMO the stadium issue should be about safety and away fans; the divisional setup should be primarily based upon footballing achievement and this SPL2 is just another step in removing this.

Exactly.

I think there are two issues here - the "its our baw" cup competition, that is divisive and the stadium issue.

With all stadiums, you should have to set aside a minimum number of seats for away fans, say 500. Beyond that you should be able to do what you want in terms of size and terracing, provided it is safe.
bluetooner
QUOTE(Hieronymous_Bosch @ Aug 17 2006, 13:54) [snapback]1155507[/snapback]

With all stadiums, you should have to set aside a minimum number of seats for away fans, say 500. Beyond that you should be able to do what you want in terms of size and terracing, provided it is safe.

Unfortunately thats too much common sense. ohmy.gif
H_B
Unfortunately thats too much common sense.

The comedy thing about that is, at places like Parkhead and Hearts we get a paltry number of tickets, often about 1000.

We actually had a better chance of getting to see the game in Division One! So for all the SPL's all seated requirements, as an away fan you have a better chance of getting to a game at Westfield (capacity 7500) than you do at Parkhead (capacity 60000).

Because it doesn't suit the bigots, no requirement for a set number or percentage to be allocated to away fans will ever be instituted.

Bryan
QUOTE(bluetooner @ Aug 17 2006, 18:48) [snapback]1155495[/snapback]

Ill leave that to someone that has all the info laugh.gif im just a lazy fucker that needs to get on with work ohmy.gif

edited the first post with contacts
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.