Takeaways

thistledo

• Replies 397
33 minutes ago, supermik said:

A bag of chips has never been the same since they stopped wrapping them in old newspapers.

Indeed, except when pissed and you end up eating half the soggy paper as well 

12 hours ago, quickoverayard said:
12 hours ago, 8MileBU said:

What does this mean?

A bag of chips or as I call them a poke.

You get a bag of pokes?

13 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

It's a chip roll. GTF with that English patter.

Wrong.

4 hours ago, 8MileBU said:

I meant the ‘below 30 a bag’ comment. Is that what defines a poke of chips?

Shut up mate. Been called a chip butty down this way as long as I can remember.

Right.

Dundee is pretty straightforward for takeaway.

Pizza - Luigis

Chinese - Manchurian

Kebab - agacan or bosphorus

Chippy - tailend or silvery tay.

Indian - don't bother.

Wee mexico is good for a burrito.

No-one else hate the polystyrene box? f**k ye lads.

Must be honest I preferred the auld newspaper wrapping.

What does my head in is no chippie sauce through the west.... Get they shitty HP sauces so for that alone chip shops in east have the upper hand.

On 02/03/2018 at 17:56, Rugster said:

Oi. 

Christ was hoping you forgot, midweek drinks were cancelled so didn't get down that neck of the woods. I'm no really that reliable with this stuff man, i'll defo get there at some point though. 

What was the name of the place again, Kebab Mahal? 

6 minutes ago, thistledo said:

Christ was hoping you forgot, midweek drinks were cancelled so didn't get down that neck of the woods. I'm no really that reliable with this stuff man, i'll defo get there at some point though. 

You're missing out! 

• 4 weeks later...
On 06/03/2018 at 12:23, thistledo said:

Ahem. 

Really not gonna let this go are you. I've not been in Edinburgh for the last three weeks aside from the Hibs game and tbh I left the ground not even knowing score. 

It will happen. Even if I have to have a sober one, it will happen. 

Pizza - Luigis
Chinese - Manchurian
Indian - don't bother.

Bosphorus is run by an absolute crack pot who gives you f**k all in a portion and goes off his nut if you complain at all! It's a shame as it's usually decent too.

53 minutes ago, booj1893 said:

Bosphorus is run by an absolute crack pot who gives you f**k all in a portion and goes off his nut if you complain at all! It's a shame as it's usually decent too.

Aye, he's particularly stingy with the sauce, but it's a tasty kebab.

Guest bernardblack
On 3/3/2018 at 18:24, Tamdunk said:

Pizza - Luigis

Chinese - Manchurian

Indian - don't bother.

Does the Manchurian deliver? If so, that is a game changer in the world of takeaways.