Ayr vs Arbroath (again)

D'Jaffo

• Replies 184

Load of pish but suppose same goes, chance to get through. Ayr be favourites but not overly worried about the tie and think we have a good chance.

One of the worst draws to get tbh. Only 4 teams from 31 in the cup from our league and we draw one of them, also the only one I’d say that’s better than us, also away and also just after we play there away in the league not long before.

What’s going to happen here is a draw first leg, great tie in the last 16 before the replay, beat in the replay at Gayfield. Get your money on it.

No offence to Arbroath, but what a crap draw. Hate playing teams 5 (maybe 6) times a season.  Also quite a fair chance of losing given Arbroath have already won at Somerset this season.  Even the 4 - 1 game at Arbroath was not as easy as it seems.  Outwith the 3 goals in 8 minutes extravaganza, Arbroath probably shaded it.  Hutton was probably our best player.  Insist he plays in the cup game. 

Having said all that, could be a good game.  Arbroath are probably the best team I've seen this season, apart from ourselves of course. As long as our strikers don't have "one of those days" we should have enough to win it.  Prediction : 4 - 2 to us.

12 hours ago, timlichtie said:

With the Holy Goalie back in the sticks and Leighton playing upfront, Ayr should be worried about this one. A nice day out at Somerset to look forward to.

Yeah, absolutely bricking it!

In fact, medication and counselling required.

Ayr 3 - 0 Smokies

You heard it here first.

53 minutes ago, Hursty said:

Aye last thing we want is a replay. But scrape through then a trip to Ibrox or Parkhead in next round and a nice payday would come in handy

We haven't had a cup draw to either since about 1996.   It will happen eventually :lol: