Bonnyrigg Rose should they stay or should they go...

Unknown Fan

6 minutes ago, wullie robb said:

Penicuik just pumped linlithgow. 

They've now played both games against Linlithgow now and also their two games against Bonnyrigg. Depends on how bad the fixture backlog might become but both Roses can afford more hiccups along the way. Points on the board or games in hand, should be an interesting run in.

Top 5.JPG

• Replies 555
9 minutes ago, FairWeatherFan said:

Linlithgow's home game has still to be played.

Thanks for that. 

Anyway, Bonnyrigg should definitely take the plunge, Maybe a few more also, it would be great to see some new teams in the lower leagues in the future. 

I wasn’t for it but through time can see the appeal with moving to a far better organised (league fixtures) rewarding success financially (for silverware too!) ladder, not all about money true but it’s 100% worth discussing.
Horrible comment regarding our 2 main sponsors as sugar daddies really disrespectful 2 hard working individuals who are far from deserving of that sort of title and far from just chuck money at the Rose kind of p*sh

Hope bonnyrig make the move , aye kelty thumping a few teams but the work off the park is unbelievable for me to see after years of watching park football the team is now a community club with all ages under one roof , progress undeniable and believe the move from the juniors made this achievable, if that's worth anything !!!!

9 hours ago, Van magic said:

I wasn’t for it but through time can see the appeal with moving to a far better organised (league fixtures) rewarding success financially (for silverware too!) ladder, not all about money true but it’s 100% worth discussing.
Horrible comment regarding our 2 main sponsors as sugar daddies really disrespectful 2 hard working individuals who are far from deserving of that sort of title and far from just chuck money at the Rose kind of p*sh

It's not all doom and gloom as they're making out VM. 

You'd have local games at Prestonpans, Dalkeith as well as us and the toony teams just for starters. 

Awright there is a bit traveling but Dalbeattie and Gretna are great days oot. You could add Edusport to an extent (if they stay at Annan). 

A trip on the train from Eskbank to Galashiels for an all dayer is well worth it as well. (ye could technically add Selkirk in there as well wi a taxi). 

And that's no even including the benefits of a wee Scottish Cup run and regular trips to the dreaded Highlands which if I'm no mistaken the SFA pay expense for anyway :unsure2: hic :guinness

It's not all doom and gloom as they're making out VM. 
You'd have local games at Prestonpans, Dalkeith as well as us and the toony teams just for starters. 
Awright there is a bit traveling but Dalbeattie and Gretna are great days oot. You could add Edusport to an extent (if they stay at Annan). 
A trip on the train from Eskbank to Galashiels for an all dayer is well worth it as well. (ye could technically add Selkirk in there as well wi a taxi). 
And that's no even including the benefits of a wee Scottish Cup run and regular trips to the dreaded Highlands which if I'm no mistaken the SFA pay expense for anyway :unsure2: hic :guinness

I’m still sitting on the fence but warming to the idea, but thinking now if your BIG teams left in our league like Linlithgow and Bo’ness also jump that leaves a poor league, 3/4 of the teams in the super league bring under 20 supporters to Bonnyrigg so the old days of banter in the shed with opposing fans are in severe decline! SJFA are very quiet mayb they’ll act when a big west team starts making noises and not fussed about the east.....

Looking more and more likely that we need to move. Sad to leave the juniors but I think it is going to be a thing of the past in the near future

Sent from my SM-J320FN using Tapatalk

Exactly not as if it’s a quick fire decision either

It looks like the guys in charge at Bonnyrigg have done their research over the past year or so on joining senior/pyramid football so fair play to them, they are financially stable and by moving it looks to be the perfect timing and opportunity to do so to progress on and off the pitch.

People will have their pros and cons but imo apart from the good clubs involved and rivalries made through Junior football over the years thats really the only thing that will be left behind, in a few years time these clubs will meet and rivalries will come back again once the pyramid evolves with teams moving divisions. Bonnyrigg have a chance to jump what could be a division or 2 ahead of some other big clubs, get into the Lowland League and also get their licence secured early before others.

Junior clubs all over the country will be finding it so tough just now with their fixture backlog which becomes the norm for most almost every season, squeezing fixtures in the last 2 months, we were the same a few years ago with our pitch problems so know how it feels to keep a club affloat with no home fixtures for months. These issues never become a problem in the Lowland League or East Of Scotland League (Lothian THV apart as they share a ground) you have to ask yourself why this is ? 

This would hint that the guys in charge know what they are doing organising a professionally run setup for the benefit of their clubs, the great clubs make the Junior grade its certainly not the people running it, they maybe did in the past 20 years or longer but certainly not now as football and non league football evolves they are left behind and its the member clubs that more than likely will suffer.

A setup within the pyramid that allows clubs to get SFA Licenced that rewards clubs for good practice, good facilities and success on the pitch that help build a football club that has a positive impact on the Community is the appreciation that clubs should get, Junior clubs have to fend for themselves with little if any reward, financial help, appreciation and logical ideas from the top to move forward for the benefit of its members. 

The Pyramid isnt perfect as it stands but it will be in a year or so as clubs get wise to the situation they find themselves in.

Good luck to Bonnyrigg Rose in what they decide.

3 minutes ago, kefc said:

It looks like the guys in charge at Bonnyrigg have done their research over the past year or so on joining senior/pyramid football so fair play to them, they are financially stable and by moving it looks to be the perfect timing and opportunity to do so to progress on and off the pitch.

People will have their pros and cons but imo apart from the good clubs involved and rivalries made through Junior football over the years thats really the only thing that will be left behind, in a few years time these clubs will meet and rivalries will come back again once the pyramid evolves with teams moving divisions. Bonnyrigg have a chance to jump what could be a division or 2 ahead of some other big clubs, get into the Lowland League and also get their licence secured early before others.

Junior clubs all over the country will be finding it so tough just now with their fixture backlog which becomes the norm for most almost every season, squeezing fixtures in the last 2 months, we were the same a few years ago with our pitch probelms so know how it feels to keep a club affloat with no home fixtures for months. These issues never become a problem in the Lowland League or East Of Scotland League (Lothian THV apart as they share a ground) you have to ask yourself why this is ? 

This would hint that the guiys in charge know what they are doing organising a professionally run setup for the benefit of their clubs, the great clubs make the Junior grade its certainly not the people running it they, maybe did in the past 20 years or longer but certainly not now as football and non league football evolves they are left behind and its the member clubs that more than likely will suffer.

A setup within the pyramid that allows clubs to get SFA Licenced that rewards clubs for good practice, good facilities and success on the pitch that help build a football club that has a positive impact on the Community is the appreciation that clubs should get, Junior clubs have to fend for themselves with little if any reward, financial help, appreciation and logical ideas from the top to move forward for the benefit of its members. 

The Pyramid isnt perefect as it stands but it will be in a year or so as clubs get wise to the situation they find themselves.

Good luck to Bonnyrigg Rose in what they decide.

It was brought up earlier.how have your home gates been affected by the move.I said that im sure I read that they were up.can you confirm ?

Home and our Away crowds are definitely up, season tickets are up, all by around 20-30%. You can tell with our highlights, money on the gate and the house full signs on our 50 capacity hospitality every game.

A run of the mill league game against Ormiston, Eyemouth etc. had more than a game against Broxburn, Carnoustie etc no disrespect to they clubs mentioned as I’m highlighting our home supporters only.

Obviously we had 2 x 1000 plus crowds last season for 2 Scottish Junior Cup ties but we can possibly replace those by getting runs in the Senior Scottish Cup and if we ever get to the LL, Irn Bru Cup If Top 4 and Betfred Cup for the LL winner, bigger tournaments with more exposure, bigger supported opposition and better rewards for success.

We didn’t expect it tbh but we marketed it well, caught the communities imagination, gave them fixture lists, removed the glass ceiling, they see the big picture, the vision and have really got behind us which we are delighted about.

We expect if we were ever to reach the Lowland League then we have no doubt it will grow again.

Think the smart thing would be give it another year and see how others go!
The biggest danger with that is that the league is then at capacity and you end up in EOS 2 with a number of other competitive sides.

I dont know where all the panic is coming from, only ONE team has left the Superleague and they werent always a top side, so the league is still as strong as it was ?

This time last year Bonnyrigg werent interested in moving , what has changed ?

The past five years or so  Bonnyrigg have been closer and closer to winning the Scottish Junior Cup, a double decker bus through the streets with thousands partying in the streets like they did twice before, are fans happy to give all that up to play in lower league football.