The mighty Rovers v The red lichties

• Replies 247
Davidson has held his own against much better players than Doris this season, doubt that would have impacted things too much.

Of course it would've impacted things. Would've saved us from playing a left winger up front.

Can't be many 'much better' strikers than Doris in this league aswell. Personally the only strikers I would have from other teams in this league instead of him are at your club.

He would've made a massive difference to us yesterday. One of the main reasons we won at Ayr. His hold up play is phenomenal and allows us to get up the park.

Raith are a better side than we are, we know this. We're not saying that a fit Stevie Doris would've meant we beat you yesterday. Just saying he's a massive miss, and it really showed up against a better team. We've got away with it against lesser sides but to go up against the best we need him in our side.

great post 1320 to the point and correct in all aspects.pongo getting it tight from the raith fans yes he is carrying a bit of timber but as a fitba player he is pivotal to us. on the swakie situ him and doris showed at ayr when they play together they can totally win games

2 hours ago, Typicalrovers said:

What about Auld Doris giving her 70 year old man a row for single handedly storming the Rovers support in the Main Stand after the second goal?

Did anyone notice the steward when the auld boy and Kev were going for it. He looked like he had no idea what to do and looked like he was going to burst oot greeting 

fair play to the auld boy storming in but it would have been more impressive if he had done with windmill arms as he was running in

How do you know Doris would have made a difference thats hypothetical he could have had a poor game likewise if Kevin Mchattie or Benedictus had played for us we may have won 5 nil your argument  is nonsense . The fact is we won you never whether Doris played or not if the guy is any good he wouldn’t be playing for Arbroath likewise many Rover players they find there level.

We're not saying we would've beat you. We're saying we would have had a much better chance, as Doris is one of if not our best player. He is very good for US. And a good player in terms of this league.

Why would we not have good players for this level btw??? [emoji1]

IMO the best 3 performances yesterday came from Vaughan, ToB and Danny Denholm..

Imagine one of your best players had been missing in your hardest game of the season, you'd probably be saying the same afterwards. You could maybe get away with missing Vaughan against Forfar for example but when it came to Ayr he'd be a much bigger miss.

Coming up against as good as a side as yourselves yesterday, the fact he was missing really showed up, when it hadn't done as much in the games against the lesser teams.

The fact we're moaning about it shows how good a team you've got so not sure why some of your fans are having such a problem with it.

We're not saying we would've beat you. We're saying we would have had a much better chance, as Doris is one of if not our best player. He is very good for US. And a good player in terms of this league.

Why would we not have good players for this level btw??? [emoji1]

IMO the best 3 performances yesterday came from Vaughan, ToB and Danny Denholm..

Imagine one of your best players had been missing in your hardest game of the season, you'd probably be saying the same afterwards. You could maybe get away with missing Vaughan against Forfar for example but when it came to Ayr he'd be a much bigger miss.

Coming up against as good as a side as yourselves yesterday, the fact he was missing really showed up, when it hadn't done as much in the games against the lesser teams.

The fact we're moaning about it shows how good a team you've got so not sure why some of your fans are having such a problem with it.

Vaughan gets all the plaudits, but Euan Murray was stand out for me. Showed a lot of experience and stood up where needed. Was very unlucky not to get his first goal for us.

As for missing players in big games, we went into the Ayr game and lost our captain in the first half. We had pretty much a defence with only two defenders by the end. Even then the media only got soundbites from McCall about how they had half a team and how it was their best performance.

I'm sure Doris would've made Arbroath more of a threat. I guess we'll find out in December...

Vaughan gets all the plaudits, but Euan Murray was stand out for me. Showed a lot of experience and stood up where needed. Was very unlucky not to get his first goal for us.

As for missing players in big games, we went into the Ayr game and lost our captain in the first half. We had pretty much a defence with only two defenders by the end. Even then the media only got soundbites from McCall about how they had half a team and how it was their best performance.

I'm sure Doris would've made Arbroath more of a threat. I guess we'll find out in December...

You'll probably still beat us as you do have a very good team for this level. But hopefully if Davidsons playing Doris gives as good as he gets and gets stuck right in to the big bleach haired cunto. [emoji1]

2 hours ago, 1320Lichtie said:

But one of our best (Bene)  was missing.

Given that our young  RB was making his home debut, the LB was playing  out of position and the central pairing have hardly played any game time together then yes the Rovers defence could likely have struggled more against a decent forward.  Kyle Benedictus is easily the best defender we have at SP if not the best in the division,  He was in great form prior to the leg break v Ayr and has had the better of most if not every one he's been up against. He may or may not have had the measure of Doris but boy was he missed at Albion Rovers and his availability would have seen all 4 defenders playing in more comfortable positions. 

It's immaterial and un-provable either way but even  if both sides were at full strength then I don't think it would have changed the outcome.

6 hours ago, 1320Lichtie said:

You'll probably still beat us as you do have a very good team for this level. But hopefully if Davidsons playing Doris gives as good as he gets and gets stuck right in to the big bleach haired cunto. emoji1.png

Wi the nick o Doris' hair, it's shaping up to be a classic!

We'll be telling our grandkids one day about the mighty Battle of the Bleach! :lol:

On 10/12/2017 at 10:40, rw89 said:

There'll be plenty of seats. Usually it's the corner section of the main stand but generally it's unsegregated as it goes on with Rovers fans sitting more towards the directors box area. It's probably the right call from the club to keep the North Stand closed. Aside from Ayr and East Fife, there won't be many teams who justify opening the McDermid stand.

Good to see we're likely to have Robertson back for this one. We really missed his presence and leadership against Albion Rovers. I think Smith's interviews on our site and with the press will hopefully shed some light on how our injured players are getting on. Ideally in the next few weeks, we'll see McHattie, Benedictus and Lennox all come back. That'd make us a lot stronger compared to our makeshift backline at the moment.

Not wanting to sound "i told you so" but the organisation was a shambles, there was a decent Red Lichtie support there hemmed in by Raith fans either side of us with a few stewards and no Police, as it was a big game tensions were running high and loads of banter from both set of fans ad your Captain so it was no wonder there was a bit of skullthuggery when things boiled over, surely the best thing would have been to open the opposite end and this would have stopped any bother and folk getting ejected from the ground and helped your stewards, hopefully next time this happens to save a lot of hassle and before anybody jumps in here both sets of fans were to blame but Raith never helped the situation with putting us in that area.

Your support doesn't justify opening a full 3000 seater stand. If you have fans in your support who give it out, and then get precious when they get telt from our fans and captain then they need to learn to deal with that. We shouldn't have to lose money on stewards and catering staff because your fans can't behave.

The only reason that we are having away support in the main stand is that we get extra money from the ones that use the Raith suite bar.  They will never change this not unless someone reports them to the Health and Safety and I am sure that there will be video footage showing what happened.  I for one did not have a problem on Saturday but on previous occasions when newco was there I did.  Two hundred fans in one corner of the North Stand in a taped off area would probably take as much stewards as we had extra in the main stand on Saturday.  As for catering the Rovers don't pay for that, the guy actually leases it from the Rovers qnd he pays us a rental.