Full Version: F'k The Old Firm Thread
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40
Bhoys67
QUOTE(KillieFanForever @ Apr 23 2007, 21:09) [snapback]1535525[/snapback]
Football is not all about winning trophies. Football is about following your team though the good and the bad, the ups and the downs, supporting them when even you can admit they suck and celebrating any success that comes your way like it's the last one you're ever going to have and you want to treasure every second. It's about going to games week in, week out in the pouring rain and blinding snow out of sheer devotion, travelling countless miles just to be there. It's about celebrating every goal they score like it's the last one you'll see and and savouring every point gained no matter the circumstances. It's about always keeping the faith and being proud to proclaim you're a fan because hey, they're your team and you love them and always will. It's about loving your team from the bottom of your heart no matter what, without the need to win every trophy each season to keep you happy because that is NOT what football is about. That is why being a fan of a provincial team is so much more satisfying and rewarding than being an OF fan and always will be.

So in short, you can stick your Old Firm and your money and success and trophies up your arse, because that's not what it's all about. That is something you just don't and never will understand.

This Bulls**t moment brougt to you by............Killefanforever..when forever can't end soon enough!!
deky
QUOTE(Bhoys67 @ Apr 24 2007, 01:19) [snapback]1535495[/snapback]
Well then try and take our trophies away then...............COMPETE!!!!

You'll just never understand .
FTOF
djn
QUOTE(KillieFanForever @ Apr 24 2007, 02:09) [snapback]1535525[/snapback]
Football is not all about winning trophies. Football is about following your team though the good and the bad, the ups and the downs, supporting them when even you can admit they suck and celebrating any success that comes your way like it's the last one you're ever going to have and you want to treasure every second. It's about going to games week in, week out in the pouring rain and blinding snow out of sheer devotion, travelling countless miles just to be there. It's about celebrating every goal they score like it's the last one you'll see and and savouring every point gained no matter the circumstances. It's about always keeping the faith and being proud to proclaim you're a fan because hey, they're your team and you love them and always will. It's about loving your team from the bottom of your heart no matter what, without the need to win every trophy each season to keep you happy because that is NOT what football is about. That is why being a fan of a provincial team is so much more satisfying and rewarding than being an OF fan and always will be.

So in short, you can stick your Old Firm and your money and success and trophies up your arse, because that's not what it's all about. That is something you just don't and never will understand.

biggrin.gif They should put that on the homepage, it sums up what 90%+ of the suporters on here understand, what keeps us going and why we don't just pick a "big" club to support instead.

QUOTE(Bhoys67 @ Apr 23 2007, 23:04) [snapback]1535218[/snapback]
will you still feel the same next season IF you are relegated!!!

Yeah, even though we may be relegated, it'll be worth it for the championship win. I've seen us relegated twice, but the rare good times outweight the bad ones. And I'd happily see us relegated in the future for the high that we had on Saturday.

QUOTE(KillieFanForever @ Apr 23 2007, 23:41) [snapback]1535356[/snapback]
Paper Roses actually originated many years ago before I was born, when we were losing heavily to a lower league team, the rain was pouring down and the fans decided to have a singsong to cheer themselves up. Paper Roses by Marie Osmond was number 2 in the charts at the time so they started singing it and the song has stuck ever since. This was even before our league win in 1965 if I recall correctly.

Thanks for clearing that up - I'd been told it was in the charts when you won the league, but you know how these stories get changed in the re-telling. Nice to have a club song that's nothing to do with Northern Ireland anyhow cool.gif

PS: FTOF
Larbert_Par
QUOTE(KillieFanForever @ Apr 24 2007, 02:09) [snapback]1535525[/snapback]

Cracking post.

FTOF.
No8.
Looks like a copy n paste post to me. laugh.gif ...
1978-79...2ND
1979-80...5TH
1980-81...3RD
1981-82...3RD
1982-83...4TH
1983-84...4TH
1984-85...4TH
1985-86...5TH......Hardly glory years...these are the 1st years of my time following Rangers on a regular basis(home and away). I do not accept the glory hunting tag. Sure we have many 'glory hunters' who appeared when Souness and Holmes arrived. We , the true supporters cannot help that!!... St Mirren took 30,000 to hampden in 1987(?) where are they now...where were they then? Many of them were st mirren fans up until souness arrived and they started supporting Rangers...they went along to Hampden for that 1 day..now to me that is true 'glory hunting'...i can accept many of our supporters are 'glory hunters' why can you not accept many are also true supporters who suffer the same emotions that you suffer.
KillieFanForever
They should put that on the homepage, it sums up what 90%+ of the suporters on here understand, what keeps us going and why we don't just pick a "big" club to support instead

Cracking post.

Cheers fellas. biggrin.gif

Oh, and a copy and paste post it was not. It was a post that came from the heart, on the spur of the moment, out of love for my "diddy" team who I'll get more pleasure out of supporting than most Rangers and Celtic fans will ever get from their lot.
The Chameleon
QUOTE(No8. @ Apr 24 2007, 13:05) [snapback]1536112[/snapback]
Looks like a copy n paste post to me. laugh.gif ...
1978-79...2ND
1979-80...5TH
1980-81...3RD
1981-82...3RD
1982-83...4TH
1983-84...4TH
1984-85...4TH
1985-86...5TH......Hardly glory years...these are the 1st years of my time following Rangers on a regular basis(home and away). I do not accept the glory hunting tag. Sure we have many 'glory hunters' who appeared when Souness and Holmes arrived. We , the true supporters cannot help that!!... St Mirren took 30,000 to hampden in 1987(?) where are they now...where were they then? Many of them were st mirren fans up until souness arrived and they started supporting Rangers...they went along to Hampden for that 1 day..now to me that is true 'glory hunting'...i can accept many of our supporters are 'glory hunters' why can you not accept many are also true supporters who suffer the same emotions that you suffer.

Yeah, right. If every Rangers fan that claimed to be following the team during those years was actually at Ibrox every week like they say there would have been 50,000 there. How come it was more than half empty just after it became an all seater?
No8.
QUOTE(The Chameleon @ Apr 24 2007, 14:04) [snapback]1536299[/snapback]
Yeah, right. If every Rangers fan that claimed to be following the team during those years was actually at Ibrox every week like they say there would have been 50,000 there. How come it was more than half empty just after it became an all seater?

Half empty...Bollox...i remember when we played the Edinburgh 2 ...if we got over 20,000 we were delighted. It was that bad that my season ticket was called a 'Rover Season Ticket'..it entitled you to any seat within the Copeland stand and the Govan (when it was completed). I was in Ibrox with the lowest ever crowd...League cup section game..it was against clyde or QotS...roughly 5,000. I dont really blame you for doubting it as so many say that...It pisses me off...as you say if even half of them actually went we would have been playing to a full house every week.

Anyway...i DID go every week..and for a schoolboy that was not easy..i had to beg n borrow to get to some games. Then once souness came it all changed. I have been at Old Firm Games where you could pay at the gate then all of a sudden we were having difficulty getting tickets for away games.

As for not understanding how you as a 'diddy team' supporter feels..again bollox!! You have no idea how much it hurts after an Old Firm defeat..you cannot explain it. You will never know how sore it was in 1992-93 to be so close to European glory to have it all taken away from you by cheating French scum...i cannot even imagine how that other lot felt when Scott Macdonald scored with 2 minutes to go!!! I actually believe supporting these diddy clubs is a cop out for so many..if you dont expect much then you are never disappointed...it is so much easier supporting a diddy club. It must be great feeling looking down on all us 'knuckle draggers' wink.gif ..And you sad lot wonder why we laugh at you laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
djn
QUOTE(No8. @ Apr 24 2007, 14:28) [snapback]1536360[/snapback]
I actually believe supporting these diddy clubs is a cop out for so many..if you dont expect much then you are never disappointed...it is so much easier supporting a diddy club. It must be great feeling looking down on all us 'knuckle draggers'

Aye, I chose to support a "diddy" club because it's easier than the torture of winning all those titles in big stadiums that you boys suffer. It's easy to spend midweek nights travelling to Forfar or Stranraer, you get plenty coverage about our wee clubs in the press and we're always able to walk into any town in Scotland and see our replica shirts on sale/ worn.

We might not expect much, but when we get it, we're grateful. Something the Glasgow Celtic supporters should bear in mind rolleyes.gif
No8.
QUOTE(djn @ Apr 24 2007, 14:52) [snapback]1536424[/snapback]
Aye, I chose to support a "diddy" club because it's easier than the torture of winning all those titles in big stadiums that you boys suffer. It's easy to spend midweek nights travelling to Forfar or Stranraer, you get plenty coverage about our wee clubs in the press and we're always able to walk into any town in Scotland and see our replica shirts on sale/ worn.

We might not expect much, but when we get it, we're grateful. Something the Glasgow Celtic supporters should bear in mind rolleyes.gif

If we are fortunate enough to win the league next season i will show you gratefull laugh.gif .. I remember during 9-in-a-row supporters in the pubs after games saying how boring it was winning the league so easily every year and how they were fed up going to league games..I used to sit and just laugh at them...I wonder where they are now!!! I will never take winning any trophy for granted. I was 2 years out of school before i saw the league trophy!!! 1986-87...won it at Pittodrie and received it after a st mirren game....i remember it so well. wink.gif Just as we are not all bigots we are not all glory hunters..although i agree we have our fare share of both.
deky
QUOTE(No8. @ Apr 24 2007, 14:28) [snapback]1536360[/snapback]
Half empty...Bollox...i remember when we played the Edinburgh 2 ...if we got over 20,000 we were delighted. It was that bad that my season ticket was called a 'Rover Season Ticket'..it entitled you to any seat within the Copeland stand and the Govan (when it was completed). I was in Ibrox with the lowest ever crowd...League cup section game..it was against clyde or QotS...roughly 5,000. I dont really blame you for doubting it as so many say that...It pisses me off...as you say if even half of them actually went we would have been playing to a full house every week.

Anyway...i DID go every week..and for a schoolboy that was not easy..i had to beg n borrow to get to some games. Then once souness came it all changed. I have been at Old Firm Games where you could pay at the gate then all of a sudden we were having difficulty getting tickets for away games.

As for not understanding how you as a 'diddy team' supporter feels..again bollox!! You have no idea how much it hurts after an Old Firm defeat..you cannot explain it. You will never know how sore it was in 1992-93 to be so close to European glory to have it all taken away from you by cheating French scum...i cannot even imagine how that other lot felt when Scott Macdonald scored with 2 minutes to go!!! I actually believe supporting these diddy clubs is a cop out for so many..if you dont expect much then you are never disappointed...it is so much easier supporting a diddy club. It must be great feeling looking down on all us 'knuckle draggers' wink.gif ..And you sad lot wonder why we laugh at you laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

You were doing well there, actually sounding like a true football fan, then the glory hunting hunnery came pishing out.
I've no idea what it's like after an old firm game, why not?
I was hyper before we played Airdrie in the cup and cannae wait to beat Accies 4 ties a season. If they beat us I'll be in tears.
Obviously no Champions league experience but I remeber Dortmund cheating and diving to knock us out the UEFA cup in 95 and I've never left a game so angry. Getting pipped for the league may hurt, not as much as relegation and most on here have, or will experience it at least once.
Getting beat by Celtic and one European semi final in 30 odd years is the extent of your pain.
To be honest I'm happy for old firm fans to laugh at my "diddy" team. We must be doing something right.
It's not almost 50 pages for nothing.
FTOF
No8.
I dont really think p&b is representitive of Scottish football supporters... it appears to me anyway where diddy club supporters can have a wee love in and remind themselves how evil ALL OF supporters are. wink.gif ...I understand you have a rival(Airdrie) but when you lose to them it is not in every paper and radio station for at least a week. Every where you turn you are reminded of it...You talk about pain being restricted to the 2 examples i gave. Believe me the list is endless...every competition Rangers enter i expect them to win!!! Yes even in Europe i at least hope they can do something. So that means every season my hopes are shattered!!! When we lose to Celtic i wish i could support another club..Raith , St Mirren anybody!!! But i cant i am rangers supporter through n through!!! Just as you will never support anyone else other than Motherwell...I really do understand the 'glory hunter' tag...but there are people like me who do really care!!! Through thick n thin it will never go away WATP!!!!
KillieFanForever
I actually believe supporting these diddy clubs is a cop out for so many..if you dont expect much then you are never disappointed...it is so much easier supporting a diddy club.

Never disappointed? Is that right? So, you think I was doing cartwheels when Naka scored in the third minute of injury time to stop us delaying their party for another week do you? Or maybe you think I was dancing the samba when Hibs thumped us in a national cup final? Use your brain sir! On both those occasions I felt like someone had ripped out my guts and stepped on them, particularly on Sunday there because I really loathe Celtic more than any other team in the country. Maybe it doesn't match losing a vital Old Firm game or being knocked out of Europe, but it still fecking hurts like hell. The magnitude of the event doesn't matter, the disappointment you feel is exactly the same.
Kylesons
FTOF
KillieFanForever
Yes, FTOF, just for good measure. biggrin.gif
No8.
Fcuk the diddies... tongue.gif that really does not sound right cool.gif
Shawfield Stallion
QUOTE(No8. @ Apr 24 2007, 19:21) [snapback]1537040[/snapback]

Sounds fine to me laugh.gif
Bhoys67
QUOTE(No8. @ Apr 24 2007, 14:21) [snapback]1537040[/snapback]

we need them to add to the goals for !!!
Larbert_Par
FTOF!

And F*ck CFC- You're going down at Hampden.
No8.
QUOTE(Larbert_Par @ Apr 25 2007, 11:17) [snapback]1538262[/snapback]
FTOF!

FTOF AND fXCK CELTIC laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif Somebody must have seriously upset you
Larsson.
QUOTE(Larbert_Par @ Apr 25 2007, 11:17) [snapback]1538262[/snapback]
FTOF!

Yes great achievement for the pars on getting to The Neil Lennon final.
but can't see anything other than a celtic win.

Celtic 2 Dunfermline 0

You know it makes sense... biggrin.gif
Larbert_Par
QUOTE(No8. @ Apr 25 2007, 13:55) [snapback]1538738[/snapback]
FTOF AND fXCK CELTIC laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif Somebody must have seriously upset you

On the contrary, I'm rather happy- we're in the Scottish Cup final and will be playing UEFA Cup football next season.

I just hate the OF.
Larsson.
QUOTE(Larbert_Par @ Apr 25 2007, 14:26) [snapback]1538843[/snapback]
On the contrary, I'm rather happy- we're in the Scottish Cup final and will be playing UEFA Cup football next season.

I just hate the OF.

Let's just wait and see if your still happy when your in the 1st div!!... biggrin.gif
No8.
QUOTE(Larsson. @ Apr 25 2007, 14:30) [snapback]1538860[/snapback]
Let's just wait and see if your still happy when your in the 1st div!!... biggrin.gif

OHHHHHHHHHH !!! That was a low blow laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Bhoys67
QUOTE(Larbert_Par @ Apr 24 2007, 07:51) [snapback]1536053[/snapback]
Cracking post.

FTOF.

Football is about winning and winning trophies. You need to win the league trophy to get into the CL Proper. finishing 2nd only gets you into the qualifing rounds, so it pays to win the league trophy,
which the old firm are the only teams capable of in the spl1

Celtic FC 2006-07 SPL Champions!!!! Celtic FC 2006-07 scottish Cup Winners!!!
rw89
FTOF! I blame them for global warming and war y'know.
Larbert_Par
QUOTE(Larsson. @ Apr 25 2007, 14:30) [snapback]1538860[/snapback]

Supposing it happens, UEFA Cup football and being holders of the Scottish Cup will soften the blow.
Bhoys67
QUOTE(rw89 @ Apr 25 2007, 10:06) [snapback]1538949[/snapback]
FTOF! I blame them for global warming and war y'know.

you lot are blamed for Di's death...a wee team conspircy to take control of the palace!!
No8.
QUOTE(Bhoys67 @ Apr 25 2007, 15:12) [snapback]1538964[/snapback]
you lot are blamed for Di's death...a wee team conspircy to take control of the palace!!

You are without doubt a total fud.. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif ...are you sure you are straight through to the Champions League proper? We wouldnt want another Artmedia fiasco now ...Would we? cool.gif
Bhoys67
QUOTE(No8. @ Apr 25 2007, 12:11) [snapback]1539386[/snapback]
You are without doubt a total fud.. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif ...are you sure you are straight through to the Champions League proper? We wouldnt want another Artmedia fiasco now ...Would we? cool.gif

How did you do in the CL this season???? enough said............YOU SUCKED!!!!
No8.
QUOTE(Bhoys67 @ Apr 25 2007, 17:44) [snapback]1539507[/snapback]
How did you do in the CL this season???? enough said............YOU SUCKED!!!!

Ehhhhhhhhhh that would be Hearts that sucked laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif . You still sure your straight through. wink.gif
Bhoys67
QUOTE(No8. @ Apr 25 2007, 14:52) [snapback]1539768[/snapback]
Ehhhhhhhhhh that would be Hearts that sucked laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif . You still sure your straight through. wink.gif

forgot you didn't finsh second again, it was worse laugh.gif laugh.gif Behind Hearts now that is bad!!!
No8.
QUOTE(Bhoys67 @ Apr 25 2007, 20:02) [snapback]1539785[/snapback]
forgot you didn't finsh second again, it was worse laugh.gif laugh.gif Behind Hearts now that is bad!!!

You are 45 and you started supporting that lot in the 1970s...that says it all about you. You are exactly the sort of person this whole thread is about!!! You wonder why they dont like the OF???
Bhoys67
QUOTE(No8. @ Apr 25 2007, 17:20) [snapback]1540110[/snapback]
You are 45 and you started supporting that lot in the 1970s...that says it all about you. You are exactly the sort of person this whole thread is about!!! You wonder why they dont like the OF???

i don't give a shit if were like by the diddy fans or not..........they are jealous c**ts and thats it,
they complain when the OF win everything, but won't complain when their team boards don't go out and compete........Losers!!!
No8.
QUOTE(Bhoys67 @ Apr 25 2007, 22:27) [snapback]1540134[/snapback]
i don't give a shit if were like by the diddy fans or not..........they are jealous c**ts and thats it,
they complain when the OF win everything, but won't complain when their team boards don't go out and compete........Losers!!!

Have you any connection with Scotland?...you clearly have no connection with reality. Have you found out if you get straight through to the champions league next year laugh.gif
Bhoys67
QUOTE(No8. @ Apr 25 2007, 17:34) [snapback]1540161[/snapback]
Have you any connection with Scotland?...you clearly have no connection with reality. Have you found out if you get straight through to the champions league next year laugh.gif

Yes the champions of scotland do get into the CL proper, on the 2nd place team (still to be determined)
has to go through qualifying!! Thought you would not that!! With all your team european experience!!
No8.
QUOTE(Bhoys67 @ Apr 25 2007, 22:40) [snapback]1540175[/snapback]
Yes the champions of scotland do get into the CL proper, on the 2nd place team (still to be determined)
has to go through qualifying!! Thought you would not that!! With all your team european experience!!

Are you sure??? I can see another Artmedia awaiting your mob laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Bhoys67
QUOTE(No8. @ Apr 25 2007, 17:47) [snapback]1540198[/snapback]
Are you sure??? I can see another Artmedia awaiting your mob laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

when laugh.gif was the last time you were European Cup winners.....................
No8.
QUOTE(Bhoys67 @ Apr 25 2007, 22:49) [snapback]1540209[/snapback]
when laugh.gif was the last time you were European Cup winners.....................

But that was before you started supporting them..ya fud.. rolleyes.gif
Dundee Par
QUOTE(Bhoys67 @ Apr 25 2007, 22:27) [snapback]1540134[/snapback]

How the f**k are we "jealous c***s"? If we were then why wouldn't everyone just support the Old Firm. I'm glad I'm not a fan of either and I'm sure most other non old firm fans think the same.
djn
QUOTE(Dundee Par @ Apr 25 2007, 23:06) [snapback]1540282[/snapback]
How the f**k are we "jealous c***s"? If we were then why wouldn't everyone just support the Old Firm. I'm glad I'm not a fan of either and I'm sure most other non old firm fans think the same.

I'm glad I'm not a fan either!

Well done the Pars btw, am sure you'll appreciate getting where you've got, and not arrogantly complaining about percieved injustices like our canadian chum... wink.gif
Bhoys67
QUOTE(Dundee Par @ Apr 25 2007, 18:06) [snapback]1540282[/snapback]

You and your wee team cousins always blame the OF for the woes of the SPL when it's the other SPL
sides that cause most of the problems by not competiting. You lot complain when the OF sign your best
players, yet you don't blame your management for selling in the first place. You get a far bigger piece of the tv money then you deserve, Celtic and Rangers should get 90% with the rest of the SPL splitting the other 10%......they are scottish football like it or not.
Dundee Par
QUOTE(Bhoys67 @ Apr 26 2007, 17:13) [snapback]1541814[/snapback]
You and your wee team cousins always blame the OF for the woes of the SPL when it's the other SPL
sides that cause most of the problems by not competiting. You lot complain when the OF sign your best
players, yet you don't blame your management for selling in the first place. You get a far bigger piece of the tv money then you deserve, Celtic and Rangers should get 90% with the rest of the SPL splitting the other 10%......they are scottish football like it or not.

That's the problem. You think you deserve the majority of the TV money, but then moan because we can't compete. If every team got their fair share of the money then maybe we would. And the "they are Scottish football" point is just complete and utter bollocks. If you really think that then they should just f**k off and play each other without the need for the other teams. Lets see how they would survive then.
ComeOnTheTic
QUOTE(Dundee Par @ Apr 26 2007, 17:51) [snapback]1541924[/snapback]
That's the problem. You think you deserve the majority of the TV money, but then moan because we can't compete. If every team got their fair share of the money then maybe we would. And the "they are Scottish football" point is just complete and utter bollocks. If you really think that then they should just f**k off and play each other without the need for the other teams. Lets see how they would survive then.

it would prob be better, then we wouldnt have to watch shitty teams hoof the ball about the shop and players whose second touch is always a tackle laugh.gif
Bhoys67
QUOTE(Dundee Par @ Apr 26 2007, 12:51) [snapback]1541924[/snapback]

People who pay to watch setanta throughout the world for scottish football want Celtic and Rangers games, no one else's....whay do you think the buy rate would be for say Killie v St Mirren?
i tell you wat it would be..........zilch!! Celtic and Rangers bring the money into the scottish game
with people wanting to see them the other spl sides contribute nothing and should get nothing from any tv deals!!
Dundee Par
OK then blink.gif

Do you really think that the OF would survive without the others? I sure as hell don't. It would be much easier for the rest to survive without the OF than the other way round.
Bhoys67
QUOTE(Dundee Par @ Apr 26 2007, 18:45) [snapback]1542701[/snapback]
OK then blink.gif

Do you really think that the OF would survive without the others? I sure as hell don't. It would be much easier for the rest to survive without the OF than the other way round.

Celtic and Rangers could survive without you lot thats for sure........But in some respect it would help scottish football survive if the OF found a better quality league to play in......
Dundee Par
QUOTE(Bhoys67 @ Apr 26 2007, 23:49) [snapback]1542710[/snapback]
Celtic and Rangers could survive without you lot thats for sure........But in some respect it would help scottish football survive if the OF found a better quality league to play in......

Aye, well that's the problem. No one else wants you. You tried to make your way into the Premiership but they didn't want you. It would definitely benefit Scottish football if you left. It would make for a much more competitive league which would be more attractive to punters and it would bring more fans to the game.
Bhoys67
QUOTE(Dundee Par @ Apr 26 2007, 18:54) [snapback]1542721[/snapback]
Aye, well that's the problem. No one else wants you. You tried to make your way into the Premiership but they didn't want you. It would definitely benefit Scottish football if you left. It would make for a much more competitive league which would be more attractive to punters and it would bring more fans to the game.

within the next 5 seasons we will be in the premeirship!!!!!!!!!!!!
No8.
11,500 at youth cup final....8,500 at cup semi final...sort of blows that argument right out the water