Plastic Fandom - A Caffeine-Fuled Rant by Richey Edwards

Richey Edwards

1 hour ago, Kejan said:

I cringe a bit if I hear a 'we' about a team outwith Scotland. I'll even let off pot-hunting Celtic (and previously Rangers fans) from outwith Glasgow/areas where everyone has a weegie-ish accent from supporting them - pointing at the bus loads of fans from Dundee, Angus, Highlands, Fife etc. The main reason/excuse for following Celtic/Rangers over the local team is ''Ma dad/granda is a  fan'' a bit like the old voting Labour reason.

It's perfectly acceptable to have a second/third/etc team. People who move abroad/England etc are likely to adopt another team, sport, etc.

Although can't really have the cake and eat it about being angry at Americans using American phrases or supporting Munich, Chelsea, etc a when we've got people in the NFL forum describing American cities thousands of miles away as ''My Bears/Giants'' etc . Buffalo Bills are my favourite NFL team , but I'm yet to say we about them - I'm waiting til they(we) finally make the post-season.

Seems a common excuse for a lot of Celtic/Rangers fans in Fife. One of my grandfathers was from near Castle Douglas, couldn't give a f**k about Threave Rovers or  even Queens though.  The thought of traveling an hour plus, while driving past numerous other senior clubs, for a home game baffles me,  or watching every game at home/in the pub. I feel much more affinity to the club in the town where I was born and that play 15 minutes away from my house. If I'm in downtown Toronto on a Saturday morning I'll spot people wearing shirts and scarves of "EPL" teams or Barcelona who claim to be massive fans. You live on a different continent you bellends. There is a Somalian family who live on my floor, if there is a Man Utd game on I can hear them sometimes cheering and clapping  at the TV. 

Mon the Bills, I support my local team!  F**k the Pats

• Replies 58

It's the hatred rather than the love that gets me. Having so much seethe towards a club in another country that your team will never play is unbelievable. The EPL thread on here has provided some hilarious reading over the years.

I use the term "we" for 3 teams.

Scotland national team.

Partick Thistle. Born & grew up in the West end. 1st game was in 1976-1977. Had a season ticket through most of the 80s/early 90s as well as the last 6 years or so.

Hannover 96. Have lived / worked in Germany for umpteen years. Ca. 9 years ago started going to the occasional H96 game, been a season ticket holder for the past 8 years. Previously had to travel extensively for work, now no longer the case so have also followed them away for the last 3 seasons.

End of the 90's, lived in Melbourne. A guy who worked in the same lab as me, who was of Greek origin, had the following teams!

South Melbourme. Fully OK, was/is the Greek team of the expat community. (Even saw them myself when they beat Carlton in the Grand-Final in 1998).

However, he was a "massive" fan, who would use "we" for the following:-

Arsenal, his English team

Bayern, his German team

Barcelona, his Spanish team

AC Milan, his Italian team

You get the idea, multi-national glory hunting to the power of 10!

3 hours ago, Kejan said:

I cringe a bit if I hear a 'we' about a team outwith Scotland. I'll even let off pot-hunting Celtic (and previously Rangers fans) from outwith Glasgow/areas where everyone has a weegie-ish accent from supporting them - pointing at the bus loads of fans from Dundee, Angus, Highlands, Fife etc. The main reason/excuse for following Celtic/Rangers over the local team is ''Ma dad/granda is a  fan'' a bit like the old voting Labour reason.

It's perfectly acceptable to have a second/third/etc team. People who move abroad/England etc are likely to adopt another team, sport, etc.

Although can't really have the cake and eat it about being angry at Americans using American phrases or supporting Munich, Chelsea, etc a when we've got people in the NFL forum describing American cities thousands of miles away as ''My Bears/Giants'' etc . Buffalo Bills are my favourite NFL team , but I'm yet to say we about them - I'm waiting til they(we) finally make the post-season.

"We" is the issue. If you do have an interest in a team for whatever reason, unless you now live there it's an insult to the real, lifelong supporters. I'm inclined towards Shotts, but it's nothing like the guys who have been there for years.

1 hour ago, German Jag said:

Hannover 96. Have lived / worked in Germany for umpteen years. Ca. 9 years ago started going to the occasional H96 game, been a season ticket holder for the past 8 years. Previously had to travel extensively for work, now no longer the case so have also followed them away for the last 3 seasons.

Do many of the ex pats in Germany regularly go to games? Despite there being a fairly sizeable group in and around Aarau I can only think of one other English guy who watches Aarau regularly. There are another 20 or so that I know who are majority Scottish and fairly mixed in terms of who they support back home but almost none of them have any interest in going to the games. I think I have dragged 2 of them to games in the last few years and only because they were already half cut and they fancied having a few beers in the sun while watching a game.

1 hour ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

"We" is the issue. If you do have an interest in a team for whatever reason, unless you now live there it's an insult to the real, lifelong supporters. I'm inclined towards Shotts, 

Me too but only after a few pints, couldn't start on them.

1 hour ago, Ross. said:

Do many of the ex pats in Germany regularly go to games? Despite there being a fairly sizeable group in and around Aarau I can only think of one other English guy who watches Aarau regularly. There are another 20 or so that I know who are majority Scottish and fairly mixed in terms of who they support back home but almost none of them have any interest in going to the games. I think I have dragged 2 of them to games in the last few years and only because they were already half cut and they fancied having a few beers in the sun while watching a game.

I live in a small town, ca. 1 hour on the train from Hannover. I'm fluent in German, so little need for meeting up with ex-pats.

There is a H96 UK Fan Club, which I'm a member of. Guy who runs it is from Leeds, his wife is from Hanover, they currently live in Berlin (he works for RBS). There are a few members who either have season tickets or go regularly, and will meet up with them now and then. Most of the others are ex. Army types, who I have little desire to socialise with.

Won’t in the case of Dortmund, Christian Pulisic being an actually good American player be a reason why they like Dortmund? Some countries are weird when it comes to national players making it big (See the number of Turkish and Egyptian people on Twitter commenting for Ozil and Salah)

As someone who fills the void with gambling and utter VL activities like Fantasy Football, I can sort of understand the benefits of picking a team to support in leagues you like watching. What will never be understandable is:

- calling them "we" without any sense of embarrassment.

- insisting everyone should do the same, i.e. Scottish folk who are amazed when you don't have an EPL team. Just get in the fucking sea.

- kiddying on you hate certain other team's fans when you've almost certainly never met one.

- (an extension of the first point really) trying to talk to you about both of your support for teams as if it's in any way the same thing.

- (an extension of the second point) feeling the need to slag off the team/league you would be supporting if you weren't a jammy wearing manchild.

I ken folk who "support" English teams and I know for a  fact they wouldn't be down every fortnight at ER, Tynie or Meadowbank if they didn't. It's a wee hobby that doesn't really do any harm. As long as folk don't act like cretins about it, I don't mind.

The worst are unquestionably wankers who've never been near London, but constantly get into states of utter seethe about Arsene Wenger's latest bottle-job and refer to Arsenal (for example) as "we".

In my experience, these are the same wankers who adopt the persona and tone of American sports broadcasters when discussing boxing or the NFL on Facebook. Absolute cretins. 

i dn't know if i'll fall into this category but supported liverpool all my days due to being took to anfield for my first game from my scouse family about the age of 4, never once have i ever been convinced to support anyone else.

my immediate family on one side support celtic and the other side are all rangers probably subconsciously made a very good choice.

on the subject of "we", i actually do feel a bit awkward saying we to socusers when i'm at the games, probably just because i'm an awkward b*****d.

12 hours ago, German Jag said:

I live in a small town, ca. 1 hour on the train from Hannover. I'm fluent in German, so little need for meeting up with ex-pats.

There is a H96 UK Fan Club, which I'm a member of. Guy who runs it is from Leeds, his wife is from Hanover, they currently live in Berlin (he works for RBS). There are a few members who either have season tickets or go regularly, and will meet up with them now and then. Most of the others are ex. Army types, who I have little desire to socialise with.

To be fair, I rarely drink with ex pats. A couple of boys I worked with in a pub which I usually go to if watching the football at the weekend but that's about it. The pub itself tends to attract a lot of other ex pats, thanks mostly to a couple of the big engineering firms who have places nearby. I know the guys who got me into watching Aarau will generally try and get everyone to go to the games, but these guys just don't seem to want to. They will happily spend 20 minutes on a train to get to the pub and watch Hibs v Motherwell despite not following either team but balk at the idea of a 10 minute walk to Brügglifeld to watch two teams they don't follow.

5 hours ago, DanMc99 said:

i dn't know if i'll fall into this category but supported liverpool all my days due to being took to anfield for my first game from my scouse family about the age of 4, never once have i ever been convinced to support anyone else.

my immediate family on one side support celtic and the other side are all rangers probably subconsciously made a very good choice.

on the subject of "we", i actually do feel a bit awkward saying we to socusers when i'm at the games, probably just because i'm an awkward b*****d.

It's Liverpool, just say we in a London or Irish accent and they won't notice the difference

Through the decades people have tried to persuade me to adopt teams from different countries and for different sports but I just find it impossible to give 2 shits about any teams I don't feel a deep affinity with.
Used to work with a guy that was Man U daft , every week that's all he would talk about , would actively ask u about the football at the weekend and when I would talk about the scottish game he would just answer 'sorry I don't watch scottish football , did u not watch the man u game ? ' this is a Scottish guy born and raised in Scotland working in scotland , never been to old Trafford , never actually even been to Manchester and he would sit there slagging off OF fans about how his team was better and theirs were shit! Once I remember having enough of it and telling him that I've just declared Barcelona as my team now so my team was better than his and he just sat there gibbering on about how that's not how it works and you can't do that !
Have had a few raised eyebrow responses when I tell people that I don't have an English team but sorry , I would much rather watch Motherwell v Dundee on a Tuesday night than Chelsea v arsenal or any other 'unmissable' games that are on every other day of the week.
Can only see it getting worse tho , talking to mates that have kids in their teens it seems the majority of kids now consider an English team to be their 'big' team , sad state of affairs.