Scottish Juniors BOOK - I need your help!

Hallelluhwah

Hello - first post on here but some may know me as noah's dad on the Kempster forum.

Every other week I travel up from Norwich to visit and photograph  a junior ground. Bored with English non-league having watched and photographed for over 30 years, I'd always loved the junior game and so I started this project. As yet untitled, the aim is to photograph all the north, east and west grounds whilst writing a page or so in a similar vein to Simon Inglis' old Football Ground of Britain. I'm about 50 grounds in...

My first book, Beyond the Turnstiles, was published last year by Ockley Sports books - I have a Facebook page by the same name if you fancy having a wee look - it's ground porn basically, from all over Europe.

Lots of resources out there, with Pie and Bovril and Non League Scotland at the top. 

Here's where I need help. The grounds that have gone: Ballieston's, Penicuik, Glencairn, Shawfield etc. I need some decent photos of ALL the lost juniors grounds or matches being played showing the grounds, preferable with decent crowds, maybe from a big cup game.

I want to give the book some historical context and include photos of not only the lost grounds (anyone got a Douglas Water image, a Maryhill Hibs photo?!) but also grounds that have changed over the years - Bathgate, Cumnock, Vale of Clyde etc. If photos of Raploch Park, the old Dunterslie Park and so on exist, I'd like to find them!

I will credit all who contribute and send copies of the book once published, again by Ockley.

More info Facebook -  https://www.facebook.com/thejuniorsportrait/?ref=bookmarks

Email: beyondtheturnstiles@gmail.com

Cheers

Leon

13 minutes ago, Hallelluhwah said:

Hello - first post on here but some may know me as noah's dad on the Kempster forum.

Every other week I travel up from Norwich to visit and photograph  a junior ground. Bored with English non-league having watched and photographed for over 30 years, I'd always loved the junior game and so I started this project. As yet untitled, the aim is to photograph all the north, east and west grounds whilst writing a page or so in a similar vein to Simon Inglis' old Football Ground of Britain. I'm about 50 grounds in...

My first book, Beyond the Turnstiles, was published last year by Ockley Sports books - I have a Facebook page by the same name if you fancy having a wee look - it's ground porn basically, from all over Europe.

Lots of resources out there, with Pie and Bovril and Non League Scotland at the top. 

Here's where I need help. The grounds that have gone: Ballieston's, Penicuik, Glencairn, Shawfield etc. I need some decent photos of ALL the lost juniors grounds or matches being played showing the grounds, preferable with decent crowds, maybe from a big cup game.

I want to give the book some historical context and include photos of not only the lost grounds (anyone got a Douglas Water image, a Maryhill Hibs photo?!) but also grounds that have changed over the years - Bathgate, Cumnock, Vale of Clyde etc. If photos of Raploch Park, the old Dunterslie Park and so on exist, I'd like to find them!

I will credit all who contribute and send copies of the book once published, again by Ockley.

More info Facebook -  https://www.facebook.com/thejuniorsportrait/?ref=bookmarks

Email: beyondtheturnstiles@gmail.com

Cheers

Leon

Leon, Have emailed across some images for Brandon Park and New Brandon Park Bellshill.

9 minutes ago, Bellshilljunior said:

Leon, Have emailed across some images for Brandon Park and New Brandon Park Bellshill.

He'll never keep up with all the parks Bellshill played at. On the other hand, he could live to a hundred and not get one of Rob Roy's new place.

Thanks Brian. 

1 hour ago, Bellshilljunior said:

Thanks Brian. Club historians is a good route in I'm finding out. Hours in local libraries beckon too...Just wondering whether there are any grounds post 1950 which simply have no photographic documentation? Thanks to Tom from Haddington too for advice on what, if anything, remains of Brewery Park and Old Millfield. 

Had a look through Brian Reilly's book about Maryhill Harp/Hibs, and as I suspected there are no ground shots, only some team group shots where you're not really sure what's going on in the background behind them.

I suspect they don't exist, and nobody thought to photograph some of those spartan and largely featureless wee grounds from way back when until it was too late unfortunately. Likewise, I've only seen photos of what little remains of Douglas Water Thistle's park and never a photo of the ground while it was still extant.

19 minutes ago, Hillonearth said:

Had a look through Brian Reilly's book about Maryhill Harp/Hibs, and as I suspected there are no ground shots, only some team group shots where you're not really sure what's going on in the background behind them.

I suspect they don't exist, and nobody thought to photograph some of those spartan and largely featureless wee grounds from way back when until it was too late unfortunately. Likewise, I've only seen photos of what little remains of Douglas Water Thistle's park and never a photo of the ground while it was still extant.

As I suspected Hillonearth. Nostalgia perhaps didn't kick in until the likes of Bob Lilliman started photographing grounds when they were rapidly changing in the early 70's and onwards. As a Maryhill supporter, do you have any decent early images of Lochburn? I remember in the club there are some team shots with older buildings in the background - just wondered if you have any ground photos I might be able to use? And ANY other junior grounds images that might be of interest? Took this of Muirkirk's Burnside Park in Kames a few weeks back. Some nice match photos on NLS of Muirkirk's old park too...

Muirkirk (old)small.jpg

Use Google Earth to locate Hayocks Road in Stevenston, North Ayrshire and halfway up you will see a wasted piece of ground that used to be Ardchoille Park (High Woods) next to the newish Primary School.  I believe the team was  Ardeer ......?

Stevenston had two Junior teams, one supported by ICI at Ardeer I think may be Ardeer Recreational.  The other may have been Thistle or Rovers.   I'm sure  a Stinson man will keep me right there.

1 hour ago, Hallelluhwah said:

As I suspected Hillonearth. Nostalgia perhaps didn't kick in until the likes of Bob Lilliman started photographing grounds when they were rapidly changing in the early 70's and onwards. As a Maryhill supporter, do you have any decent early images of Lochburn? I remember in the club there are some team shots with older buildings in the background - just wondered if you have any ground photos I might be able to use? And ANY other junior grounds images that might be of interest? Took this of Muirkirk's Burnside Park in Kames a few weeks back. Some nice match photos on NLS of Muirkirk's old park too...

Muirkirk (old)small.jpg

Most of the ones in the club were taken immediately prior to the place being redeveloped in the 90s. If you're talking mega-old photos, this is about as good as it gets...from 1904 - 7 years after we moved there. Once again it's a team shot, but as you can see there's not much going on in the background apart from the wooden fence round the place. I imagine that's pretty much what most Junior grounds were like back then; not much more than an enclosing fence and a pavilion of sorts...unlikely to be much in the way of cover, terracing etc.

Maryhill_Football_Club_At_Lochburn_Park_Lochburn_Road_Season_1904_-_1905.jpg

Glencairn old park I'm sure is just over the other side of the railway line to where it is now. Shawfield can easily be googled as its still used for greyhound racing.

I think he means Shawfield Juniors who played at Roseberry Park, which is no longer there.

2 hours ago, Marlowe said:

Use Google Earth to locate Hayocks Road in Stevenston, North Ayrshire and halfway up you will see a wasted piece of ground that used to be Ardchoille Park (High Woods) next to the newish Primary School.  I believe the team was  Ardeer ......?

Stevenston had two Junior teams, one supported by ICI at Ardeer I think may be Ardeer Recreational.  The other may have been Thistle or Rovers.   I'm sure  a Stinson man will keep me right there.

Ardeer Recreational won North Ayrshire league during war years as you said they were the ICI team and players exempt from signing up.

The Rec Park staged many cup finals up until '60s.

Ardchoille Park was the original home of Ardeer Thistle, who moved to the present day Ardeer Stadium following the Recreational team folding.

You can still see the banking where the terracing was at Ardchoille Park.

4 hours ago, Weshallnotbemoved said:

Hello , first post on here too but some may know me as White Stars friend on Fife Forum.

Every week I like to take a satirical look at the Junior game in Fife and have been approached by the Glenrothes Theatre Company to make a short film about their local junior side. Set to be screened at the Rothes Halls during panto season and titled “The Illustrious years” a number of household names from the big hoose have already been signed up. Chairman Dave (Lying) King will play the lead role with former chairman David Murray playing the part of Willie (for every £10 Kennoway spend we will spend a penny) Drew. Former manager Mark Warburton  will play the part of Bawbag Brough , a relatively unknown from the lower regions  who led the club during there best spell but was forced to resign because he never really had a magic hat and Ally McCoist will play the part of club legend Benny Andrews . Another former  Ibrox boss was approached to play the part of the current Warout manager due to his inability to win 3 matches in a row but turned it down claiming his comment about the wearing of green boots was nowhere near as ridiculous as calling Johno a legend . Other famous managers  signed up include Claudio Ranieri who will play Ian Paterson - no he never won the Premier league  but- he did get shafted by Willie Newbigging who will be played by Craig Shakespeare and Paul (sacked by text) Ince who will play the part of Craig Ness. 

Alan Pardew will play the part of  Pikey due to his uncanny resemblance to the water bottle carrrier whilst the long suffering wife and the gobby woman in the pie hut will be portrayed by Mary Killen of gogglebox fame and Brendan O’Carroll (Mrs Browns Boys) respectively for the same reasons.  

Here’s where I need your help, we are looking for half a dozen extras to take part in the production (No, not to play the part of the fans.) to play the part of Glens4life and some of his aliases on the football forums. 

My first short film, He’s on his way , was produced a few years ago by White Star Productions - Google the Know Claimers on YouTube if you fancy having a wee look - it's  Warout porn basically, from all over Glenrothes 

I will credit all who take part  and send copies of the film  once published, again by White Star Productions

Glad to hear you finally admit you need help.  

5 hours ago, Weshallnotbemoved said:

Hello , first post on here too but some may know me as White Stars friend on Fife Forum.

Every week I like to take a satirical look at the Junior game in Fife and have been approached by the Glenrothes Theatre Company to make a short film about their local junior side. Set to be screened at the Rothes Halls during panto season and titled “The Illustrious years” a number of household names from the big hoose have already been signed up. Chairman Dave (Lying) King will play the lead role with former chairman David Murray playing the part of Willie (for every £10 Kennoway spend we will spend a penny) Drew. Former manager Mark Warburton  will play the part of Bawbag Brough , a relatively unknown from the lower regions  who led the club during there best spell but was forced to resign because he never really had a magic hat and Ally McCoist will play the part of club legend Benny Andrews . Another former  Ibrox boss was approached to play the part of the current Warout manager due to his inability to win 3 matches in a row but turned it down claiming his comment about the wearing of green boots was nowhere near as ridiculous as calling Johno a legend . Other famous managers  signed up include Claudio Ranieri who will play Ian Paterson - no he never won the Premier league  but- he did get shafted by Willie Newbigging who will be played by Craig Shakespeare and Paul (sacked by text) Ince who will play the part of Craig Ness. 

Alan Pardew will play the part of  Pikey due to his uncanny resemblance to the water bottle carrrier whilst the long suffering wife and the gobby woman in the pie hut will be portrayed by Mary Killen of gogglebox fame and Brendan O’Carroll (Mrs Browns Boys) respectively for the same reasons.  

Here’s where I need your help, we are looking for half a dozen extras to take part in the production (No, not to play the part of the fans.) to play the part of Glens4life and some of his aliases on the football forums. 

My first short film, He’s on his way , was produced a few years ago by White Star Productions - Google the Know Claimers on YouTube if you fancy having a wee look - it's  Warout porn basically, from all over Glenrothes 

I will credit all who take part  and send copies of the film  once published, again by White Star Productions

White Star Productions. Going down well since 1912.

titanic-boat_trans_NvBQzQNjv4Bq1otmVHALaTv2ghQ0pTDq-Owd-B7wE3dmikbfWiGTKlk.jpg

Can't help with the photos but would love to buy a book. Let us know when it's published. 

Was actually in the English national football museum this morning and saw this postcard in the gift shop. It's a Scottish location. Cyber pint if you know where. 

DSC_0039.JPG

1 hour ago, Shanner said:

Can't help with the photos but would love to buy a book. Let us know when it's published. 

Was actually in the English national football museum this morning and saw this postcard in the gift shop. It's a Scottish location. Cyber pint if you know where. 

DSC_0039.JPG

Craigmark?

Craigmark as photographed by Stuart Roy Clark who wrote the forward for my first book. Some good stuff coming through, in particular a ground photo of Ardeer's Ardchoille Park with it's record attendance of 8000+. Anyone got a copy of the Dennistoun Waverley book which I can take a scan of the cover of? Just a loan would be sufficient - costs reimbursed of course.

Keep the info and photos coming folks. Appreciate it all, especially Hillonearth's photos on here.