Smacking Ban

6 minutes ago, The Chlamydia Kid said:

None of that says anything about the “effect” of the laws. That tells you about associations between support for smacking and the law by jurisdiction.

You are assuming that because there is a relationship between 2 variables (the law and attitudes to smacking) that one causes the other. There is absolutely no evidence put forward for that In what you’ve cut and pasted that the change in the law has led to attitudes changing. The attitudes to smacking g could have led to the change in the law or else some other factor could link the 2. Correlation does not equal causation.

It also tells us absolute nothing about the impact of smacking on kids and I’ve not seen anyone present any specific examples of the detrimental impact thus far.

As has been said earlier, there are a number of situations that can have an impact on kids. I wonder how many of those that are quick to condemn a bit of corporal punishment on a child would happily threaten or commit violence to another adult in front of children. That cretin at the Everton game springs to mind but you see guys behaving appallingly at football bawling, swearing and threatening all sorts.

3 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Can we combine this pish with the Pregnancy & Parenting thread, where you can discuss how best to chastise your dull, ugly weans to your heart's content?

Nah, there's some amount of pishy minutiae posted on there.

Are you threatening to hit Jimmy?

And here's one of the pontificating ones.

To clarify, no. I can't seem to find the time to hunt down people who've been rude to me on the internet these days. So time consuming.

2 minutes ago, Scary Bear said:

And here's one of the pontificating ones.

To clarify, no. I can't seem to find the time to hunt down people who've been rude to me on the internet these days. So time consuming.

Another downside to kids eh ? Taking up your valuable revenge time.

19 minutes ago, Scary Bear said:

As mentioned in previous posts, I don't think smacking is the way to go. However, I can see scenarios where parents may do it. Sleep deprivation definitely didn't enhance my parenting skills.

I don't doubt it.

That's I why I support these changes as one part of a suite of tools to help parents.

16 minutes ago, The Chlamydia Kid said:

None of that says anything about the “effect” of the laws. That tells you about associations between support for smacking and the law by jurisdiction.

You are assuming that because there is a relationship between 2 variables (the law and attitudes to smacking) that one causes the other. There is absolutely no evidence put forward for that In what you’ve cut and pasted that the change in the law has led to attitudes changing. The attitudes to smacking g could have led to the change in the law or else some other factor could link the 2. Correlation does not equal causation.

You really are thick as f**k.

The easy read executive summary I posted there clearly isn't the entirety of the body of work.

You will have noticed my cut and paste has citations in it which the casual reader would assume would link to the primary studies on the efficacy of legislation in changing attitudes.

Even if you didn't grasp that the text itself states that the studies took place across numerous comparator sites so your "correlation =/= causation" statement is bollocks.

I admire your confidence though in dismissing an international study of academic work by the WHO, UNICEF etc

However, as you are clearly keen to get to the primary sources you can find them starting on p33 here including the Swedish case study referenced some pages ago.

Let me know how you get on

http://www.who.int/mediacentre/news/notes/2016/new-strategies-violence-children/en/

Edited by invergowrie arab

7 minutes ago, chomp my root said:

As has been said earlier, there are a number of situations that can have an impact on kids. I wonder how many of those that are quick to condemn a bit of corporal punishment on a child would happily threaten or commit violence to another adult in front of children. That cretin at the Everton game springs to mind but you see guys behaving appallingly at football bawling, swearing and threatening all sorts.

If it helps I think they are as bad and as damaging as each other.

The easy read executive summary I posted there clearly isn't the entirety of the body of work.
You will have noticed my cut and paste has citations in it which the casual reader would assume would link to the primary studies on the efficacy of legislation in changing attitudes.
Even if you didn't grasp that the text itself states that the studies took place across numerous comparator sites so your "correlation =/= causation" statement is bollocks.
I admire your confidence though in dismissing an international study of academic work by the WHO, UNICEF etc
However, as you are clearly keen to get to the primary sources you can find them starting on p33 here including the Swedish case study referenced some pages ago.
http://www.who.int/mediacentre/news/notes/2016/new-strategies-violence-children/en/

That the same World Health Organisation that thought it was a good idea to appoint Robert Mugabe as a good will ambassador last week? Sound judgment [emoji106]

3 minutes ago, The Chlamydia Kid said:

That the same World Health Organisation that thought it was a good idea to appoint Robert Mugabe as a good will ambassador last week? Sound judgment emoji106.png

That decision was an insult to humanity.

8 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

I don't doubt it.

That's I why I support these changes as one part of a suite of tools to help parents.

He does seem thick but to be fair to him I gloss over your drab legal posts as well

Using sleep deprivation and stress as a justification for doing something you think is wrong? Stress and tiredness make people want to do all sorts of things they stop themselves from doing because they know it's wrong. It might explain why people do things but it doesn't justify them.

1 minute ago, Jmothecat2 said:

Using sleep deprivation and stress as a justification for doing something you think is wrong? Stress and tiredness make people want to do all sorts of things they stop themselves from doing because they know it's wrong. It might explain why people do things but it doesn't justify them.

I don't think it's justifiable either but I don't see any posts justifying it.

9 minutes ago, The Chlamydia Kid said:

You think it’s damaging for a child to hear men bawling and shouting at the football? God almighty what a Wee sensitive soul you must be.

I think children seeing their parents engage in violence or threaten violence to other adults is detrimental to their perceptions of violence.

I don't see that in any way controversial.