Cyclist charged with Manslaughter

mizfit

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4818846/Cyclist-knocked-mother-ghoulish-tattoo.html

Been reading about this quite a lot recently. 

Does anyone on P&B Believe cyclists should be made to sit tests before cycling on a road, even paying road tax, or having to take insurance out?

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply
11 minutes ago, mizfit said:

Does anyone on P&B Believe cyclists should be made to sit tests before cycling on a road, even paying road tax, or having to take insurance out?

Don't think so.

As a car driver I can't begin to describe how much I enjoy having to deal with small, slow, apparently incredibly fragile and usually one step away from a full-blown roid rage, road users known as "cyclists".

Just now, Ramagamma said:

People who go on leisurely cycles on busy roads at rush hour are scum. We get you want to combine transport and fitness. That's great. f**k off to a velodrome.

Surely they'll just go round in circles and not actually get anywhere?

Radio Scotland had a phone-in on this just this morning. As usual, some of the cyclists came across as thinking that their fellow kind could do no serious wrong and should be allowed to carry on with the status quo regardless of the current problems that they are happy to sweep under the carpet.

Reminds me of that viral video from London a month or two ago where the cyclist pulled out from a left hand turn only lane into a path of a lorry who continued travelling straight on in the straight on his straight on lane. I saw which friends had commented on FB, and low and behold, only the cyclists were defending the cyclist / criticising the driver.

This said, how are kids meant to learn to ride bikes if they can't cycle on pavements or need some form of licence? Can't see me being a road cyclist as an adult now tbh, but I used to use my bike daily as a kid to head up to the woods etc etc. Too far away otherwise.