Full Version: Welcome To Infowire! Infowire User Guide
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Infowire
cmontheloknow
Hi guys, thanks for dropping by to Infowire.

Infowire queries can of course be answered by any of the P&B subscribers.

You can also use the Infowire section of Pie And Bovril to ask me, cmontheloknow, a stats-related question on Scottish football within the following:

*Top flight results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from 1970-71 to 2005-06
*2nd league results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from 1972-73 to 2005-06
*3rd league results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from 1975-76 to 2005-06
*4th league results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from 1994-95 to 2005-06
*Scottish Cup results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from 1971-72 to 2005-06 (+ 2nd Rd & onwards only - without attendances for 1970-71)
*Scottish League Cup results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from 1972-73 to 2005-06
*Scottish Challenge Cup results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from its beginning to 2005-06
*European competition results, scorers, line-ups and attendances for Scottish clubs from 1970-71 to 2005-06
*Player histories (1946 to present day)

An example of match detail might be:
"Details of the Feyenoord v Aberdeen UEFA Cup game in 1987"

Which is:
4th November 1987
Feyenoord 1 (Hoekstra) Aberdeen 0
att: 26,390
Feyenoord: Hiele, Monkou, Proost, Van Herpen, Hoekstra, Molenaar,
Hofman, Elstrup, Mitchell, Been, Blinker.
Aberdeen: Jim Leighton, Brian Irvine, Robert Connor, Neil Simpson, Alex
McLeish, Willie Miller, Joe Miller (sub John Hewitt), Jim Bett, Willie
Falconer, Peter Nicholas, Peter Weir.

An example of a player history might be:
"Former Scotland manager Craig Brown's playing career"

Which is:

(starts+sub/goals)

(League) then (Domestic Cup) then (Major Euro Competition)

James Craig Brown
Born: 1st July 1940
pre-SFL: Coltness United
1958-59: Rangers (-) (-) (-)
1959-60: Rangers (-) (-) (-)
1960-61: Rangers (-) (-) (-)
1960-61: Dundee (-) (-) (-)
1961-62: Dundee (9) (-) (-)
1962-63: Dundee (4) (1) (-)
1963-64: Dundee (1) (1) (-)
1964-65: Dundee (-) (-) (-)
1964-65: Falkirk (8) (-) (-)
1965-66: Falkirk (8) (-) (-)
1966-67: Falkirk (1) (-) (-)
1967-68: Stranraer (-) (-) (-)

If requesting match detail, please understand that I cannot reel them off by the hundred. With that in mind, please limit any match requests to one and player histories to one.

I can't do:
*bookings
*sendings off
*goal times (except from 1996-97 onwards)
*times of substitutions.
*head-to-head records

And contrary to first impressions, I don't live by my PC so there may be occasions when I delay in replying!

Thanks.
Andyboy
QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Jun 8 2006, 22:11) [snapback]1073497[/snapback]

Hi guys, thanks for dropping by to Infowire.

The Infowire section of Pie And Bovril can be used to ask a stats-related question on Scottish football within the following:

*Top flight results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from 1970-71 to 2004-05
*2nd league results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from 1972-73 to 2004-05
*3rd league results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from 1975-76 to 2004-05
*4th league results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from 1994-95 to 2004-05
*Scottish Cup results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from 1971-72 to 2004-05 (+ 2nd Rd only without attendances for 1970-71)
*Scottish League Cup results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from 1972-73 to 2004-05
*Scottish Challenge Cup results, scorers, line-ups and attendances from its beginning to 2004-05
*European competition results, scorers, line-ups and attendances for Scottish clubs from 1970-71 to 2004-05
*Player histories

An example of match detail might be:
"Details of the Feyenoord v Aberdeen UEFA Cup game in 1987"

Which is:
4th November 1987
Feyenoord 1 (Hoekstra) Aberdeen 0
att: 26,390
Feyenoord: Hiele, Monkou, Proost, Van Herpen, Hoekstra, Molenaar,
Hofman, Elstrup, Mitchell, Been, Blinker.
Aberdeen: Jim Leighton, Brian Irvine, Robert Connor, Neil Simpson, Alex
McLeish, Willie Miller, Joe Miller (sub John Hewitt), Jim Bett, Willie
Falconer, Peter Nicholas, Peter Weir.

An example of a player history might be:
"Former Scotland manager Craig Brown's playing career"

Which is:
James Craig Brown
Born: 1st July 1940
pre-SFL: Coltness United
1958-59: Rangers (-)
1959-60: Rangers (-)
1960-61: Rangers (-)
1960-61: Dundee (-)
1961-62: Dundee (9)
1962-63: Dundee (4) + (1 League Cup)
1963-64: Dundee (1) + (1 League Cup)
1964-65: Dundee (-)
1964-65: Falkirk (8)
1965-66: Falkirk (8)
1966-67: Falkirk (1)
1967-68: Stranraer (-)
1965-66: Dundee

How far back do your Player Histories go?
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(ANDYBOY @ Jun 8 2006, 22:15) [snapback]1073509[/snapback]

How far back do your Player Histories go?

Post-ww2.

will edit the main post to reflect that
Scary Bear
How many appearances did Andie Dowie make for Raith Rovers?

What was the date when Dunfermline played Raith Rovers in front of over 10,000 fans during the 90's? what was the actual crowd?
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Scary Bear @ Jun 8 2006, 22:59) [snapback]1073594[/snapback]

How many appearances did Andie Dowie make for Raith Rovers?

What was the date when Dunfermline played Raith Rovers in front of over 10,000 fans during the 90's? what was the actual crowd?

I'm hoping you mean Andy Dow as Andy Dowie has only ever played for Rangers, Brechin City (on loan), Partick Thistle and Stranraer.

Anyway, 'Dowser' made 9 league appearances for Rovers after signing from Arbroath in February 2004. He moved on to Lochee United and Broughty Athletic.

For your second query, on 2nd January 1993, 10,798 packed into East End Park for a 0-0 draw between Dunfermline Athletic and Raith Rovers in the First Division.
Lossie Loon
Hope you extend your stuff to non-league fitba.

Your non-league directory is superb and a valuable reference point.
SimonLichtie
QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Jun 8 2006, 23:14) [snapback]1073623[/snapback]

Anyway, 'Dowser' made 9 league appearances for Rovers after signing from Arbroath in February 2004. He moved on to Lochee United and Broughty Athletic.

Did he definately play for Broughty Athletic? ohmy.gif I knew he moved to Lochee at least, but didn't know that.

He's retired now I know, runs a pub in Dundee. Fucking scumbag. dry.gif

Where do you get your info, its quality stuff mate. smile.gif

Question - since 1950, in what year did Rangers/ Celtic have their lowest average attendences, and what were they?

Same question for Arbroath and Montrose as well if you can. smile.gif
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(SimonLichtie @ Jun 9 2006, 00:29) [snapback]1073693[/snapback]

Did he definately play for Broughty Athletic? ohmy.gif I knew he moved to Lochee at least, but didn't know that.

He's retired now I know, runs a pub in Dundee. Fucking scumbag. dry.gif
Where do you get your info, its quality stuff mate. smile.gif

Question - since 1950, in what year did Rangers/ Celtic have their lowest average attendences, and what were they?

Andy Dow and Ray McKinnon both moved from Lochee United to Broughty Athletic as players at the end of the 2004-05 season. McKinnon has since left to become manager of Lochee United. I'm in the West and it's hard to get lower-league Tayside Juniors info here just now (not much online) so can't be more precise than that unfortunately. But here's a link to a Culter v Broughty report from this season:

http://www.culter.net/culterfc/Reports/200.../issue_1795.htm

For your questions, I only have full attendance info from 1970-71. I could have ago at working out those figures for the 4 if left with me for a wee while? Offhand though, from 1987-88 to now, Celtic were 22,647 for 1993-94, Rangers 35,968 for 1990-91.

I can have a go at providing the figures from 1970-71 or 1972-73 (for Montrose) if left with me for a while.
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Lossie Loon @ Jun 9 2006, 00:11) [snapback]1073683[/snapback]

Hope you extend your stuff to non-league fitba.

Your non-league directory is superb and a valuable reference point.

Thanks,

I hope to move it to a new server soonish and update all the honours etc.
Scary Bear
QUOTE(cmontheloknow @ Jun 8 2006, 23:14) [snapback]1073623[/snapback]

I'm hoping you mean Andy Dow as Andy Dowie has only ever played for Rangers, Brechin City (on loan), Partick Thistle and Stranraer.

For your second query, on 2nd January 1993, 10,798 packed into East End Park for a 0-0 draw between Dunfermline Athletic and Raith Rovers in the First Division.

Yhe I meant Andy Dow (D'oh!). Thanks.

Aye thats the game, I remember the game was packed. For some reason I thought it was a night game...must have just been dark as it was January. We must have had 3000-4000 fans there that day. How times change *sigh*.
Mushroom
Are your player histories just Scottish league?
Dirty Sanchez
QUOTE(SimonLichtie @ Jun 9 2006, 00:29) [snapback]1073693[/snapback]

These answers are:
Celtic,17706 in 1956/7 when they finished 5th behind Rangers,Hearts,Kilmarnock and Raith Rovers.
It would have been 6th if goal difference had been used instead of goal average.
There have also been numerous other seasons when they've had similar crowds.

For Rangers it's 16400 in 1981/2.

Arbroath:
Biggest - 4870 in 1959/60
Lowest - 395 in 1990/91 (bottom of the Second Division)

Montrose:
Biggest - 2078 also in 1959/60,although they were in the Second Division while Arbroath were bottom of the First Division.
Lowest - 286 in 1983/4.
Steven_1979
QUOTE(Scary Bear @ Jun 9 2006, 19:36) [snapback]1074511[/snapback]

Yhe I meant Andy Dow (D'oh!). Thanks.

Aye thats the game, I remember the game was packed. For some reason I thought it was a night game...must have just been dark as it was January. We must have had 3000-4000 fans there that day. How times change *sigh*.

Was that the game Ronnie Coyle got sent off and Ian Thomson scored the winner?

What ever happened to Ian Thomson, think he left to sign for Clydebank (after signing from Queen of the south for £15,000 after a tribunal)

God I need to get out more whistling.gif
Whistle Blower
QUOTE(Steven_1979 @ Aug 20 2006, 00:26) [snapback]1159091[/snapback]

Was that the game Ronnie Coyle got sent off and Ian Thomson scored the winner?

Nope that was a 1-0 wn in august 92, coyle snapped Billy Davies and went down injured thinking he would escape a red/yellow card, ref waited untill he had been treated and then sent him off.

The goal celebration looked something like this (minus the signatures)
[attachmentid=11113]
The Supervisor
Hi

Just found out about "Infowire". Have loads of stats queries you might be able to help with.

Guess, from your instructions, I should send these one at a time, periodically?

All the best
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(The Supervisor @ Dec 13 2006, 13:50) [snapback]1314716[/snapback]

Hi

Just found out about "Infowire". Have loads of stats queries you might be able to help with.

Guess, from your instructions, I should send these one at a time, periodically?

All the best

That'd be best for me!
The Supervisor
That'd be best for me!

Thought so! There are loads of things I need - much of which is fragmented (maybe I should visit the Mitchell...)

But here's a starter.

Do you have details of Dunfermline vs. Albion Rovers 9/2/85?

Ta

cmontheloknow
QUOTE(The Supervisor @ Dec 13 2006, 16:13) [snapback]1314985[/snapback]

That'd be best for me!

Thought so! There are loads of things I need - much of which is fragmented (maybe I should visit the Mitchell...)

But here's a starter.

Do you have details of Dunfermline vs. Albion Rovers 9/2/85?

Ta

No problem Supervisor - can I ask that you post any queries directly onto the forum? It makes it easier for browsers to see what's what. That's where I'll post the answer to this query.
Estragon
A friend of mine busted out some outrageous statistic to the effect that Celtic have only been awarded more penalties than Rangers over a season only a paltry number of times over the last 25 years. Is this correct?

Also, how many penalties were Rangers awarded in the 2002/03 season?

This is an amazing part of the site btw - I can't beleive its taken me over a year to have a look at it!!!

Keep up the good work biggrin.gif
cmontheloknow
QUOTE(Estragon @ Jan 20 2007, 01:09) [snapback]1372120[/snapback]
A friend of mine busted out some outrageous statistic to the effect that Celtic have only been awarded more penalties than Rangers over a season only a paltry number of times over the last 25 years. Is this correct?

Also, how many penalties were Rangers awarded in the 2002/03 season?

This is an amazing part of the site btw - I can't beleive its taken me over a year to have a look at it!!!

Keep up the good work biggrin.gif

Will have a look at the pens stats for you maybe on Sunday but meantime I can only tell you that Rangers scored 9 league pens in 2002-03. I don't have figures for any missed though.
lyt
do you have all league results since formation of the east super league.or could you point me in the right direction,sjfa east web site aint that hot. cheers
Joethistle
QUOTE (lyt @ Jun 28 2008, 22:21) *
do you have all league results since formation of the east super league.or could you point me in the right direction,sjfa east web site aint that hot. cheers

I have all the stats on my computer for east super league..
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.