Dalkeith, next Junior giant to take the plunge.

• Replies 231
fixtures, chance of league two playoffs, in the big Scottish every year, top 6 get into the betfred, grants, (floodlights [emoji33]) etc... with a decent ground that has a large already established fan base that draws from surrounding areas... I’d suggest in my completely, non reflective of anyone else, opinion.. that Talbot and others would be quite successful within a pyramid set up :shutup
What would you consider success in the pyramid?

36 minutes ago, energyzone said:
9 hours ago, Killiepiyo said:
fixtures, chance of league two playoffs, in the big Scottish every year, top 6 get into the betfred, grants, (floodlights emoji33.png) etc... with a decent ground that has a large already established fan base that draws from surrounding areas... I’d suggest in my completely, non reflective of anyone else, opinion.. that Talbot and others would be quite successful within a pyramid set up :shutup

What would you consider success in the pyramid?

Beating Rangers at Ibrox in a lowland league game.

14 hours ago, energyzone said:
17 hours ago, Isabel Goudie said:
Well Kenny, your yearning for the Talbot demise is relentless. Never mind go and get yourself some Andrex fella and have a day dream, or more appropriately a wet dream, and imagine Talbot in obscurity. That’s as close as you’ll get to your ultimate fantasy. 

He has a point though. Talbot have the most to lose from pyramid integration - they'd go from top dog to just another club. It's not as if there is an abundance of people in that area who haven't attached themselves to clubs - Talbot have pretty much corralled everyone in Auchinleck, Catrine, Mauchline etc, so there isn't much room for expansion support-wise.

That's why he started a thread greetin like a wee lassie because he knows as soon as we all move his days of watching the bot lift a cup are over, much probably for all our respective teams. There will be no more minor scottish cup it will be into the hat for the big 1. 

10 minutes ago, kenny131 said:

That's why he started a thread greetin like a wee lassie because he knows as soon as we all move his days of watching the bot lift a cup are over, much probably for all our respective teams. There will be no more minor scottish cup it will be into the hat for the big 1. 

Well more or less thats what the South Region Challenge Cup is. The Junior cup but for Senior non league

The likes of Kelty and Dalkeith should have shown more loyalty to the junior association which they've been part of for decades.It should come  down to,we all agree to pyramid,or we dont.The current situation means some teams can move up the football tiers that their actual footballing standards  dont match.All teams in Scotland shold be bound by the principle of promotion  and relegation to find their football level,a little peice of paper from sfa shouldn't promote you several tiers.

5 minutes ago, Duraglit shareholder said:

The likes of Kelty and Dalkeith should have shown more loyalty to the junior association which they've been part of for decades.It should come  down to,we all agree to pyramid,or we dont.The current situation means some teams can move up the football tiers that their actual footballing standards  dont match.All teams in Scotland shold be bound by the principle of promotion  and relegation to find their football level,a little peice of paper from sfa shouldn't promote you several tiers.

I would subscribe to that view if someone from SJFA comes on and tells us how they have specifically helped Dalkeith. Or maybe someone from Dalkeith could point out what direct contact the organisation have had with them.

If a club want to give it a go, leave them alone. It’s too easy for a Talbot fan to say the Juniors is great. The reality is that clubs like Talbot have put a veneer over the jobby that lies beneath by trying their best to enhance their facilities. The SJFA don’t deserve to be gauged on forward thinking clubs as they themselves are stagnant.

Away you go ya slaver.

We don’t all agree on the pyramid but if a club wants to progress who are you, other clubs or the SJFA for that matter to hold them back ?

18 minutes ago, Duraglit shareholder said:

The likes of Kelty and Dalkeith should have shown more loyalty to the junior association which they've been part of for decades.It should come  down to,we all agree to pyramid,or we dont.

That's plenty. Your last sentence is everything that is wrong with junior football in a nutshell. One team can hold back 160 others. 

24 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

I would subscribe to that view if someone from SJFA comes on and tells us how they have specifically helped Dalkeith. Or maybe someone from Dalkeith could point out what direct contact the organisation have had with them.

If a club want to give it a go, leave them alone. It’s too easy for a Talbot fan to say the Juniors is great. The reality is that clubs like Talbot have put a veneer over the jobby that lies beneath by trying their best to enhance their facilities. The SJFA don’t deserve to be gauged on forward thinking clubs as they themselves are stagnant.

Good post Jim 

50 minutes ago, HTG said:

That's plenty. Your last sentence is everything that is wrong with junior football in a nutshell. One team can hold back 160 others. 

Are you quite happy to say that if Dalkeith play their cards  right and with a bit of luck could be playing in a higher tier of football than your very own linlithgow,im only stating the anomoly of the current pyramid system could see teams with limited ability moving above better footballing sides,surely that goes against all football principles.And its not one team,a steady trickle will follow once the first team jumps.What is so wrong with the juniors,£6 for good entertainment,Pollok providing 6th largest attendance a  few weeks back cant be all bad.And am i wrong in thinking the juniors would be in a stronger bargaining position if they stayed as a colllective rather than a few moving slowly into pyramid.

16 minutes ago, Duraglit shareholder said:

Are you quite happy to say that if Dalkeith play their cards  right and with a bit of luck could be playing in a higher tier of football than your very own linlithgow,im only stating the anomoly of the current pyramid system could see teams with limited ability moving above better footballing sides,surely that goes against all football principles.And its not one team,a steady trickle will follow once the first team jumps.What is so wrong with the juniors,£6 for good entertainment,Pollok providing 6th largest attendance a  few weeks back cant be all bad.And am i wrong in thinking the juniors would be in a stronger bargaining position if they stayed as a colllective rather than a few moving slowly into pyramid.

Bargain for what exactly? 

What a load of shite lol, them both clubs owe junior football nothing whatsoever , it's dog eat dog and them dogs were Starving in the juniors and want fed at a bigger table , good on them both and best wishes to them [emoji2]

18 minutes ago, Duraglit shareholder said:

You should face the reality. Set Dalkeith aside for a moment. Linlithgow are 2 tiers below Fort William and Strathspey Thistle. We are below every team in the Lowland League. Despite this, we are giant kllers who have never lost a match against any Lowland League opposition and only once to Highland League. 

But they all get to enter the Scottish Cup at a later stage than Linlithgow in the same way that Aberdeen come in later than Peterhead. This is because, to be part of their structure, you need to meet certain off field criteria. Junior football can start leading with one voice when all its teams meet that criteria. And some of the junior teams can get involved if they spend a bit less on players and a bit more on a toilet, a decent treatmentarea for players and safe standing for spectators. 

If junior football wants to come to the party now, no amount of coulda/shoulda is going to do the trick. Get on the bus or watch from the bus stop. 

Dalkeith are quite right to do what is best for them as a club. If that means they take higher rank than Linlithgow then that's not their problem. It's my personal view we will eventually regret our position but we're a club that protects its democratic structure fiercely and if the members want to be juniors then that's what we will be. 

Folk keep banging on about Pollok having a big attendance last week as if it's the norm in the juniors. The juniors must be thriving because Pollok had a crowd of 1000+, two rivals, local derby etc etc.

Would Pollok v Partick Thistle or Pollok v Queens Park not hold the same attraction because it'd be a senior game? 

4 minutes ago, HTG said:

You should face the reality. Set Dalkeith aside for a moment. Linlithgow are 2 tiers below Fort William and Strathspey Thistle. We are below every team in the Lowland League. Despite this, we are giant kllers who have never lost a match against any Lowland League opposition and only once to Highland League. 

But they all get to enter the Scottish Cup at a later stage than Linlithgow in the same way that Aberdeen come in later than Peterhead. This is because, to be part of their structure, you need to meet certain off field criteria. Junior football can start leading with one voice when all its teams meet that criteria. And some of the junior teams can get involved if they spend a bit less on players and a bit more on a toilet, a decent treatmentarea for players and safe standing for spectators. 

If junior football wants to come to the party now, no amount of coulda/shoulda is going to do the trick. Get on the bus or watch from the bus stop. 

Dalkeith are quite right to do what is best for them as a club. If that means they take higher rank than Linlithgow then that's not their problem. It's my personal view we will eventually regret our position but we're a club that protects its democratic structure fiercely and if the members want to be juniors then that's what we will be. 

Good post,good explanation and clear answer,i only tried to point out the football  principle of finding your level through promotion and relegation done on the pitch but ive learned people have strong feelings regarding the pyramid.For me,it wont be solved till all footalll comes under one governing body like the german system that believe it or not has 2235 divisiions covering 34645 teams all connected by promotion and relegation.