The Clyde FC 2018-19 Thread

9 minutes ago, cfcuk said:

Ah the Chapman project belt the ball up the park you missing it already ?

The guys we have signed have great ability it wasn't just down to fitness last season

Best squad we have had in years with the best management team in a decade I trust them to get it right emoji106.png

Jim Chapman is the best manager out there; certainly better than Lennon.

The guys we've signed have no ability.

Why should we trust the management? They've brought us only failure.

2 hours ago, Landan Spiv said:

Boyle is a very good signing for you. Now you'll just have to replace Goodwillie as he'll be off by the end of the month. 

Wishful thinking. 

17 minutes ago, haufdaft said:

As an aside, isn't it curious that our politicians have been very quiet about Rangers signing Flanagan.

Any ideas why that may be?

Surely Tom English will be all over that!!

Let’s stop this chatter of Goodwillie leaving. There have only been rumours and nothing concrete whatsoever. He’s still contracted for this season so let’s try and be optimistic. 

Welcome back Jack Boyle. :thumsup2

Hoping that Goodie might decide to stay and be part of something next season, a genuine title challenge seems possible. The players we are signing might convince him we mean business this time.
Certainly streets ahead of some of the shite he was playing with when he first arrived.

On 16/06/2018 at 13:41, the_bully_wee said:

Without having seen him play or knowing a great deal about him, that looks like a decent addition. Going to assume that means no Cogill, though. :bairn

On 16/06/2018 at 17:50, BullyWeeLad said:

Airdrie fans sayin Gormans pish 

Pish is maybe a bit harsh but he isn't brilliant either. Having said that he should be good enough to do a reasonable job at this level. He's a big haddy who does the fundamentals well. I don't remember if he ever actually played left-back for us but he played on the left side of a 3 man defence and looked comfortable. His distribution is laughably bad though. He will probably slice at least 2 or 3 clearances a game and I remember there was at least 3 games where he passed the ball to the other team under no pressure which resulted in a goal. 

Also, I don't wish to speculate, but he seems to come with some sort of 'baggage'. He found himself out the team for a while and while he wasn't the best player, his replacement Simon Mensing, was worse. He was also still contracted to us for the 2017/18 season but was banished from the club during pre-season with DoF Gordon Dalziel saying he wouldn't play for us again and seemingly couldn't wait to get shot of him. Given that we had no manager at the time, our owner had pulled out of funding the club, we had four other signed players and it would have cost money to release him from his contract (which we ended up doing), you can't help but think it must have been something serious for him to be released from a club in such a desperate state. 

Great signing! Had thought we would have had no chance in getting him back. Just give us the title now.

If we are now on to using the Flying Start money to pay for a players wages would that probably mean he's the last signing we will be making?