The Big Solidarity Payment Thread

Weather Celtic make 10 million from the Europa or 25 million from the champions league i couldn't careless,Celtic's place is European football
This design of competition in UEFA is a semantics argument if your good enough on the park then you get your rewards
This goes back to my original point football isn't all about the coin,if you have a good manager and good players you can achieve things in the game
Teams like Aberdeen have a great history in European football and it's time they started showing that again.

The design of an entire competition is semantics?

I think we'll leave it there.

• Replies 109
2 minutes ago, wastecoatwilly said:

if you have a good manager and good players you can achieve things in the game

Aye but you need a decent amount of money to sign and/or develop plus pay managers and players of a sufficient calibre just to compete at the level you're already at. To move up to a higher level a club either needs to increase its current level of income or be absurdly lucky with the talent in the local area. To move up to a higher level also requires you to displace someone who is currently above you. That's difficult if their level of income is always increasing at a rate yours can never match.

The problem with Celtic fans is they live in this wee fantasy world where Celtic are the plucky spirited underdogs who succeed against all the odds with hardly a penny to their name. They genuinely seem unable to grasp why other clubs haven't managed to do the same.

Last season Aberdeen had a fantastic squad and manager, developed over several years, with terrific balance, few weak links and a deadly attacking lineup. We won f**k all because Celtic had a squad full of internationalists and a world class manager who finished second in the EPL once.

To say that it comes down to XI v XI on the pitch is wilful ignorance in the extreme. We could not sign Rogers, Griffiths, Dembele, Rogic, Armstrong, Brown. We could not keep hold of Forrest, Teirney, McGregor. This is primarily down to money.

Our relative success on the park has brought in some level of additional funds (second place prize money, cup final cash, European trips, selling Jonny Hayes), but relative to third place, this is a small increase, giving us a small advantage going into the new season. The cash that Celtic get from the Champions League is on another level, meaning they can go get more internationalists, a better manager, and beat us all again.

This is only just beginning IMO. The next three or four seasons will see Celtic continue to strengthen their grip on the top of the table, and after ten in a row, there'll be some degree of soul searching.

31 minutes ago, RussellAnderson said:

Last season Aberdeen had a fantastic squad and manager, developed over several years, with terrific balance, few weak links and a deadly attacking lineup. We won f**k all because Celtic had a squad full of internationalists and a world class manager who finished second in the EPL once.

To say that it comes down to XI v XI on the pitch is wilful ignorance in the extreme. We could not sign Rogers, Griffiths, Dembele, Rogic, Armstrong, Brown. We could not keep hold of Forrest, Teirney, McGregor. This is primarily down to money.

Our relative success on the park has brought in some level of additional funds (second place prize money, cup final cash, European trips, selling Jonny Hayes), but relative to third place, this is a small increase, giving us a small advantage going into the new season. The cash that Celtic get from the Champions League is on another level, meaning they can go get more internationalists, a better manager, and beat us all again.

This is only just beginning IMO. The next three or four seasons will see Celtic continue to strengthen their grip on the top of the table, and after ten in a row, there'll be some degree of soul searching.

no no, just do better in 11 v 11 

50 minutes ago, nsr said:

Aye but you need a decent amount of money to sign and/or develop plus pay managers and players of a sufficient calibre just to compete at the level you're already at. To move up to a higher level a club either needs to increase its current level of income or be absurdly lucky with the talent in the local area. To move up to a higher level also requires you to displace someone who is currently above you. That's difficult if their level of income is always increasing at a rate yours can never match.

Nobody said it is easy

40 minutes ago, RussellAnderson said:

Once the penny drops with even the thickest Rangers supporters that their team are now on the wrong side of the financial divide with the other diddies, there will be a lot more noise made about it....

And Celtic fans will get bored once they realise the rivalry with Sevco (which is all they care about, really) is no longer meaningful in any way and never will be again. You can only pummel your big rivals so many times before you stop seeing them as a credible rival.

1 hour ago, wastecoatwilly said:

Weather Celtic make 10 million from the Europa or 25 million from the champions league i couldn't careless,Celtic's place is European football
This design of competition in UEFA is a semantics argument if your good enough on the park then you get your rewards
This goes back to my original point football isn't all about the coin,if you have a good manager and good players you can achieve things in the game
Teams like Aberdeen have a great history in European football and it's time they started showing that again.

What does this shit even mean?

9 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

What does this shit even mean?

We should flog our history like rangers (rip) did to gain some working capital in order to compete with Celtic.  But for rather more than a fraction of a pound. 

Any 'Well fan want to start the bidding at £100,000 for #SecondPlaceTrophyGate

PS I'm not still raging about this. Definitely not.

13 minutes ago, williemillersmoustache said:

We should flog our history like rangers (rip) did to gain some working capital in order to compete with Celtic.  But for rather more than a fraction of a pound. 

Any 'Well fan want to start the bidding at £100,000 for #SecondPlaceTrophyGate

PS I'm not still raging about this. Definitely not.

I'll give you a pound for every time I've watched the goal & #scenes from that game - so that would be £450,000*

*make that £450,005, it is lunchtime after all.

2 hours ago, nsr said:

And Celtic fans will get bored once they realise the rivalry with Sevco (which is all they care about, really) is no longer meaningful in any way and never will be again. You can only pummel your big rivals so many times before you stop seeing them as a credible rival.

never get bored with Celtic winning games plus the rivalry with rangers ended in 2012, just city rivals like the jags